Mega Thread Tony Abbott

I am as it clearly has political implications. I think it is very useful to know which of Tone's female candidates give him a bit of a tingle. The presence on the front bench of Sophie M, Bishops x 2 and "the Jaw" (Kelly O'D) suggests that where Libnat MPs have sex appeal this "quality" does not assist in their advance to Tone's front bench. We do not want a federal repeat from Tone of Troy Buswell's unusual seat sniffing behaviour now do we.

Tony needs to come clean and rate all his female candidates, perhaps out of 10 on the "roooaaahh" scale. Perhaps his assessment of "a bit of sex appeal" can be rated 3/10, which seems fair enough.

Abbott has guaranteed his current frontbench their positions in govt, except bishop wont be deputy PM

Typical fuss over nothing. No doubt the twittersphere will be going nuts jumping on anything Abbott says, so they can deliberately "take offence."

The candidate in question has sex appeal. Abbott spoke the truth. No one would dispute that everything he said was accurate.

So do you agree with me that Tony should give his sex appeal rating to each of the Libnat female candidates? I mean how could that be offensive?

They do get a huge benefit of the doubt on financial issues though

Really? All I've heard over the last few days is "release the costings, release the costings!"

Last time I checked, Labor's budget blew out by 30 billion in 12 weeks, they always overestimate the revenues, they havn't delivered a surplus as a party in government since 1989 (despite regularly promising one) and have been the biggest spending government in Australia's history.

If it's true that the Coalition get some leeway on financial matters (and I don't agree that they do) it's because they have a track record of actually being able to balance the books.

I think I would try to find other qualities in my candidates like "she knows my 6 point plan off by heart. Go on, ask her..." or something, as opposed to "phwoahhh who wouldn't vote for these hotties" but hey, each to their own.

When I saw the footage I initially thought I'd broken a vow I made to myself to not watch a single minute of Big Brother in 2013. Then I was relieved for a minute when I realized it was the Fed election. Then I realized that Fed politics has morphed into Big Brother and I got quite depressed

Pants is a potato

......by selling off assets, and not providing true competition as promised see telstra

I find it amusing liberal voters keep trotting out the " good economic managers" line blissfully ignoring or not knowing the facts. Its easy to get a surplus when you sell everything off, that doesn't make you a good economic manager that makes you lazy. The Labor party always make the tough decisions which benefit Australia in the long run than when the Liberal party take over they simply sit on their hands and watch the good work pay off. That's how John Howard spent 11 year in office. And sending us to war based on a lie. The guy should be charged for war crimes imo so should that other lunatic George Dubya.

Typical fuss over nothing. No doubt the twittersphere will be going nuts jumping on anything Abbott says, so they can deliberately "take offence."

The candidate in question has sex appeal. Abbott spoke the truth. No one would dispute that everything he said was accurate.

Remember during 2007 when it was revealed that Rudd went to a strip club? Now this is no big deal, I couldn't care less, but it's ironic that this was "celebrated", while if Abbott had done it, he would have been condemned.

The fact that conservative politicians are held to far higher standards than Labor pollies is one of the great frustrations. It's incredibly unfair.

That's because they are the kings of criticism, always happy to dish it out and than cry foul when the shoe is on the other foot. Classic example is the fake outrage from Tony Abbott with the GST, it's alright for him to spend 6 years saying the world will end if we keep the carbon and mining tax and put fear into people's minds than Kevin Rudd plays the same card and he has a sook and has the gall to say it's a scare campaign?, He never said it was off the table so we have every right to question his thinking.

What rubbish.

The carbon tax is fair game. Labor said they wouldn't introduce it, then they introduced it after the election. Abbott is within his rights to criticise both the politics of the decision as well as the practicalities of the policy (i.e the waste, and meaningless of spending billions to reduce the temperature by 0.00004 of a degree)

This GST rubbish is pure gutter politics of the lowest kind. The Coalition has said they won't raise the GST, so until they do, you cannot criticize them. So, what if the GST is in their tax review? It should be part of the tax review. So should every tax.

