Tonights umpiring thread !

FWIW I thought the game was well umpired except for the disgraceful Roo free at the beginning of the 3rd quarter.
Was at the game in the AFL members so missed a few of the disputed frees at the MCC side of the ground. (Hudson free late, tackle over the boundary?)

Akermanis' free against was there.

Overall agree we got the best of the umpires,as I can't remember any howlers against us. If you can't have a sook about a decision you obviously got a good ride. I'll watch the replay with interest.

Sorry doggies, you were great tonight.

I thought the turning point was when Lyon moved McBurney onto the ball at the start of the second half.

Wait, wut?

FWIW I thought the game was well umpired except for the disgraceful Roo free at the beginning of the 3rd quarter.
Was at the game in the AFL members so missed a few of the disputed frees at the MCC side of the ground. (Hudson free late, tackle over the boundary?)

Overall agree we got the best of the umpires,as I can't remember any howlers against us. If you can't have a sook about a decision you obviously got a good ride. I'll watch the replay with interest.

Thanks Mr Magnanimous.

And how many of those Akermanis free kicks have been paid in recent memory?

(I expect I'll get an infraction for this comment too - watchout comrades, we'll all end up in the gulag).

I don't mind if the umpire count is lop sided, as long as it doesn't affect the result.

The result suffered tonight from some crucial mistakes, it's a shame such a close game had so many critical and ordinary free kicks given, under such contentious circumstances.

Thanks Mr Magnanimous.

And how many of those Akermanis free kicks have been paid in recent memory?

(I expect I'll get an infraction for this comment too - watchout comrades, we'll all end up in the gulag).

sorry to agree with the general sentiment of you guys
who was Aker kicking to, if not the boundary.

sorry to the rest of you doggies, I was not having a go.

1. Nick's dive free kick for a goal
2. Shaggy 'incorrect disposal' free kick (really? A kick is incorrect disposal)
3. Subsequent holding the ball free not paid to the dogs (forget the players involved)
4. Aker's deliberate out of bounds free

By FAR the most important, incorrect, and DISGRACEFUL umpring decisions and non decision of the year.

I'm not even anygry, as I'm not surprised it played out this way.

BTW - It took this umpiring disaster to spur my first post!

But why should we have to? St Kilda were second best in every area, except where it counted, umpiring decisions!

Frees were 17-17, so you tied with the Saints there.

You had plenty of chances over the course of the game. Get yourself Matty Lloyd and you will be a big chance next year.

But why should we have to? St Kilda were second best in every area, except where it counted, umpiring decisions!
Well that's where you're going wrong. You aim to be in front of the scoreboard. As a neutral, I think it was well umpired. As did my fellow Richmond fan sister and dad whom I was with. The Riewoldt one was a bit dodgy and there was one to Kosi in the first that was poor, but outside of that it wasn't too shabby. Possibly look into players' mistakes such as poor kicking as a reason for losing than umpire "mistakes".

sorry to agree with the general sentiment of you guys
who was Aker kicking to, if not the boundary.

sorry to the rest of you doggies, I was not having a go.

Who were all the players all night from both teams aiming for when they handballed, paddled, ran the ball over the boundary? Aker did nothing wrong, he kicked it as far as he good to his team's advantage, without going directly at the boundary. If you watch the replay with interest, open both eyes - it helps!

****ing inept bunch of gutless, weak, pathetic little ****s.

Ray ****ing Chamberlain and McInerney - ****off from the shithole from whence you came you ****ing ****y ****ing gutless arsewipes

That free to Riewoldt - honest to ****ing God, I feel like punching the ****en wall through.

And how many bullshit holding the balls went against us and

To St Kilda fans reading - congrats, I hold nothing against you or your club and hope you win next week, I honestly do.

But I am so ****ing gutted right now. They seriously ****ed us over.

FFS.

I hate life.

****ing inept bunch of gutless, weak, pathetic little ****s.

Ray ****ing Chamberlain and McInerney - ****off from the shithole from whence you came you ****ing ****y ****ing gutless arsewipes

That free to Riewoldt - honest to ****ing God, I feel like punching the ****en wall through.

And how many bullshit holding the balls went against us and

To St Kilda fans reading - congrats, I hold nothing against you or your club and hope you win next week, I honestly do.

But I am so ****ing gutted right now. They seriously ****ed us over.

