To Tank Or Not To Tank

your an idiot, who cares!! we dont even know if they are any good at top level!! the draft is a gamble you have no clue what you are going to get and dont want another wooden spoon next to our name!! id be happy with any pick in the top 10! lets work with this group and win some games! im not stooping down to carlton's level :thumbsdown:

Look I bloody hate tanking but look at the teams that have tanked in the past.

Hawthorn,well they won a flag last year because of it,Saints,and now Carlton and look at us,second bottom with alot of players leaving at the end of the year.

Desperate times require desperate measures.

The game of AFL is a game of corruption.

Might as well play the game.

The B-side to this is win games which I'd prefer and make sure the drafting department make not one mistake.

Hope the drafting department are doing everything they can to get us the best possible players we need.

No time for any more stuff ups.

Face the facts - It's ridiculous to think that finishing lower does not improve your chances of picking up better players....we MUST tank to pick up the best possible player we can get our hands on.

Should write off this year and blood as many kids as we can.....call it tanking or rebuilding...same thing.......

Lets not go out and win 5-6 useless games and jeopardise our chances....will do absolutely nothing to our long term prospects....

Look I bloody hate tanking but look at the teams that have tanked in the past.

Hawthorn,well they won a flag last year because of it,Saints,and now Carlton and look at us,second bottom with alot of players leaving at the end of the year.

Desperate times require desperate measures.

The game of AFL is a game of corruption.

Might as well play the game.

Nah thats a terrible excuse, you say that hawthorn and carlton tank....blah blah blah! they at least make good decisions with there draft picks!
on the other hand we dont, so just let the season run its course and hope we get a good player.

If we obviously tank (and I don't mean just playing the kids...I mean playing to lose in order to improve our draft position), then it's over for me. I don't want to support a team that deliberately loses matches in order to rort the system. I've been through 27 years of shit and I'll go through 27 more if necessary, but if the club starts playing to lose I don't see the point in following them.

Thankfully, I don't think we're going to stoop that low. We're going to give some kids a chance and try to turn things around this season. If that means finishing 9th again, I'll take it.

If we obviously tank (and I don't mean just playing the kids...I mean playing to lose in order to improve our draft position), then it's over for me. I don't want to support a team that deliberately loses matches in order to rort the system. I've been through 27 years of shit and I'll go through 27 more if necessary, but if the club starts playing to lose I don't see the point in following them.

Thankfully, I don't think we're going to stoop that low. We're going to give some kids a chance and try to turn things around this season. If that means finishing 9th again, I'll take it.
and what if we tank and win the flag in 3 or 4 years?

Yeah, I'd be happy of course. But I reckon we've got just as much chance of winning a flag in 3-4 years if we don't tank. Without tanking we'll probably win 6-8 games and finish about 13th which would give us picks 5 and 21. If we do tank, we'll probably finish 15th and get picks 3, 18 and 20. Really 3 vs 5 and 20 vs 21 isn't much difference. So we'd be trading our souls for pick 18. All tanking does is earn us an asterisk next to any flags we do win.

lol we tanked 3-4 years ago and look where that got us.

I believe we will see success coming.
Starting to play consistent football with a smart gameplan and the players will all improve with eachother. it wont come from trying to lose to secure a gun player in the draft. All that will do is continue to breed into our players the losing culture.

Nah thats a terrible excuse, you say that hawthorn and carlton tank....blah blah blah! they at least make good decisions with there draft picks!
on the other hand we dont, so just let the season run its course and hope we get a good player.

hope?

hope? :rolleyes:

this is a professional industry, we need to make cold calculated decisions for the betterment of this footy club. WAKE UP!

for the next 5-6 years the draft is screwed, do you know what happens if GC take cotchin or deledio from us? We get a draft pick in compensation but if we use it before 2012 we it after the 2nd round if im not mistaken. The AFL are going to screw the competition to make sure the new teams are flying,use the system to our advantage, we ****ed it bigtime last season lets salvage something from this season and leave this pathetic (albeit honourable) misplaced pride and emotion aside. You do realise, we have about 12-14 players that will need to be moved on over the next 2 years and that's being conservative bc 6 of them are the wrong side of 30, another 1 probably wont play again due to serious injury and another has probably seen the game pass him by due to extended injury. When you factor in next seasons draft being severely compromised, well son, DO THE ****ING MATH!

Yeah, I'd be happy of course. But I reckon we've got just as much chance of winning a flag in 3-4 years if we don't tank. Without tanking we'll probably win 6-8 games and finish about 13th which would give us picks 5 and 21. If we do tank, we'll probably finish 15th and get picks 3, 18 and 20. Really 3 vs 5 and 20 vs 21 isn't much difference. So we'd be trading our souls for pick 18. All tanking does is earn us an asterisk next to any flags we do win.

Im sorry, last i checked the record book showed flags not *NB they tanked it

hope?

Hope? :rolleyes:

This is a professional industry, we need to make cold calculated decisions for the betterment of this footy club. Wake up!

