Opinion Top 10 Overrated and Underrated Players

You can question his playing ability, but you can't question his leadership. You would have no idea what goes on behind closed doors. He led them to a premiership so he must be pretty good. I consider Brett Kirk one of the best captains of the past few years, but just because he can't keep Barry Hall in check doesn't mean he is a bad leader. Some players like Hall and Mooney just never learn regardless of who is leading.

I agree with you there aussie un, Harley is a good solid player but a great captain. kirk is also a good leader. He is not responsible for halls actions.

Lol at the guy that put Jones as 2nd most overrated.

He's one of the best taggers in the comp at the moment, and has been one of our most improved players this year. Also his efficiency is hugely underrated, and people seem to think he still kicks it like he did in early 2008.

Everytime I've seen him play this year, he's lobbed the ball when he's kicked it Never a nice flat pass, but an up and under pass in the air, that gives time for defenders to get to the man, and hold up play. His kicking is so bad, that he outright avoids it 8 times out of 10. As for your most improved, Ray, Gilbert and Dawson are miles ahead of him for that position.

Also, his efficiency, whilst being at around about 75 percent, isn't that flash hot by foot. In each of his 'low-scoring' games in terms of efficiency, he's had a fair few kicks, which would indicate he's still got some distance to go in that regard.

Brown has only been good since 2007. Tredrea played at an A grade level for longer. That's how I see it anyway.

Most people forget his 06 season, which would've been his best were it not for that cursed injury. Had kicked 35 goals up to round 10, was in scintillating form, and was averaging 140 SC points.

Straight from WIKI:

"Brown's form hit a peak between rounds 7 and 10, when over four games he averaged 11 marks, 20 disposals and 4.5 goals per game. Tragically injury yet again proved the spoiler as round 10 ended up being Brown's last of the season. In the 2006 Brownlow Medal count, Brown polled 13 votes, enough to secure a top 10 finish despite only playing 10 games out of a possible 22. He was leading the count easily before he became injured."

I think that speaks volumes of his form, and what could've been.:(

Most people forget his 06 season, which would've been his best were it not for that cursed injury. Had kicked 35 goals up to round 10, was in scintillating form, and was averaging 140 SC points.
I think that speaks volumes of his form, and what could've been.:(

Yes, I have been in arguments about Brown since I posted this and I have changed my stance on him. The start to 2006 I just plain forgot, but I will ease up on my criticism of Brown. I still rate Tredrea ahead of him, but I do make stupid comments in regards to Brown. Also don't include SC points in an argument.

Overrated (no order)
1. Andrew Mackie - pretty poor work ethic, not great defensively
2. Scott Pendlebury - needs to get his touches further up the ground, not skulk around in the back half, think his high disposals this year have been exaggerated because of this - smooth mover and silky skills though
3. Dale Thomas - needs to play at his best for longer, goes missing a lot
4. Chad Cornes - I love Chad but he's no good in the midfield, needs to played in a key position imo
5. Cam Mooney - the supply he gets is so good, should be kicking way more bags i reckon

Underrated (no order)
1. Corey Enright - absolute beaut, watch him play just doesn't do anything wrong
2. Mark LeCras - accurate, great hands, great skills - a top 3 in the comp small forward
3. Brad Sewell - gets the contested ball, uses it well, works hard - a true star of the comp
4. Matthew Boyd - as above
5. Lenny Hayes - as above with just a bit more class than the other two - a genuine brownlow chance - players like boyd, sewell and lenny make their teams midfield
6. Dane Swan - his supposed poor disposal is overrated, one of the hardest working players and just knows how to get it
7. Cyril Rioli- I know he's already pretty delicious but for Christ's sake he's only in his second year - big call I know but I think this kid will become one of the greats - he'll be talked about in the same vein as the McLeod's, Goodes's, Carey's, Hird's etc

Overrated for mine is Luke Ball. Hawthorn copped a lot of criticism up until recently for picking Hodge ahead of Judd, I've never understood how St.Kilda escaped the limelight for picking Ball ahead of him.

