Travis Varcoe

Wasnt a great look was it...i reckon this could be a good thing though, because it will be highlighted by coaches AND teammates and could give him the rocket that he so needs.

The rest of his teammates will give him a rocket after that effort?

We were that good? :thumbsu:

Kelly didnt put his body on the line at one stage, and he was at the back of a soft marking contest on a wing, the ball slipped behind him, cardinal sin that.

This whole thread is an insult to anyone's football intelligence.

But yeah in a team sport, lets make excuses for one guy's pissweak effort cos you love him and berate the guy you hate. Absolute gold :thumbsu:

Your posts are an insult to your own team supporters, get a grip.

There are one or two posters in here that hate Varcoe, (hi meto) the vast majority of posters want him to play well, get the ball and think he should be in our best 22. This thread exists because it is debatable if he is in our best 22 this year based on his efforts.

Yes Bartel pulled out of one, Bartel doesn't have a history highlighted by a 45 page thread of pulling out of contests. And Bartel has looked a bit shaky since that Pods hit, which by the way would never happen to Varcoe because he won't put himself in that situation.

And it is a team sport and everybody has do their bit for the team to go well.

The whole team seems a bit off re their intensity.

And yes I was outraged by Varcoe's effort in the third quarter. I wanted him gooone !

He seems has gone backwards in regards to tackling or putting he body into the contest. I can only assume his injury has something to do with this.

He played quite well in the last quarter - and showed some glimpses of what he could do - but overall today was not a good showing against ordinary opposition.

Better get rid of him before they start calling Geelong the handbaggers all over again, took alot of time to shake that humiliating tag.

But how good is that little fella Christensen, he's a ripper.
Varcoe should be replaced with Duncan next week, he's another ripper.
His lack of attack and passion should not be tollerated any longer.

There are one or two posters in here that hate Varcoe, (hi meto) the vast majority of posters want him to play well, get the ball and think he should be in our best 22. This thread exists because it is debatable if he is in our best 22 this year based on his efforts.

Yes Bartel pulled out of one, Bartel doesn't have a history highlighted by a 45 page thread of pulling out of contests. And Bartel has looked a bit shaky since that Pods hit, which by the way would never happen to Varcoe because he won't put himself in that situation.

Are you sure we are all team supporters in here? I dont agree.

Glad we agree on Bartel though. And there were others who pulled out on what was a very average day for the whole side. Not one person has suggested Varcoe is playing anywhere near his best, but we have bigger fish to fry.

Making excuses for pet favourites isnt where we start fixing things. Footy isnt played in the past either, here and now, and whats to come.

If we are training for finals, so be it, but as a team supporter I expect other team supporters to apply a simple fair standard to everyone.

First of all I agree that 'TheHonestyPolicy' needs to get a grip. Will not accept any type of criticism of Varcoe without taking it to heart. Trying to shift the soft tag to Bartel and Kelly?? WTF?

Varcoe shirks contests like today all the time... that's part of the problem. The other is he hangs out the back of stoppages the whole day, while the likes of Bartel and Kelly are winning the ball and tackling etc. Every player does pull out at some stage.. true, Varcoe just isn't hard at the contest... well, ever. His intent today was terrible, as it has been practically the entire season. Only looks the goods when we're on a roll. I would love to see him attack the contests.. Refer to Christensen for an example of a light frame(in this case lighter than Varcoe) who has great hunger and intent at the ball.

For mine Varcoe is showing that he's only of REAL value when we're on top as a team and he can ski downhill. That's not good enough. Kicking 2-3 goals then disappearing for 3 quarters isn't good enough either. Must be dropped with the hope he bounces back after the scare pre-finals.

The rest of his teammates will give him a rocket after that effort?

We were that good? :thumbsu:

Kelly didnt put his body on the line at one stage, and he was at the back of a soft marking contest on a wing, the ball slipped behind him, cardinal sin that.

Just settle down mate - you think in this era of "honesty" between players that they wouldnt bring that effort up? I like Varcoe, i want him in the side, but that effort outshone anything anybody else might have done all game. It was horrible. But i like the way he responded in the last.

If we are training for finals, so be it, but as a team supporter I expect other team supporters to apply a simple fair standard to everyone.

But you aren't being fair. Varcoe and Bartel both pulled out of one contest each? Fair enough... then take a good hard look at the value each player was to the TEAM today. Bartel had a great 2nd half, hugely instrumental to the teams win... Varcoe only appeared when the game was as good as done.

Comparing these 2 players in any way is flawed and unfair... not to mention an insult to Bartel.

Just settle down mate - you think in this era of "honesty" between players that they wouldnt bring that effort up? I like Varcoe, i want him in the side, but that effort outshone anything anybody else might have done all game. It was horrible. But i like the way he responded in the last.

It didnt outshine some of the other crap today at all. We disagree.

I agree his last quarter was an improvement on what was an average first 3 return. His place in the side is on the line presently, no question there but again we agree he is important to the side come September IF he improves.

Pull ya head in i didnt make a big call. thats not what i do.

Fair enough. But can you spare us the "this is what Jimmy was thinking at the time" line.

He pulled out, others did too. Thats the honest truth.

I am not against constructive criticism of Varcoe at all. If he doesnt improve come finals he might find himself on the outer because there were some very likely young guys left out of that side today.

Fair enough. But can you spare us the "this is what Jimmy was thinking at the time" line.

He pulled out, others did too. Thats the honest truth.

I am not against constructive criticism of Varcoe at all. If he doesnt improve come finals he might find himself on the outer because there were some very likely young guys left out of that side today.

He didn't pull out though??? He went for the pill and at the last minute saw Kelly coming straight at him who may have been in a better position to take the mark. I think your argument is flawed. I didnt like what i saw of Varcoe i yelled at the TV "go harder Varcoe" and like i said im sure he wont be happy when he sees it again.

