Mega Thread Trade and List Management discussion

I never thought I would want clarke, considering the difficult times he went through, however we will only return if he is right and he deserves every chance and opportunity to continue to improve and get his life relatively back to normal. He is a 26 year old A grade kpf and we have the once in the blue moon chance of securing him for steak knives. Pitch him, support him and wheel him in macca. He isn't the solution but he can take us a long way and help steer this footy club on the right track.
He was outstanding at Melbourne
Tried too bloody hard to single handedly make them competitive
The injuries he copped were from entirely him trying too hard to lift a team because he was the prize recruit.
I remeber timeafter time, he would launch himself johnno brown style into themost dangerous positions. If he plays within his limits he would be huge for us - absolutely huge. Has fantastic natural leadership attributes, is as strong as an Ox and plenty of talent.

Just thinking of him, stringer and Crameri rampaging in the same forward line with Dalhouse, bonts and Honeychurch hardens my loins.

It will be clearly up to our club to sell it to Clarke. If we can get him to nominate well then a deal could be done with Melbourne, perhaps even one that involved an 1st round pick upgrade to allow drafting of Wright/McCartin, setting us up for KPFs for the next decade... To dream...

On the other hand, he'll go to the Hawks or if he comes to us he'll be the next J Hay....(I prefer the first scenario...:))

God I want Mitch Clarke
God make his mind right

yep he is absolutely the perfect player for us. Takes care of 2 needs. KPF and ruck relief - and quality in both areas. Nail our first pick with a KPD and all the hard work is done

CLARK!!

Not Clarke FFS

And for what it's worth, good on him if he wants to make a return but he can stay at the Demons thanks. They invested a lot into him, he should pay it back.

When Clark is right, he is a dominant KPF, I've watched him and when fit he is a very good KPF. Questions are is he right? And if so can we get him?
He played a lot of footy in the ruck when he was at BL, is really a 2-2.5 goal a game forward when plonked in the 50.

You are right in that his AA yr was in the ruck, but at Melbourne with their shitness he was still a big threat, a contested marking beast when right. And at worst 2 goals a game is okay but I think he is better than that, much better (IF HE IS RIGHT!)

Ok I know everyone gonna shout at me but why would he leave Melbourne and come to us??

If he gonna leave he wants to challenge and let's not get too excited we ain't gonna be challenging for flags anytime soon.

Makes no sense him leaving Melbourne and coming to us IMO

Ok I know everyone gonna shout at me but why would he leave Melbourne and come to us??

If he gonna leave he wants to challenge and let's not get too excited we ain't gonna be challenging for flags anytime soon.

Makes no sense him leaving Melbourne and coming to us IMO
He will go to wherever he feels is the right team for him, somewhere where he can get himself right mentally and most importantly where he will be happy at, perhaps ambitions and money can be a factor, but with his current mental state then the former has to be 1st priority over the latter..

Do u think a team like us that will be up and down(more down) each week is a good place for a bloke with mental issues ??

I think as a club we must be honest and understand we probably are not a good for for him at the moment

Let's hope he goes to the hawks and that leaves us free to grab Carlisle

Do u think a team like us that will be up and down(more down) each week is a good place for a bloke with mental issues ??

I think as a club we must be honest and understand we probably are not a good for for him at the moment

Maybe he doesn't see things the way you do. It's possible he feels that by the time he's 28-29 we can be challenging and he'd like to be a part of that. Maybe he sees himself as a leader and wants to come to a club that's under the radar and below the usual scrutiny because of our rebuilding tag.

Also if he was to go to a 'contender' he'd be kidding himself if he thought there wouldn't be much pressure. Contending teams tend to be spotlighted by the media and unless he goes to Sydney he's going to be under a huge weight of pressure to perform as a KPF.

At the end of the day we as general footy fans have no idea what is best for Mitch Clark the person/footballer. So, there's nothing wrong with our higher-ups asking the question of him and his management. In fact it would be a dereliction of their duties if they don't.

Maybe he doesn't see things the way you do. It's possible he feels that by the time he's 28-29 we can be challenging and he'd like to be a part of that. Maybe he sees himself as a leader and wants to come to a club that's under the radar and below the usual scrutiny because of our rebuilding tag.

Also if he was to go to a 'contender' he'd be kidding himself if he thought there wouldn't be much pressure. Contending teams tend to be spotlighted by the media and unless he goes to Sydney he's going to be under a huge weight of pressure to perform as a KPF.

At the end of the day we as general footy fans have no idea what is best for Mitch Clark the person/footballer. So, there's nothing wrong with our higher-ups asking the question of him and his management. In fact it would be a dereliction of their duties if they don't.

