Mega Thread Trade and List Management discussion

I think we may look at Bomber Thompson for one of our coaches. I know he could get a senior gig, but there are currently none available.

Where would we play Jones if we got a KPF?
Our best forward line would be this:
Crameri, Bonti, Hunter
Dalh, KPF, Stringer

This lets us have a midfield of:
Griffin, Cooney, Libba, Macrae, Hrovat, Stevens, Picken, Boyd

Bonti should be being groomed for the forward line, we would have 3 193+cm, 2 fantastic smalls and a KPF. This to me is our best choice. Any dogs fans want a different setup?
yes one without Picken and Boyd and include Wallis and Honeychurch

Still I think the main reason people don't want him isn't his football ability.

People don't seem to like a black man who who can think and who stands up for himself. The guy is a great footballer. Is he an A grader?, no. Would he make us a better team, yes. And comparing him to Aker and other players who tear clubs apart is just stupid. He's the kind of person our club could embrace and who who could make our culture better and I think even be cult figure for the fans and help to sell memberships.

I think we may look at Bomber Thompson for one of our coaches. I know he could get a senior gig, but there are currently none available.

Where would we play Jones if we got a KPF?
Our best forward line would be this:
Crameri, Bonti, Hunter
Dalh, KPF, Stringer

This lets us have a midfield of:
Griffin, Cooney, Libba, Macrae, Hrovat, Stevens, Picken, Boyd

Bonti should be being groomed for the forward line, we would have 3 193+cm, 2 fantastic smalls and a KPF. This to me is our best choice. Any dogs fans want a different setup?

Having Bonts as a permanent forward would be a real waste of his talents. I'm not against him having a rest up there but he will do most of his damage on & around the ball. He is too creative a player to be wasted up forward where he will only see the ball a small percentage of time.

People don't seem to like a black man who who can think and who stands up for himself. The guy is a great footballer. Is he an A grader, no. Would he make us a better team. Yes. And comparing him to Aker and other players who tear clubs apart is just stupid. He's the kind of person our club could embrace and who could make our culture better and I think be cult figure for the fans and help sell memberships.
I typed a semi-long post detailing how shit lumumba is in response to this but re-reading what he wrote i realized he was trolling and now it has been replaced with this. :(

People don't seem to like a black man who who can think and who stands up for himself. The guy is a great footballer. Is he an A grader?, no. Would he make us a better team, yes. And comparing him to Aker and other players who tear clubs apart is just stupid. He's the kind of person our club could embrace and who who could make our culture better and I think even be cult figure for the fans and help to sell memberships.
Sorry mate, the difference between Harry o and acker aside from ability is entirely a matter of political persuasion.
They are both as annoying as each other. The content which drives Harrys ego maybe more palatable it is no less selfish or destructive. He is the self appointed conscience of the entire world, I am feeling sick just thinking about him.

Sorry mate, the difference between Harry o and acker aside from ability is entirely a matter of political persuasion.
They are both as annoying as each other. The content which drives Harrys ego maybe more palatable it is no less selfish or destructive. He is the self appointed conscience of the entire world, I am feeling sick just thinking about him.

How is objecting to homophobic graffiti in a person's workplace selfish or destructive? It's got nothing to do with political persuasion, and by calling him the self appointed conscience of the world you're just reenforcing my point. Can't handle a black man who stands up against injustice without falling back on the cliches of "its political correctness gone mad" or label him some sort of self appointed conscience of the world as if to turn the situation around and make him the person imposing his views on everyone else.

Yep, yep, yep. I completely agree with you. He played an important role within the pies side that were up at the same time as us, he is a man of principles, I would think he's got a fair bit of footy in him. I don't know if the pies would go for it, but if we could score him for our third round pick I would do it in a heartbeat.

The question we need to ask is " Would Lumumba be in our best 22"? In my opinion the answer is yes, he is far better than the likes of Johannisen, Goodes, Howard & Austin who are on our list at present.

Having said that, if we had to give up anymore than a 3rd round pick for him, my answer would be a firm no.

I think the problem with taking Lumumba is that he's the wrong age for what we need. Seems like a great guy and it's good to have someone who will stand up against this crap around a footy club but I think he'd be gone before our next run at a flag and all he'd be doing is giving us some short term gain at the expense of development of the young players.

How is objecting to homophobic graffiti in a person's workplace selfish or destructive? It's got nothing to do with political persuasion, and by calling him the self appointed conscience of the world you're just reenforcing my point. Can't handle a black man who stands up against injustice without falling back on the cliches of "its political correctness gone mad" or label him some sort of self appointed conscience of the world as if to turn the situation around and make him the person imposing his views on everyone else.

What the **** has his colour got to do with it? Take your racist rubbish and jam it.

It worries me how far away from a flag people seem to think we are. I think by bringing in a player like him and a couple of kph and we could be pushing for finals next year and top 4 in 2016. I'm not saying we'll definitely improve that fast but I think it's definitely possible. And at 28, even 3 to 4 years from now he will contribute.

It worries me how far away from a flag people seem to think we are. I think by bringing in a player like him and a couple of kph and we could be pushing for finals next year and top 4 in 2016. I'm not saying we'll definitely improve that fast but I think it's definitely possible.

Unless we get 2 or 3 miracles trades, we're years off that. We have gaping holes across the park NB we have no spine.

Please no Harry O all he does is run around in circles when he has the ball and gets caught to often. Also and most importantly he is turn over king we have enough people who give up the ball to easily we don't need another.

Also just curious do suspensions in the TAC Cup carry over to AFL or VFL (if you aren't sure why I'm asking this look at the Draft thread)

Yep, I definitely agree. 5 games without a goal is not really good enough for a KPF. He needs to ensure he can regularly impact on a game. However, he is by far the best key forward prospect in the side so it would be madness to let him go. It's interesting, because it makes so little sense that it would be true that it might have more credibility. That is to say, it beggars belief that we would allow our only hope of a KPF to be so disgruntled as to leave, so the fact the rumour exists either shows it might reflect some truth, or the originator is a complete nonce.
Tommycash, it actually beggars belief that a player picked up in the 2008 draft still does not have the tank for second and third efforts, consistency and has been given 66 games is 'our only hope of a KPF'.

This is where our lack of drafting any KPP's for the last 6 years really clouds our judgement and seriously overrates our opinions on certain players.

Even in the VFL final, yep last quarter great but the first 3 quarters appalling. For him and the club trading him for another younger KPP would be best for both parties

I've heard Jones is staying. I don't reckon we're after Lumumba but our recruiters wouldn't be doing their job if they didn't talk to him. In a purely footballing sense we should be selling the farm for Clark. Exactly what we need.

I'm really not getting a good feeling about this off season. To be honest there are not too many quality KPF available. I've just read through 10 pages of dribble regarding Vickery and if he is the best available... We should shut up shop now. I'd much rather play Bonts and Stringer as KPFs and wait a year then load up for Cameron, Lynch or Boyd with a godfather deal, once out of contract.

It a shame about Patton. I had heard the deal was going to be a mere formality at the end of the season. I hope we don't hastily try to manufacture something just to stick to the original plan.

Providing Mitch Clarkes body including foot is ok, would definitely would look at picking him up for a low draft pick instead of another average mid or hbf
We'd have to trade for him. The dee's would be stupid not to ask a second round pick at the very least considering he's contracted.