For the next 5-6 years the draft is screwed, do you know what happens if gc take cotchin or deledio from us? We get a draft pick in compensation but if we use it before 2012 we it after the 2nd round if im not mistaken. The afl are going to screw the competition to make sure the new teams are flying,use the system to our advantage, we ****ed it bigtime last season lets salvage something from this season and leave this pathetic (albeit honourable) misplaced pride and emotion aside. You do realise, we have about 12-14 players that will need to be moved on over the next 2 years and that's being conservative bc 6 of them are the wrong side of 30, another 1 probably wont play again due to serious injury and another has probably seen the game pass him by due to extended injury. When you factor in next seasons draft being severely compromised, well son, do the ****ing math!

yawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwnnnnnn

The Crows have never tanked and we're doing alright.

You don't only win premierships by tanking. There are plenty of other methods to go about rebuilding, or whatever you want to call it. Why would you want to have a losing mentality in your culture?

I AGREE:thumbsu:

the crow is right!! it tells the truth:cool:

I cant handle fools like this that spew shit that they think sounds good.

1. There are plenty of other methods...yes...we have exhausted most of those methods....which leads to
2. Those methods have lead us to having losing mentality and we want to change it. Which planet have you been on dude? I mean....why would we want a losing mentality? We dont want it...we ****ing have it...;)

Obviously, when you have so-called supporters who want their team to lose. Disgrace.

Im sorry, last i checked the record book showed flags not *NB they tanked it

People remember. Carlton's 2007 was shameful and they will never live that down to many people. Any future success they have, people will always be able to point to the way they acquired Judd and Kruezer. Granted, some people don't care and the media has already forgotten, but I'd rather we win our next flag by building our list honestly.

Do you think if Carlton win a flag soon that their members will care what other people say? I certainly wouldn't, Richmond are labelled as everything under the sun, wouldn't care if we're called tankers if we actually can have some success. Anyways, like it or not, we're already in tank mode. The players might go out there on Saturday and want to win but the coaches certainly don't.

I think I've made my opinion on this quite clear. I'd still like people to see which teams have successfully tanked and won premierships compared to those who didn't. Tanking is losing games on purpose NOT playing kids and trying to win.

Anyway, I wont ramble on.

Essentially we haven't tanked and finished last for years on end. Just like some of you 'tankers' to answer: We tank and finish last... what's the difference?

Tanking shouldn't even be discussed. Sport is about winning, not looking to the future in 10 years. :thumbsdown:

Amazing post RFCTA :thumbsu: ;)

man you must still be in pre-school. Live it down? if we won a flag and "many" people were like that towards us...i for one would be laughing at them, particularly if they were supporters of a team that was once in the bottom 2 with us and are still there. You kinda talk about the "many" but you kinda think that "many" is you. ;)

Can you please tell me the difference:

Where has St.Kilda, Hawthorn and Carlton finished in comparison to us? If they've had more years higher on the ladder than us, your argument is flawed.

man you must still be in pre-school. Live it down? if we won a flag and "many" people were like that towards us...i for one would be laughing at them, particularly if they were supporters of a team that was once in the bottom 2 with us and are still there. You kinda talk about the "many" but you kinda think that "many" is you. ;)

Lots of people still refer to them as Carltank and won't stop just because they win a premiership (not that I think they will).

If tanking was a certainty to bring future success then maybe it'd be worth considering. But it's not. It's compromising your integrity for a "maybe". I would hope that despite how pathetic we've been for the last 27 years that there is still enough pride in the club that we won't stoop to deliberately losing matches. Maybe you still get the same enjoyment from winning after cheating, but some of us don't.

Anyway, we've been crap for years. What makes you think that deliberately being crap will somehow be a recipe for future success?

Put it this way: west coast are in tank mode and if we beat them this week they will almost certainly end up with picks 2 and 4, with us getting pick 5 at best. i.e. they have two picks before we have one - of the absolute cream - who these days are just about sure bets. On the other hand, if we lose this week, if we 'manage' the rest of our season, we could end up with pick 2, before west coast gets a shot. It would also force Melbourne to choose between Scully, the best onball prospect since Cotchin, and Butcher, a gun key forward, instead of gifting them both. We desperately need each of those types. From what I've read Koby Stevens and Anthony Morabito would fill our needs too, and there is every chance all 4 will be gone by pick 5.

They're our rivals, this is a competition. It's a blight on the way the game is run that a premiership team is rewarded for lying down in two consecutive seasons just two years after a flag, but that's the game. Why swim against the current? How good do those eight wins in the second half of last year make you feel now? How would you feel with Jack Watts and Hamish Hartlett on our books? If we let West Coast steal another couple of draft picks from us because of our pride, we're fools.

Play the kids, 'manage' the close ones. The AFL is going to **** us in the arse over the next few years so we might as well screw what we can with our final chance.

To Tank Or Not To Tank