Roast U-16 Blocked from Social Media

IN some cases, yes.

But in even more, it proves to be a life saver.

That's what the experts in adolescent mental health are saying.

The world experts on your world socialist website. Lol. I noticed you removed the link from your post. :tearsofjoy:

It was an irrelevant link that I had there by mistake. But yes, the article i gained this info from is on the wsws. However, the wsws quotes the youth mental health organisations themselves.

So once again, you are simply involved in idiotic attempts to discredit evidence based arguments that expose your arguments for the bs they are.

Read the article, if you dare:

Like the government, you've decided not to address the point I raised at all.

Social media is a lot of things. It can be toxic. It can be enlightening. It connects people with similar interests and issues and can make life less lonely. It can animate people to take action to change the world for the better and it gives them the tools to do it.
Agree totally.

Yeah nah, the legislation was released in the last ciupla weeks, the submission by the NGAs were made June-September.

Got any evidence they were ignored? Got a current statement? Cos what your quoting isn't quite current.

There's a bunch of tripe being posted by Musk and Rogan and and Zucc simps peddling their addictive garbage, dont be sucked in.

^I think that's where Antz is heading.
I definitely don't believe that social media should be banned for adults. Everyone has different experiences with it. Personally, I find that social media can sometimes be toxic. I've closed my Facebook and Twitter accounts because these platforms were negatively impacting my mental health. Now, I only engage with BF, a stock shares forum, and YouTube, though I occasionally need a break from these sites as well.

Many kids under 16 may not fully understand how social media affects their mental health or when they need to take a break, especially since it's available to them 24/7. Social media can be addictive, and the negativity and exposure that children encounter on these sites can lead to depression and, tragically, even suicidal thoughts. This is why I support the government's legislation on this issue.

Yeah nah, the legislation was released in the last ciupla weeks, the submission by the NGAs were made June-September.

Got any evidence they were ignored? Got a current statement? Cos what your quoting isn't quite current.

There's a bunch of tripe being posted by Musk and Rogan and and Zucc simps peddling their addictive garbage, dont be sucked in.
Yeah...the fact that the legislation went ahead without any response to the NGAs, who know far more about adolescent health than a crude a**hole like Albanese or any of his other sidekicks.

I was talking to my 8yo about this as hes pretty switched on for a little flog and he said it doesn't worry him because TikTok,Snapchat etc are all, and i quote, "a load of bullshit that doesn't interest him". Im not sure if im proud or pissed off that my 8yo is more mature than me
To generalise relating to gender. Boys game, girls do social media. Pretty similar risks regarding potential negative outcomes. One is just a threat to Rupert, the other isn't.

Poor form mate. Let's blame Rupert for everything. :rolleyes:

I'm not blaming him. I'm saying how influential Newscorp is.

Murdoch press has decided to go to town on social media and has been reporting as though we are in a social media based youth suicide epidemic. Meanwhile youth suicide has been on a downward trajectory the last few years and has dropped below the 2010 level - before the big 3 sites used by kids tiktok, Snapchat, Instagram existed.

And all of a sudden we have a rushed through ban on social media. Rupert flexed his muscle and shaped legislation to his will. I find it pretty hard to come to any other conclusion

I was talking to my 8yo about this as hes pretty switched on for a little flog and he said it doesn't worry him because TikTok,Snapchat etc are all, and i quote, "a load of bullshit that doesn't interest him". Im not sure if im proud or pissed off that my 8yo is more mature than me

Well in a way he is Correct because there is a Lot of Bullshit on it but also there some good stuff as well

He should be blamed for pretty much every catastrophe that is threatening this planet.

Not him alone of course. But he plays a leading role.

Murdoch is just p***ed because the social media news feeds are undermining his empire of disinformation, and...just as importantly, leeching off profits.

He should be blamed for pretty much every catastrophe that is threatening this planet.

Not him alone of course. But he plays a leading role.

Murdoch is just p***ed because the social media news feeds are undermining his empire of disinformation, and...just as importantly, leeching off profits.

Stick to your "World Socialist Websites", mate, where there is no misinformation. :rolleyes:

I'm not blaming him. I'm saying how influential Newscorp is.

Murdoch press has decided to go to town on social media and has been reporting as though we are in a social media based youth suicide epidemic. Meanwhile youth suicide has been on a downward trajectory the last few years and has dropped below the 2010 level - before the big 3 sites used by kids tiktok, Snapchat, Instagram existed.

And all of a sudden we have a rushed through ban on social media. Rupert flexed his muscle and shaped legislation to his will. I find it pretty hard to come to any other conclusion

Geesuz, now that's out there. You are just as paranoid as another particular poster on here.

The fact that you defend Murdoch speaks volumes about where you are at.
I'm not here to defend Murdoch. My focus is on the children who have tragically lost their lives because of the harmful effects of social media. Recognising the real issue at hand is crucial rather than turning it into a Murdoch/Political argument.

Geesuz, now that's out there. You are just as paranoid as another particular poster on here.
What? About 6 months ago, Newscorp announced a campaign to have social media banned for under 16s and started running carefully selected front page stories on youth suicide. And here we are.

Are you saying, there are no positives, and there are no net positives for social media platforms for under 16s.... it is a yes or no answer.

This issue cannot be reduced to a simple yes or no. The drawbacks significantly overshadow any potential benefits. The reality of children taking their own lives is far too serious to ignore.

Of course, goes without saying re child suicide. I did say net benefit.child suicide is not a new thing, do you think banning social media will achieve a net benifit.... i dont

Yes, I do, and that's where we disagree.

Roast U-16 Blocked from Social Media