Trent to get new Deal

Great news .....Trent showed this year that the club thought he was best option to go down back in crisis situations to steady the ship.

Hisability to read the game is excellent .......we may well see him spending more time in defence next year if the plan is to play Davis & McKernan as developing forwrds

Could Hentschell take Ottens BP position .....at 194cm he seems to cover smaller opponents pretty good

Agreed WW - I like Hentschel in defence as a loose man. He reads the play well, takes a good mark and is a solid body. Good kick too. I'm happier with him in defence and Stevens up forward than vice versa.

And Walker would be much better.

Agreed WW - I like Hentschel in defence as a loose man. He reads the play well, takes a good mark and is a solid body. Good kick too. I'm happier with him in defence and Stevens up forward than vice versa.
I don't necessarily disagree with this BUT Trent Hentschel at his absolute best, is THE best natural forward we have. Hentschel at his best is better than Stevens at his best, at both ends of the ground.

I think we could possibly expect to see more of Hentschel as a defender as he gets back to his best. I have always claimed that he was our best forward and best CHB at the same time (pre-injury). Bock is the best CHB in the competition but IMHO, before the injuries, Hentschel could have been just as good, if not better.

I don't necessarily disagree with this BUT Trent Hentschel at his absolute best, is THE best natural forward we have. Hentschel at his best is better than Stevens at his best, at both ends of the ground.

I think we could possibly expect to see more of Hentschel as a defender as he gets back to his best. I have always claimed that he was our best forward and best CHB at the same time (pre-injury). Bock is the best CHB in the competition but IMHO, before the injuries, Hentschel could have been just as good, if not better.

Yep ......It's Trents flexibility as a tall that can also play small that will make him invaluable going forwrd.

I can imagine Tippett as the tall option, Walker the leading option, and Hentschell & Burton having a field day getting 4th & 5th Defender ......and that's not mentioning Knights

Why I think Hentschell may play back will be to provide:

a) opportunities for Otten to play midfield

b) for Davis & McKernan to get time as forwrds

Stevens is an interesting proposition next year .....albeit a good one

Look they all can't and won't play every game ......and injuries will occur which will open up opportunities .......but what great tall depth we have

Stevens is an interesting proposition next year .....albeit a good one

Stevens days in the starting 22 are numbered IMO.

While a good serviceable player we have the potential to unearth game breaking players in Davis and McKernan, we cant have everyone in there at one time.

IMO its important that Davis and McKernan are playing in R1 of night comp.

While a good serviceable player we have the potential to unearth game breaking players in Davis and McKernan, we cant have everyone in there at one time.

Where does all this leave Jimmy S?

You are gonna squeeze Tippett, Maric, Davis, Meckernan and Jimmy S into the one side?

From the comments of Craig I wouldn't be surprised to see Jimmy playing the Otten role next year, they loved his work in defense

As a key defender, not a running half back who doubles as a 3rd tall. Sellar will be seen as a back up to either Bock or Rutten. We might look at moving Bock to more of that Otten role with Sellar relieving him of his more defensive duties.

I think Birdman 24 is pretty correct, unless he holds his spot in the ruck, Sellar will struggle to hold a first 22 spot as a KPP at the moment. I think he'll be a handy backup over the next few years, especially with talls likely to be hard to find through the draft, but unless he shows some pretty remarkable improvement in his KPP play over the preseason, he won't be in the side as anything bar a ruckman.

As much as Trent's game against Collingwood was disappointing, we have to remember how much footy he has missed and the injuries that have taken their toll on his body this year. His ability to consistently get back onto the park despite this has been tremendous.

If he has a great pre-season, and I really hope he does, he should be able to gain back his former agility and work at ground-level. He still has his tricks, he just needs to regain them. An injury-free pre-season should do just that. He is still very valuable to our team.

As much as Trent's game against Collingwood was disappointing, we have to remember how much footy he has missed and the injuries that have taken their toll on his body this year. His ability to consistently get back onto the park despite this has been tremendous.

If he has a great pre-season, and I really hope he does, he should be able to gain back his former agility and work at ground-level. He still has his tricks, he just needs to regain them. An injury-free pre-season should do just that. He is still very valuable to our team.
+1:thumbsu:

Yeah you're on the mark there mate I reckon, Stevo to be the unlucky one. McKernan is rated MASSIVELY by the club as is Davis. I'm actually thinking that if Hentschel can't get himself back to what he was pre-injury he will slide back to defense to play a more creative Stevens role. This'll free up a forward spot for either Smacky or Davo - remember the club has said something along the lines of seeing Davis as a forward first, defender second so I don't know that we will simply throw him into the Otten role.

Still say 2009 will end up being Scott Stevens' last ever AFL finals series which would be tough on the bloke, and a tough end to what is a great story for aspiring AFL players. You would've thought he was gone a few years back but he turned it around and made a career for himself. A 6 goal final ffs, huge highlight for him despite the overall result. But it's professional football, it's a business and as such the club will make tough calls. The old replace a good player with a better one routine.

Very good news. I'm sure Trent can return with a fantastic season in 2010, possibly reaching the heights of '06, perhaps even higher.

So i'm satisfied with this result. :thumbsu:

I bumped into Trent earlier this evening at a restaurant in West Lakes. He was having a quiet dinner with his missus so I didn't want to annoy him but I ended up going up to him and congratulating him on getting back from his injury and that I want him to win us a flag next year. He seems like a really nice bloke.

He really has done well to get back from those injuries and play some good AFL footy again. Most of us thought he was gone but he proved us all wrong. Kudos to the selectors too for giving him a chance despite only having played about 3 SANFL games since knee surgery.

Trent to get new Deal