To save Fevola or not you decide the outcome.

I have analysed myself before writing this;) and the only thing I could come up with is that I am a female!!...so here goes..

I have always said that I don't want Fevola at our club, ideally I still don't..but I am getting a strong feeling that the right thing all round to do is KEEP Fev:eek:..yes yes I know!

He has to have had some sort of change while in rehab...and if we have to pay him that huge amount of salary, well, let him work for it and we get the on-field benefits..

It would also make us look like a caring club....and if he stuffs up again, we will get the sympathy and understanding for having given him a chance after him finally going through some serious rehab..it was never a serious effort before this..

..dunno, but I just feel we should keep him and help him back to playing again..

(I hate being so indecisive about a topic...this one is a doozy!..tooing and froing on an opinion is not usually my caper)
cheers dog
so getting fired from cfc was not enough of a wake up call,moving to brisvegas,losing family etc-you think forced rehab will sort him out

I was referring to your assessment of Callam Bartlett. True to form you went for the most negative, pessimistic appraisal. Personally I'll choose to hope for the best while he remains on our list... being a player on the team I support and all. Maybe I'm just weird in that I see supporting the Lions as more than just a cross to bear.

I just can't fathom how tortured and miserable you have let yourself become.

You don't have to support the team if it causes you nothing but misery. There is always fly fishing or something.

Who ever said it caused me misery? I am not a fair-weather supporter like a lot out there and regardless of our predicament will always support the club in more ways than just memberships. The only gripes I have with the club was the appointment of Voss, the debacle at the end of the 2009 season with our trades, jumper etc and everything associated with the Fevola trade. Every other aspect brings me great joy and delight and I do agree, the club is turning a corner, but a few more changes are stil required.

As for Callum Bartlett, like Fevola, was just too much of a gamble and from what I have heard from those in the know, fear another case of Pat Garner mark II.

in the end sacking fev 4 us was a pr exercise.fev still can kick a bag but what is best for the club now and in the future is at stake.If u were close 2 a flag he might stay. If u were close to bust he might stay. You are neither.he must go

cheers dog
so getting fired from cfc was not enough of a wake up call,moving to brisvegas,losing family etc-you think forced rehab will sort him out

In no way was I having a go at Carlton, or their efforts to change his ways, but he has never been this long in rehab before...maybe, just maybe on top of the events in his life that you mentioned, this MIGHT be the change in his thinking/attitude that everyone hopes he can make..

cheers dog
Fev isn't forced to do the rehab he's doing, he's free to leave whenever he wants but has chosen to stay.

I think many people are forgetting Fev has an alcohol addiction. Addictions don't change overnight, He might be able to fight the addiction off longer then the previous time but most of the time there are relapses with these types of things. Now I don't know the full story of what Brisbane has done with Fev but looking at it now (they may have done what I am about to suggest), the best thing to do would have been getting him counseling from the get go to help him deal with his life problems considering the number of problems he has had and now long they have been going on for. I really don't think he has had the support that he really needed to help fight this problem and this is why it has never gone away.

In no way was I having a go at Carlton, or their efforts to change his ways, but he has never been this long in rehab before...maybe, just maybe on top of the events in his life that you mentioned, this MIGHT help be that change in his thinking/attitude that everyone hopes he can make..
actually I am ashamed of how CFC conducts themselves even now-too little too late. For me Fev's troubles were obvious as a young teenager.Parents coaches etc failed him then. I had heated discussions with Pagan et al about fev and they were happy to bury their heads in the sand.To offer him a hand of help now is crap when they should have crushed his attitude problem a long time ago

Fev isn't forced to do the rehab he's doing, he's free to leave whenever he wants but has chosen to stay.

I think many people are forgetting Fev has an alcohol addiction. Addictions don't change overnight, He might be able to fight the addiction off longer then the previous time but most of the time there are relapses with these types of things. Now I don't know the full story of what Brisbane has done with Fev but looking at it now (they may have done what I am about to suggest), the best thing to do would have been getting him counseling from the get go to help him deal with his life problems considering the number of problems he has had and now long they have been going on for. I really don't think he has had the support that he really needed to help fight this problem and this is why it has never gone away.
fev was told to go into rehab-define addiction v choice

For a period of time which is now over yet he remains their so it's his choice to stay there.

Of course it was his choice to start drinking, such as it is for those who smoke, take drugs etc. But he doesn't know when to stop/struggles to stop which makes it an addiction (imo).

While I personally would like Fev to get another chance, the "how can the Lions even consider sacking him... he's suffering from depression!" argument baffles me.