Oh absolutely they should ask but I just think the situation at our club won't suit him

Again I might be wrong just my thoughts

Carlisle would be great but I doubt that he would come to us even though I'd definitely want him too. Hawthorn would guarantee him his own spot at CHB on big bucks and you'd think that he would take that if he left, imo North could go another KPD too but do they have the $$$? Geelong are overloading if they go down the Frawley route with Lonergan, Taylor and Rivers still having plenty of good footy left, the only logical idea would be for Taylor to do a Ben Reid and play forward with potentially 4 gun KPDs in their side, they have big issues in midfield long term with only Jelwood, Motlop, Caddy and Christensen there for the long haul and Guthrie is just a lockdown player, Stevie J, Kelly, Bartel and Stokes are all 29+.

Surely we have to be some sort of destination for a KPP, any KPP that goes to a Collingwood over us you'd question as they've got Cloke, White, Reid, Brown and all their young defenders already and Melbourne/St Kilda also as we're ahead of their rebuilds.

I'll do a little analysis of what I think the Victorian teams are at and highlighted where we should be rivaled at with potential trades/draft selections.

Melbourne: needs midfielders, should draft a gun KPD or go for Jaskch/Frost if Frawley leaves.
St Kilda: have heaps of young KPPs already, whether they'll be A graders is unknown, most seem to be potential B/C graders, getting as many best available talent seems to be Pelchen's motto, should take a gun KPF in the draft (McCartin).
Geelong:
loaded with players in their prime down back and with another likely to come in (Frawley) but is not really needed, got 3 developing young KPFs (Kersten, Walker and Vardy), really need a ruckman and young A grade midfield talent, only Caddy looks like an A grader.
Essendon: needs more goalkicking power with 1 or 2 extra medium types, looks to have a great long term defence and drafted some good young smalls recently, will perhaps move a defender or two on to cover needs.
North: Forward line is ok without having any standouts, alot of good role players but a little one-dimensional, structure wise excellent but a little small down back, might need a KPD but needs more elite ball users.
Collingwood: need hard big bodied midfielders, needs to stop drafting Fasolo types they've got way too many and I'd expect some would be trade bait, alot of KPPs already in the squad, problems in midfield, a decent medium forward would help too.
Hawthorn: should be in the market for a KPD with Lake on his last legs, might need a Ruck/FWD too to replace Hale as many Hawthorn fans seem to think Lowden and Grimley are surplus.
Richmond: seem to have surplus Ruck/Fwd types and McBean waiting in the wings, have a settled defence but Chaplin is a bit of a scapegoat, quality smalls look to be at the top of their priorities.
Carlton: similar to us but need a KPD more than a KPF, need everything really, the Judd deal is starting to hurt them.

We all know we need KPFs and to draft a KPD. It makes sense for any KPF to come to us in a trade before any other Victorian side, only Port and Freo should be above the pecking order in this respect as both are in their premiership windows.

Oh absolutely they should ask but I just think the situation at our club won't suit him

Again I might be wrong just my thoughts
I hate harping on about it but I'll say it again. I know a fair bit about affective disorders such as depression, not fully qualified to speak with absolute authority (yet) or anything but probably much more than most. Clark's mental state is not an issue for me. It needs to be managed just like any other disease, supports need to be made available to minimize the chance of relapse and he needs to make sure he is ready to come back. Once that is taken care of it's all systems go from my perspective.

The next thing that needs to be deciphered is whether his body is right. If that's sorted it's up to what Clark wants out of his football life, i.e., does he want to play in a premiership straight away? Or build towards one? Does he want to be lead or be a leader?

Carlisle would be great but I doubt that he would come to us even though I'd definitely want him too. Hawthorn would guarantee him his own spot at CHB on big bucks and you'd think that he would take that if he left, imo North could go another KPD too but do they have the $$$? Geelong are overloading if they go down the Frawley route with Lonergan, Taylor and Rivers still having plenty of good footy left, the only logical idea would be for Taylor to do a Ben Reid and play forward with potentially 4 gun KPDs in their side, they have big issues in midfield long term with only Jelwood, Motlop, Caddy and Christensen there for the long haul and Guthrie is just a lockdown player, Stevie J, Kelly, Bartel and Stokes are all 29+.

Surely we have to be some sort of destination for a KPP, any KPP that goes to a Collingwood over us you'd question as they've got Cloke, White, Reid, Brown and all their young defenders already and Melbourne/St Kilda also as we're ahead of their rebuilds.

I'll do a little analysis of what I think the Victorian teams are at and highlighted where we should be rivaled at with potential trades/draft selections.

