Top 10 foward most accurate kick for goal

Woah...Franklin isnt as good a set shot as Hawks fans like to think...he averages 0.27 more than Richo.
And...Richo isnt as bad as Carlton (or anyone else for that matter) think...he averages more goals than Fev.
Bet it wont stop blues bagging richo for bad kicking.

His goal kicking is hot and cold... when it is bad, it is very bad 2.11 which did include a couple of posters.

When it is good, see final against Adelaide, it is outstanding, see 3 or 4 from 50m+ including the match winner

Originally Posted by Merv Neagle
Why is this thread here?

There is no debate.

For any player who played of a descent amount of games he has the best record

And for all the ones trying to defend the feral one, not only does he trail Lloyd in accuracy, he trails him in virtually every stat you can find, except maybe diving, may as well save you the trouble, of course the feral one wins the sooking stat by a very long way.

whos the feral one?
he must dive a shitload to beat lloyd!

You owned yourself bad! :D:thumbsu:

Woah...Franklin isnt as good a set shot as Hawks fans like to think...he averages 0.27 more than Richo.
And...Richo isnt as bad as Carlton (or anyone else for that matter) think...he averages more goals than Fev.

This topic has deteriorated into a stats comp. If anyone thinks Richo is a more accurate kick for goal than Fev, please......

highlighted above: set shot from where? 10m, 20m, 50m, 60m, from the boundary??? the stats don't show this so give the stats a rest FFS.

I don't think he's such a great shot at goal, but he does have great goal sence. He's an on the run type, likes to twist and snap one through. Outside 50 he's ok though. Accuracy wise he's not even close to the top of the list. He kicked 73/61 this year, more shots at goal than anyone in the comp. So mate, you just wait till his accuracy improves, maybe 10-20% in 08. He's only 20.

As for Richo, he kicked 53/40 this year. 61 shots less than Franklin! Of coarse we can't account for out of bounds. Richo's best is past him and he's always going to be better than Fev ever was.

Set shots from distance or angles I'd bet my life on Nick Davis.
Didak for snaps and across the body shots from anywhere!

good on him....
he's a flake and i still would not want to be relying on him
and essendon fans get on my case coz i don't rate lucas for reliability under pressure either
big deal

So although he has proven that he IS in fact reliable with results when the entire game is in hands on numerous occasions, you still consder him to be a 'flake'? If you simply don't like him as a person then that's fine. But saying that he's unreliable when it matters is clearly not the case.

lloyd should be number one. and how does mr 2 goals 11 and 73.62 get to 8th spot and nick reiwoldt get to 6th?

take that 2-11 away and its 71-51. He goes from the most accurate to the worst in one afternoon - says a lot for the stat really - how many sail out on the full ?

Huh? Just take it out, you reckon?

Why not take out his 9-2 against Essendon as equally representative of an outlier? Makes it 64-60. And he goes from the middle of the pack to Kellaway-like in one afternoon.

This is just for genuine forwards not including midfielders or half backs.

In my opinion from set shots, currently:

1. Brendan Fevola
2. Jonathan Brown
3. Matthew Pavlich
4. Scott Lucas
5. Matthew Llyod
6. Nick Riewoldt
7. Brad Johnson
8. Lance Franklin
9. Jeff Farmer
10. Mark LeCras

Probably missed a couple but this is the list from the top of my head.
Fevola and Lloyd all day.

I'm surprised no one has mentioned Michael O'Loughlin.. He is the most accurate kick I have ever seen from a set shot..You just know it going to go through for a goal every time he lines up

On grand final weekend the AFL should start a shootout comp between all the star forwards, which would be something similar to the 3 point shootout in the NBA during All star weekend..I recon this would attract major backing by corporate sponsors and fans and the proceeds could probably go to a charity...This would definitely be a site to see and far better than the 100 m sprint on grand final day.:rolleyes:

Even if he did kick 71-51, that is still pretty poor kicking for goal. Franklin wouldn't be in the top 30 kicks for goal in the competition, he would actually struggle for top 50. All the Hawks supporters say that he just has a bad day on occasion and will take that out of his game but that is rubbish. With the kicking style he has he is always going to be inconsistant, he has a terrible kicking action and it is flawed. For set shots he runs away from the goals instead of running in a straight line at the goals, this will always result in him spraying them. Average kick, don't even know how he got a mention in this thread.

Well at the end of the day mate, he's only kicked kicked 125/84 for his career, 3 seasons. This year he had more shots at goal than anyone else in the comp. If he's such a bad shot but can still kick 73 like he did this year, we won't be too disapointed. Sure we all hope he kicks a bit straighter, and he will, he's still a kid. Carey kicked 686/432 for avg 1.58. Franklin at this stage avg 1.48, not far behind and not a bad benchmark.

With your opinions in bold above you should be a forward coach. Some faily profound coments their. Our coaching staff could use a man of your insight :D

Of all the players who kicked fifty goals last season, Johnson was the most accurate. Thirteen players managed to do this, so that means Johnson was a better converter than a dozen other power forwards. The highest scoring goal-kicker with a better ratio than Johnson was Scott Welsh.

Welsh and Johnson together in the same forward line together, there's no excuse now if we don't kick accurate.

Stats can actually be a bit misleading on this one. Large key forwards get a greater proportion of set shots which are easier compared to small forwards who get a higher proportion of snaps.

Top Ten Accurate Goal Kickers, of all time....would be: 1. Paul Haze, 2. Chris Judd 3. Mathew Pavlich, 4. Ben Cousins, 5. Nathan Buckley, 6. Jeff Falmer, 7. Mathew Lloyd, 8. Nick Riewoldt, 9. Billy Brownless, 10. Shane Crawford.. True Champs...
Of all time? Your kidding yourself. Nick Riewoldt, Crawf, Cousins, Buckley, Judd wouldnt rank in the top 100.

lloyd should be number one. and how does mr 2 goals 11 and 73.62 get to 8th spot and nick reiwoldt get to 6th?
Agree....Lloyd should be no.1..! :thumbsu: Some other names that are an accurate set shot at goal IMO are :-
Cameron Ling
Mark Williams
Daniel Bradshaw
Scott Lucas
Alan Didak
Mark LeCras
Can't think of anymore at the moment, they're the ones that pop into my head...! :)

I remember when Reiwoldt hardly missed, Saints made it deep into the finals. Then he got a hip injury, Grant Thomas played him injured and he never got his kicking ability back even to this day.

Top 10 foward most accurate kick for goal