Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Seriously 500 pages devoted to a player you're losing. The big question that should be dominating your board is how you're going to replace him. Lose a KPP and you still expect to finish top 4 without trying to bring in some additional talent. That should be taking up 500+ pages.

Maybe we should be discussing your salary cap? 500+ pages on why you have a bigger salary cap and how you choose to spend the whole lot on a player like Tippett?

Can anyone help me?
How do you copy and paste a previous comment or post using an Android Keyboard (Toshiba Tablet)?

Thanks in eager anticipation.

It is not myopic to state that we won the flag this year without Tippett. It is stating a fact.

Of course our list gets a year older, as does everyone elses. We have aging players, but we have the likes of Cunningham developing, along with Rohan and McGlynn to come back into the forward line, not to mention the fast improving Reid.

It doesn't matter that you know little of our list, I know little of your emerging list. Our spread of goalkickers (9 players who kicked 20 or more goals) and evenness of contribution was what won us the flag this year, which is why many Swans supporters (including me) are skeptical about bringing in a big forward target like Tippett. Let's face it, Tippett aint no Cloke or Franklin either. He's good, but he's not good enough (in my humble opinion) to command a full forward role and shift the focus of the side dramatically in terms of its forward structure.

the thing I love about Swans fans is they rush over the point they respond to and then create a long winded post on a point no one was actually discussing.

read his ****ing post, he is talking about assuming you've one next years flag, not that you won this years flag - that is pretty ****ing obvious isn't it.

Could well be.

Yep - could well be.

Of course, it is irrelevant. The Swans need to be able to pay the average of the contract next year. There seems substangtial doubt they can do that.

Just a thought......

If Tippet trade goes through his real salary in secret. If he fills out form B every club knows exactly what he is on and this is a severe disadvantage to the Swans with their cap controversy and to Tippet waltzing in as the highest paid player "with out earning it" (ie not a premiership player)

Well Tredders said on radio the other morning that there is a rumour that the clause was along the lines of 'if Tippett hasn't re-signed with the crows by a particular date the club would trade him to the club of his choice'. Could explain why the deal is dragging on - he has chosen Sydney, for Sydney to afford him they need to free up cap space hence getting rid of White, and probably only offering pick 23 as a sweetener for us to take White. Crows on the other hand, although are bound to trade Tippett to Sydney (could explain why we haven't come out and said much about trading him to other clubs) do not want or need White (and aren't bound by the agreement to do so), so the whole deal is in a stalemate. Could explain why Ireland has been so adamant none of his premiership players would be traded - he has probably seen the contract and knows how little needs to be given up. Would also explain the 'selling our soul' comment from Rowe.

Who knows, just another conspiracy theory I guess lol.

Interesting. Pretty easy for him not to re-sign to get his own way then.

I've got this awful fear that we backed ourselves in to show him our club was the best option for him.. then dished up 2010/2011, took away Cwaigy from him and now he's gone and been a petulant sook by not re-signing and then calling upon the rumoured clause you mention.

Whatever happens I dearly want to know what was in the 2009 contract - and hope the club learns from it. We have to deal with the reality we need to be more selective about the guys we get to our footy club and that we need to prepare for some wanting to leave when things are not great.

Sydney's Jesse White is still understood to be wanted by the Crows.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/eagles-saints-wont-budge-20121021-27zhn.html#ixzz29z3qxrIW
one short line at the bottom of the article that is simply repeating Rucci.
White WILl sign with Crows......
Next. Could still find a home at West Lakes.....
Next??? Maybe A part of Mark Williams' famous quote...."you were wrong roach!"

Can't wait for tonight hear Rowie say something he saw on Big Footy is the next big rumour.

As for tomorrow's 'Tiser.....white rents a house at West Lakes to play for theMagpies in SANFL.....

It is not myopic to state that we won the flag this year without Tippett. It is stating a fact.

Of course our list gets a year older, as does everyone elses. We have aging players, but we have the likes of Cunningham developing, along with Rohan and McGlynn to come back into the forward line, not to mention the fast improving Reid.

It doesn't matter that you know little of our list, I know little of your emerging list. Our spread of goalkickers (9 players who kicked 20 or more goals) and evenness of contribution was what won us the flag this year, which is why many Swans supporters (including me) are skeptical about bringing in a big forward target like Tippett. Let's face it, Tippett aint no Cloke or Franklin either. He's good, but he's not good enough (in my humble opinion) to command a full forward role and shift the focus of the side dramatically in terms of its forward structure.
That has very little to do with the post you were replying to. Also he's not as far off Cloke as you think and he can ruck quite decenly as well. Tippett would walk in and easily be your best forward. We know it, Sydneys management know and next year Sydneys BF posters will realise it. That is why you are chasing him and offering as much as you are.

