Rumour Two current AFL stars have lost $1 million each on the punt

Who really cares? Because they're AFL players they can't lose or aren't allowed? People look at these guys like they're gods. They're human like everybody else, who have had the same thing happen to them and will continue to do so.

It's a social norm for this generation. The ease of access, the marketing, the footy/bloke culture; it all contributes to addiction. You can literally sit in your room and lose your whole paycheck; it wasn't possible 10+ years ago.

Having worked in the industry within the last 2 years and witnessing everything first hand I can confirm the greed and the way they go about it is unethical. The large amount of young adults that are addicted is very disturbing; some of the calls that you receive definitely change your perception on the morals and fairness of the industry.

The government NEED to introduce a national self-exclusion register, there are too many bookmakers out there that one can migrate to.

In terms of winners; there are already metropolitan gallops minimum bet laws which are a step in the right direction; dogs, trots & sports should be included to minimise the excessive power the bookmakers have (closing/limiting accounts).

a) No one can start with $100 and get into the thousands literally everyday; not saying he wasn't a winning punter but no one wins every single day like that and b) even if that were true they would have banned him within a week.
no you didnt
O K then. 'each day' must have been a stretch. Seemed like it though. He certainly made enough to live on. Also it could have been TAB

I don't care whether its true or made up but talking about any type of win after the event is lolworthy. If I'm with a mate at the TAB and he doesn't indicate he has had a bet or even give an opinion on the race and then after the event he starts gloating and shows the ticket as proof it is still lolworthy. Don't care whether its $10, $10K or $10mill its all still just as lolworthy.

Yeah look some of us are just less complicated. Not everyone you meet is a liar.
If me replying to someone else who thought that the bookies always win and explaining that plenty do manage to make some coin back is lolworthy to you then lol yourself silly.

Btw I stated 10k over a season (which is not that much), not 10k on one bet.

Who really cares? Because they're AFL players they can't lose or aren't allowed? People look at these guys like they're gods. They're human like everybody else, who have had the same thing happen to them and will continue to do so.

I care because the AFL are run by a bunch of virtue signalling hypocritical flogs who only care about money, and have zero ****ing feel for the game.

Can confirm this rumour is... AT LEAST 50% BULLSHIT :oops::eek::oops::eek::oops:

Beams was earning close to 1 million dollars a year at Brisbane, so there's no way he's only lost that much.

I know Beams owes at least one betting company tens of thousands of dollars and my understanding is he owes a similar figure to (many) other betting companies.

Can confirm however that Beams is 100% FLOG so my level of sympathy for him is precisely ZERO PERCENT

Good luck running from them Bandidos Dayne!

Of course, the irony is the posters criticising gambling, fail to realise they are gambling when they buy their tattslotto ticket.
That’s not irony. Few people would have a problem with gambling in and of itself, plenty have a problem with the way gambling companies prey on vulnerable gamblers. And rightly so.

I tried my hardest to like Nathan Brown, the blond tipped, vapid, moisturiser who ran out on the kennel.

But he sold his soul and his reputation to the betting companies, because the high salaries he was getting from the media weren't enough? Every time he is on screen he is giving a handy under the table to his betting agency. I don't know how his friend Bob Murphy can look him in the eye.

This really is a cultural issue and goes beyond the AFL. I'm the only one in my friendship circle who doesn't bet. I can honestly say I've never put a bet down on anything sports related. The only betting I've ever done is playing poker at the casino, and even then I can count how many times on one hand I've done that. Yet everyone else in my group constantly have there phones out and are looking at the next event, or are talking about some multi and how this one thing from one game cost them some large amount of $, making them feel as if they were just inches away from thousands of $s which sucks them in to try again next week.

Something about it is really sucking in young people. I've heard someone say "It makes watching the game more fun" more times than I can remember.

A good start would be the AFL (in fact all sports) cutting ties with the gambling companies, but we all know this is definitely not happening anytime soon.

It's a social norm for this generation. The ease of access, the marketing, the footy/bloke culture; it all contributes to addiction. You can literally sit in your room and lose your whole paycheck; it wasn't possible 10+ years ago.

Having worked in the industry within the last 2 years and witnessing everything first hand I can confirm the greed and the way they go about it is unethical. The large amount of young adults that are addicted is very disturbing; some of the calls that you receive definitely change your perception on the morals and fairness of the industry.

The government NEED to introduce a national self-exclusion register, there are too many bookmakers out there that one can migrate to.

In terms of winners; there are already metropolitan gallops minimum bet laws which are a step in the right direction; dogs, trots & sports should be included to minimise the excessive power the bookmakers have (closing/limiting accounts).

You can call into the pub on the way home from work and lose that same pay cheque just as easily. Trust me, I know first hand.

I tried my hardest to like Nathan Brown, the blond tipped, vapid, moisturiser who ran out on the kennel.

But he sold his soul and his reputation to the betting companies, because the high salaries he was getting from the media weren't enough? Every time he is on screen he is giving a handy under the table to his betting agency. I don't know how his friend Bob Murphy can look him in the eye.

Nathan Brown has always been about the dollars. Thats why he shifted clubs. I don't think he has changed at all from the player role to the media. Still a flog who will do anything for a buck. His reputation? i don't think he had one.

Can confirm this rumour is... AT LEAST 50% ******** :oops::eek::oops::eek::oops:

Beams was earning close to 1 million dollars a year at Brisbane, so there's no way he's only lost that much.

I know Beams owes at least one betting company tens of thousands of dollars and my understanding is he owes a similar figure to (many) other betting companies.

Can confirm however that Beams is 100% FLOG so my level of sympathy for him is precisely ZERO PERCENT

Good luck running from them Bandidos Dayne!

I can confirm that your confirmations mean nothing to me.

You would have to be one of the biggest dribblers on bigfooty.

It's a fantasy world to think that even if the AFL removed all ties with Gambling companies that anything would change. The Gambling companies will still have markets for footy. It would make not one ounce of difference except some of you might sleep easier.

of course it will make a massive difference.. how do you think we have reduced smoking to the levels it is now? Ban on advertising...

It won't make any difference. Gambling companies will still advertise except for during AFL games. Now I was talking about the AFL removing itself from association with Gambling, the government certainly will not do it.
And has smoking been reduced? They are saying the black market for selling smokes has tripled in the last 5 years. Been out lately? Plenty of people still smoke and its even more concerning just how many young women that smoke.

If bookies were forced to display a figure of your net position after betting with them (your account profit & loss basically) a lot of punters would notice their problem earlier & possibly seek counselling or set deposit limits on their own accounts. I track every bet I place in a spreadsheet so I know my exact position but 99.99% of punters wouldn't have a clue where they're at. If you ask anyone at the end of a day on the punt how they're going, how often do they say "yeah broke even"? It's rubbish. Plenty of people out there think that they're winning or that they haven't lost too much but they genuinely have no idea what they've bet across the years & what they've lost.
Excellent post, and this section in particular is good. Imagine if every time somebody logged into their account, it told them how much they were up/down for the day/week/year/lifetime of account.

It won't make any difference. Gambling companies will still advertise except for during AFL games. Now I was talking about the AFL removing itself from association with Gambling, the government certainly will not do it.
And has smoking been reduced? They are saying the black market for selling smokes has tripled in the last 5 years. Been out lately? Plenty of people still smoke and its even more concerning just how many young women that smoke.
Yes, smoking has been reduced. Substantially.

Rumour Two current AFL stars have lost $1 million each on the punt