Hodge and Judd are two genuine stars of the game... Ball a hard-working B grader. Saints would be unstoppable if you put Judd into their midfield at Ball's expense.

A couple off the top of my head.

1. Cam Mooney
2. Dale Thomas
3. Scott Pendlebury
4. Dean Cox
5. Adam Hunter
6. Andrew Mackie
7. Luke Ball
8. Patrick Ryder
9. Travis Cloke
10. Brett Delidio

Just a quick list.

Everyone says Dale Thomas but all ive read for the past two years is people talking down on him. He isn't overrated anymore...

Top 10 Overated(in no order)
1. Dale Thomas- Piece of Crap who can't use the ball or even kick a goal
2. Nick Stevens-Dosen't use it and is soft
3. Andrew Mackie- Only seen as a star because he plays for Geelong but is cheap
4. Cyril Rioli- is a talent but is not there yet as much as people say
5. David Hale- seen as a gun key foward but has not done a thing/
6. Jason Gram- he has one of the worst kicks, only racks them up because he is a hard runner but can't use it
7. Ryan Griffen- dissapionting and never works hard
8. Adam Cooney- stole the brownlow off Richo, didn't deserve it
9. Bret Thornton-Cheap and couldn't even hold Steven Dodd hahah
10.Simon Goodwin- not a great leader and isn't a game winner

Top 10 Underated
1 Shane Tuck- Gets the Most Contested Touches and has the best hands
2 Tyson Edwards
3 Matthew Boyd
4 Ryan Hargrave
5 Joel Bowden
6 Daniel Jackson
7 Simon Black
8 Simon Prestigiacomo
9 Luke Ball
10 Max Hudghton

Top 10 Overated(in no order)
1. Dale Thomas- Piece of Crap who can't use the ball or even kick a goal
2. Nick Stevens-Dosen't use it and is soft
3. Andrew Mackie- Only seen as a star because he plays for Geelong but is cheap
4. Cyril Rioli- is a talent but is not there yet as much as people say
5. David Hale- seen as a gun key foward but has not done a thing/
6. Jason Gram- he has one of the worst kicks, only racks them up because he is a hard runner but can't use it
7. Ryan Griffen- dissapionting and never works hard
8. Adam Cooney- stole the brownlow off Richo, didn't deserve it
9. Bret Thornton-Cheap and couldn't even hold Steven Dodd hahah
10.Simon Goodwin- not a great leader and isn't a game winner

Top 10 Underated
1 Shane Tuck- Gets the Most Contested Touches and has the best hands
2 Tyson Edwards
3 Matthew Boyd
4 Ryan Hargrave
5 Joel Bowden
6 Daniel Jackson
7 Simon Black
8 Simon Prestigiacomo
9 Luke Ball
10 Max Hudghton[/quote

If Cooney is overated, Richo is the biggest overated sooky lala in the AFL, he only looks good because the rest of your list is shit:eek:

Russel Robertson is underrated if anything imo. Robbed of an AA spot in 05 after kicking 70+ goals I think, would be a great forward in a better team. Even with shit supply he almost won Melbourne's goalkicking off about 10 games last year.

Quick top 5's for me other than players already mentioned (in no order)

Overrated
1. Tom Harley
2. Bryce Gibbs
3. Nick Stevens
4. Michael Osbourne
5. Andrew Mackie

Underrated
1. Brad Green
2. Daniel Cross
3. Joel Patful
4. Jarred McVeigh
5. Scott Pendlebury

Last two are rated by many but still don't get enough recognition, plus I was struggling to think off the top of my head. Would have had Montagna in there last year.

Totally agree on Harley, can't believe he was AA VC last year, an absolute disgrace.

Mackie is extremely overrated, as is Cyril; they have potential, but star status isn't there yet.
So, I put 1. Harley 2. Cyril 3. Cam Mooney 4. Mackie
It's mainly Geelong supporters thinking their average players are stars because they play in a great team.

melbournemartin, do you actually watch football? Scott Pendlebury is an absolute gun; you may hate C'wood, but he is a brilliant midfielder, in the top handful in the game at the moment.

