Umpiring

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 52 49.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 16.2%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 36 34.3%

Football media personalities are both employees and part of the product itself.

Toe the line and one is promoted endlessly.

True courage in footy is more than going back with the flight of the ball. It is also speaking the truth when it needs to be spoken.

That the premier pair are an alcho and a fanboy says a lot, as does the promotion of 'football from all angles'.

The only angle available is straight from AFL House. There are contracts for broadcasters, contracts for employees and a very big termination contract taken out on speaking openly.

This is what one gets from the corporatisation of sport.

im not one for conspiracy theories about the AFL specifically having it out for us

i do find it funny that collingwood got the rough end of the pineapple once vs adelaide a few weeks ago and the entire football media was up in arms and the afl even came out and appologised for getting some decisions wrong.

could you imagine if collingwood played a game and at 3 quarter time the free kick count was 3 to 16?

Football media personalities are both employees and part of the product itself.

Toe the line and one is promoted endlessly.

True courage in footy is more than going back with the flight of the ball. It is also speaking the truth when it needs to be spoken.

That the premier pair are an alcho and a fanboy says a lot, as does the promotion of 'football from all angles'.

The only angle available is straight from AFL House. There are contracts for broadcasters, contracts for employees and a very big termination contract taken out on speaking openly.

This is what one gets from the corporatisation of sport.
Well yes and no...
Corporatisation has arguably helped transform the VFL into the AFL...a powerhouse of Australian Sport!
Every Business/Corporation aspires to growth...and being the biggest means more turnover and more profit$...
And the biggest profit$ are generated by creating a Monopoly...or Duopoly...Cartel or like the big Banks...too BIG to effing fail!
The AFL is a Business...a very BIG Business and a ripper Business at that, cos it's not answerable at all to any shareholders...
While it's creating so called jobs and growth...the powers that be/hanger on's are going to be very happy with that scenario continuing...
When accountability/transparency within such Corporations/Management is undermined...then their is issues with corporatisation...
The AFL HQ has grown so big and insular and corporate minded that it seems to treat the game and participating AFL Clubs as a resource to make money out of...a Golden Goose laying heaps of Golden Eggs for AFL HQ to collect and do with what it wants...rather than being seen as custodians of the game, grassroots and nurturing its growth and development.
Oh sure we have AFLWL and Indigenous Round and Anzac round and retro rounds...and other made up marketing rounds...it's all razzle dazzle, smoke and mirrors...all a distraction to help ignore the constant issues of Bias...
We are currently seeing the worst of Corporatisation within the AFL HQ...instead of accountability we have moronic loud mouthed sycophants instead...

There was an incident in the last quarter I think where a Tigers player decided not to attempt to tackle in defensive 50 when the Aints cheat picked the ball up, kept his head down and made a bee-line straight to him? Our bloke had to get out of the way bull fighting style.
If they want to protect the head they may have to start giving frees away when a player tries to get a head high by causing the contact himself, they changed the sliding tackle from when the player sliding in would likely get a free to how it is now.

Saints would have had 20 FAs on the weekend if that was the case. Proper cheats and 100% this would be something they would be training for behind closed doors.

This was the free and 50 against Bolton which resulted in a goal to the saints, come RFC stop being gutless and calling the cheats out

View attachment 1717560

When is razor on with Wankley next?
Would love him to justify that….

Plus - we hear so much about “it’s the way they play” when discussions about our free kick numbers are brought up, not in relation to free kicks we give away as we can play quite scrappy footy, I get that, but would love to have an umpires opinion on why we generally receive significantly less frees.

Find it hard to believe we play in some unique way from the other 17 clubs that over an extended period of years, our opposition just does not infringe on us as much.

Just an explanation- that’s all I want.

Well yes and no...
Corporatisation has arguably helped transform the VFL into the AFL...a powerhouse of Australian Sport!
Every Business/Corporation aspires to growth...and being the biggest means more turnover and more profit$...
And the biggest profit$ are generated by creating a Monopoly...or Duopoly...Cartel or like the big Banks...too BIG to effing fail!
The AFL is a Business...a very BIG Business and a ripper Business at that, cos it's not answerable at all to any shareholders...
While it's creating so called jobs and growth...the powers that be/hanger on's are going to be very happy with that scenario continuing...
When accountability/transparency within such Corporations/Management is undermined...then their is issues with corporatisation...
The AFL HQ has grown so big and insular and corporate minded that it seems to treat the game and participating AFL Clubs as a resource to make money out of...a Golden Goose laying heaps of Golden Eggs for AFL HQ to collect and do with what it wants...rather than being seen as custodians of the game, grassroots and nurturing its growth and development.
Oh sure we have AFLWL and Indigenous Round and Anzac round and retro rounds...and other made up marketing rounds...it's all razzle dazzle, smoke and mirrors...all a distraction to help ignore the constant issues of Bias...
We are currently seeing the worst of Corporatisation within the AFL HQ...instead of accountability we have moronic loud mouthed sycophants instead...
I agree on the distraction angle, but would suggest it is more than mere bias being distracted from.

Corporatisation can become cronyism in a very smooth transition. Downhill.

Gillon and Hamish are just one part of it.

The big end of town is actually rather small.

And very cosy, indeed, with lots of relationships unseen by average punters, many of which seem counter-intuitive at first glance.

That cosiness certainly worked well for the Baggers when they got caught out handing out their paper bags...

They took a punt on not getting caught and then another on not copping too much of a penalty if they did.

You see, the old adage 'where there's a will there's a way' is actually back to front. If there's a way, a will is usually around somewhere ready to take advantage and corporatisation was an opportunity too good to miss. I can't think the clubs would have been so lenient.

