Mega Thread Trade/Draft/Delist SuperMegaUltrathread - 2016/17 offseason edition

What? Where did you conjure this from? No one has said he was going to be anything like the messiah for us. For starters, while his old man was handy he was hardly Ablett Snr, so drawing that bow is pretty long and ridiculous.

Those that are disappointed he was delisted are wondering why, after we have kept players like Lucas, JON, Morton, and the ones that I can't even remember as to why we wouldn't give him an additional year. Now, there could be half a dozen very reasonable reasons as to why, which have been thrown around by a few, and given we don't know all the facts its all we can do to postulate on it, but drawing some silly long bow of a once in a lifetime father/son pick and trying to suggest that all those questioning the decision to delist him were hoping for similar results is just well... silly.

MEEEOOOWWW!!!

I wake up every day hoping that Mackenzie has come out and said he wants to be traded.

Another pick in the 20's means a lot in this draft.
I don't think he will.

Perhaps we need to give them the Sinclair treatment.
Masten has been given plenty of latitude by the club, I'd wouldn't mind if we were aggressive with our push on him in particular.

We need to get into some on that GC action and the club needs to get creative and find ways to buy in.
Sinclair didn't want to go initially either but then Sydney offered him a deal which was too good to refuse and the Eagles would have been unable to match. Sinclair moved to Sydney due to monetary reasons. The Club cannot force players to go to another Club if said player is still under contract.

Not sure if it's been mentioned but according to afl website the dockers will accept our 3rd rounder for ballas but we arnt necessarily happy to do it...
According to Colin young, ballantynes manager, on CH7 news we haven't even spoken to Ballantyne yet so who the **** knows what's going on

Reading the Freo board it seems there's been a falling out between club and player so I think Freo will take whatever they can get for him and Ballantyne doesn't want to leave the state so, again, who the **** knows

Both clubs also have higher priorities so I don't think anything will happen soon with Ballantyne

Any deal with Ballantyne needs to be performance based. In other words - a base salary in 2017 of 200k and so much extra per goal. Likewise so many goals in 2017 to earn a new contract in 2018. If he can deliver us 30 goals next year - then he may be worth a 4th round pick. He does not want to move interstate and you can't blame the guy from wanting to distance himself from Ross the Toss,

Youd think if hes chasing a 3 yr contract
(Not that wed give him a 3 yr contract )
He'd be confident that he would perform
I assume when players get to this age they would be in performance based contracts

On GT-I9505 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Thought the Clubs attitude to players aged 30 and over that they were only offered extension of their contracts on a year-by-year basis? So if Ballas is after a 3 year contract he's dreaming?

I wake up every day hoping that Mackenzie has come out and said he wants to be traded.

Another pick in the 20's means a lot in this draft.
I have not known many Christchurch boys who either think that carefully or consider the bigger picture. Love for it to happen but not holding out for it.

Any deal with Ballantyne needs to be performance based. In other words - a base salary in 2017 of 200k and so much extra per goal. Likewise so many goals in 2017 to earn a new contract in 2018. If he can deliver us 30 goals next year - then he may be worth a 4th round pick. He does not want to move interstate and you can't blame the guy from wanting to distance himself from Ross the Toss,
Just as the value of Mckenzie's contract for 2017 is likely to be a stumbling block for any possible trade, ballantynes contract for next year will also be an issue as it'd be decent dollars

YOu've been spending too much time in the sun mate. Don't disagree that a flag next year is going to be a very long shot, but Petrie being considered as anything more than a doorstop for the club store is a f***ing joke.
As i keep saying - he should be plan z.

As a rich club we should have a plan for all contingencies and drew petrie in the ruck is better than mcgovern or yeo. Both of which have and should never happen again.
Being a rich Club has no bearing on it - the Club has to still stay within the salary cap like all other Clubs whether rich or poor!

I'd say most draftees are not up to AFL at time of recruiting. It'd be the rare kid that comes on and makes a fist of it in their first year.

But I think it has been a mix of recruitment and development that sees us where we are now. That is stating the bleeding obvious to some extent.

I do understand we haven't (apart from Masten, Nic Nat and Gaff) had the prime picks to snare the top end midfield talent, as well as being rooted in fairly compromised drafts. However, I feel like we're not up to par in a) identifying midfield talent and b) developing them once they get here. It seems to take an inordinately long period of time for our midfielders to come up to scratch. I mean ffs, what sort of stoppage and running patterns are we employing, when 7+ year players in the system come to the club and still can't get their head around it? It's footy yeah, not building a f***ing rocket surgery? Or am I missing something?

Someone made an intersting point though, that with the loss of Cousins/Judd so abruptly, the next batch of guys coming through maybe missed out on that elite tutelage that they may have benefited from. But then Kerr was still on the books, as was Embley (maybe stretching the elite definition here) for a few years. The other is obviously Priddis, and for preparation and commitment etc you couldn't ask for anyone better, but not sure you'd learn too much watching him breaking lines, running to dangerous spots, and generally being a menacing offensive threat. At the same time, the younger lads really don't seem to have learnt much about tackling which he is a beast at. Nor have they learned much in terms of positioning at the contest, or blocking or shepparding etc, something our coaches surely need to be setting as a minimum expectation.

Does our selection policy impact on their development? It has to at some level. We have been conservative in that regard. Particularly sticking with the older crew, when perhaps form didn't warrant. And dropping the younger crew, when again, form didn't warrant.

We seem to be kissed on the d*** when it comes to recruiting KPP (and/or developing them) but just can't crack the code when it comes to recruiting a mid that jumps out of the veritable 2nd or 3rd round box. Which is why I wonder whether it is more to do with our midfield development? Because as much as we can argue about Priddis keeping these kids out of the midfield, from all accounts, none of them are exactly tearing it up at EP either.
From memory some time during Woosha's time as coach, we employed an ex Rugby player to teach our guys the art of tackling? We could do with somebody like that now!

