Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

FFS because Sydney have offered more $$$$$

Forget the throw away line from your CEO, yes Yippett may be on less next year however over the course of the 4 year term he will earn more money from the Sydney offer then he would of at Adelaide, GC or Brisbane

When is this point going to sink in
getAsset.aspx

The more I read the postings of certain Swans fans on bigfooty the more I wish Kurt had chosen the Gold Coast. Those guys came on our board, were respectful, informative and genuinely made fair proposals based on what would suit both clubs needs. Some of these Swans fans and their "You want White AND 23? GTFO!" attitude have quickly changed me from someone who genuinely admired Sydney and the way they went about their business into a guy who loathes 'The Bloods' and all it stands for.

That, and Brett Kirk is a massive twat

Allefgib - you have been insistent that there is some kind of contractual agreement from 2009 this whole time. Do you have any reason for this other than Rowe's insistence that we've "sold our footy soul"?

From everything I've heard, we had basically a handshake agreement to help him get back to Queensland if he wanted to go there. I don't believe there would be any kind of official contractual agreement, and certainly no agreement more definitive than just letting him go back to Queensland.

If there is any kind of agreement, it could only take the form that if he does want to leave, we can only deal with the clubs he nominates. Or club, as the case has turned out to be.

I expressed my reasons above mate. Something doesn't add up. We seem constrained and I'm just not sure why. To me I've always feared in 2009 we had to bend over backwards to get him to stay. It's a combination of how we've handled this trade period, Nobes backing away from any talk of the agreement (as if he doesn't know... if its nothing he'd just ****ing say that), the fact Triggy says the gentlemens agreement is now 'off' (so we know there was 'something') and then add on top of that Rowey acting like he knows something and its 'soul selling'.

Just a gut feel mate - nothing more.

What's your read on it?

The enforceabiltiy of the agreement is the fascinating part.

I expressed my reasons above mate. Something doesn't add up. We seem constrained and I'm just not sure why. To me I've always feared in 2009 we had to bend over backwards to get him to stay. It's a combination of how we've handled this trade period, Nobes backing away from any talk of the agreement (as if he doesn't know... if its nothing he'd just ******* say that), the fact Triggy says the gentlemens agreement is now 'off' (so we know there was 'something') and then add on top of that Rowey acting like he knows something and its 'soul selling'.

Just a gut feel mate - nothing more.

What's your read on it?

The enforceabiltiy of the agreement is the fascinating part.

I can't imagine it is a legally binding agreement. However, the club would rightly think twice about dishonouring a verbal commitment, given what that would mean for the rest of the playing group. But once Kurt remembered that he was actually from Sydney, all bets are off.

No but you miss the point. If Sydney can't afford to pay him more than $750,000 NEXT year, that's the highest figure he can put on his draft nomination.[/quote]

He cant put a differing annual figure on his head..just x amounts of dollars over y ampunt of years!

I can't imagine it is a legally binding agreement. However, the club would rightly think twice about dishonouring a verbal commitment, given what that would mean for the rest of the playing group. But once Kurt remembered that he was actually from Sydney, all bets are off.
Good point, enforceability and consequences.

That's what I think was discussed Saturday.

I can't help but feel that this is some sort of ruse pulled together by the BigFooty overlords!

Going into their traditionally quiet time, site traffic waning, what could BF do??

I know - create the biggest trading saga the world has ever seen which draws thousands of innocent victims into its wake. Bingo - millions more in ad revenue!! (If I see Mike Tyson's Day of Champions one more time I'm gonna chew someone's ear off!)

Stabby, Vader - are you implicated in this??

<insert "it's a trap" jpg here>

To think I sat in a bar drinking Bintang shouting loudly for the Swans - god now I feel all dirty...

The arrogance that sems to be emanating from their Admin and posters has helped their popularity in my team list slide bigtime.

On a positive note the tickets for the next home game versus Sydney are going to be super hot items, when does the program for 2013 get released, I want in!

There are two pretty simple reasons. First, Sydney have an absurd amount of extra money they're allowed to offer, and secondly Tippett have publicly stated he's only interested in going to one club.

