- Aug 15, 2009
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
Be really interesting to ask Boomer if he is learning stuff as well at the moment. Reckon he will be soaking this up.
Maybe that's why we got the two extra rookie spots. Just to fit Monkey in.Rookie spot?
We will equal the record of 4 for us at least.If we take Byron Jr. next year, and assuming McDonald, Scott, Archer and Harvey are all still there, will that be the most father-sons in the league?
and then maybe will crocker the year after thatIf we take Byron Jr. next year, and assuming McDonald, Scott, Archer and Harvey are all still there, will that be the most father-sons in the league?
We will equal the record of 4 for us at least.
Rounds 9 & 10, 1989 - we had four - Brett Allison (Tom), David Dwyer (Laurie), Mick Martyn (Bryan), Tim McGrath (Dennis)
Never knew Tim McGrath was a father-son?
That sucks. Should've played out his career with us, decent player and would've covered a need too.
Would watch the 2nds (which was before the main game back then) regularly and he would be one of the best every week. It was obvious to bind Freddy that he was way too good for that level. I couldn't believe it when he was delisted.Never understood why he got the boot.
It is and it isn't. No-one runs full speed very often so it's not so important there, but burst speed, speed of thought, and (of course) coordinated movement and well timed runs ARE important to create enough space to generate disposals under lower pressure to players IN space (where again, speed IS important)Probably why it took them so long to win a flag.
Yeah that's good news. Its good to see Clarkson noticing the running issue and trying to fix it. For years people said on here that its the speed the ball moves at that matters, not the speed the players move at but they aren't exactly right about that.
Four players over 35km/hr in that Freo side. We had one (Bonar) and one who hit 34.
It's his first day of preseason mate, bit early drawing any conclusions on his playing future. SheesYes, but we also don’t want to be doing his reputation a disservice by playing him if he’s not up to it physically either.
I think it’s going to be one of the most challenging situations of Clarko’s first year.
Cunners has never looked like Majak at any point of his career, but to get back to even the shape he was in 3 years ago will take a flogging on the track of epic proportions. I dunno if anyone wants to do that to him at this stage of his career and I don’t think he’s been that type of trainer at any point in his career either.
You never write off a champ like him, but people shouldn’t be having him in any meaningful long term plans imo.
Anything we get out of him this year is an absolute bonus.
Is that Phillips walking away - looks a very solid unit.
You'd reckon as a metric greater distance covered and higher speeds (collectively / on average) should refelct greater spread for both offensive and defensive purposes. But it doesn't help if your doing all your running in the wrong direction, wrong time, to no effect.It is and it isn't. No-one runs full speed very often so it's not so important there, but burst speed, speed of thought, and (of course) coordinated movement and well timed runs ARE important to create enough space to generate disposals under lower pressure to players IN space (where again, speed IS important)
So it's not the be all and end all. But you can't have none of it.
I think so too. 2 years and he will have a body that can compete, it's their job to have the rest of his game up to scratch by then. Very promising that he seems to be able to put on size given he had such a light frame to begin with.Developing nicely, barely recognisable from the kid we took in the MSD last year, a perfect project for Monkhorst to work on.
Is that Phillips walking away - looks a very solid unit.
We rarely had players in space while opposition players ran off us all the time. When we focused solely on contested footy soft front running sides like * would constantly beat us.It is and it isn't. No-one runs full speed very often so it's not so important there, but burst speed, speed of thought, and (of course) coordinated movement and well timed runs ARE important to create enough space to generate disposals under lower pressure to players IN space (where again, speed IS important)
So it's not the be all and end all. But you can't have none of it.
The whole thing is complicated. Acceleration and burst speed are the most important bits of fast running imo. Its rare players run flat out for more than 30m and hit their top speed, but if your top speed is 35km/hr and your opponents is 38km/hr then unless you accelerate faster then they will still get away from you or run you down on a lead or breaking into space. Usain Bolt's fastest speed is something like 44km/hr isn't it? But his average speed for his fastest 100m is about 37.5km/hr, Nick Hind or Charlie Lazz aren't catching him even if they've recorded 37-38km/hr in a game or at training.You'd reckon as a metric greater distance covered and higher speeds (collectively / on average) should refelct greater spread for both offensive and defensive purposes. But it doesn't help if your doing all your running in the wrong direction, wrong time, to no effect.