Melbourne: needs midfielders, should draft a gun KPD or go for Jaskch/Frost if Frawley leaves.
St Kilda: have heaps of young KPPs already, whether they'll be A graders is unknown, most seem to be potential B/C graders, getting as many best available talent seems to be Pelchen's motto, should take a gun KPF in the draft (McCartin).
Geelong:
loaded with players in their prime down back and with another likely to come in (Frawley) but is not really needed, got 3 developing young KPFs (Kersten, Walker and Vardy), really need a ruckman and young A grade midfield talent, only Caddy looks like an A grader.
Essendon: needs more goalkicking power with 1 or 2 extra medium types, looks to have a great long term defence and drafted some good young smalls recently, will perhaps move a defender or two on to cover needs.
North: Forward line is ok without having any standouts, alot of good role players but a little one-dimensional, structure wise excellent but a little small down back, might need a KPD but needs more elite ball users.
Collingwood: need hard big bodied midfielders, needs to stop drafting Fasolo types they've got way too many and I'd expect some would be trade bait, alot of KPPs already in the squad, problems in midfield, a decent medium forward would help too.
Hawthorn: should be in the market for a KPD with Lake on his last legs, might need a Ruck/FWD too to replace Hale as many Hawthorn fans seem to think Lowden and Grimley are surplus.
Richmond: seem to have surplus Ruck/Fwd types and McBean waiting in the wings, have a settled defence but Chaplin is a bit of a scapegoat, quality smalls look to be at the top of their priorities.
Carlton: similar to us but need a KPD more than a KPF, need everything really, the Judd deal is starting to hurt them.

We all know we need KPFs and to draft a KPD. It makes sense for any KPF to come to us in a trade before any other Victorian side, only Port and Freo should be above the pecking order in this respect as both are in their premiership windows.

The only reason I would remotely think Carlilse would come to us is we have the cash and his former relationship with Macca

If Macca gets Carlisle to the dogs then resigns( quits not re-signs) I will officially jump onto his side :)

The only reason I would remotely think Carlilse would come to us is we have the cash and his former relationship with Macca

If Macca gets Carlisle to the dogs then resigns I will officially jump onto his side :)
I doubt he'll resign, perhaps if we regress badly next season then maybe but there's not much money in resource spending at the moment, it would be likely that the club just don't renew his contract sometime in 2016 if it looks like that no one has stepped up whilst all the old blokes have left/or going.

I hope the club upgrades on Shannon Grant and whoever else leaves but time will tell.

I think I just heard footy classified suggesting Mitch Clarke heading for St Kilda or the Bulldogs?
Is there any substance to this?

I saw it too, and don't interpret things the way you have.

Gary was having a good old-fashioned sook, as he does about everything Melbourne-sucking-related, while pretending he's being objective. And he was asking sullenly why Mitch Clark would come to the Dogs or Saints when he says he's happy at Melbourne.

Caro replied "well, i think he will be going to one of those clubs".

Now you might interpret that as Caro saying "I think he's going to the Dogs or St Kilda". But seeing as no-one had mentioned ANY club destinations up to that point, and the whole conversation revolved around Melbourne or somewhere else, I interpreted that comment as throwing Gary's random club naming back at him to say "I think he is not going to stay at Melbourne. He is going to one of those other clubs people are talking about."

Also, every other indication suggestions he wants to go to a successful club (there seems to be a lot of murmering about Collingwood or Hawthorn). So I wouldn't get too excited.

Just based on RUMORS going around, and not facts or my own opinions. These seem to be the likely destinations that these players have been rumored to be heading to. I can see it making sense for all of them, though if these were any way slightly true, there might be a few disappointed posters on here. We will have plenty of work to do to convince anyone to come to us. If we are active, cannot see it being anyone of note, more like extra picks or a role player than anyone big/of note

Jacksch - Carlton
O'Rourke - Collingwood
Waite - North
Frawley - Geelong
Clark - Hawks

Just based on RUMORS going around, and not facts or my own opinions. These seem to be the likely destinations that these players have been rumored to be heading to. I can see it making sense for all of them, though if these were any way slightly true, there might be a few disappointed posters on here. We will have plenty of work to do to convince anyone to come to us. If we are active, cannot see it being anyone of note, more like extra picks or a role player than anyone big/of note

Jacksch - Carlton
O'Rourke - Collingwood
Waite - North
Frawley - Geelong
Clark - Hawks
I'll only be genuinely disappointed if Carlton landed Jaskch due to them being behind us in the draft order slightly and their list lacking KPP depth like us. If he went to Melb/St Kilda i'd be ok with that due to them having a stronger draft position.

So turns out that post I keep referring to (player already committed to our club, one of the biggest names to sign with us yada yada) was Ben Reid, who has re-signed with Collingwood.

It's okay to cry :(

Ahh well get his brother down and when Sams holding the premiership cup (for the dogs not swans) we can all point and laugh at Ben!

Not a Clark fan....
Great that he wants back but a player who 'wants to go home' then signs for big $$'s somewhere else. At the time, he could have chosen Freo and been much better off....
Good luck to him.