Travis Varcoe

Trouble with these people 'PB", is they carn't handle honest criticism of their pet idol, we hit their raw nerve.

Its 'ok' for them to criticise others but when Varks fails to perform, the excuses and verbal attacks on any that dare to suggest he finds form in the seconds are called believe it or not, 'a racist or full of hate', these dudes are from the dark ages.

Stuff em', I won't be gagged!

If he performed I'd be the first to say well done!

We don't agree on everything Meto but you're spot on the money here. I still am amazed at how precious supporters are about Varcoe. He's there to perform just like everyone else, and if Hawkins and Josh Hunt and Mooney can be dropped I don't see why he can't be.

on this page alone:

'lazy pricks' 'soft' etc. are not neutral terms. other people can and do criticise varcoe in this thread without sounding like they have a vendetta against him

people are going to get pissed off when you, meto et al. appear to be having a go at players rather than talking about what geelong needs to do to win another flag -
constantly whinging about Varcoe when J. Hunt and Mackie have looked similarly uncommitted at times, without having earned 40+ page roast threads

hate to tell you mate but you and meto seem like the more "emotional people" here, can't stop yourselves coming on here to rage about a player - we get it, everyone was hoping his form would improve this year

(incidentally, i'm curious to hear your "unemotional" and analytical solution to the objectively important problem of getting 22 blokes to kick a ball through a couple of sticks more than any other group. don't delude yourself, barracking in footy's 100% emotion)

but if you just keep on with the exact same rant half a dozen times a week it doesn't take long to get tedious. if you don't have anything new to say, maybe 40-odd pages worth is enough?

:thumbsu: Perfect. I noticed the side-tracking response cut out the salient parts of your response too. Interesting.

I agree, finals are around the corner now. Its a team sport and those who are genuinely interested in Geelong winning the flag this season given our recent form slump will be taking a team approach to what are our necessary solutions. Whether we have beefed the training up or its simple wear and tear in a gruelling season, no one could say with confidence from the outside, but the childish rhetoric in here from a few is boring at best but mainly its contemptible.

Its a team sport and those who are genuinely interested in Geelong winning the flag this season given our recent form slump will be taking a team approach to what are our necessary solutions. Whether we have beefed the training up or its simple wear and tear in a gruelling season, no one could say with confidence from the outside, but the childish rhetoric in here from a few is boring at best but mainly its contemptible.

That doesn't correspond to Varcoe, who has been down for nearly the whole season. I'm still waiting for your constructive critique of Varcoe, otherwise what's the point of your posts in this thread?

You either think there is nothing wrong with how he's played in 2011 or you have some constructive criticism to offer, which is it?

What about playing him in defence like Carlton has done with Chris Yarran. It would give him a clear role and he can use his pace to rebound. It would make his position more meaningful than just floating around the midfield

Leon Davis is another who has found form in defence this season.
Trav has played in defence as a junior but the game has changed greatly.
How far will Scott experiment from here is a good question.

Still it stood out as a beacon this post; Positive and constructive!

Leon Davis is another who has found form in defence this season.
Trav has played in defence as a junior but the game has changed greatly.
How far will Scott experiment from here is a good question.

Still it stood out as a beacon this post; Positive and constructive!

Haha thanks ;). Yeah Davis is in career best form and with the press being implemented by every team, quick defenders who can run the ball out and beat the press could become the most important part of a team. I watch a fair bit of Carlton and the run Yarran provides from half back kills the press

What about playing him in defence like Carlton has done with Chris Yarran. It would give him a clear role and he can use his pace to rebound. It would make his position more meaningful than just floating around the midfield

There are 2 things wrong with the idea unfortunately.

1) Our loose man in defence if we can orchestrate one is Scarlett.

2) In between rebounding he would have to defend body on body and tackle. He does not do that and hasn't done it all year. The opposition would aim for his opponent all day long.

It worked for Carlton because they struggled to put an AFL standard back six on the park. We don't have that problem.

2) In between rebounding he would have to defend body on body and tackle. He does not do that and hasn't done it all year. The opposition would aim for his opponent all day long.

Good point. Hence the notion that the way AFL footy is played today, there is little room for those who are too soft to put their heads over the footy and really contest. Physical pressure is paramount whether you're attacking the ball or defending.

Good point. Hence the notion that the way AFL footy is played today, there is little room for those who are too soft to out their heads over the footy and really contest. Physical pressure is paramount whether you're attacking the ball or defending.

I think the game has always had little room for players too soft to go in and get it (think the Lonie sisters for the perfect example). Up until very recently there were rightly ridiculed and called receivers.

Now of course, you aren't allowed to hurt anyone's feelings, so they've been rebranded "outside players" as if it's some sort of compliment. They're still soft, and they're still liabilities.

Still think Varcoe has it in him to turn it around, I've seen him play with physicality and he looks sensational when he does it. Which makes his lack of effort this year all the more perplexing and disappointing.

Always thought you had to be tough to play in defence and 'ok' to be a nancy up forward, things certainly have changed.
Maybe it would suit in that case? You can could only try!

