Recruiting Trade & Free Agency VIII

What should we do with our first round picks?

• Take 6 & 7 to the draft

Votes: 20 25.3%
  • Trade up the order so we can get Logan McDonald

Votes: 21 26.6%
  • Split 7 to get the other trades done

Votes: 27 34.2%
  • Something else...

Votes: 11 13.9%

ATTENTION OPPOSITION POSTERS: You are on the Essendon board - not the draft board, or the main board or your club board. You are welcome to post here but you will mind your manners or you will be carded. Don't waltz in here telling the locals what's happening/not happening, what's dumb etc. By the same token sealioning will also not be tolerated so be warned. You do not have equal standing here no matter how right you think you are.

Draft Combine
Tuesday October 1 - Friday October 4

AFL Grand Final
Saturday October 24

Free Agency Window
Friday October 30 – Friday November 6

AFL Trade Period (Players and picks)
Wednesday November 4 – 7.30pm Thursday November 12

List Lodgement 1
Wednesday November 25

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
Thursday November 26 - Sunday November 29

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
Monday November 30

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
Monday November 30 - Tuesday December 1

AFL Trade Period (Picks only)
Concludes Thursday December 3

National Draft
7pm Wednesday December 9

Preseason and Rookie Drafts
12pm Thursday December 10

Final List Lodgement
Mid-December (tbc)

Pre-Season Supplemental Selection Period (SSP)
Wednesday January 6, 2021 – will conclude prior to the start of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season
Any issues with it post in this thread:

Draft discussion goes here: Draft Watch

Father/Son & NGA discussion goes here: James Hird Academy (Father/Son and Next Generation)

Poll results: Who should stay? | Which key forward do you want? | What would you give up to get Josh Dunkley?

I agree he won't go.

I'm curious though, Does he want to go?

I/we can't know this but it's possible that he wants out and we've said no you're contracted.
Hearing he wants to stay.

My theory . We are not in a strong trading position other than we may have a few leave that yield us good picks.
After a bit of thought in recent days I think it is dangerous to be looking at topping up so anyone like Ben brown is out. We need to close the saga era and not keep trying to win a flag with a side that has clearly missed the window.
There are still enough players on the list aged under 26 that have 5 plus years of good footy left so we start now.
If Joe wants to go then let him go and hope he attracts enough to give us pick 7.
If Saad wants out and it is Richmond then pick 15-18.
Fantasia, take what we can get.
Take 3 top 20 picks into the draft.
Only look at players under 24 for trade . Not a Brodie fan but if someone like him was cheap in regards to picks then yes.
Spend another year "learning". Go to the draft again. Have a bit of a crack at the FA market.
Go from there.

Wright would be my preference as well. I'm a minority in this but I'd take Schache as well.
Schache & Wright
If Joe's out get both! Can't be a backward step. Let's Jake roam, Tippa at the fall etc. Backline nightmare! Do it!

Schache Stewart Tippa
??? Wright Stringer

Still quite a young fwd line.
We need a quality pressure small fwd. Moz looks very good but unfortunately won't see much of next year.

this also frees Langford up to play wing.
Which could mean rather than find more pace off the HBF, we use the small fleet of mids to rotate through and support from behind the stoppages.

I've given up on prospect of what could have been an elite forwardline.
Get some bodies in, invest the capital in building an elite middle. It took Collingwood to a GF and won the Dogs a flag.

Schache & Wright

Schache Stewart Tippa
??? Wright Stringer

Still quite a young fwd line.
We need a quality pressure small fwd. Moz looks very good but unfortunately won't see much of next year.

this also frees Langford up to play wing.
Which could mean rather than find more pace off the HBF, we use the small fleet of mids to rotate through and support from behind the stoppages.

I've given up on prospect of what could have been an elite forwardline.
Get some bodies in, invest the capital in building an elite middle. It took Collingwood to a GF and won the Dogs a flag.
Not both. One or the other

With Brown leading up and 2MP stays deep. Splits a backline. Medium to little blokes roaming. That's enough for me at this stage. Young KPF's getting games. Crazy. Might just work???

Not both. One or the other
if it's one, i prefer Wright. Primarily because i think we have Schache types. though i haven't seen the VFL form/role.

But i'd have either or both ahead of Brown.
Brown smacks of the window being open. and expensive. and giving Norf a leg up. **** Norf. this wilderness they enter may just finally end them.

Both does give us the option of shifting Stewart back as an option.

View attachment 968554

Our last inside midfielder was Jobe Watson and we should be drafting wingers...

From an outsider, I fully agree with you. Inside mids have gotta be priority number 1.

Will Brodie from GCS is gettable for a second rounder (seeing as you cant trade out your 1st barring getting another one in).