Basically he has made himself a free agent but with the Crows getting no compensation.

To think I sat in a bar drinking Bintang shouting loudly for the Swans - god now I feel all dirty...

The arrogance that sems to be emanating from their Admin and posters has helped their popularity in my team list slide bigtime.

On a positive note the tickets for the next home game versus Sydney are going to be super hot items, when does the program for 2013 get released, I want in!
I bet you anything, Kurt does not play in that game at Footy park.

No, the worst logic is Sydney fans assuming that because they won this year, they're going to win again next year with the same squad - despite key players being a year older, Goodes with a significant knee injury, the other Grand Finalist strengthening their weakness very well.

'We don't need him, we won it without him this year' is the myopia of fans who just won a championship, forgetting that another season has to occur before they can claim the next one. Foolish.
It is not myopic to state that we won the flag this year without Tippett. It is stating a fact.

Of course our list gets a year older, as does everyone elses. We have aging players, but we have the likes of Cunningham developing, along with Rohan and McGlynn to come back into the forward line, not to mention the fast improving Reid.

It doesn't matter that you know little of our list, I know little of your emerging list. Our spread of goalkickers (9 players who kicked 20 or more goals) and evenness of contribution was what won us the flag this year, which is why many Swans supporters (including me) are skeptical about bringing in a big forward target like Tippett. Let's face it, Tippett aint no Cloke or Franklin either. He's good, but he's not good enough (in my humble opinion) to command a full forward role and shift the focus of the side dramatically in terms of its forward structure.

Because he's a thorough Port man. Look at his past agendas including the reunification of the PAFC (Power) with the PAMFC (Magpies) knowing this would help drive the reserves debate, the Power to Adelaide Oval and associated SANFL dealings, anti Primus barrow and general negativity regarding Adelaide's trading.
Many people at the Advertiser don't have a lot of respect for him as a journalist - which is not saying a lot I know.

It demonstrates how powerful a strong media figure can be, for a Club.

We've got Rucci, who would rather screw us over than be of any value - yet if this was happening to a Club like Richmond or Essendon, Caro or Robbo would be making it back-page news every single day, and applying huge pressure to the AFL to insure their Clubs weren't done over.

We don't have that luxury.

I still think we've got an issue with something agreed in 2009. Nobes has had to push as hard as he can til Triggy got back.
Meeting Saturday was likely to discuss whether they 'fight' the previous agreement (which may have been as simple as not sending Kurt into PSD at end of contract i.e. we will trade you and not leave you at the mercy of the PSD) or just accpet that they can't change that and how then to get any leverage.

If true, and all my own guesses based on what I see and nothing more, will be interesting what the club chooses to do.

What makes me believe this?
- nobes backing away from anything to do with knowing what happened end of 2009. Of course he knows - but he is distancing himself as far from it as possible.
- Rowey, and others, talking about 'selling our soul'. I reckon they know something but obviously wouldn't say it in public.
- Yes AFL have knocked back any clauses on specific types of draft picks to be traded instead of Kurt, but is saying 'we won't put you in PSD' something that would be considered draft tampering? I'm guessing its grey - but not unreasonable.
- The confidence of Blucher and Ireland that they can do this trade despite how unbalanced it is. Tippett says 'I want Sydney' and we can't send him to PSD means Sydney can offer us what they want.

Well Tredders said on radio the other morning that there is a rumour that the clause was along the lines of 'if Tippett hasn't re-signed with the crows by a particular date the club would trade him to the club of his choice'. Could explain why the deal is dragging on - he has chosen Sydney, for Sydney to afford him they need to free up cap space hence getting rid of White, and probably only offering pick 23 as a sweetener for us to take White. Crows on the other hand, although are bound to trade Tippett to Sydney (could explain why we haven't come out and said much about trading him to other clubs) do not want or need White (and aren't bound by the agreement to do so), so the whole deal is in a stalemate. Could explain why Ireland has been so adamant none of his premiership players would be traded - he has probably seen the contract and knows how little needs to be given up. Would also explain the 'selling our soul' comment from Rowe.

Who knows, just another conspiracy theory I guess lol.