• Definitely not Janus

Votes: 14 37.8%
  • Definitely Janus

Votes: 23 62.2%

Most people agree with this in theory, the problem is the number of aged means people will have to contribute to their own costs more. This hits an immediate one of people aren't willing to give up the family home (and other assets) to support themselves. And if they are their kids / relatives kick up a shit about all 'their inheritance being wasted' on their parent(s) having a dignified final few years. With longer life spans this needs people to accept that more of what their parents built up over their lives are going to go to ensure they live a decent life at the end. Of course the government should ensure everyone has decent care, but this 'government do all, save my folks home for me!' attitude can't realistically co-exist with all having decent care.
I think people hitting retirement age have done more for their country through paying taxes, supporting businesses etc than a hundred Nobel laureates or the entire worlds bransons / musks / conglomerate CEO’s.

people who have worked their entire life for this country should be treated like near royalty (by the government) in my opinion.

I believe we are in a shit load of trouble when the current 35 and unders get to retirement age. Like end of days trouble.

the people retiring now had low wages, but they bought houses for a pittance and saw them go up in price tenfold.

there is a bunch of people 40+ who got in just before house prices went crazy. My dad is 60 and was mortgage free pretty early thanks to rising houses kinda paying each house off he bought. He started off buying a 30k house and traded up into near half a million. God knows what it will be worth by the time he’s ready to sell it.

so they have a created wealth from houses paying for their retirement that future generations are never going to have.

add to that growing aging population and I don’t see how things don’t hit crisis point.

Lol

my missus has been working from home for 2 months now. The majority of her workplace (Hundreds of staff) went out of the office and things went way better than expected. Their work basically requires no in office stuff it’s just the convenience of having them in the same building. Managers galore have been vocal about praising how well it’s worked and how happy everyone is with the balance. Lots of talk about how unnecessary it would be to go back and they won’t go back to 5 days a week in the office.

next minute

Scott Morrison says things can start returning to normal and the head honcho tells everyone they will be required to return to 5 days a week in office.

What brain dead ****ing morons. They’ve shown we can progress from an outdated useless construct of having masses of people travelling 2hrs of the day to spend 8+hrs in a cubicle but they insist on returning to it.

Lol

my missus has been working from home for 2 months now. The majority of her workplace (Hundreds of staff) went out of the office and things went way better than expected. Their work basically requires no in office stuff it’s just the convenience of having them in the same building. Managers galore have been vocal about praising how well it’s worked and how happy everyone is with the balance. Lots of talk about how unnecessary it would be to go back and they won’t go back to 5 days a week in the office.

next minute

Scott Morrison says things can start returning to normal and the head honcho tells everyone they will be required to return to 5 days a week in office.

What brain dead ******* morons. They’ve shown we can progress from an outdated useless construct of having masses of people travelling 2hrs of the day to spend 8+hrs in a cubicle but they insist on returning to it.
Same at my work.

We're almost entirely WFH, and continue to. There was never any directive to work from home, everyone just did it on their own volition and ICT facilitated it all with remote access and virtual machines. No worries at all and not much pressure to return.

Lol

next minute

What brain dead ******* morons. They’ve shown we can progress from an outdated useless construct of having masses of people travelling 2hrs of the day to spend 8+hrs in a cubicle but they insist on returning to it.
Neo liberalism is as much about control as anything else.

People need to get back out in the world. Doing everything from home including work only increases social isolation. I think this is a very dangerous path to go down.

Oh and Phil, get off the angry pills mate and also stop obsessing about what your Dad did in 1985.
What??
Hot desking with Karen is essential?
Well fcuk me!

I thought the point of capitalism was that it is eminently adaptable to the market forces and doesn’t require interference.

suddenly letting people work from home and create a local community is end times.

What??
Hot desking with Karen is essential?
Well fcuk me!

I thought the point of capitalism was that it is eminently adaptable to the market forces and doesn’t require interference.

suddenly letting people work from home and create a local community is end times.

lol, for oil and petrol companies sure.

People need to get back out in the world. Doing everything from home including work only increases social isolation. I think this is a very dangerous path to go down.

Oh and Phil, get off the angry pills mate and also stop obsessing about what your Dad did in 1985.

Yeah because I was advocating no one returns to work ever..

Anyone not wanting to engage in logical extremes to score points would understand that I was referring to more balanced work / work from home arrangements.

also calling someone who engages in topical discussions “angry” is such a shit bloke thing to do. It’s designed to be a put down and you know it.

when we are discussing complications with retirees, their treatment and funding future retirement bringing up that past generations like my Dad have been able to turn skyrocketing house prices into wealth creation to fund their retirements is entirely relevant.

if you want a place where we don’t discuss these things, or just pretend everything is great and always will be great I can point you towards some totalitarian regimes.

Companies that rely on people actually going to an office instead of working from home:

Power companies (electricity for office)
Landlords/banks (rent/mortgage for office)
Oil/petrol companies (transport to office)
Cafes (lunch/coffee at office)
Service companies (electricians/plumbers etc to fix things that are going wrong at office)
Local councils (council rates for office)
Infrastructure maintenance (road and rail use)
Telephone companies (communications for office)

That's just to name a few. Reduce the income of all those businesses by 50% and see how it affects the rest of the economy.

