Training 12.01.09

I did learn something in year 12 :p

I mentioned Mackay before and I'll mention him again, he's not putting afoot wrong. He makes little errors and is just a smooth mover. He's tackling well and just always popping up with something.

Sellar has been working hard and seems to have stepped up a level compared to what I saw last pre season and even at season training. He's being utilised in drills and getting a chance to attack and defend. He always stays back longer and often works closer with a coach.

Otten and Armstrong would be the two recruits from 07 who are standing out the most, but more so Otten than Armstrong. They're both very good at using their voice, especially for only second year players.

The usual suspects of Goodwin, Edwards, Reilly, Shirley and Doughty are all having good pre seasons.

No one is really standing out as poor performing. I must say though Tippett hasn't really been catching my eye. From what I've remembered he hasn't been used as a main forward target, so I haven't noticed him too much.

Finally got down to a training myself:eek:

Will make a few comments although CG has done a great job. I took some photos and might upload them later, but they weren't much chop due to a crap camera with crap zoom.

You were right on the money with the fartleck running CG, from memory they were doing about 60m at 3km pace followed by 20m at a sprint, cycling between the 2 for about 5 mins without a break. Good fun stuff:eek:

A couple of notes from the session though:

Sellar is definitely working hard, if he doesn't make it, its not through lack of effort. He really does cut an imposing figure when out there, you can see why we'd invest so much time in him. One thing I noticed throughout the session though was that he needed to work on timing his leaps for a grab in a contested situation, the ball quite often went over head. It was really pleasing to see him working with Benny Hart following the session on exactly that. I stayed for a bit to see how he went and he really started to improve when opposed to Hart, took some really strong grabs. Also in the circle work drill they did towards the end of the session, he worked hard accross the ground to create a contest and found a fair bit of the footy.

To Stiffy now, I wouldn't worry too much about his gut, I think Drummond caught him at a really bad angle, what little gut there is on Stiffy, I'm sure it'll be gone in a couple of weeks, he didn't stand out at all on the park as being overweight or anything.

Walker is definitely looking ready to take on the AFL, his skills and balance with the footy are just amazing and there are definitely no worries about whether he'd be big enough for the AFL. They did a lot of one on one leading and Walker absolutely excels in this area, just knows when and where to lead and can easily slip his opponent. To me this is what will seperate him from everyone else and make up for his lack of any great athletic qualities. Sellar in contrast needs a lot of work here, you can tell he's very unsure in this respect and really struggles to get away from his opponent or when he does its often too late or to the wrong spot.

Mackay is just awesome out there, everything he does just oozes class, he's always one take, never fumbles, delivers well etc.

Whilst he can take an overhead mark, Porps is still very tentative when doing it and to me doesn't look confident yet doing it, which is to be expected though.

Expect Petrenko to play a bit of footy this year, was looking very sharp and was complemented numerous times throughout the session by Craigy, I think VB has a bit of competition for the tag of Craigy's favourite:D

On Jacky, at one stage they were doing some front and centre work off a pack situation followed by a snap on goal, what disapointed me was that Jacky struggled big time with these "snaps", don't think any went close and if he wants to be a "small forward" these will have to be his bread and butter. If I were him, I'd be out on the oval every spare second I had (with a trainer or 2 if possible) practising snap shots from all angles. As a kid I did a lot of this and snap shot goal kicking is now one of the strengths of my game and I don't believe it has to be learnt as a kid. Walker and Porps I must say, nailed every one I think.

I wouldn't be surprised to see Gallman replace Massie in the side as that medium defender, he seemed to be doing a lot of competitive marking work with the likes of Stevens, Gill, Walker, Sellar etc.

Was very disapointed not to see the new fellas out there, might have to go to another session.

Thats all I can think of for the moment anyways, I must say its pretty hard to tell who's who out there, Sellar and Tippet are about the easiest, Tippet with his height, Sellar with his shaved head and just being such a beast. Whilst Sellar may not quite be as tall as Tippet, I reckon he'd be just as, if not even more imposing.

Finally got down to a training myself:eek:

Will make a few comments although CG has done a great job. I took some photos and might upload them later, but they weren't much chop due to a crap camera with crap zoom.

Nice work there James. :thumbsu: :)

My favourite part of any training report is how the individual players are shaping up etc.