Think Ballantyne's game deteriorated after Walters came onboard for Might be wrong though.

Ballantynes game deteriorated because he got older and picked up more niggling injuries.

Pav declining and Taberner being a shit truck probably also didn't help him as less to crumb to.

It seems a bit at odds with the little I've read on the draftees. Rotham is low on that list compared to other opinions I've seen and logue isn't even on the list

KS most of the spiel that comes out of the AFL affiliated media or Draft Experts ( that just happen to be on AFL payrolls, some way or another ) is managed and orchestrated beyond belief.

Anyone who has listened to Shifter Sheehan over the years will be aware that he always pumps up at least 15 kids every year that are in the top half dozen to come off the board. ( Maths not his strong suit ) Surprise , surprise most of these kids come from their AFL Academy kids.

Also you get the designated politically correct selections in the AA under 18 team every year ... 1 from QLD.... 1 from NSW... 1 from Tas...and the rest of the team is from SA, VIC Metro , Vic Country and WA...oh and every so often the NT nomination.

Sheehan and most of his disciples pump up the kids that have been in both the under 16 and under 18 championships .
Who it just happen to be the case that said disciples are paid to manage these two championships.

They also have a vested interest in plugging the value of their AIS AFL Academy kid .
They do this so often that they are either oblivious too ,or deliberately don't pay attention to, the kids that emerge from outside their very insular circle.
Case in point Clayton Oliver last Year.... he came from seemingly nowhere and managed to land in the top 10 come draft day. Go figure.

Also with out being accused of being paranoid about Victorian bias and conspiracy theories lol .....

The truth is that most of the stuff they sprout is Vic Centric.

You see the Griffen Logue rise will be greeted on the media outlets by comments like ( permission for editorial licence )

Shifter Sheehan " well thats the beauty of the pathways program a kid if he is good enough then he
will always eventually make it through the system and present himself , Its a wonderful opportunity for all kids ".

Where as behind the scenes at AFL house those charged with ensuring that the best talent is identified very early and plugged into the AFL program their real reaction to Logue's rise up the draft boards would go like this .

" Griffen Logue .... where the F*** did this kid come from ? "

" Oh he is a Guildford Grammar kid that was a star rower and played a few Colts games last year for Swan Districts "

" Guildford Grammar .... where the f*cks that ... rowing your shitting me ...seriously rowing.... as in shells and oars first eight stuff.
What the hell do Guilford Grammar do well at ???? "

"Apparently their motto is Go Forward "

" Go Forward ..well then, my friend, you can forget about the going forward bit.... rather you can GAGF .... how did we miss him ???? "

Jokes aside Logue is a tantalising prospect and one who's combine results will have vaulted him fair and square into top 15 contention.... hopefully pick 12 would be ideal.

I

Does nothing to dissuade me from the opinion we should try to get as many picks in the top 30 as we can with the admittedly limited trade chips we have.

Fully agree and I would be more than happy to part with next years first rounder to pick up another two second rounders this year.
So much talent in the "category type players" that we need in this years second round that its just too good an opportunity to do a good restock this year.

As for The Big Ezy ...I love the block and its a cruel world is the business of AFL footy ...but if we could land a very early second rounder for him I would do it it a heart beat, harsh and callous I will admit ...but very pragmatic.

If we came away from trade week with our first and second and we managed to pick up an additional three second rounders for the cost of next years first and Ezy.... I would be thrilled with the opportunities that could present to us to restock the larder and make a serious challenge for the cup in the next four years.
If Gold Coast was happy to throw one of their low 20's draft picks for masten and he was willing to move I wouldn't be unhappy either. But that won't happen because I don't think a) they'd want him and b) he'd be willing to move

Masten for an one of GC low 20's would be a very early Christmas present for me:gift::christmastree: .

However I agree with both your points a) and b).

One day Monocle I'd like for your missus to drive both of us to the pub in the merc you bought her so I could have a beer with you and talk footy. I'd enjoy that.

You maybe not so much

L
Being a rich Club has no bearing on it - the Club has to still stay within the salary cap like all other Clubs whether rich or poor!

Salary cap isnt what im on about.

We are a rich club - we can spend coin on medicals and whatever shit we need to do to check every single player out that we might even consider.

L

Salary cap isnt what im on about.

We are a rich club - we can spend coin on medicals and whatever shit we need to do to check every single player out that we might even consider.
That would come under football department spending

There's a cap on that as well

The AFL have taken a lot of measures in recent years to neutralise the financial advantage of the biggest earning clubs

http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/weste...egy-a-recipe-for-success-20161009-gry8hm.html

Not a bad article on the way the Bulldogs went about building their list. Doesn't go super in depth but does give some insight into what they looked for.

What was of interest to me was they looked at what players could do (not so much what they couldn't) but needed the player to be elite at something so players like Caleb Daniel with excellent vision and disposal was drafted despite his lack of size. Considering posters here have lamented our club's inclination to recruit good all round footballers (vanilla is the term often used) it's an interesting take especially in light of discussions over SPP who has some very good attributes but iffy disposal - the type of player the club often overlooks

domo you've been waiting your whole life for this moment, and you're nowhere to be found!

HAHA wAAZAArR!! here I am.. I been busy fashioning my evil-clown-priddis cozzy.. . wot I miss??? Same old same old? ie. you can slag the bajeebuzz outa everyone else cept golden boy? Who this time? Darling still? Hill? no wait Lecras.. ?