FFS.

I hate life.

When i saw Chamberlain and McInerney walk out to umpire i just about spewed. The 2 biggest knobs in the game.It was the worst umpiring i have ever seen in a final. We showed St Kilda for the pretenders they are and the umps got them across the line. :thumbsdown:

Thanks docsaint I appreciate your compliment. I suppose we doggies supporters are devastated as there were probably two, (perhaps three) decisions that were extremely influential in a low scoring, intense game. They were influential in that all decisions resulted in saints goals in a game where goals were at a premium. In absolute terms, take away those decisions and the doggies win. We beat you guys in all stats except for the score and if you take away the two umps goals then we would've beaten you there as well...

The two decisions that the yellow maggot McBurney got horribly wrong were the obvious Roo 2nd half debacle of a free kick and the one in the second qtr that provided you with your 1st (?) goal to Dal. Hargreave gets pinned for holding the ball because the blind **** doesn't notice that he gets the ball to his boot as he's being tackled!!!!

The third contentious one is the AKA deliberate out of bounds.... I ask you all this... How can an umpire call deliberate, a kick that travels about 45 metres forward, bounces 4 or 5 times and then goes out of bounds? Granted, there wasn't a player there, from either side (as the dogs were flooding and the Saints were attacking) but what's he meant to do with it? It wasn't as if he went for the boundary line 5 or 10 metres away. It was literally 45 metres away!!!

Now you need to be objective here... These three decisions in a hugely important game which is low scoring, would be hard for any team / supporter to swallow!!!

Especially if the losing team, was the better team in 3 out of the 4 quarters!!!:(

If I hear one more person query where Aker was kicking i'll spew. Yes he was going for the boundary, but so did ten other guys tonight, you can't just pull one out like that. A minute later one of their guys tapped it over the line, not deliberate. The Roo free kick was shambolic, the Morris non mark pathetic, the Hargrave holding the ball laughable and the free to Lozi in the first quarter when he missed was mystifying. The umpries were disgraceful, we were robbed. We could have won anyway but the fact is numerous St Kilda goals resulted from bullshit

Part way through the first quarter I said to my mate - "the umpires are doing their bit to ensure its a 'dream' grand final between the saints and cats".
Well they sure as shit kept on it all night ... FFS the free to Roo was just abso****lutely ****ED!!! FFS what sort of game are we playin here!
I agree with the poster on pg1 - dont usually believe in conspiracy theories - but there seemed to be an agenda tonight - that was just crap! Gutted!!!! (like never before after a footy game!)

You had plenty of chances over the course of the game. Get yourself Matty Lloyd and you will be a big chance next year.

A more interesting stat would be contested marks inside 50. I am sure that everytime the ball was contested inside the 50 it was thhe saints that got the ball.

Free that gave dal santo his goal (not there)
1 of Riewoldts goals should not even have existed
1 of Riewoldts goals should have been a behind
Koschitzke point from a free (god that was weak)
Theres more but i cbf'd.

How much more can the umps help these ****ers in there foward 50? You guys have every right to blame the umps, even if you could have won it.... they are a joke.

While we are at it, if I remember correctly in the second there was a Bulldog kick that was ruled as touched but should have been a goal? From the replay it looked like the Saints player had touched it behind the line.

Its not how many you get, but WHERE you get them that counts. I would rather have 5 frees in the fwd 50 than 10 in the def 50.

In addition to to all the terrible umpiring calls, I do not care what anyone says this is WORSE than '97, we dominated the first qtr 24 minutes. They had the better of us in the 3rd which was 34. 34 min qtr, to which they put their noses in front.

Riewoldt, it is a disgrace that you are named All Australian captain, it is disgrace to Australia! You are not a champion in my books, and you are the SOFTEST key position player in the AFL.

The unbelievable calls, I sat around a whole bunch of saints supporters, abused the hell out of the calls they made, calling it bull crap, I actually was tempted to throw coins at the umps in disgust, not ONE disagreed with me. Last year, I accepted the lost, Geelong were the better side, St. Kilda got threw by terrible umpiring.

Riewoldt, you have take the reins as my most detested AFL player. Along with Mline the rapist....

Re: ARSE wipe umpire !

