List Mgmt. Trade & F.A. 2017 (if a scenario sounds wrong - read on before posting)

I think there are big question marks on his kicking, crumbing ability and athleticism. Right now he's basically an undersized marking forward who can't do much else. Fasolo and Elliott are similar in style but clearly much better players. Kirby is a more powerful athlete, already better than Crocker in the air and has a much stronger game at ground level with fitness the only thing holding him back.

So I guess I was surprised that we re-signed him for 2 reasons. (1) I don't think he's demonstrated that he has the scope for improvement to be good at AFL level; and (2) He starts behind three better/more talented players when it comes to competing for a spot in his position in the 22. He hasn't shown an ability to play anywhere else and since the three others are years off retirement I feel as if we are wasting a position on the list by re-signing him.
Think its because fasolo is leaving mate

Phillips is a ripper for us. He's one of our best two way runners already. He helps balance our midfield and adds to our ability to defend or attack on transition. He puts his head over it when it's his go. He sneaks forward and kicks goals. His field kicking is fine outside of the occasional clanger, which all players do. He's an outside mid which we need. And he's still young. My biggest knock is his pace but shit, given what he gives us, that isn't so bad. He's being seriously underrated and valued in this thread.

I would do Phillips for Savage trade.
I'd take this in a heartbeat if an option. Phillips is developing, savage is ready to go and fills a need.

If Phillips is holding out for more money, then I'm happy for him to move on. Without knowing what he is asking, we can cover him with Savage and Aish.

I've heard this a few times. I must confess not to have noticed this consistent butchering people keep referring to.
Put it this way, in one game he had no handball options and the opposition was closing in quickly. He tried to squeeze a kick away and it got smothered. Cue the LOLs and "**** you Phillips, you shit truck" comments in the match day thread.

I tell ya, I reckon if Aish was giving us what Phillips does people would be frothing over it!
I'd be frothing over Aish if he had Phillips tank, because he's more composed with the ball and better in traffic.

I reckon Hawthorn did pretty well through trading and they were the best team for a long time. Teams can build through any means really, making the right choices is the main thing haha.

Josh Gibson for picks 25 and 41 (3 premierships)
Shaun Burgoyne for pick 9, 40 and 56 (3 premierships)
Brian Lake and pick 27 for 21 and 43 (3 premierships)
Jack Gunston and pick 53 for 24, 46 and 64 (3 premierships)
David Hale for pick 27 (3 premierships)
Ben McEvoy for Shane Savage and pick 18 (2 premierships)
All true

But they were built on the draft picks

Hodge, Roughead, Mitchell, Rioli, Lewis, and some guy called Franklin.

(I'd still say McEvoy and Hale were nice pick ups but no stars especially McEvoy. But they filled their nedds well)

Phillips is not Vanilla. I've never seen him shirk a contest. He tackles. He puts his head over it when it's his turn. Is it just because he's outside?
I said he was vanilla not soft.

He doesn't excel at the contest either but that's not my problem with him. My problem is he lacks leg speed and hurt factor.

It's moreso that he hasn't signed yet. Although he expects it will be done, it sounds like it could go either way.

With that said I think most people, myself included, are looking at disposable players who might have some sort of trade currency.
No space left in the cap to sign Phillips.

We over spent on Mayne and Wells

I said he was vanilla not soft.

He doesn't excel at the contest either but that's not my problem with him. My problem is he lacks leg speed and hurt factor.

2nd year player who will most likely finish top. 10 in the Copeland. Me thinks you're being a little harsh.

Mayne getting paid $500k when worth half that.
Wells getting paid $600k when worth about $400k.
That's a statement backed up by nothing, absolutely bloody nothing.

Unless you care to share a source.

So if there's one thing I've learnt from the last 4-5 pages it's that Tom Phillips is quite a polarising figure.

On a side note, I'd be sick if Carlton sign Devon Smith. I rate him and would love him at Collingwood. Surely the under 16 Vic Country days can sway him our way (if it was a positive experience lol). Country team mates of Treloar and Adams, as well as former Giants team mates, and Nathan Buckley being their coach!