Borderlands 2 over-exceeded my expectations, you should give it a try sometime..

Borderlands 2 has my vote for game of the year thus far........... however it must be noted Halo 4 comes out in 2 weeks :D

the thing I love about Swans fans is they rush over the point they respond to and then create a long winded post on a point no one was actually discussing.

read his ******* post, he is talking about assuming you've one next years flag, not that you won this years flag - that is pretty ******* obvious isn't it.
I read his post and nowhere does he assume we are going to win next year's flag.

I expressed my reasons above mate. Something doesn't add up. We seem constrained and I'm just not sure why. To me I've always feared in 2009 we had to bend over backwards to get him to stay. It's a combination of how we've handled this trade period, Nobes backing away from any talk of the agreement (as if he doesn't know... if its nothing he'd just ******* say that), the fact Triggy says the gentlemens agreement is now 'off' (so we know there was 'something') and then add on top of that Rowey acting like he knows something and its 'soul selling'.

Just a gut feel mate - nothing more.

What's your read on it?

The enforceabiltiy of the agreement is the fascinating part.

I think we're constrained because Tippett has put us in a situation where we are forced to trade with one club. Yes, we can talk to other clubs but unless we can convince Kurt that it's better to go with the "devil he knows" in a particular club rather than face the uncertainty of the PSD, we're stuck with trying to close a deal with Sydney.

Sydney know this, so they're not going to kick in any more than absolutely necessary to get the deal done.

As for Nobes and Triggy, it's pretty obvious to me what's happening there. We had an agreement, but not a binding one, to help Kurt back to Queensland (or "home") if he decided he wanted to leave. When he chose Sydney, the Crows decided not to honour that in-principle agreement. I don't suspect anything was ever written down in binding terms.

Trigg has made it clear that whatever capacity the agreement existed in, it no longer applies. Nobel on the other hand has spent the entire trade period saying nothing at all over the course of several interviews, and deliberately so. The Crows have long had a policy of not saying anything, even to dispel incorrect rumours, when it comes to negotiations that are still in progress, be they contract negotiations, trade negotiations, disputes with the AFL or whatever. I read absolutely nothing into Nobel's dodging of those questions.

Rowe comes up with more hyperbolic rumours than anyone in the media. I love the guy and he cracks me up, but I wouldn't take his "sold their soul" rumour as anything just yet. If anything it probably refers to the fact that we would have been willing to honour an agreement to get him back to Queensland if he had chosen to go there.

You're right though, we did bend over backwards to get him to stay. We gave him huge money for a second-year player, and I suspect we effectively promised him that we would give him an easy road back to Queensland in the future if he wanted it. I don't think for one second that we locked ourselves into a binding agreement to screw ourselves over if he chose to leave. Any difficulty we're having now are a result of Kurt's insistence that Sydney is the only team he's interested in playing for, which has immediately placed us behind the eight ball.

I read his post and nowhere does he assume we are going to win next year's flag.

Let's not split hairs. He's saying that you won it this year, so therefore you have a good enough squad to win next year. Unfortunately elite sport doesn't work that way - you either continue to improve, or you get left behind, and fast.

Just a thought......

If Tippet trade goes through his real salary in secret. If he fills out form B every club knows exactly what he is on and this is a severe disadvantage to the Swans with their cap controversy and to Tippet waltzing in as the highest paid player "with out earning it" (ie not a premiership player)
There is not much that can be hidden in the footy industry these days. I am pretty sure that at the very least Adelaide, Gold Coast and Brisbane would know exactly what the Swans have offered to Tippett. There is also a strong chance that teams like Collingwood and Carlton who have allegedly shown interest also know what the figure is.

Lets face it, anyone that thinks that there is no "This is what we got from team A can you match?!" talk during the negotiations has rocks in their head.

Kerr himself said that Brisbane made a very good offer but it was well short of what Sydney was offering. Its only the Swans muppets on bigfooty that are in denial of what the offer is and try to ram their bullshit down our throats that Tippett is going to Swans for less. If that makes them feel better about themselves, then they can think that but the reality is something a lot different.

Swans had to offer something significantly better than Adelaide and two QLD clubs for Tippett to abandon his plans of going home, or leaving Adelaide who have reportedly offered $800K per season over 5 years and a Ambassadorship with Toyota as the marketing component outside of salary cap.