I think you should go again. ;) :thumbsu:

Great stuff once agin CG:thumbsu: and James

After what was a pretty bad year for Sellar, I am rapt that he is putting in the hard work and then some. I do though wonder - where will he play? He does'nt have the endurance of Gill for CHF. Is he quick enough off the mark for FF? What about FP, where I would have Tippett or the resting ruck? Versatile Tall - probably Stevens. I have no doubt there is room in the team for him as he could be used in a variety of roles, but if he was to be in the starting 22, where would he start of who will he have to replace?

Mackay, Walker, Danger what an exiting trio.

Thanks James_37 and SATricolours! :) Great to have multiple reports!

Thanks James.

I really hope Jimmy suceeds, he's finally pulled the finger out, damn MacLay is getting props, he reminds me so much of Edwards

I have always said throughout 08 that Mackay reminds me a young Edwards. I think the comparison will prove to be correct over the length of his career - perennially underrated but just exceptionally classy and his career will end up only recognised for how great it will be right towards the end of it.

Also watched the training for the first 90 minutes.
Was standing near the western goals - this was the area where most of the work was done by those away from the main group (as descibed in -CG- report).
A couple of comments on Dangerfield.
When he was in the main group and doing the drills that involved running at pace, he moved fantastic - he has an interesting, balanced style. He just seemed to glide along and covered the length of the oval in seemingly no time at all.
He also spent 20 minutes or so doing goal kicking practice. Again an interesting and balanced style. He has a very deliberate slow start to his run in and does not take a long run up. But very effective - from my angle he hardly missed a goal.

One thing that I've seen Dangerfield do a bit of while I've been at training that I love is where he rolls a ball in front of himself, and then at a pretty fair pace he runs at the ball and tries to slap it up to himself without dropping any pace - simulating a pick-up at match pace without setting himself up to be tackled. I don't think I've ever seen him fumble it. He slaps it up, it bounces in the air, and his hands snap around it every time. If he can get his kicking working right, he will be the total package.

I love that he has identified it as a problem and is putting in extra effort on it. He strikes me as the sort of kid that will rise to a problem and fix it rather than try to work around it.

Great stuff once agin CG:thumbsu: and James

After what was a pretty bad year for Sellar, I am rapt that he is putting in the hard work and then some. I do though wonder - where will he play? He does'nt have the endurance of Gill for CHF. Is he quick enough off the mark for FF? What about FP, where I would have Tippett or the resting ruck? Versatile Tall - probably Stevens. I have no doubt there is room in the team for him as he could be used in a variety of roles, but if he was to be in the starting 22, where would he start of who will he have to replace?

Mackay, Walker, Danger what an exiting trio.[/quote]

Add Petrenko to that lot. Heard from an ex cricket team mate of his he is keen on playing games this year and from what people have said here on this board he could be like McKay and put in a solid second season.

Another great report CG. You know, living here in Tassie and getting this sort of info is just fantastic. Shits all over the Advertiser website.
Dunno where I'd be without this info or Big Footy.

Agree and Disagree. Always good to work on player's weaknesses, but Kudos for using a first round draft pick on a player that can't kick?

There's generally no such thing as a perfect player. Say we had gone for Ebert, we could then use the same argument and said "but Kudos for using a first round draft pick for a player who lacks pace?" - the difference is that a) the club needed Dangerfield's skill-set, and b) obviously believes they can fix Dangerfield's kicking. They don't have to turn Dangerfield into an elite kick, if they can just bring it up to par and prevent it from becoming a weakness, his other list of skills will see him become a very damaging player.

The other odd thing with Dangerfield is that he seems to actually be a decent kick, he's just not reliable. He's not like, say, Brad Symes who simply doesn't have a damaging kick. Dangerfield has a damaging kick, he just seems to pull out shockers more often than he should.

Geoffa - you just watch Petrenko this year. He's going to impress you, I'm sure of it :)

I wandered down to have a look for a while as well today. I didn't stay for the whole session, as I had my fix after watching the session for about 2 hrs. I'm not that great at picking faces out of the crowd at a training session like that, particularly fairly new players. I did notice though that at the end of the drill before the fartlek running 3 players chat to the trainers and then head back indoors for a swim as they were holding their hamstrings. I only recognised 2 of the players. One was definitely Griffin who was limping noticeably and I think another of them was Armstrong. I couldn't pick who the other one was.
Thompson also copped a knock to the head but was able to continue with the group after being patched up.
Maric and Douglas and another player left fairly early into the session also... in a car they had parked by the supporters. Anyone know what the go was there?

So there was no word on any of these injuries?

Don't worry, the boy can kick.

The extra work is more about ironing out a slight deficiency in the kicking, not correcting anything major.