I'm a fairly laid back sort of guy, but if I hear one person over the next few days defend AFL umpires, I will smash their face to kingdom come. Critical decisions throughout the night favoured St Kilda, regardless of the overall free count, which I have no stat for anyway. Critical "holding the ball" (actually incorrect disposal) - Hargrave penalised whenhe kicked it, on three occasions, at least, Saints players were tackled with prior opportunity and dropped the ball one-handed - no penalty. Morris's mark against that soft **** on the Southern stand wing. Why should I instruct my children to have any respect for those little yellow , seriously?? Jeff Gieschen, you are a ****ing moronic arsewipe, you useless goat-****er. I feel better now, think I might read a book before bed.

This sadly is not the first game to be decided by umpiring decisions that are heavily biased. BLATANT poor decisions go largely unscrutinized and certainly unpunished; as long as the team that is supposed to win .....wins.

some of the bullcrap in this thread is laughable

stkilda also had decisions go against them. kosi took a mark (in the 3rd quarter) that wasn't paid. a lenny hayes push in the back tackle was ridiculous.

there was also a bad "fending off to the face" decision, which should have been a stkilda free kick first for high contact.

And regarding some of the decisions the bulldogs are complaining about:

you can't go around belting players the whole game off the ball. riewoldt was being targeted for all of the first half. and he wasn't retaliating, he was just getting up and continuing with his football. obviously the umpires noticed this, and the I consider the freekick in the 3rd quarter justified, as it represents not only the contact by Lake, but all the pressure placed on the umpires to do something about the off-play contact. the straw that broke the camel's back, if you will.

the akermanis decision could have gone either way. we know he was going for the boundary. he kicked over the heads of 3 saints players straight to the boundary. we know he wasn't trying to gain ground, because it wasn't even to a contest. there were no dogs within sight. The whole point of his kick was to kick it out of bounds. Thus, he deliberately kicked it out of bounds. yes, it was gutsy for the umpire to pay it, but the free was there.

I have to concede that some decisions did go against the dogs. The holding the ball one, for example, when he kicked it. The "touched" goal by the dogs player looked to be over the line, but apparently the whole ball has to go over. The line is also behind the goal post, so we can't be sure.

As for expecting Riewoldt's last goal to be paid touched. lol. As buckley said on 7's coverage. In AFL football, that is paid a goal 100% of the time, regardless of whether it was touched or there was simultaneous contact.

And to the people criticizing Riewoldt, you need just get a life. He is a champion of the game and an amazing player.

I feel for the dogs, they are my second favourite team and lots of my family barrack for them. I really do feel bad for you guys. But to try to take away from StKilda's victory and/or hate on Rooey is an injustice to your own team.

Whoever that Stupid Arse wipe of an umpire that gave Riewvolt A free kick at the start of the 3rd quarter should be shot !

Disgraceful ! Cost us the game !

Shame !​

Agreed. Was soft, pathetic and disgraceful all rolled into one. I would hate to see that paid in a NAB trial match let alone a Preliminary Final. :thumbsdown:

Take heart Dogs fans, your lot was gutsy tonight. The umpires were terribly one-sided towards the Saints.​

Re: ARSE wipe umpire !

I'm a fairly laid back sort of guy, but if I hear one person over the next few days defend AFL umpires, I will smash their face to kingdom come. Critical decisions throughout the night favoured St Kilda, regardless of the overall free count, which I have no stat for anyway. Critical "holding the ball" (actually incorrect disposal) - Hargrave penalised whenhe kicked it, on three occasions, at least, Saints players were tackled with prior opportunity and dropped the ball one-handed - no penalty. Morris's mark against that soft **** on the Southern stand wing. Why should I instruct my children to have any respect for those little yellow , seriously?? Jeff Gieschen, you are a ****ing moronic arsewipe, you useless goat-****er. I feel better now, think I might read a book before bed.

Absolutely agree.

As a neutral, I thought the umpiring was woeful. The free to Kozi in the first where lake masterfully bumped him out of the contest. The free at the start of the 3rd to Roo ... absolute stupidity.

How Chamberlain and Mclaren get an umpiring gig continues to astound me. How any umpiring department can select umpires based on how they bounce the ball rather than how they can adjudicate, astounds me.

Chins up Doggies supporters. Tom Williams will come on next year and you'll still have you excellent complement of mids, you are set for another exciting year. Doesn't help, but should be you guys in the GF this year.

Tonights umpiring thread !