MattyB_76
Put on a skirt sweetheart.
Good comeback.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Spot on.
What did Campbell Brown get for the hit on Ward? 4 weeks?
So yep Trengove getting 3 seems about right
FFS, it's been illegal to tackle like that for 3 years. Professional footballers and coaches are paid lots of money to know the rules, it's not like it's new. If the MFC tackling coach is instructing players to tackle like that (according to the transcript) then he deserves everything he got.
To say "blah blah blah, smothering a ball, kick in the face, etc" is stupid, because smothering in any way is not illegal. Sling tackles are! If you pin an arm, sling tackle and the player gets injured, get ready for a holiday. It's not rocket surgery.
Now, I love hard, fair footy as much as the next guy, and yes 10 years ago this would have been textbook, but to pretend it was a legal tackle in 2011 is ridiculous. If you are disputing the report or the guilty finding, you obviously haven't read the rules in the past few years.
Do some ****ing research and stop your whining.
lol, lots of crook rockets out there
The anger grows......
Evermore.
For me this is the AFL's own fault. This is a result of the changing in the holding the ball rule over the years. These days if a players pins an arm whilst tackling the player with the ball and they don't dispose of it correctly the tackler gets rewarded with a free kick regardless of whether the tacklee had prior opportunity. Hence this only encorages such tackles.
The tackles I don't agree with are when the players pins both arms and drives them into the ground. As the player has absolutely no chance of protecting themselves.
God people like you make me want to pick up a gun....
"But that's the rule", "It's been a rule for x amount of years", "Everybody should know the rule", blah blah blah
IT'S THE FACT THAT THE RULE EXISTS IN THE FIRST PLACE THAT PEOPLE ARE ANGRY ABOUT!! WHY DOES THIS NEED EXPLAINING FFS?!
Holy crap, do you know any rules of the game?
It is a copy book tackle that is what players are told to do,players are encouraged not to bump any more so Trengove adheres to AFL directives. Dangerfield is in possession of the footy gets tackled brilliantly should have been holding the ball yet Trengove inexplicably gets rubbed out for 3 weeks. MRP pathetic soft gutless flogs it is a contact sport.
I know the rules of Australian Rules Football, The AFL, not so much
Why are you so happy to defend such obviously bad rules?
The game is turning to shit fast, only people like yourself will be left once it becomes touch footy. Unless it's a marking contest, then you can't even touch them.
To be honest, 10 years ago, I don't think too many players would go out of their way to specifically target a player who has just injured himself, and hasn't had time to get off the ground. It wouldn't have raised an eyebrow, because it simply wouldn't have happened.Spot on.
Both incidents wouldn't have even raised an eyebrow ten years ago.
The funniest thing was MRP assessing Trengove's tackle as "high contact"