Yeah, it's not a Nick Gill kick or anything :eek:

I think the biggest problem with Dangerfield's kicking is that he tries to kick at full pace all the time. Drummond was saying the other day that they were getting him to practise slowing right down from the sprint before kicking. Presumably once he gets that down pat they'll get him to slow down less and less until it becomes more natural.

He strikes me as an easy learner so hopefully it will all come together for him! :)

Yeah, it's not a Nick Gill kick or anything :eek:

I think the biggest problem with Dangerfield's kicking is that he tries to kick at full pace all the time. Drummond was saying the other day that they were getting him to practise slowing right down from the sprint before kicking. Presumably once he gets that down pat they'll get him to slow down less and less until it becomes more natural.

He strikes me as an easy learner so hopefully it will all come together for him! :)

Was watching him a bit yesterday and this is definitely one problem, the other I think is he's trying to be too perfect and stab the ball too hard and too low, where as if he gave it a little more air, it'd be just as effective and far more reliable. Technique wise (Been doing a bit of analysis work on kicking at uni and what constitutes the "perfect" technique, if there were such a thing) I also thought he doesn't bring the ball up high enough before guiding it down onto his boot and as a result, he's striking it too close to his body. Bit hard to tell without slowing it down with proper high quality video though, which I would hope the club might be doing behind closed doors.

I wonder if this stab pass thing is also an "overcompensate and then slowly bring back" technique they are using, because quite often in the TAC Cup he just seemed to bomb it in the air (the infamous "Symes Special"), and perhaps they identified this as a problem and told him to try kicking low trajectory kicks?

Thats a young kids problem as well James, i know I did/do it.

Nothing better than a 40 meter pass that never goes over 2 meters off the ground and leaves the forward with internal bruising.

On Jacky, at one stage they were doing some front and centre work off a pack situation followed by a snap on goal, what disapointed me was that Jacky struggled big time with these "snaps", don't think any went close and if he wants to be a "small forward" these will have to be his bread and butter. If I were him, I'd be out on the oval every spare second I had (with a trainer or 2 if possible) practising snap shots from all angles. As a kid I did a lot of this and snap shot goal kicking is now one of the strengths of my game and I don't believe it has to be learnt as a kid. Walker and Porps I must say, nailed every one I think.

This really worries me. I'll keep saying it "This position is our biggest worry". I truly believe if we can find 1,2 or 3 consistent crumbing forwards we will finish top 4. If we can't we will never be a real threat.

Isn't that why you gave us (Port) Shaun Burgoyne in return for Matthew Bode? The small crumbing forward? Loved that trade :)

Douglas and Porpy can be fine crumbing forwards, but Craig seems keen on moving Porpus to the midfield. I would think more a genuine Key Forward (ala Buddy/Pavlich/Riewoldt) away from a chance at top 4.

There's generally no such thing as a perfect player. Say we had gone for Ebert, we could then use the same argument and said "but Kudos for using a first round draft pick for a player who lacks pace?" - the difference is that a) the club needed Dangerfield's skill-set, and b) obviously believes they can fix Dangerfield's kicking. They don't have to turn Dangerfield into an elite kick, if they can just bring it up to par and prevent it from becoming a weakness, his other list of skills will see him become a very damaging player.

The other odd thing with Dangerfield is that he seems to actually be a decent kick, he's just not reliable. He's not like, say, Brad Symes who simply doesn't have a damaging kick. Dangerfield has a damaging kick, he just seems to pull out shockers more often than he should.

I wasn't thinking of Ebert, was thinking more of a Rioli since the crows have been needing quality forwards for a while now, but i agree there are no perfect players.

Isn't that why you gave us (Port) Shaun Burgoyne in return for Matthew Bode? The small crumbing forward? Loved that trade :)

Douglas and Porpy can be fine crumbing forwards, but Craig seems keen on moving Porpus to the midfield. I would think more a genuine Key Forward (ala Buddy/Pavlich/Riewoldt) away from a chance at top 4.

Sadly enough, we actually traded for Bode as a midfielder :eek: I loved Bodey, but yes, I would dearly love to have that trade back.

I wasn't thinking of Ebert, was thinking more of a Rioli since the crows have been needing quality forwards for a while now, but i agree there are no perfect players.

The Crows would have loved Rioli if he hadn't made it perfectly clear that he had no interest in playing here. Dangerfield is also more than capable of playing a forward role, but obvioulsy he's not going to be Cyril Rioli in that department. However, the Crows did select him on a needs-basis. Pace and strong body were the two ticks on his sheet that propelled him above his peers in the Crows' eyes.

Training 12.01.09