Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 6 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

I just wanna see Smithy lower his eyes and regularly hit up target's in the fwd line, instead of just slamming it on his boot to no one, that's what grinds my gears. Also, wouldn't hurt to get the ball between the big sticks...or any sticks. 4 goals 8 behinds is not cutting it.
Plenty of times he did lower his eyes but then just kicked the ball way over his teammates head. It was like he didn’t know hard to kick the ball to make it carry 25-30 meters.

Bullet Dodged.
Its why the Suns are a wasteland and no sporting team has ever had long-term success at the Goldy.
Picture this, you're just left home at 18, you've gone from pocket money and part-time jobs to (300k) living in a party town with Drugs and sex clubs on tap.
Couple that with a high weekend transient workforce, providing no long-term members and supporters.
Once the money tap is turned off from AFL house, the suns will go into recession.

Baz annoying anyone else atm?

It could be nothing, could be me being too anal.

Dunno what it is, maybe the shirt off, the vodka business, the news report, the insta stories with his manager after a s**t year and constant off season rumours.

Just grinding my gears atm.
If I had a rig like Bailey
You would have to force me to wear a top

I honestly thought we had a top 4 finish with the 2023 list, how wrong was I?
I would be surprised given the form of this last season if we even make the 8, I cannot ever forget we lost to 2 teams that were actively tanking and the dog's had to come from behind to win against Norf who were also tanking.
The tactics and structure that caused us to be so shite in 2023, will be the same unless there is some sort of change with Bevo.
I don't read to much in any of those games and I preferred to miss the eight to be honest, but then again I was also was gearing up for the Panthers three-peat. That said we have just had an expectation over the past years we would scrape on by, but we were pretending not contending at that stage.

Back to those losses, Hawks were at Tassie (it's Tassie) and in that same period defeated the Pies. North we won so you put that in the bank and move on.

The Eagles match hurt the most, but I think it was just a mix of some complacency when we got ahead and the weird Rohan Smith sacking atmosphere. It was by no means a GWS to Essendon like 100 point flogging and Eagles were getting their list back at that stage so they were always going to be more competitive and if memory serves correct Macrae also got concussed.

I was at that match and the one thing was for sure McGovern reminded me why he was 4 x AA defender that afternoon. Our forwards were looking for easy pickings out the back and I hope they learned some lessons that day.

Bevo and the assistants have some blame for sure, but no team including Sydney and the Dogs was a realistic shot from such decimation to their defensive lines. You can and will have injuries, you just don't want them all across one line, your weakest line or ACLs at the back end of the season, cough Bruce (those are effectively two final run injuries).

Remember we were only a Bruce ACL away from a proper top 4 run in 2021 and there is no insurance on Earth from those injuries unless you literally have Grundy sitting in the stands for Gawn. Even without drastic coach changes I think we should be able to have a pretty good crack for a run at a prelim with the top up players and natural development, touch wood on injuries.

Bailey Smith has requested a trade to Bonds/Pacific Brands.

I don't read to much in any of those games and I preferred to miss the eight to be honest, but then again I was also was gearing up for the Panthers three-peat. That said we have just had an expectation over the past years we would scrape on by, but we were pretending not contending at that stage.

Back to those losses, Hawks were at Tassie (it's Tassie) and in that same period defeated the Pies. North we won so you put that in the bank and move on.

The Eagles match hurt the most, but I think it was just a mix of some complacency when we got ahead and the weird Rohan Smith sacking atmosphere. It was by no means a GWS to Essendon like 100 point flogging and Eagles were getting their list back at that stage so they were always going to be more competitive and if memory serves correct Macrae also got concussed.

I was at that match and the one thing was for sure McGovern reminded me why he was 4 x AA defender that afternoon. Our forwards were looking for easy pickings out the back and I hope they learned some lessons that day.

Bevo and the assistants have some blame for sure, but no team including Sydney and the Dogs was a realistic shot from such decimation to their defensive lines. You can and will have injuries, you just don't want them all across one line, your weakest line or ACLs at the back end of the season, cough Bruce (those are effectively two final run injuries).

Remember we were only a Bruce ACL away from a proper top 4 run in 2021 and there is no insurance on Earth from those injuries unless you literally have Grundy sitting in the stands for Gawn. Even without drastic coach changes I think we should be able to have a pretty good crack for a run at a prelim with the top up players and natural development, touch wood on injuries.
Fair points. Libba was concussed early V Hawthorn too.

Baz annoying anyone else atm?

It could be nothing, could be me being too anal.

Dunno what it is, maybe the shirt off, the vodka business, the news report, the insta stories with his manager after a s**t year and constant off season rumours.