I re-read your post and realised I just repeated what you said. I should have just given you the thumbs up.
Thanks however, there are few similarities between our two clubs.I come in peace. I have a soft spot for north. Both our clubs have been struggling for the past decade and we always get brought in the discussion on going to Tasmania.
With Clarkson coming in, your sporting program is going to evolve so much over the next 5 years. Redevelopment of your training facility is huge too. Saints are now too entrenched in Bayside and have a lot of community engagement, we are also starting to see that debt get whipped off every year. Our program is also going to evolve a lot over the next 5 years.
There is already enough opposition supports giving us sh*t on bigfooty. Which we should probably stop pulling each other into the conversation and just leave it. TBH it is a waste of time. If it happens, us arguing over bigfooty between each other isn’t going to have an impact.
I personal think the narrative Clarkson and Ross being out the game for too long is tripe. Both coaches know how to drive standards and have spent time away from the game watching from a far.
You don’t just lose what makes you a great coach if you keep your mind sharp. Which they both have. They will be coming back as better coaches and people.
If people don’t take into account and respect the time Clarkson spent preparing the Tasmania propose to get a team off the ground. Whist spending a lot of time with two major sport organisations in America. They are kidding them selves.
Being inside those four walls. Would of given him so many new ideas on game plans, leadership and culture. We all know what happened last time he implement another sports tactics into the game.
Really interested to see what their game plans look like. Clarkson is a mastermind, I am positive he has some new tricks up his sleeve. Ross never got the job done, but he has put forward he is going to lean on his assistant coaches more and seems more well rounded this time to be the best coach he can be.
Interested to see the journey of our two sides over the next 5 years. How funny will it be if we start facing off in block buster games or even in a grand final.
I think so too. 2 years and he will have a body that can compete, it's their job to have the rest of his game up to scratch by then. Very promising that he seems to be able to put on size given he had such a light frame to begin with.
Yep. Kid is going to surprise a lot of people.
I come in peace. I have a soft spot for north. Both our clubs have been struggling for the past decade and we always get brought in the discussion on going to Tasmania.
With Clarkson coming in, your sporting program is going to evolve so much over the next 5 years. Redevelopment of your training facility is huge too. Saints are now too entrenched in Bayside and have a lot of community engagement, we are also starting to see that debt get whipped off every year. Our program is also going to evolve a lot over the next 5 years.
There is already enough opposition supports giving us sh*t on bigfooty. Which we should probably stop pulling each other into the conversation and just leave it. TBH it is a waste of time. If it happens, us arguing over bigfooty between each other isn’t going to have an impact.
I personal think the narrative Clarkson and Ross being out the game for too long is tripe. Both coaches know how to drive standards and have spent time away from the game watching from a far.
You don’t just lose what makes you a great coach if you keep your mind sharp. Which they both have. They will be coming back as better coaches and people.
If people don’t take into account and respect the time Clarkson spent preparing the Tasmania propose to get a team off the ground. Whist spending a lot of time with two major sport organisations in America. They are kidding them selves.
Being inside those four walls. Would of given him so many new ideas on game plans, leadership and culture. We all know what happened last time he implement another sports tactics into the game.
Really interested to see what their game plans look like. Clarkson is a mastermind, I am positive he has some new tricks up his sleeve. Ross never got the job done, but he has put forward he is going to lean on his assistant coaches more and seems more well rounded this time to be the best coach he can be.
Interested to see the journey of our two sides over the next 5 years. How funny will it be if we start facing off in block buster games or even in a grand final.
Um, no. And the Saints are wiping their debt? Since when? Isn't it over $10M?I come in peace. I have a soft spot for north. Both our clubs have been struggling for the past decade and we always get brought in the discussion on going to Tasmania.