There are 2 things wrong with the idea unfortunately.

1) Our loose man in defence if we can orchestrate one is Scarlett.

It worked for Carlton because they struggled to put an AFL standard back six on the park. We don't have that problem.

From an outsider looking in I agree with most of this post.

1) Scarlett is the bloke u want the ball with for sure - however he's only got one maybe 2 years left, who will fill that void once he leaves. And it would be a fair void to fill too, who steps into his shoes? Varcoe, Mackie, I don't think so.

2) Agree with this entirely. Yarran and Leon have been the 2 highest profile moves from the forward line to the back line, can't say i've seen a great deal of Yarran this year, but Leon is actually a very very good 1 on 1 defender, especially body-to-body. I think Varcoe would struggle big time in this area.

I think, it's pretty simple for Varcoe really. The kid has talent and skill, but a pea heart.
He just has to build a big engine, and be prepared to work his butt off all day. Attack the contest and the ball.
If he does these things, there's no reason why he can't become a very consistent, high performing player.
If not, IMHO, he'll be traded probably end of next year while he still has some value.

Bisons I can assure you that Scarlett won't be gone in 1 or 2 years time:thumbsu:
as long as he keeps himself healthy he will be the type of player that will keep going like Dustin Fletcher.
He's a pro when it comes to preparation and he's having one of his best seasons of footy yet.
Just turned 32 years of age, the club know Milburn will next to retire but we got Scarlo for another 4+ years, thank goodness:D

I thought he just couldnt play........now I realise also a squib

Lol, u watching the delayed telecast too.

Awful, absolutely awful effort on the wing with about 5 min to go in the 3rd quarter.

Should be very embarrassed about that effort.

As bad as anything Gibbs has done, or Davey (melb) a few weeks ago vs St Kilda

Lol, u watching the delayed telecast too.

Awful, absolutely awful effort on the wing with about 5 min to go in the 3rd quarter.

Should be very embarrassed about that effort.

As bad as anything Gibbs has done, or Davey (melb) a few weeks ago vs St Kilda

What really annoys me is that he has so much talent but chooses not to use it.....and then when I bag him he does something good

The annoying thing is, is that everyone knows how much he would add to the team if he is playing to his best capabilities.

Poor game, but at least he responded in the last quarter after a good rocket at 3/4 time. Whether or not it is enough to keep Byrnes out of the side i'm not sure. We miss a bit of Shan-Shans shimmies lately - and he will add more to our defensive pressure than Varcoe at the moment.

Very line ball decision to see if he holds his spot.

While I recognise he has some great qualities in speed and skill, which he showed in patches today.......get out of my team!

Just pathetic, and what was even more pathetic is you could see exactly what he was going to do before he did it, squib out of the hard contest.

Bartel pulled out of a marking contest with 2 mins to go.

Gutless?

If you focus hard enough everyone does it. I imagine the anonymous heroes in here never have, but thats what makes them so very very good!

By the way, the team travelling so well we focus on 1 bloke?

Get a life, and somehow remember its a team sport.

Gutless?

If you focus hard enough everyone does it. I imagine the anonymous heroes in here never have, but thats what makes them so very very good!

i think you will find with Jimmy he saw Kelly at the last minute. Yep Varcoes effort didn't look good. Im sure they are talking to him and he will get to see that effort again on the replay.

Gutless?

By the way, the team travelling so well we focus on 1 bloke?

Get a life, and somehow remember its a team sport.

How about you get a life mate, running on here to insult people who have an opinion. He has been doing it all year and he just showed (for the benefit of those who don't get what we are talking about) it on national TV at a crucial time in the game that he won't go when it's his turn.

It wasn't Bartel with a teamate near him when the game was won, it was when the game was in the balance and it was meant to be a contest between him and the Brisbane player.

The bloke deserves criticism for his efforts, I am supporter of the club but I am entitled to criticise a player for not putting in. If that upsets you so much don't read this thread.

i think you will find with Jimmy he saw Kelly at the last minute. Yep Varcoes effort didn't look good. Im sure they are talking to him and he will get to see that effort again on the replay.

Thx for defining bias for me mate.

We have an excuse for one and there is no excuse for another.

Good powers of psychic perception there though, any clues what I am thinking right now? :thumbsu:

How about you get a life mate, running on here to insult people who have an opinion. He has been doing it all year and he just showed (for the benefit of those who don't get what we are talking about) it on national TV at a crucial time in the game that he won't go when it's his turn.

It wasn't Bartel with a teamate near him when the game was won, it was when the game was in the balance and it was meant to be a contest between him and the Brisbane player.

The bloke deserves criticism for his efforts, I am supporter of the club but I am entitled to criticise a player for not putting in. If that upsets you so much don't read this thread.

This whole thread is an insult to anyone's football intelligence.

But yeah in a team sport, lets make excuses for one guy's pissweak effort cos you love him and berate the guy you hate. Absolute gold :thumbsu:

Wasnt a great look was it...i reckon this could be a good thing though, because it will be highlighted by coaches AND teammates and could give him the rocket that he so needs.