I would suspect that a significant percentage of players who are delisted from AFL clubs every year would suffer some form of depression as a result of their dream being shattered. That in itself doesn't form a reason to keep them.

Fev's issues are unfortunate and serious and he needs further help. But the Lions have no obligation to keep playing him as a form of treatment.

That's right, our club is not a rehabilitation facility and shouldn't be made to be one for the sole purpose of getting Fev better. There are 46 other boys that need attention too.

I really feel for Fev, he is a moron no doubt about it but not the bad man he is made to look like by the media.

He hasn't done anything any worse than any man here has not done at some point of his life. And if you can deny that, then you are too good a person to be in my company.
These incidences are so pedantic and trivial, that I feel ashamed to be a supporter of a game today.

He hasn't done anything any worse than any man here has not done at some point of his life. And if you can deny that, then you are too good a person to be in my company.
These incidences are so pedantic and trivial, that I feel ashamed to be a supporter of a game today.

pretty much my point..

While I personally would like Fev to get another chance, the "how can the Lions even consider sacking him... he's suffering from depression!" argument baffles me.

I would suspect that a significant percentage of players who are delisted from AFL clubs every year would suffer some form of depression as a result of their dream being shattered. That in itself doesn't form a reason to keep them.

every club has had players who have cascaded into depression mostly post footy.lets hope lessons are being learnt

So, its okay for know-nothing slags like Caroline Wilson to make comment about Fev's future, but not okay for himself to put a statement out there on his own facebook page?

:rolleyes:

He is firing back, and EVERY right to!
Actually I said neither was her story ok nor did I say it's not ok for him to respond. Just an odd response given the seriosness of her allegations.
And he is still a tool. Great player when he's up and about and I love him kicking goals for us, but a tool none the less.

So here's one for the conspiracy theorists
Unidentified board member :
" Hey, go tell that gossip 'journo' Wilson that we're sacking Fev. The silly bitch won't be able to help herself. We'll have all weekend to guage the public response, if it looks like we can get away with it toss the w***er out, if it's all negative stuff we keep him and drop Caro in the shit for making up porkies. Either way we're heroes."

Yeah, I love a good conspirac theory and that one sort of crossed my mind.

My theory was more... "Get Caro to leak that we're sacking him, then when Fev comes in to meet with us he'll be amenable to anything, including a renegotiated contract".

Unlikely though. :p

one would think the afl and aflpa would have more say

I reckon you could tell her anything semi-plausible and she would write it as fact.
If I was in a position to do so I would tell her that Voss too is to be sacked just to see what the craziest story I could get her to write is.
As I have said before, if it pans out like she says she can claim scoop genius status
and if it flops she can blame the source.
But for me that won't do. If it is not fact then don't write it up as if it is. Not even a "could be" or "allegedly" in her article. Guess we will find out soon enough.
I would think the shitstorm it has created should be enough for our club to come out and make an announcement by Monday arve at the latest.

I love a good conspiracy theory as much as anyone, but I can't see the club deliberately trying to piss off people within the media. They would strike back with a vengeance.

I reckon you could tell her anything semi-plausible and she would write it as fact.
If I was in a position to do so I would tell her that Voss too is to be sacked just to see what the craziest story I could get her to write is.
As I have said before, if it pans out like she says she can claim scoop genius status
and if it flops she can blame the source.
But for me that won't do. If it is not fact then don't write it up as if it is. Not even a "could be" or "allegedly" in her article. Guess we will find out soon enough.
I would think the shitstorm it has created should be enough for our club to come out and make an announcement by Monday arve at the latest.

Or not....I'd be surprised if anything like that occured...
Kero

With the Lions due to hold talks with Fevola and his management next week, Lions football boss Dean Warren has been in constant dialogue not only with Anderson, but also the AFL Players' Association and Fevola's manager, Alastair Lynch. The Lions denied yesterday they had made an official termination offer to Fevola's management, but it is understood a payout of more than $1 million would be required should a deal be reached.
Fevola has indicated he wants to keep playing but faces a significant hurdle winning back the confidence of coach Michael Voss and the on-field leadership group.

I keep going back to Matt Finnis, Chief Executive Officer of the AFLPA comments
As speculation continues to grow surrounding the playing future of the high-priced recruit, it's considered almost impossible for the club, or the AFL, to sack Fevola.
"The termination of a contract with someone in that position would be unprecedented, and also at odds with the position of the AFL industry," Finnis said.
"At the end of the day we have a player who is on a leave of absence from his club and is receiving intense medical support as an in-patient at a clinic."
Club sources have suggested extending Fevola's contract to a fourth year to ease salary cap pressure and allow him to recuperate and return to what he does best.

To save Fevola or not you decide the outcome.