List Mgmt. Trade & F.A. 2017 (if a scenario sounds wrong - read on before posting)

Not much. If he goes home Port or the Crows will get a bargain, and actually develop him properly.

Very smart club Adelaide, not doubt they would be all over him. Tracked his career and know what he is capable of if developed properly. Would slot in nicely.
They would be wrapt each week when we leave him out of the side. Value keeps dropping.

I wonder if the recent AFL revenue deal and the ongoing pay stoush in cricket will have much bearing on his decision. In recent years 20/20 cricket has made it seem like a pretty lucrative sport to be in.

I'm sure it's not the only factor by any means,but when you're good at both sports, how much coin you could make would be a consideration.

Surely there's going to be some movement at the kennel, Im not a huge fan however perhaps a new club might get his form back to where it's capable of, so maybe something like

Steele + for Stringer & Redpath

I rate Steele a lot higher then Stringer so imo the + shouldn't be anything too major

The

Trouble is our recent picks below 20 haven't been great...
Freeman, Scharenberg, Kennedy, Broomhead...
Moore...jury still out. De Goey probably a winner.
Grundy...the only certain winner.
Not a great return for 7 early picks (pick 20 & below).
No jury on moore mate his a freak

I reckon if he chooses AFL; we probably will end up with him. Just because most other bottom 6-7 clubs are okay for KPP.
Brisbane
Hawthorns pick---> St.kilda
Fremantle(probably want a KPD)

We should be okay with a top 6 pick.

They could Draft him and trade the KPF that can't get for a 1st or 2nd Round Pick in a few years

Would be funny if Sutherland chose AFL and got drafted by Brisbane, and then requests a trade 2 years later.
Funny, but really unlikely given Brisbane's needs. They have Schache, Hipwood and Ballenden is available to them this year via academy too. 99% sure they're going to go for Fogarty, Rayner or LDU.

Do people reckon we have the worst list out of anyone currently ? When I look at it Brisbane and Carlton have gone past us because we have recruited older players while they've gone the youth path so therefore are ahead in development. Does anyone else feel this way or just me

All clubs look to add older or NQR players for depth or short term role coverage. Carlton added Silvagni and Palmer last year, Brisbane added Frost in last year and added Walker, Bell and Bastinac the previous season.

Then theres ballenden they have to get i suppose

They (currently) have picks 1, 14 and 18. Think that should cover those 2.

Theoretically... if Scharenberg requests a trade back to S. A. What do we get?

Hasn't shown enough to command a late 1st rd pick. And a pick in the 30s from crows or power seems inadequate.

Would still demand a late 1st round pick this year you'd think as he's contracted. Hopefully he doesn't want to go anywhere and he announces himself in 2018.

The

Trouble is our recent picks below 20 haven't been great...
Freeman, Scharenberg, Kennedy, Broomhead...
Moore...jury still out. De Goey probably a winner.
Grundy...the only certain winner.
Not a great return for 7 early picks (pick 20 & below).

This pretty much sums up how poor we have been at the draft for a number of years. With Mayne / Wells added to this list and high $ cost the list is in woeful shape.

I thought I was harsh on our list until I read Buckernara's review of our list

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...a/news-story/01151ab05bf2331deee74d3dca522ad8

Lots of moving pieces to make a club successful and we might see Bucks finish up at the end of the season, but surely Hine and Rendell are also finished on the back of this?

If Buckenara was truly that much of an expert... correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't he still he a recruiter and not writing for the Herald Sun where he has to make up content if it's not forthcoming?

Think he Commited to work with Frankston Dolphins IF they get back into the VFL

I reckon if he chooses AFL; we probably will end up with him. Just because most other bottom 6-7 clubs are okay for KPP.
Brisbane
Hawthorns pick---> St.kilda
Fremantle(probably want a KPD)

We should be okay with a top 6 pick.
I get this ominous feeling we'll do something silly and actually win a few games in the tail end of the season, and end up with a pick 1 after Sutherland gets nabbed.

#playkidsnow

If Buckenara was truly that much of an expert... correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't he still he a recruiter and not writing for the Herald Sun where he has to make up content if it's not forthcoming?

But do you agree with Buckenara's assessment of our list? I personally do - he is harsh as I don't think we have many D graders, but there are plenty (too many) C graders on the list.

I thought the list of player he mentioned that the club was overrating were pretty close to the mark. It's a worry.

Theoretically... if Scharenberg requests a trade back to S. A. What do we get?

Hasn't shown enough to command a late 1st rd pick. And a pick in the 30s from crows or power seems inadequate.

In that hypothetical we'd need to play hardball. We've been a walk over with our departing players and it needs to stop. I would be requesting McGovern in return understanding it likely would go nowhere. Then you don't blink. If nothing happens we keep him to his contract.

Lever and Jenkins are two others that may be considered.

Is Sutherland a bit of a risk to draft? let's say he has a tough first year, and injury or two. What are the odds of him saying ok, i'll go have a crack at cricket instead?

In that hypothetical we'd need to play hardball. We've been a walk over with our departing players and it needs to stop. I would be requesting McGovern in return understanding it likely would go nowhere. Then you don't blink. If nothing happens we keep him to his contract.

Lever and Jenkins are two others that may be considered.
Agree with the sentiment but think it's been largely our uncontracted departing players we've been a walk over with and have done okay with contracted players eg Beams. Cloke not so much but I suspect we just wanted his $ off our books (not that we used them wisely on Mayne :mad:)

Is Sutherland a bit of a risk to draft? let's say he has a tough first year, and injury or two. What are the odds of him saying ok, i'll go have a crack at cricket instead?

Definitely an option for him but that's also a significant risk for him to take. He loses two whole years of crucial development time in cricket. Risks failing at two sports instead of giving himself every chance in one.

I think it would have to be a pretty unlikely injury scenario that would see him unable to play footy but able to play top level cricket. Repeat concussions or something similar. And injury is a risk anyway. Look at the luck we have had with Freeman and Shazza.

If he went with footy, interviewed well and he was available I'd say the flight risk would be well worth it.