Not to mention that its far cheaper for a business to pay for one plan of unlimited internet data than have all their workers spread out.

You go back to work because that's how the issue with unemployment gets solved - through more demand (which has always been artificial - all the things that weren't deemed essential are literally the things we don't actually need to survive).

The only thing that this has proven is that some people can still work from home when they are sick with a cold or the flu, so there's no reason for you to go into an office and spread your germs everywhere.

Companies that rely on people actually going to an office instead of working from home:

Service companies (electricians/plumbers etc to fix things that are going wrong at office)

That's just to name a few. Reduce the income of all those businesses by 50% and see how it affects the rest of the economy.

Not to mention that its far cheaper for a business to pay for one plan of unlimited internet data than have all their workers spread out.

You go back to work because that's how the issue with unemployment gets solved - through more demand (which has always been artificial - all the things that weren't deemed essential are literally the things we don't actually need to survive).

The only thing that this has proven is that some people can still work from home when they are sick with a cold or the flu, so there's no reason for you to go into an office and spread your germs everywhere.

every negative you listed there is based on a full shutdown of going into work that no one has ever ever proposed though.

if you say, dropped in office hours for those in the kind of jobs it is possible for (which is only a fraction of the workforce) by a percentage ie 20%-40% which of those businesses you listed are crushed? Literally none. Inner city Cafes the worst hit and only because they’re such small margins (especially because rents are insanely high). And you could just see a rise in business of outer cafes that don’t pay as stupid rent prices anyway. And less money going to the few chain cafes and more to local businesses. So the one negative probably becomes a positive anyway.

You are talking as if other businesses wont rise to replace them, you know, how the system is supposed to work!

Power Companies - same wrok using less power is good for everyone, apart from shareholders. Prices will be manipulated.
Oil Companies - good, evil campaigners!
Cafes - how great will it be to have vibrant suburban cafes instead of soulless city ones.
Service companies - things go wrong at home as well.
Local councils - lol
Infrastructure maintenance -good, maybe the money can go into improvements instead.
Telephone companies - reeeeeaaaaching!

You've literally listed some the worst aspects of society and asked us to keep them instead of enjoying life more.

You are talking as if other businesses wont rise to replace them, you know, how the system is supposed to work!

Power Companies - same wrok using less power is good for everyone, apart from shareholders. Prices will be manipulated.
Cafes - how great will it be to have vibrant suburban cafes instead of soulless city ones.
Local councils - lol
Infrastructure maintenance -good, maybe the money can go into improvements instead.

You've literally listed some the worst aspects of society and asked us to keep them instead of enjoying life more.

I don’t know how some people working from home 1-2 days a week is going to destroy these industries but I can see Sting and Bono holding Telethons and singing We are the World to save Gina Rinehart and Andrew Forrest from starving.

Local councils - lol

You can be a strange cat sometimes Chwigi. So now your idea of proletariat nirvana is for everybody to sit couped up at home for 23 hours of the day and catch up with their local drones at their local shop for local people for their interpersonal relationships? Sounds completely shit.

i don't like the idea of turning heaps of things into work from home. separation of work from home is great, you get to physically leave it behind when you stop working. also not everyone has a big home with room for office space.

You can be a strange cat sometimes Chwigi. So now your idea of proletariat nirvana is for everybody to sit couped up at home for 23 hours of the day and catch up with their local drones at their local shop for local people for their interpersonal relationships? Sounds completely shit.

Who sits couped up at home?

Local companies, serving local people is a better form of capitalism than multi nationals who don't pay their way.

Sounds better than traipsing into town on shit public transport to sit behind a desk before traipsing home.

You live in a different world to me if you think people are all chatting and making friends on the train.

i don't like the idea of turning heaps of things into work from home. separation of work from home is great, you get to physically leave it behind when you stop working. also not everyone has a big home with room for office space.
Maybe because offices have taken the space....house prices increase the closer they are to the places of work. Only those in the higher positions can afford to ie near work, so those without the enhanced earnings spend more time travelling in and out or have to live somewhere smaller or shared.
Break that up and property prices drop as the benefits of being closer erode.

I think people hitting retirement age have done more for their country through paying taxes, supporting businesses etc than a hundred Nobel laureates or the entire worlds bransons / musks / conglomerate CEO’s.

people who have worked their entire life for this country should be treated like near royalty (by the government) in my opinion.

I ....

And those that haven't?

My brother and dad were both out of work for fifteen years. Are they a lesser people?

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

**** the oil companies.

If everyone is spending less money filling their Civic for the daily commute maybe that could put that money back to the classic Australian pastime of owning a V8 and driving it more than once blue moon.

Also, **** the landlord's out of principal, and consider ****ing local government too, so much bloat and entitlement in local councils.

Maybe the service companies too, most people I reckon with more free time could perform their own maintenance rather than pay a trade 80 an hour for something menial because they are time poor and finance poor from drains of modern life that sometimes we make choices that take less and cost less in the short term for convenience.

That's where more hotels fill the void with their half day room hire services for those who can't work from home.