List Mgmt. Trade and F/A 2020 Cont’d

Agree with all that, and it explains why we've been quiet in the last 3. So you come around to luck again e.g the Beams trade in and the Langdon deal.

If luck were a person, I'd shoot that cnut in the face and then sh1t down it's neck the way it's treated us.

Point is we can't rely on 'luck', that is spouted ad nauseum by everyone on here and even the club.

'We just need a bit of luck', wake everyone we're Collingwood, luck ain't comin a knockin - we just have to be better and overcome the short falls of our 'luck', off the top of my head the Mayne and Wells deals certainly did zero to counter our 'luck'.

If we're gonna need 'luck' as an ingredient to flag(s) then we ain't winnin one - ever, may as well pack it up and go home. Nah 'luck' can GAGF.

I feel ya. I really do.

If we're looking purely at the names leaked to the media thus far, as well as the names already retired/delisted, you could conclude that there's a bit more of a ruthless strategy to what we're doing this summer.

Beams, Dunn, Varcoe, Reid, Broom, Scharenberg played about a combined 10 games this year and are all gone. No more hoping they come good.

Phillips, Cox and JT are clearly on the market. No more hoping they find their 2018 form.

And from what I understand, the Treloar situation is actually pretty amicable and mostly about the club holding firm to its prep & rehab standards.

Big week to play out.

I have a hunch that the club has decided to pay out all of Beams years in one year, hence the massive list clean out and minimal intake. This means next year, we could have over $1m going to Beams, but after 2021 we will have tons of cap, with no Beams or Treloar money.y

So we are going for a bottom 4 finish next year??....l doubt the club is or willing to put themselves in that position. You can clean your list out, but no guarantees your going to get anything coming in the next year, of value. Would be ridiculous for the club to clean out Treloar, Stephenson, Phillips, Cox, Thomas etc and get minimal in this year. Who would you be expecting to come in and replace these guys??

Where is this evidence demonstrating it’s “abundantly clear”?
I’d say the Treloar situation, Beams situation, Grundy contract, difficulty resigning Mihocek, Degoey etc, key list holes, would be your starting point.

So we are going for a bottom 4 finish next year??....l doubt the club is or willing to put themselves in that position. You can clean your list out, but no guarantees your going to get anything coming in next year of value. Would be ridiculous for the club to clean out Treloar, Stephenson, Phillips, Cox, Thomas etc and get minimal in this year. Who would you be expecting to come in and replace these guys??
Looks like we are going to tank next season get pick 1 ,ask for another coz poor us, get 2 first rounders in before Nick.

So have we just decided we're in rebuilding phase?
Apparently rebuilding means considering trading out a 21 year old, who until he got glandular fever, was considered to be the most exciting young talent we’d drafted for over a decade....

I feel ya. I really do.

If we're looking purely at the names leaked to the media thus far, as well as the names already retired/delisted, you could conclude that there's a bit more of a ruthless strategy to what we're doing this summer.

Beams, Dunn, Varcoe, Reid, Broom, Scharenberg played about a combined 10 games this year and are all gone. No more hoping they come good.

Phillips, Cox and JT are clearly on the market. No more hoping they find their 2018 form.

And from what I understand, the Treloar situation is actually pretty amicable and mostly about the club holding firm to its prep & rehab standards.

Big week to play out.

I'm thinking the same thing, AT's situation is it's more amicable and is more media beat up than anything else.

Phillips, Cox and JT - for whoever the club trades in, can't possibly pay overs anymore. So Guy and Hine have maybe thrown the lube in the bin and brought their own pineapples this time - turn the tables this time. We'll probably lose out with the Treloar trade out, just depends how badly. If we got 5+ Wright or Brodie, that's as good as you could hope for.

Some on here are convinced we're gonna get screwed over with good reason considering our trading history. I reckon the club recognises the same and are gonna either trade for win or not bother at all. So not convinced on Cox going just yet or JT coz I don't there's much market for him. Guy might negotiate a better deal for the club instead of the player 'You're not getting a pay rise Josh, do you still want to be part of a flag?' and if his manager doesn't come to the party the contract remains or delist if he's out of contract.

yeah i'm just about done if we trade Stephenson.
I am with you on that i think Stevo is a jet ,one down year because of illness and all this covid s**t we had to deal with ,imo he will be back to his awesome self.

If we trade Stephenson, I would say it's the worst decision we could possibly make. This is a kid who cost us a pick 6, won the Rising Star in his first year, had an amazing start to his 2nd year before he got himself into trouble...and then got glandular fever which resulted in no pre-season and a poor year to follow.

We'd be selling him with very little trade value. It would be a ridiculous call. We need to retain our young talent.

I really don't believe we will do it to be honest...unless the angst is from Stephenson's side. I thought we handled him poorly this year. THe kid needed a few pats on the back and encouragement, but instead we dropped him 3 times.

I’m ok with trading Stephenson if we get a pick back in the eventual top five.

Aside from that incredibly unlikely event, it would be indescribably stupid.

So we are going for a bottom 4 finish next year??....l doubt the club is or willing to put themselves in that position. You can clean your list out, but no guarantees your going to get anything coming in the next year, of value. Would be ridiculous for the club to clean out Treloar, Stephenson, Phillips, Cox, Thomas etc and get minimal in this year. Who would you be expecting to come in and replace these guys??
Jesus mate, calm down. Why are you attacking me? I just have a hunch that this is the clubs mindset, I am not advising we bottom out for no reason.

Trading away our youf is not the direction we should be taking. Stevo has so much upside that if he was traded it would be one of the worst decisions made by this club in its history.

Bucks better not be trying to buy himself a flag in his last year at the cost of our future list. Smh.

yeah i'm just about done if we trade Stephenson.

I don't think the club will trade him, at 21 yrs old, he hasn't even reached anywhere near his peak years.
Barrett mentions this on what grounds? Stephensons' manager, the club, Stephenson himself, his gambling buddy, like where would he have the remotest idea we are offering up Stephenson.
The club may well have told Stephenson your a possibility of being traded in order to wake him up, and be the spark for him to get serious about his footy, and have a big year next season.
OR
Barrett and his trade radio counterparts just make this stuff up because they need to fill in 12 hours a day with these trade fantasies to keep people listening, because they can't talk about actual trades as the trade period hasn't even started, so you need to get an audience somehow...

The Treloar trade I can live with. But Stephenson would be bizarre. There must be some serious behind the scenes issues with him if it is being considered. His trade value would be low after a down year.