Recruiting Trade & Free Agency V

Thought Robbi was spot on.

Trade week isn't about winning premierships.

At best it's about looking good during the year. Premierships are being won by sides who stop their opponents.

Upgrading Colyer and Green with better attacking players is not going to change a thing if we play Sydney in Sydney in a final.

I agree that defensive footy wins finals, its something that I felt a lack of was costly and commented on after the Sydney final but if we can improve the midfield and we can continue to build our defensive skills then we should see continued improvement. I see these potential trades as upgrades on existing players and allows for other players to play different roles.

I don't know enough about Smith and Saad to comment on whether they will be good pick ups or not but I feel Robbo is being overly harsh in his comments on Stringer considering how important he was in their premiership despite apparently playing poorly.

c'mon mate, you were bemoaning the other day the lack of players we have in the 22-25 age bracket - this is an instant influx of 3 of those, almost redresses it instantly.

I know ideally we do it all with picks, particularly in a soft draft but we cant have it all - if we need to give a player, so be it .. as long as the player name doesn't start with L or F, I might be ok with it.

I wouldn't say bemoaning because my point wasn't to trade these players in at the expense of the kids who we've been developing, been through the darkest parts of the supplements saga, can play, etc.

It was that we should look at recycling a few players together with recruiting Stringer. Take a punt using a list spot on some depth who can play 22 games in 2018 if necessary but who could also be something more.

Where do you start wondering whether these guys are snake oil salesmen? Great young list is so great we trade part of to add better attacking players when defence and ball winning are our biggest issues.

Trade radio and SEN talking like Stringer has already nominated. Have I missed something?

I'm surprised he wasn't at our b and f last night considering how they were talking on the coverage tbh.

If a player manager in Scotty Lucas is talking about him pretty much nominating us, surely he s going too.

If we bring the game we played vs wce, gee , port against Sydney - it stacks up ( like it did the first time we played them)

we can pressure fine when we want to, when its 'on', we are a near unstoppable mix of pressure and electric pace.

I know we still need the grunt defensive mids, agreed, but I don't think its all about bringing in that type of player, think its more about maintaining the concentration to mster the gamestyle we need to play, equal parts pressure and attacking verve. Not too lopsided in the attack favour.

Howard that's la la land stuff.

Upgrading Colyer and Green with better attacking players is not going to change a thing if we play Sydney in Sydney in a final.

I would suggest there are many other factors within the club that could be changed that would go against your argument.

I wouldn't say bemoaning because my point wasn't to trade these players in at the expense of the kids who we've been developing, been through the darkest parts of the supplements saga, can play, etc.

It was that we should look at recycling a few players together with recruiting Stringer. Take a punt using a list spot on some depth who can play 22 games in 2018 if necessary but who could also be something more.

Where do you start wondering whether these guys are snake oil salesmen? Great young list is so great we trade part of to add better attacking players when defence and ball winning are our biggest issues.

They are obviously backing in the players on the list to fix up the ball winning issues. I'm not overly concerned about the defensive side, if we can win more footy and turn it over less the defence is fine.

Though it's not surprising that a coach coming into a contract year is bringing in more players than normal. Even if they don't fit into what the public would view as a need basis.

Howard that's la la land stuff.

...I may be in pre season hype mode, true.

sorry if it was arguing for the sake of it ;)

although I still don't reckon the entire league needs to follow Richmond's style - they stole one. Does that mean every team needs to go with one tall fwd and a bunch of small plebs now? and a wingman part time rucking? I'm sure some teams will try.

But I do know and agree contested ball and high pressure wins finals football, which we lack, but im not that sure just bringing in one or two players like that actually helps, it needs to be a full ground thing, not just 2 or 3 or 4, or even ten. if there is a weak link in your 'press' it will be found and exposed.

its about mindset and coaching it relentlessly.

but if we go that way, do we lose our main strength of being able to attack the way we do?

Thought Robbo was spot on.

At best it's about looking good during the year. Premierships are being won by sides who stop their opponents.

Smith is pretty good at providing the defensive pressure in our forward half. That's what won Richmond a premiership this year. If Walla, Smith and Fantasia can provide the manic pressure that the Tiger smalls can, our forwardline is complete. So in a sense, bringing Smith in does help the defensive side of our game because too often, we allowed the ball to leave our forwardline with ease. Also, a goal kicking mid is one of our needs. If Smith plays that role, he'll add another layer to our midfield.

Our midfield does need to improve the defensive running though. I think even getting a ball winner like Miles in our side will improve us a lot. Sure he isn't the best user of the ball, but he'll complement us by providing the grunt. He'll cost a 3rd or 4th rounder.

Still a bit disappointed that we didn't go for Rockliff and missed out on Kennedy.

Give us some trades which are attainable to your argument.

but this is the whole fallacy being put about that if you can't fix the most glaring need on your list you shouldn't improve any other part of your list.

Unless you can make a case that the players drafted at 11 and 28 or whatever will help us win a premiership next year, which you can't, you are making a specious argument

Any word on interest in Miles???

He borders on the elite and is all about "See ball, get ball", which is what the tigers are good at...

Have we heard anything on Anthony Miles? Would love to grab him for cheap, he is much better than a VFL player, undervalued at the moment.

I half agree.

My big query is how we'd fit McKenna, Gleeson and Saad into one backline. That's three players who are sub-par defenders (obviously all three are good/very good in other areas), which doesn't sit well.

Our forward line becomes elite though, and Smith into the midfield (which right now sucks, as we saw against Sydney) would be a huge addition.

Smith will play HF with stints in the midfield. Like Stringer (who I don't rate much). Both will get a chance to prove they can play mid full time, but if they can't at least they have runs on the board higher up the ground.

Can Devon smith play a similar role to Taylor Adams from the pies but more of a goal kicking mid?