If, in the future a Coalition government was going to raise the GST, they would take it to an election so people know what they are voting for. They did this in 1998. It was gutsy. it was risky politics, but it was the right thing to do. Howard went to the people and said "If you vote for us, there will be a GST"

Howard went for, and received a mandate from the people.

Abbott would do the same IF he sought to raise the GST, but that has nothing to do with the 2013 election. If he takes it to the 2016 election, you will have the chance to vote for it or against it. Labor didn't do this with the carbon tax. They received no mandate for it, so your criticism is just pure left-wing fanboy bullshit.

What rubbish.

The carbon tax is fair game. Labor said they wouldn't introduce it, then they introduced it after the election. Abbott is within his rights to criticise both the politics of the decision as well as the practicalities of the policy (i.e the waste, and meaningless of spending billions to reduce the temperature by 0.00004 of a degree)

This GST rubbish is pure gutter politics of the lowest kind. The Coalition has said they won't raise the GST, so until they do, you cannot criticize them. So, what if the GST is in their tax review? It should be part of the tax review. So should every tax.

If, in the future a Coalition government was going to raise the GST, they would take it to an election so people know what they are voting for. They did this in 1998. It was gutsy. it was risky politics, but it was the right thing to do. Howard went to the people and said "If you vote for us, there will be a GST"

Abbott would do the same IF he sought to raise the GST, but that has nothing to do with the 2013 election. If he takes it to the 2016 election, you will have the chance to vote for it or against it. Labor didn't do this with the carbon tax. They received no mandate for it, so your criticism is just pure left-wing fanboy bullshit.

Of course he had to take it to the people you idiot, The GST is for everybody, it involves everyday life and everyday spending, you would have to be a complete dill to seek no mandate for something that affects the electorate to the point the GST does. That does not apply to the Carbon Tax because it is not a necessity, did you whinge when they lifted the Tobacco tax recently? that's not a necessity either. Gillard did not need a mandate for something that has little bearing on everyday life and if you think it does than you believe the gutter journalism and liberal party hoopla which has come with the tax. Do you know that there have been many companies fined for blaming the carbon tax for pumping up prices and cutting costs of their business? it's a complete charade. If companies are going broke they were going broke a long time before the Carbon tax was introduced. If you do a bit of research you will find out alot of countries are moving towards an ETS and alot already have one in place. Do you think those countries seeked a mandate for it? highly doubt it. Kevin Rudd doesn't genuinely believe they will raise the GST, he is giving Tony Abbott a taste of his own medicine and we are finding out he gets a bit antsy when dealing with a bit of propaganda.

What rubbish.

Except all three major parties ( the nats are now just a boil on the libs ass) took some kind of carbon pricing into the 2007 election

Of course he had to take it to the people you idiot, The GST is for everybody, it involves everyday life and everyday spending, you would have to be a complete dill to seek no mandate for something that affects the electorate to the point the GST does. That does not apply to the Carbon Tax because it is not a necessity, did you whinge when they lifted the Tobacco tax recently? that's not a necessity either. Gillard did not need a mandate for something that has little bearing on everyday life and if you think it does than you believe the gutter journalism and liberal party hoopla which has come with the tax. Do you know that there have been many companies fined for blaming the carbon tax for pumping up prices and cutting costs of their business? it's a complete charade. If companies are going broke they were going broke a long time before the Carbon tax was introduced. If you do a bit of research you will find out alot of countries are moving towards an ETS and alot already have one in place. Do you think those countries seeked a mandate for it? highly doubt it. Kevin Rudd doesn't genuinely believe they will raise the GST, he is giving Tony Abbott a taste of his own medicine and we are finding out he gets a bit antsy when dealing with a bit of propaganda.

Actually ive heard many liberals say off the record that GST should be raised

Remember during 2007 when it was revealed that Rudd went to a strip club? Now this is no big deal, I couldn't care less, but it's ironic that this was "celebrated", while if Abbott had done it, he would have been condemned.

The fact that conservative politicians are held to far higher standards than Labor pollies is one of the great frustrations. It's incredibly unfair.