He can't, according to that clause.
Tippett's contract with Adelaide expires 31 Oct, but his AFL registration (with Adelaide) does not expire until after the ND.
Therefore unless Adelaide delist Tippett prior to the ND (as St Kilda did with Ball) he would only be eligible for the PSD.
EDIT;

4.5 Player Eligibility for National Draft
4.5.1 Players Eligible to be Drafted
A Player who has nominated in accordance with these Rules is eligible
to be drafted if he also satisfies the following requirements:

(b) the Player must not be bound to an AFL Club;
How does that work, when compared to para 4.4.3:
4.4.3 Players to Nominate
Players who wish to be included in the National Draft shall lodge with the AFL a duly completed nomination in the form prescribed in Schedule 1 as Form 11 as follows:-
(b) in the case of an Uncontracted Player who is still on a Club’s List such form shall be lodged by such date and time prior to the National Draft Selection Meeting as determined by the General Manager – Football Operations.
The date in this case would be Nov 13th, as per my previous email.

I'm not having a go at you.. I'm trying to make head or tail out of the seemingly contradictory information in the AFL Player Rules document.

I am positive the AFL changed the list lodgements years ago, to allow players coming out of contract to nominate for both the ND and the PSD, where under the previous rules they were only able to nominate for the PSD. How else did Luke Ball end up in the ND?

Yep - could well be.

Of course, it is irrelevant. The Swans need to be able to pay the average of the contract next year. There seems substangtial doubt they can do that.
No they don't.
Any club must merely meet the player's nominated terms;
4.5.2 Nominated Football Payments
4.5.2.1 Offer and acceptance
(a) A Player, (other than a first year draft choice Player or
such a Player in his second year), may specify in the
nomination lodged pursuant to Rule 4.4.3 the Football
Payments which he will require if he is selected at a Draft
Selection Meeting.
(b) By so specifying the Football Payments he will require,
the Player shall be taken to have made an offer to the
Club which selects him at a Draft Selection Meeting, to
accept employment in return for the Football Payments so
specified.
(c) The Club which selects a Player who has specified the
Football Payments which he will require shall be deemed
to have accepted the offer set out in (b) above.
(d) Immediately following the Draft Selection Meeting, the
Player and the Club to whom (c) above applies, shall
execute a Contract of Service providing for the Football
Payments specified by the Player in accordance with (a)
above.
(e) If a Player nominates his Football Payments he must do
so for a minimum period of two years.

There is nothing in those clauses which prohibits a player nominating a four year contract term with specific amounts for each year, if he should so choose.
A similar clause exists for the PSD;
5.3 Nominated Football Payments
A Player (other than a first year draft choice Player or such a player in his
second year), nominating for the Pre-Season Draft may specify in his
nomination the Football Payments which he will require if he is drafted. The
provisions of Rule 4.5.2 will apply to any Player wishing to so nominate to any
Club which selects him at a Pre-Season Draft Selection Meeting.

I assume that is to stop the AFC breaking his legs during that period
No.. those are the rules as laid down in the AFL Player Rules document. There is nothing that scottwade has written which is incorrect, yet somehow the AFL manages to make 2+2 = whatever number it wants to.

on a side note, got an email this morning containing the more 'accurate' wikipedia version of $kippett's profile. Good to see it's still out there and doing the rounds.

That has very little to do with the post you were replying to. Also he's not as far off Cloke as you think and he can ruck quite decenly as well. Tippett would walk in and easily be your best forward. We know it, Sydneys management know and next year Sydneys BF posters will realise it. That is why you are chasing him and offering as much as you are.
I'd have to agree to disagree on Cloke. Cloke can take pack marks and is a very good aggressive leading forward. Tippett, by Adelaide posters own admissions on this thread, is not a leading forward. We are not after a rucking option, given we have Mumford and Pyke plus LRT as the pinch ruckman.

Tippett would be our best forward next year, but only just. And after that I'd expect Reid to overtake him. These are just my opinions, I'm sure the clubs will find a solution, that's their job.

Probably could close this thread now, looks like if alot of people are right, he's going to the PSD.

We won't and shouldn't give the side that beat us in the finals and that took them to the flag ,a player that will make them a better team again for little in return.

Borderlands 2 has my vote for game of the year thus far........... however it must be noted Halo 4 comes out in 2 weeks :D
I'd like your comment but am unable to for another week, lol. Don't have an xbox but I've been told Dishonored is one hell of a game. That's next on my list :D

P.S After Friday last week I now have my faith restored in the AFC and their management decisions.
Not gonna stress until the official announcement has been made.

I'd have to agree to disagree on Cloke. Cloke can take pack marks and is a very good aggressive leading forward. Tippett, by Adelaide posters own admissions on this thread, is not a leading forward. We are not after a rucking option, given we have Mumford and Pyke plus LRT as the pinch ruckman.

Tippett would be our best forward next year, but only just. And after that I'd expect Reid to overtake him. These are just my opinions, I'm sure the clubs will find a solution, that's their job.
Reid will be an absolute monster soon enough.