Also, Harry O is no chance for AA, gives away so many free kicks: has raw talent but needs a lot of refining to adjust to the modern game.

Maybe im a bogan then- but the only area lloyd is better than Brown is kicking for goal, even then Brown is not far behind.

That is a terrible call! Lloyd is a superstar of the game, top 10 FFs of all time. He's kicked 900 goals ffs! Brown isn't even at 400, and is very overrated, especially by Lions fans.

underrated (no order)
1.matthew boyd brilliant ru and dash great foot skills
2.jobe watson dosent get noticed but does all the hard work and good clearance player
3.adam selwood gets in there has a crack and is a good player
4.tyson edwards hardly notice over his great career but is a dark horse for the brownlow this year
5.harry o'brien. great overhead mark can run and kick goals. great backman
6.tarkyn lockyer. excellent kick runs all day and can kick 3 or 4 goals.
7.paul bower. most people have noidea who he is and he has shut down some good forwards this year. kade simpson said he would be top 3 in their b&f before he got injured
8.roger hayden. veryunlucky not to get aa last year.
9.andrew swallow. in and under player and great clearance player
10.jude bolton. dosent get the credit he deserves.

overrated (no order)
1.Gary Ablett jnr. yes i know he is one of the best players in the league but i think he is overrated. he picks up 40 touches a game but take the adelaide game for examnple. 46 touches 33handballs 13 kicks.he kicked 3 goals and 8 of his other 10 kicks were in their defensive half. im not saying hes a bad player but i think he gets to much credit.
2.nick stevens. just been disappointing and finally got dropped
3.dean cox still a brilliant ruck man but has been playing dream team football.
4.joel bowden cheap kicks and marks
5.mark blake. just cant play the game and dont no how he got on the geelong list.
6.nathan jones not a good deceison maker.
7.matt priddis. gets 43 disposals and every one thinks hes the best thing since sliced bread
8.aaron edwards. good mark but thats it.
9.daniel wells. supposed to be an elite player. yet to be seen.
10.most of the port adelaide list. supposed to be top4 now cant even beat melbourne.

How can you forget about Daniel Rich? He may be a new guy but he was an absolute superstar for the lions against Geelong in round 15.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Brendan Fevola is awesome, but ONLY when he kicks straight! Have you see hes track record lately? Some weeks he kicks 9 goals and other weeks he kicks 2 goals 4 points. He's far too inconsistent in his goal scoring. :thumbsdown::rolleyes:

Daniel Bradshaw. The assassin in the shadows. All-round superstar but always overshadowed by Jonathon Brown. too bad he deserves much more credit than he actually gets.:thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

Overrated:
Dale Thomas
Cam Mooney
Joel Bowden
Chad Cornes
Daniel Kerr
Nathan G Brown
Tom Hawkins
Nick Stevens
Jared Brennan

Underrated:
Tyson Edwards
Matthew Boyd
Brad Sewell
Roger Hayden
Paul Duffield
Jobe Watson
Steven Salopek
Harry O'Brien
Leigh Montagna
Adam Selwood
Daniel Jackson
ah sorry mate but Shane Tuck should be in Underated List, it's a bloody disgrace he isn't, Roger Hayden is a piece of shit, so is this list

Here's mine guys .. no particular order

Overated Players for mine:
Leigh Brown (he must be rated to have played 190 AFL games ... Probably played 10 good games in his awful career)
He's just an AFL poster boy in the same way Ron Jeremy is for the pr0n industry.

"hey kids, even if you're a fat f*** you can still get a game/root".

The AFL pay Collingwood a large subsidy to keep his career afloat.

Underated Players
David Mundy
Total hack. I'd put him in the over rated bin. Lucky to get a game.

Opinion Top 10 Overrated and Underrated Players