Training Training reports 2024

Like Biggy, Chom is a solid interceptor.

When it comes to manning up on someone, he has no idea imo
That's always been my take on him (Chom) if a short / medium term option in the backline to shore it up or provide physical consistency. I think he could excel as a Majak style interceptor and bizzarely oversized pressure defender. If we want him to be a key defender it will not work in the short term, no idea about long term.

Well I just took the Larkey (Coleman) LDU (Brownlow) McKercher (Rising Star) Combo at 2870-1 and was reliably informed by Sportsbet, "The Chances are you're about to lose".......well no sh1t! I have a pretty good understanding of probability, and think "Nah, I reckon my chances are pretty good, that 2870-1 is a misprice!"
I'd be adding North final 8 to that bet. If all 3 of those happen odds are we've had one out of the box... if you're going to torch $5 or hope for a healthy cashout midway through the season you may as well make it worth the ride IMO.

I’ve been critical of lazzaro but from the few little tidbits I’ve seen whilst at work today, he is consistently getting used as an overlap through the middle of the ground and finding ways to be that outlet on the second kick. Looks good
Interesting, maybe it’s the development of the game plan, running harder, creating overlap, a game plan that suits his fitness and running power, as opposed to previously…..well no game plan to speak of!

I'd be adding North final 8 to that bet. If all 3 of those happen odds are we've had one out of the box... if you're going to torch $5 or hope for a healthy cashout midway through the season you may as well make it worth the ride IMO.
ha,,,,I tried to add the >5.5 total wins at 1.97,,,,,but wouldn't let me!

The biggest concern out of todays game for me was the ease at times in which the yellow team was able to transition from the back half to create scoring opportunities. Our forwards need to be better at holding the ball in and our mids/wings need to improve defending rebound 50's.
Also today we set up for an all or nothing approach at centre clearances, which was fine when you play inferior opposition.

Improve these things and we'll quickly start to turn things around.

yeah, I really do like him for the brownlow if he and wardlaw can stay on the park,
I'm trying to work out how Wardlaw staying on the park helps LDU to win the Brownlow.

Confused Rooster Teeth GIF by Achievement Hunter

The biggest concern out of todays game for me was the ease at times in which the yellow team was able to transition from the back half create scoring opportunities. Our forwards need to be better at holding the ball in and our mids/wings need to improve defending rebound 50's.
Also today we set up for an all or nothing approach at centre clearances, which was fine when you play inferior opposition.

Improve these things and we'll quickly start to turn things around.
It's where I think Lowson could be a good pick up for us........hard to tell from today how quick he is, but there was little forward pressure up both ends

I'm trying to work out how Wardlaw staying on the park helps LDU to win the Brownlow.

Confused Rooster Teeth GIF by Achievement Hunter
if LDU isn't winning the contested ball, Wardlaw is and releasing LDU on the outside, giving him more opportunities to break out of packs and catch the umpires eyes.....no rocket science involved.

Will Dawson looks as good an option as any of K.Dawson/Pink/Biggie if we are being brutally honest, even at this underdeveloped stage.

We may as well just cut to the chase.
He's incredibly strong and aggressive for such a young kid.

I am happy to give him a run in the 2's where he can monster some skinny kids and tool up against some wily veterans but he will play footy this year. I thought Pink and Dawson did enough to warrant games early, just have to play it safe with ball in hand. OR just give it to Sheez.

Got to arden st just at we started. I was on the Macauley Road wing/pocket for half of the first quarter and saw Kingy and his entourage under the scoreboard and then I moved over to behind and left of the benches facing the oval once I realised that you could get all the way around with the fencing situation - I did this by following/lightly stalking Eddie Ford eating a toasted sanga with his hood over his face, I thought there is no way he is going that way without getting through. 😂

I was impressed with all the usuals, LDU, Larkey, Wardlaw, Sheezel ect. LDU was just coasting, he had bigger fish to fry but still dominated.

I thought Goater looked really good and he actually looked massive but fit, we don’t have the tallest list but had you said to me he was a KPB without having any knowledge on him I would have said yeah fair enough due to his size.

Mckercher is our quickest or most reactive player on our list and it makes him look the quickest. He was in everything, elite/precision kicking, great run and carry and awesome on the overlap.

Lizard was in everything, honestly must have a round one spot cemented after that barring anything untoward between now and then, skills were on and no fumbling, had plenty of it.

Thought George got busy in the second quarter late. I don’t think he was on in the first. He was taking kick ins for the yellow at one point and hitting targets. He has a huge kick on him, also pushed up through the guts and hit targets up the ground with some infield kicking. Just needs more praccy matches and I rekon he will be ready - that’s pretty much his first taste in 18 months.

Finbar Maley took a few big grabs whilst I was there, definitely could play if called upon.

I thought CCJ was obsolete butttt I did see early in the first he seemed to have gotten a knock to his head or eye and they were talking on the bench about it, so possibly could have dented his confidence for the day.

My last thought was, Sellars almost would have gotten a contract today if we are leaning towards KPP depth, he was very handy and kicked a couple snags and took a few clunks. I was impressed.

Edit, actually this is my last thought..Booper, super impressive, you can tell by the way he plays who his old man is. He is creative, strong, evasive and makes things happen. If clarko had Duursma in for a round one spot I’d be swapping him out for Booper.

Lazzarro used the ball well, which has been a knock on him.
Need ro see if he can maintain that when intensity lifts.
Good on him if he can.
Its becoming a blur but was it last season he copped flak for the fumbles?
While its true he had them, he showed a hell of a lot about hard running and putting himself in good position.
Ive no doubts on him with extra intensity, just competition for spots will be super tight.

Training Training reports 2024