Viney from Melbourne is a FA. He's gettable. Also Wines.

Maybe we should try to get Liam Stocker. He would be about 8th in line as an inside midfielder at the Blues.

Fits our needs far more than Carlton's.

From an outsider, I fully agree with you. Inside mids have gotta be priority number 1.

Will Brodie from GCS is gettable for a second rounder (seeing as you cant trade out your 1st barring getting another one in).

Viney from Melbourne is a FA. He's gettable. Also Wines.
Given we do not have one right now that would rule that out. Not that I would be giving up a second round pick for a player who has struggled to make the bottom side for 3 seasons.

He's played 2 games this year and the Dogs have Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (extremely unlike to drop outside a top 5 bid) in their academy along with Naughton and Bruce as their preferred combination. Can't see him costing more than a packet of chips at this point, or points to cover JUH
Earlier in the year I would have agreed. Now I think he'd be a list clogger.

we need a jordan type player!

giphy.gif

Not that I would be giving up a second round pick for a player who has struggled to make the bottom side for 3 seasons.

He was averaging 22 touches last year (10 contested, 5 clearances).

Was ranked 1st for centre clearances out of all R/S in 2018 and 7th overall for centre clearances per game in 2018.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-gold-coast-suns--will-brodie

Former pick 9. For a second round pick, I'd be all over him. A second rounder this year is basically a chook raffle.

He was averaging 22 touches last year (10 contested, 5 clearances).

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-gold-coast-suns--will-brodie

For a second round pick, I'd be all over him. A second rounder this year is basically a chook raffle.

I know all about his stats.
2017 - 3 games.
2018 - 8 games.
2019 - 8 games.
2020 - 1 game.

Like I said struggled to get a game in an average side. You can be all over him if you want. I would rather back my own judgment which has generally been pretty good.

I know all about his stats.
2017 - 3 games.
2018 - 8 games.
2019 - 8 games.
2020 - 1 game.

Like I said struggled to get a game in an average side. You can be all over him if you want. I would rather back my own judgment which has generally been pretty good.

How about these stats:

● 1st among rising stars in Total Centre Clearances in 2018
● 4th among rising stars in Inside 50s Per Game in 2018
● 2nd among rising stars in Handballs Per Game in 2018 ● 5th among rising stars in Disposals Per Game in 2018
● 2nd among rising stars in Contested Possessions Per Game in 2018 ● 2nd among rising stars in Clangers Per Game in 2018
● 1st among rising stars in Clearances Per Game in 2018 ● 4th among rising stars in Bounces Per Game in 2018
● 1st among rising stars in Centre Clearances Per Game in 2018 ● 4th among rising stars in Stoppage Clearances Per Game in 2018
● 2nd among rising stars in Turnovers Per Game in 2018

[TD valign="top"]Career Highlights[/TD]
[TD valign="top"] ● [/TD]
[TD valign="top"]29 disps (19 kicks 10 hballs), 9 marks, 9 tackles and a goal in Rd 12 27-pt loss to North Melbourne at Metricon Stadium (8 Jun 2019)[/TD]

I dont think he's struggling based on skill. He was touted as a potential number 1 pick for most of his draft year.

He's got ability. I reckon he's a real moneyball.

How about these stats:

● 1st among rising stars in Total Centre Clearances in 2018
● 4th among rising stars in Inside 50s Per Game in 2018
● 2nd among rising stars in Handballs Per Game in 2018 ● 5th among rising stars in Disposals Per Game in 2018
● 2nd among rising stars in Contested Possessions Per Game in 2018 ● 2nd among rising stars in Clangers Per Game in 2018
● 1st among rising stars in Clearances Per Game in 2018 ● 4th among rising stars in Bounces Per Game in 2018
● 1st among rising stars in Centre Clearances Per Game in 2018 ● 4th among rising stars in Stoppage Clearances Per Game in 2018
● 2nd among rising stars in Turnovers Per Game in 2018

[TD valign="top"]Career Highlights[/TD]
[TD valign="top"]●[/TD]
[TD valign="top"]29 disps (19 kicks 10 hballs), 9 marks, 9 tackles and a goal in Rd 12 27-pt loss to North Melbourne at Metricon Stadium (8 Jun 2019)[/TD]

I dont think he's struggling based on skill. He was touted as a potential number 1 pick for most of his draft year.

He's got ability. I reckon he's a real moneyball.

We will see. If he is so good then why could he not get a game ?

That's what bothers me. Likely attitude. The skill is there.

If you can sort that attitude out, then you've potentially got yourself the next Josh Kennedy.

I'd be completely comfortable with Carlton trading him in for a 2nd.
Well good for you. Like I said I will back my judgment.