Just grinding my gears atm.
If the business and social ventures of a 22 year old annoy you, I'd suggest getting off social media.

He’s attending JJ’s wedding in Bali with a bunch of the other boys, surely that’s a reasonable excuse to not be training for this short part of the off-season.
Would also be shocked if he’s not training while over there anyway

I honestly thought we had a top 4 finish with the 2023 list, how wrong was I?
I would be surprised given the form of this last season if we even make the 8, I cannot ever forget we lost to 2 teams that were actively tanking and the dog's had to come from behind to win against Norf who were also tanking.
The tactics and structure that caused us to be so shite in 2023, will be the same unless there is some sort of change with Bevo.
Can we cut out the "actively tanking" terminology bullshit?

If a team is tanking, they don't go out and put out performances like North, Hawthorn and West Coast did.

That's just stupid.

From Sam Power's comments, I think it's clear as day that Croft will be developed as a defender early on. Clearly the club won't be moving Naughton, JUH or Darcy to defence and I firmly believe it's going to take a couple of years for Darcy to be able to handle consistent AFL football.

Power said the club would consider playing some of the talls in defence if necessary.

“They’re all different with the attributes they bring, the areas of the ground that they play,” he said.

“We’re open-minded what end of the ground that is as well.”

Coffield and Harmes both play but probably aren't significant upgrades. Lifting our bottom 4 selected does help address one big problem. But we have more than enough top end talent, we didn't need to go and "win" trade week.

In the end we bring in a high draft pick for the first time in yonks, improved our depth and set up our points to where we can not only get Croft but also potentially Lual if he makes it to 40+. That's pretty good.

I would say my only real list concern is that we once again failed to improve our wing situation - Poulter, Baker, Williams is still a very shoddy setup, though improvement is possible. If we think we have the personnel and that we can move pieces about (ie Baz or Treloar), fair enough, but that's still a gamble. Gallagher looks promising but can't count on a guy yet to debut. Not worried about our backup ruck, it doesn't really matter much. Whoever it is will end up being English's punching bag for a season anyway.

Our far more pressing issues are in the coach's box, I still think we would have been within our rights to clean out harder than we have, but what we've done is still pretty significant.

We will have plenty of drama next year anyway when we likely lose one or two of Baz or Tim. Happy to have some respite from that madness.
Remember that we picked up Jamarra and Darcy as picks 1 and 2. Not a bad effort. This time we get pick 5 and improve our bottom 6. That’s been our problem aside from the horrendous coaching!

Can we cut out the "actively tanking" terminology bullshit?

If a team is tanking, they don't go out and put out performances like North, Hawthorn and West Coast did.

That's just stupid.
Call it what you want, but we'll have to agree to disagree.
west coast had five 100-plus point losses this season, also lost six games between 50 and 81 points.
You can blame injuries, or coaching but in the professional era that is unheard of. The media had a go at west coast for winning against the dogs, for loosing the Harley Reid draft.
Norf equally insipid, also copped flak for beating the suns in the last game of the season and losing the Harley Reid draft.
Hawks no so obvious, but they happily accepted losses to get games into their young group and they had some top 4 scalps.

In retrospect I am so relieved Hunter was traded last year. If reports are true, his habits haven't improved. As much as we missed his run I don't believe his antics have been missed one bit.

I reckon they grabbed Billings for insurance in case they decide they've had enough of Hunter.

Definitely some off-field stuff going down at the Dees they could implode.

Baz, Chilly, and Marra are up for contract renewal in 2024.

Financially their performances in 24 are massive in terms of their next contracts.

I'm expecting big things from this trio next year.

If we can do a proper footy department renewal things can turn around big time for the dogs.

In retrospect I am so relieved Hunter was traded last year. If reports are true, his habits haven't improved. As much as we missed his run I don't believe his antics have been missed one bit.

What are the reports? and who is reporting about his habits?

I may have missed something

Financially their performances in 24 are massive in terms of their next contracts.

If we can do a proper footy department renewal things can turn around big time for the dogs.
The issue with Baz is that at the moment his expected contract and his contract based on merit would be completely misaligned. With the new CBA, he's likely going to see offers of $1 million a year from a team like the Hawks but his form is that of a player on an average contract.

I don't think the club would have any issues giving him a large contract if he gets back to best but if he doesn't this season, you just can't justify making him one of your highest paid players off the back of 2 and half seasons of poorish form. It's an interesting time for both parties.

Of the 3 I'd say Baz is the only one who can significantly improve any contract being put in front of him based on his form.