So, yes, corporatisation grew the game. But it grew away from the public and club members. It was always going to be thus, because the way was there, wide open all along.

Interesting article in SEN this arvo, 2023 Goals from Free Kicks ladder

No surprise to see the Dogs at the top!!

Most/least goals from free kicks

The club with the most goals from free kicks is the Western Bulldogs (33), ahead of Port Adelaide and North Melbourne (both 27).

Carlton (26) are next, in front of Adelaide (24), with Essendon, Brisbane and West Coast all tied on 21.

Hawthorn sit at the foot with just 11 goals from frees with Richmond on 12 and Gold Coast on 15.

The club with the most goals from free kicks is the Western Bulldogs (33), ahead of Port Adelaide and North Melbourne (both 27).

Carlton (26) are next, in front of Adelaide (24), with Essendon, Brisbane and West Coast all tied on 21.

Hawthorn sit at the foot with just 11 goals from frees with Richmond on 12 and Gold Coast on 15.
AFL equalization at work...
As well as appeasing both the TV and Betting corporates...
Need to justify the big AFL pay out...

I assume that’s free kicks to someone having a shot.
I’d be interested in goals from free kicks as the chain starter. Like scores from turnover eg. Butler kicks the goal but it started from a free kick on the wing from a Grimes hold.

What you need is someone who’s really tech savvy who can build a website and call it corruptafl.com , someone needs to go through every games we play including past games and take edits of frees against us and frees we don’t get , it would sooner or later start getting massive media attention if it were to go viral
great idea. unfortunately I have 3 kids, a missus and a mortgage so f all time to do it but it is a great idea!

Simple explanation. We play unattractive scrappy style. Teams at top of table play a very kind, beautiful style of football.

I made the mistake of listening to that 5:30pm sports show on SEN yesterday, hosted by Healy and Cornes.

After all of the rubbish served up by the umps against Richmond on Saturday night, Healy's one single takeaway (which he needed to go to twice in the hour I was listening) was that Liam Baker took a step to his right when he smothered Wilkie's kick.

Didn't mention the numerous steps the St Kilda defenders took trying to smother Cotchin's snap around the corner after a mark, perhaps because Cotchin was stupid enough to allow a smother to happen.

It is clearly killing those two footy shock jocks that Richmond are not the basket case they hoped we'd be. To the point that they did not refer at any stage in the time I listened to our brilliant win, and quite outstanding recovery to our season. Apparently GWS were the great story of the weekend :D

PS. Tonight Healy was declaring GWS as the 3rd-best backline in the league (I was in someone else's car, not listening by choice this time), after Melbourne and Collingwood :D:D Giants must be his new Dockers.

Watched the Bears V Aints game last night...all I can say is the maggotts made the Aints agin us...a good looking Premiership side that Rossy would be proud of! Then last night without the maggottery assistance the Aints looked so ordinary, that Rossy would be embarrassed coaching them!
The RFC are every other AFL side's Grand Final...

Turned on the game last night, saw a Saints player grab and sling the Lions player who didn't have the ball. All good from the umpires, then the ball is kicked into the Saints forward line and a Lions player grabs the Saints player without the ball, ump couldn't blow his whistle fast enough. It's this constant bias and inconsistency that is ruining our game, what's the point of having more umpires when it just lets them keep doing the same old things more often?

Regarding Razor and Shai Bolton dissent, Razor thinks "I am god, you never question god, I never make mistakes!"

This was the free and 50 against Bolton which resulted in a goal to the saints, come RFC stop being gutless and calling the cheats out

View attachment 1717560

People won't like what I'm about to say, but Razor made the correct decision here to pay the free kick against Bolton BASED ON THE CURRENT AFL RULES.

Razor has a clear view of Bolton grabbing Webster's jumper, and like Ray says in the video, he can only pay what he sees. Clearly, the grabbing of Bolton's jumper isn't visible to Ray from the position he is in, and you can't expect Ray to have a vew of this side of the contest. The 50 is self explanatory, and you can only blame Bolton for not knowing the rules in this area.

There is no easy fix for this kind of situation where an umpire can't see what is happening on the other side of the contest, and you can't expect umpires to be guessing that the opposition is also doing something that warrants a free kick. Otherwise, you have genuine cases of umpire's guessing.

The only solution that I can think of is to have boundary umpires being able to communicate with the on-field umpires if the on-field umpire is blind-sided, but the boundary umpire has a clear view of what is happening.

People won't like what I'm about to say, but Razor made the correct decision here to pay the free kick against Bolton BASED ON THE CURRENT AFL RULES.

Razor has a clear view of Bolton grabbing Webster's jumper, and like Ray says in the video, he can only pay what he sees. Clearly, the grabbing of Bolton's jumper isn't visible to Ray from the position he is in, and you can't expect Ray to have a vew of this side of the contest. The 50 is self explanatory, and you can only blame Bolton for not knowing the rules in this area.

There is no easy fix for this kind of situation where an umpire can't see what is happening on the other side of the contest, and you can't expect umpires to be guessing that the opposition is also doing something that warrants a free kick. Otherwise, you have genuine cases of umpire's guessing.

The only solution that I can think of is to have boundary umpires being able to communicate with the on-field umpires if the on-field umpire is blind-sided, but the boundary umpire has a clear view of what is happening.

Or maybe remove the holding free altogether as it's a rule that appears to be more and more perception based. If the holding rule was removed when both players have their arms around each other it would simply become a matter of strength and body positioning rather than umpire guesswork or subjective perceptions. Not saying it would be an ideal scenario but perhaps it would safe a few frees against us every week.

Umpiring