Player Watch Tom Langdon (Retired 2020)

Langdon injured himself against St Kilda on Saturday, 18 May. This weekend will make it 8 weeks since the injury. He's barely running after that time. It isn't boding well for his possible return this season.

Sounds like he should just cop the surgery, but it’s hard to tell Tommy his 2019 aspirations are over.

Without knowing any of the ramifications, I'd be trying to avoid the surgery with fingers crossed too if I was Tom. For most AFL footballers, finals campaigns where your team is a genuine chance are rare.

Langdon injured himself against St Kilda on Saturday, 18 May. This weekend will make it 8 weeks since the injury. He's barely running after that time. It isn't boding well for his possible return this season.

Was it a specific game where he injured himself or was it an accumulation over many games?

I'm not sure. In the articles I read it was discussed by the club as an injury that was sustained, which made me think of a point in time. That article was mid week after the Saints game. The speculation on this forum was it was degenerative not sure if that was based on something in the media or not.

If his knee is bone on bone what type of surgery will help that? Genuine question.
A total knee replacement, which I guarantee you they are not considering.

More likely he needs a meniscal repair.

What about cartilage grafting or stem cell treatment?
Stem cell treatment is largely unproven. You could inject stem cells in there and maybe he improves, maybe he doesn’t. Meanwhile the clock is ticking and preseason 2020 is coming around and the natives are getting restless...

Cartilage grafting as in graft taken from someone else, or grown in a dish? It’s one of a few possible options, but we don’t know enough about the condition to be able to say whether it is appropriate for Tommy.

A bit young for that. My Dad got a knee replacement a few years ago, let's just say it's career over after a knee replacement...
I would say it’s career over a good decade or two before the knee replacement!

There was a certain Tour De France winner who won that race (well he was the winner for a few weeks anyway) after having had his hip replaced. Maybe Langers can go see his doctor and get the full treatment.

Well he had a knee bandage on at times during the pre-season.
His first knee op was a 'miniscus shave' after the 2015 season, after he battled through the last part of the season with it. I don't know how many total procedures he may have had by now (maybe only the one - I really don't know), but I'm pretty sure he missed games in 2017 too.
In hindsight, it may not have been a great idea to go climb Mt Kilamanjaro in the offseason after such a long and trying 2018, although I can certainly understand the attraction, having done some of that trek myself (and aggravating an old footy knee injury!), although at a much more advanced age than Tom.

If it was degenerative.. wouldn't they have seen the cartilage was close to cactus from scans from a while ago?

My dad had a knee replacement as well.. initial diagnosis was 'your cartilage is looking a bit f.. give it a yr or 2 before it's bone on bone'.

Wouldn't the club have known the same? A period where he can cont to play until the pain becomes too much to bare and it's bone on bone?

Better not be a knee replacement.. hang the boots up otherwise.

There was a certain Tour De France winner who won that race (well he was the winner for a few weeks anyway) after having had his hip replaced. Maybe Langers can go see his doctor and get the full treatment.
I thought he had the full on replacement after his tour winning performance.

Though he did have hip surgery or treatment etc pre the 2006 Tour.

I thought he had the full on replacement after his tour winning performance.

Though he did have hip surgery or treatment etc pre the 2006 Tour.
ahh you are correct. The passage of time has dulled my recollection. But I will never forget the day he rode to Morzine like he was on a motorbike. O'Grady was in the break that day and could not believe how fast he went past them. Turns out Stuey should have known!

Old mate Stuart, mr clean (cough cough splutter splutter).

That stage was something else. All of a sudden he was Marco Pantani on heat.

Speaking of Marco, there was a stage in the mountains, I think, the year he won, can’t recall which stage exactly, but his attack on the climb was poetry (well fake poetry you’d think) but such a majestic climber.
Looked like he was a gazelle.

Watch it every night, love it.

Old mate Stuart, mr clean (cough cough splutter splutter).

That stage was something else. All of a sudden he was Marco Pantani on heat.

Speaking of Marco, there was a stage in the mountains, I think, the year he won, can’t recall which stage exactly, but his attack on the climb was poetry (well fake poetry you’d think) but such a majestic climber.
Looked like he was a gazelle.

Watch it every night, love it.
His Jesus on the Cross poses crossing the line were something else. He was a doper, yes, but so was just about everyone else. But no one had his panache and preparedness to risk it all.

Stuey was so unlucky to have taken EPO just that one time when samples were tested retrospectively. But I still love him.

His Jesus on the Cross poses crossing the line were something else. He was a doper, yes, but so was just about everyone else. But no one had his panache and preparedness to risk it all.

Stuey was so unlucky to have taken EPO just that one time when samples were tested retrospectively. But I still love him.
Yes sometimes they’re just a one time user with sheer bad luck. :D

But in those days, Doping was de facto “allowed” as long as you didn’t talk about it, just part of the scene. Then they decided, likely for legal reasons, better if we clean it up. So now it’s frowned upon.

Yes sometimes they’re just a one time user with sheer bad luck. :D

But in those days, Doping was de facto “allowed” as long as you didn’t talk about it, just part of the scene. Then they decided, likely for legal reasons, better if we clean it up. So now it’s frowned upon.

It was likely testing increased across all cycling at the behest of the Olympic committee. Can't be seen to have different rules for different sports or sub-sports.

Player Watch Tom Langdon (Retired 2020)