Im not arguing with you about TV jibbing it but more your call on Bartel

He didn't pull out though??? He went for the pill and at the last minute saw Kelly coming straight at him who may have been in a better position to take the mark. I think your argument is flawed. I didnt like what i saw of Varcoe i yelled at the TV "go harder Varcoe" and like i said im sure he wont be happy when he sees it again.

Im not arguing with you about TV jibbing it but more your call on Bartel

Bartel pulls out as he is going for the mark. How he or you perceives someone is in a better marking position when he has his hands on the ball already sounds exactly as good as it looked. Pretty average.

I agree Bartel saw someone coming, just not looking for the excuses. Trav's effort was the same. Very average. Same team rules, same principles apply to all. Isnt it flawed to use one rule of thumb for one player and then not the other? Both were going for tha ball and put less than 100% to the contest when it really mattered.

Bartel did mention they loaded up training this week in his article, there is no question tired minds and bodies are more prone to honest mistakes.

Varcoe was weak as piss today! SOFT. Had me screaming at the Telly.

This crap shows no sign of stopping. He truly deserves a spell in the 2's! And this is coming from me, a bloke who chucked a #5 on my new jumper pre-season because i loved him and was expecting him to star!

Varcoe was weak as piss today! SOFT. Had me screaming at the Telly.

This crap shows no sign of stopping. He truly deserves a spell in the 2's! And this is coming from me, a bloke who chucked a #5 on my new jumper pre-season because i loved him and was expecting him to star!

If the guy stays in the team for much longer, it's just flat out favouritism. Other players(Duncan/Menzel/Wojac) have been at least as consistent, if not more than Varcoe in 2011. I don't get it. I would like to ask Chris Scott his opinion on this off the record... would be interesting. Perhaps Varcoe has personal issues and the club thinks a step down to VFL may throw him off the rails(as others have suggested). Who knows? I do know that Varcoe is not earning his spot in the side on form... something just isn't right.

The hype surrounding him pre-2011 has carried him far enough. He's simply not dedicated like the other players.

If the guy stays in the team for much longer, it's just flat out favouritism. Other players(Duncan/Menzel/Wojac) have been at least as consistent, if not more than Varcoe in 2011. I don't get it. I would like to ask Chris Scott his opinion on this off the record... would be interesting. Perhaps Varcoe has personal issues and the club thinks a step down to VFL may throw him off the rails(as others have suggested). Who knows? I do know that Varcoe is not earning his spot in the side on form... something just isn't right.

The hype surrounding him pre-2011 has carried him far enough. He's simply not dedicated like the other players.
We had a very average selected team in today, beat a team at their ground interstate, and kicked 7 goals in the last/4. Varcoe's last/4 was good enough to keep his spot. Lions threw everything at us. When it counted, we won and Varcoe contributed. How does anyone know about his dedication?

Needs to be dropped.
His game today was terrible and that shirked contest was embarrassing.

I'm still hopeful a rocket will see him right for the finals.

That's just a wild, unfounded accusation.
Yes, he's out of form, and down on confidence but to question his dedication is totally unfair.
While a number of posters have highlighted the incident in the 3rd quarter (and yes I agree it didn't look good), no one has mention the around the corner, cute kick by Johnson which led to the incident. It was shocking to say the least.
It is now official Varcoe has taken over the no 1 spot as our team's scapegoat, well until Hawkins puts in a bad game.
As Veedubs said, in the last qtr he stood when the game needed to be won and along with Bartel and Hawkins was our best for that quarter.

IMO he was far from our worst player today, yet reading some posts he's to blame for what was a shocking TEAM performance in general today.

I've tried to stay out of this thread but after watching him today I'm of the opinion he's not coping with the press,far to much contested football and little open space for him to work in.
This may explain why he sometimes still gets into a game late or late in a quarter when the press is not as intent and the spaces open up.
Have to say for 3/4 today his best work was done running to the bench.

We had a very average selected team in today, beat a team at their ground interstate, and kicked 7 goals in the last/4. Varcoe's last/4 was good enough to keep his spot. Lions threw everything at us. When it counted, we won and Varcoe contributed. How does anyone know about his dedication?

I want to see him stand up and be a player who performs when we're down... The other senior players share that load, why can't he? He was useless for 3 quarters until we started winning the ball and got on the end of it. He simply won't work hard, contest and bust a gut around the ground. Keep a close eye on him at stoppages and around the ground, you'll see what I mean. Other players come in and out of form, Varcoe has played at this same sustained crap level for the whole year. Not good enough.

Dedication? Heart the size of a pea, won't gut run, his tackling stat half of 2010, soft in and around stoppages? This mediocrity won't get the job done in September against the best, if you're happy with that... FINE. I'm not!

He simply won't work hard, contest and bust a gut around the ground. Keep a close eye on him at stoppages and around the ground, you'll see what I mean.

bustin a gut running is one of the few things he is actually doing.

plenty of times he doesnt get the ball but is doing a lot of running deep down into the back half and back.

bustin a gut running is one of the few things he is actually doing.

plenty of times he doesnt get the ball but is doing a lot of running deep down into the back half and back.

A lot of running around the outside of stoppages doing nothing but spectating.

15 touches apparently and its been mentioned ad nauseum in this thread that he isnt an in and under mid so why stoppages keep getting brought up is a mystery. Hird mentioned recently how you need a spread of different types of mids which include outside types who run and can handle that load, but it doesnt exonerate the need for any player to just get the footy when required and he still has some confidence issues that I believe have been mentioned!

Its like saying, why didnt Josh Hunt break the lines? Is that what he is in the side to do, if it isnt, then why would you expect that as an outcome?