Recruiting Trade & Free Agency IV - hypotheticals etc. (Continued in Part V)

You wanting to trade Francis and get Lever suns up this thread.

Sent from my F3115 using Tapatalk
Lol i never said francis! That's what people are saying they'll ask for.. we're into him HARD AF mate dodo prob checks this thread daily for who i want

Lever and Rockcliff wouldnt be a bad offseason

I'd prefer Hopper, mainly because he fits our age profile better, but I certainly wouldn't be against signing Rocky. Few are better at winning clearances and he is undervalued due to a range of pretty silly reasons.

He would, at this point in time be a pretty big upgrade on Watson, and I think he'd play great footy surrounded by a more capable supporting cast.

If Kelly is going to cost two first rounders just put in all our chips and go for it I reckon...could win us a flag. This years first (10-14 range), next years first (hopefully we finish top4) seems like a pretty good deal for a guy who is a jet.
Scoop McClure said if Kelly goes (and we all know he is) the it is highly likely Hopper will stay.
#igetallmyintelfromSENandtheage ;);)

I personally believe this is spot on. The cost of certain players can far outweigh the returns.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/08/02/dont-break-the-bank-for-dusty/

DON'T BREAK THE BANK FOR DUSTY

Geelong premiership forward says breaking the bank to sign Dustin Martin shapes as counterproductive to the side’s premiership aspirations.
Dustin_Martin.jpg

With North Melbourne reportedly offering the star playmaker around $1.5 million a season, the race to sign the raging Brownlow Medal favourite is red hot.

Richmond’s latest offer was rumoured to be six years at $1.2 million per season.

But Mooney, who played in an era of pay brackets at Geelong that players embraced to stay together, warned against an inflated contract.

“You can’t go and break the bank because I think that’s the wrong thing to do,” Mooney told SEN’s The Run Home.

“For 30 years we’ve talked about the Richmond culture being pretty poor and this group has the chance to change all that.

“If he wins a premiership at Richmond, seriously, for the next 25 years it’d be 'write your own cheque,” he said.

“It’d be huge for him.”

Mooney said the concern for the Tigers was signing Martin might push a key role player out the door.

The triple-premiership forward highlighted the influence of role players in delivering a club a premiership as an underrated factor in analysing premiership list profiles.

The Cats’ 2009 triumph over St Kilda was helped largely in part by the impact of Shannon Byrnes, Travis Varcoe, Tom Hawkins and Max Rooke.

“If Martin gets too much of a whack then what does that do to the group,” he said.

“Does that push out players in the long run? Do the Tigers lose a player like David Astbury, Jason Castagna or Daniel Rioli if they spend huge dollars to sign Dusty?.”

Martin’s manager Ralph Carr said he expected a decision on Martin’s future to be made prior to finals.

Essendon keep on being linked to Pittard from Port Adelaide. Hopefully North Melbourne get him instead as we don't need anymore half backs.

Sure we do, Kelly and Bags gone soon, McGrath to the midfield. Practically leaves us with McKenna and talls.

Half backs: Gleeson, McKenna, McNiece, Dea, Redman, Ridley, Francis. Francis being the only one i would consider a potential key position back but could also play half back.
Gleeson and Ridley aren't short but cannot play as key position backs. McNiece replaces Baguley. Dea the versatile back-up.
Morgan and Long playing half back however are potentially delisted at the end of this season.

Half backs: Gleeson, McKenna, McNiece, Dea, Redman, Ridley, Francis. Francis being the only one i would consider a potential key position back but could also play half back.
Gleeson and Ridley aren't short but cannot play as key position backs. McNiece replaces Baguley. Dea the versatile back-up.
Morgan and Long playing half back however are potentially delisted at the end of this season.

Considering most of them are entirely unproven, I don't see the harm in bringing in a guarenteed play maker, especially one who offers something different than all of them.

Obviously under the same proviso as Bombers 4 Life.

I know Lever is a great young talent but would he really be worth the cost for you guys? You've already got a really solid spine and a weak midfield in comparison, would have thought they'll throw the kitchen sink at a few mids in trade week.

I'm not saying this because my club is after him too, if we don't get him I'd rather you guys because it wouldn't upgrade your list as much as some others :D

I know Lever is a great young talent but would he really be worth the cost for you guys? You've already got a really solid spine and a weak midfield in comparison, would have thought they'll throw the kitchen sink at a few mids in trade week.

I'm not saying this because my club is after him too, if we don't get him I'd rather you guys because it wouldn't upgrade your list as much as some others :D

I have no doubt we were after some good young mids as a first preference. It is possible all the good ones available are staying or going elsewhere (Martin, Kelly, Hopper etc.) so it might simply be the case that we rate Lever a lot higher than anyone we would pick up in the draft with our first pick. With Hooker playing forward, we definitely could use someone with good intercept marking in our defense too.

I doubt we get Lever. Realistically we're probably fourth or fifth in line.

Considering most of them are entirely unproven, I don't see the harm in bringing in a guarenteed play maker, especially one who offers something different than all of them.

Obviously under the same proviso as Bombers 4 Life.
I think we need another running back as well. Somebody who can break lines and of those listed only McNiece and Redman do that. The rest are more your third tall types that mark the ball and switch.

McGrath will end up midfield and that only leaves McKenna to run the lines. If we don't find another then McKenna will just get sat on and that will shut down our run.

I don't think Pittard is the long term answer because of his age but we do need to find somebody.

We do need to rebuild our engine room but Hurley and lever is a very appealing prospect.

In fact you will find that playing with Hurley is also attractive to lever.

Whether that means he chooses Essendon who knows but it won't hurt.

I'd prefer Hopper, mainly because he fits our age profile better, but I certainly wouldn't be against signing Rocky. Few are better at winning clearances and he is undervalued due to a range of pretty silly reasons.

He would, at this point in time be a pretty big upgrade on Watson, and I think he'd play great footy surrounded by a more capable supporting cast.

What would Hopper cost us pick/player wise do you think? He'd be a good fit and certainly a cheaper option cap wise than a blue chip established mid.