I beg to differ, if that person is both yours & Tones example of "sex appeal" personified then all i can say is you are easily pleased.

No secret Tones likes women, likes sex and lots of it and is no doubt very good at it. In my experience this is not generally a turnoff to women. Usually the opposite.

Now Jane no boasting of your sexual exploits if you please.

Laughing at the reaction to "sex appeal" as if it wasn't anything but a planned slip of the tounge.

I thought Real and Fake Julia was bad, but I can't wait for the hilarity that will be Peta Credlin and Brian Loughnane running Australia's first ever Prime-Minister-by-committee.

Keeps their Western Sydney campaign in the forefront of everyone's minds and lets them reel out "genuine, blokey" Tony without making a massive campaign-killing gaffe.

IMHO anyway.

If they don't allow him small gaffes he's liable to explode, they need to release some of the pressure.

If you reckon what Abbott said was sexist, then you are a ******* idiot and when the time comes, I hope your type is smitten from the earth so that those with brains are allowed to enjoy life without your inanity clogging up the airwaves.
It may not have been sexist but it was f***ing stupid.

Of course he had to take it to the people you idiot, The GST is for everybody,

So is the carbon tax. Everybody that turns on a light, or their heater will be wearing the cost of the carbon tax indirectly.

What's your point, anyway? You seem to be suggesting that because the carbon tax was "not as big a policy" as the GST, that it was therefore okay to not get a mandate for the carbon tax, and it was okay to lie about it. No, it was not okay. Gillard should have been honest with the Australian people, just as Howard was prior to the 1998 election.

Labor lied, and they lied to win an election.

That does not apply to the Carbon Tax because it is not a necessity, did you whinge when they lifted the Tobacco tax recently? that's not a necessity either.

They havn't lifted the tobacco tax. Parliament isn't sitting which means it isn't law. This will only happen after the election. Labor actually have a mandate for it, if they win the election. They did not do this with the carbon tax. And besides, it is plainly ridiculous to compare a cigarette tax with the carbon tax. A cigarette tax only affects smokers. The carbon tax affects everyone who uses energy - I.e everyone.

Gillard did not need a mandate for something that has little bearing on everyday life

Surely you can't be serious?

She lied, and she did so because if she told the truth that she was implementing a carbon tax she would have lost the election. For you to suggest this is okay tells me more about you and your obvious Labor barracking than it does for anything else. It tells me that you think it is okay for Labor do anything unethical to win. A lot of left-wing people have this view because they believe they are morally superior. They believe it is okay to be unethical, because if you stop those evil conservatives from getting into power, it is all justified. It's one of the reasons I despise the left.

What Labor did was immoral, unethical, not to mention stupid policy-wise. A tax that does nothing for the temperature but makes it more expensive for people to live. In what world do grown adults think this is a good idea?

Kevin Rudd doesn't genuinely believe they will raise the GST, he is giving Tony Abbott a taste of his own medicine and we are finding out he gets a bit antsy when dealing with a bit of propaganda

This is getting absurd. You are suggesting it is okay for labor to run a scare campaign, just because Abbott did against the carbon tax.

Abbott was within his rights to do this against the carbon tax because:

A.) Labor lied and implemented it when they said they wouldn't.
b.) It was a REAL policy, that was actually came into effect.
C,) and it was bad policy

Rudd has no rights to do this about the GST because:

A.) the Coalition havn't lied about anything. They have said they won't raise the GST, and I'm sure they won't for the first term, and if they did so in a second term, they would get a mandate
B.) it's not real policy. It's a hypothetical.
C.) The GST is not necessarily bad policy. Labor did not dismantle it in 2007 when they finally came into power, it has been in place for 15 years and Paul Keating himself championed the cause of a GST

To compare the scare campaign of the carbon tax against this GST nonsense is blatantly misleading, disingenuous and shameless.

Why no talk about the Abbott "sex appeal" gaffe?

I found calling her 'feisty' almost as insulting as referring to her sex appeal.

Also Fiona Scott's laugh wasn't a great look, she seemed so sycophantic. It reminded me of this scene from the Simpsons.