Under 18s Championships

PremierPie13

Mar 20, 2011
Victoria Park
Just enquiring if anyone knows where to find full match replays of the South Australia games so I can have a look at some of the new recruits in action at their level? I managed to find the match vs Vic Country and it was quite a good, skill intensive viewing but want to see the rest to have a better sample size of what to expect from our players.
From what I've heard that was one of Grundy's average games but to me he still dominated, with 3 goals and a greater impact in the middle than whoever the second ruck was. He's got some serious athleticism with a solid build and some mongrel, as well as some basketball skills like a steal intercept through traffic in the 3rd quarter.
Broomhead impressed me. Though he had limited disposals (I think 10-12) his speed coupled with a great kick will make him very damaging. He has the ability to deliver balls low and flat to hit up targets in the same vein Hawthorn do.
Kennedy while getting amazing stats (26 disposals and 2 goals) wasn't as effective as I'd hoped with the ball in hand. He had about 6 clangers and a lot of his uses didn't put it to advantage, but I reckon this could be just one of those games. The reason I say this is his DE% for other under 18's games was much higher. Big positives for this guy however is that he finds the ball, goes in hard and extracts inside, doubles as a good outside player and kicks goals.

So essentially I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction for some of these match replays and I'm sure others on the board will enjoy seeing them too. This material seems like a good discussion point for analysing their strengths and weaknesses as players.

would love to see all the championship games. youd think with foxtell playing the AFL season on a seemingly endless loop, theyd promote the younger blokes with replays

I think they missed a good opportunity to replay the games on the day before draft night.

I'm also pretty keen to the matches again. They had them on the AFL website in years gone past.

maybe ask Tradedraft, i think he uses a website to download footy vision etc. Havent seen him on lately is on holiday?
Twisties shortage in Frankston, has located to a Twistie rich area but alas, no internet.

He should've stocked up an ample supply soon & be back on board for the PSD.:p

Any other sources you can think of, Knightmare?

I have some contacts who have at times sent footage/full games in the past but typically other than AFL.com typically full games are rarely publically available.

Just went through my favourites have and found another link and this has full games, SA v Metro and SA v NT.

PM me if interested.

Ok after having a good look at this... A few observations, Broomhead looks like a gun! Sure hands, good speed and has a bit of size as well.. Can only think what he would be like in 2 full seasons...

Secondly, where did Nathan Wright go? Was the most impressive of the qtr... Good speed and evasive looked very good.

Kennedy as a small forward will be a pest to oppositions team... Grundy needs a year in the system but has talent....

Glad we didn't take Membrey now... Yeah kicked goals but the sort of player that needs things to go his way... Can't really explain it but pretty confident wont be that much..

One last thing and I've said it many times... I still don't know why Whitfield went number one??? Don't see anything in him at all.

Secondly, where did Nathan Wright go? Was the most impressive of the qtr... Good speed and evasive looked very good.

One last thing and I've said it many times... I still don't know why Whitfield went number one??? Don't see anything in him at all.

Wright is a ripper and he was one I was recommending pre draft as a consideration. Went to St Kilda with their first selection.

Whitfield for much of the champs was wrongly utilised up forward. He's better through the midfield with his endurance and footskills a highlight. I tend to agree that he wasn't necessarily that clear cut no.1 best in this draft and I think that top end is all pretty close with Daniher, O'Meara, Macrae, Wines, Crouch, Viney, Toumpas and others all pretty even.

Thanks, Hagla.

Even if that wasn't Grundy's best game, he still makes me bloody excited - especially his second goal where he breaks through the pack, picks up the ball and swings around on his right to score. Kennedy and Broomy also look great. I can't wait to see all three in the NAB cup!

I also wonder if there is any footage of Grundy's (SANFL reserves?) game where he had something ridiculous like 33 disposals, 49 hitouts and 5 goals. Would love to watch that.

Stolen from here
http://www.footytragic.com/blog/2012-post-season/kristians-2012-phantom-draft/
PICK 12 – GWS: BRODIE GRUNDY

Height: 202cm, Weight: 100kg, DOB: 15/4/1994

Recruited from: Sturt

Again, he was another player that made the All Australian side as a 17 year old last season in the National Champs where he went up against Billy Longer. He averaged 10 disposals and 24 hitouts from his 5 games.

This is a breakdown of his Champs this season;

Game 1: 9 kicks, 11 handballs, 20 disposals, 4 marks, 26 hitouts, 3 goals.

Game 2: 9 kicks, 8 handballs, 17 disposals, 4 marks (3 contested), 36 hitouts.

Game 3: 11 kicks, 2 handballs, 13 diposals, 14 hitouts, 4 clearances, 3 goals.

Game 4: 8 kicks, 5 handballs, 13 disposals, 5 marks, 25 hitouts.

Game 5: 9 kicks, 3 handballs, 12 disposals, 7 marks, 20 hitouts, 3 goals.

Grundy also played a lot in the SANFL.

He played 8 seniors games, averaging 2.8 kicks, 3.6 handballs, 6.4 disposals, 1.4 marks, 1.6 tackles, 1.1 clearances, and 12.9 hit outs.

He also played 5 reserves games, averaging 6.6 kicks, 2.8 handballs, 9.4 disposals, 2 marks, 1.2 tackles, 2.2 clearances, 25 hit outs and kicked 1 goal and 2 behinds.

In his two U/18 games he produced one of the best games you’ll ever see with 33 disposals, 10 marks, 49 hit outs, and 5 goals and 2 behinds. The other one was the Grand Final where he got it 18 times, with 6 marks, 38 hit outs and kicked 2 goals and 1 behind.

He is by so far the best ruckman in this draft that it isn’t funny.

Wright is a ripper and he was one I was recommending pre draft as a consideration. Went to St Kilda with their first selection.

Whitfield for much of the champs was wrongly utilised up forward. He's better through the midfield with his endurance and footskills a highlight. I tend to agree that he wasn't necessarily that clear cut no.1 best in this draft and I think that top end is all pretty close with Daniher, O'Meara, Macrae, Wines, Crouch, Viney, Toumpas and others all pretty even.
I'm curious why Grundy has dropped so far down the pecking order amongst you draft watchers. Earlier in the year it seems like you all had him top 3 or at least top 5, and all of a sudden he's dropped down. I'm curious whether it's because you heard clubs weren't interested in taking ruckmen earlier or whether it was also a talent thing that you've got all those players mentioned as the best of the draft and no longer include Grundy in that group.

Under 18s Championships