snifferdog
The 2012 draw is finally outnot long now
Corryong really struggling for numbers at training, might be a longer year than they thought if they cant turn things around, only about 8 weeks left before you start boys
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
The 2012 draw is finally outnot long now
Corryong really struggling for numbers at training, might be a longer year than they thought if they cant turn things around, only about 8 weeks left before you start boys
Things have gone decidely sour at the Demon's for the last 12 months. Players and coaches walking out, players fighting amongst themselves and going winless last year the once mighty Dees look in serious trouble. Can't help but agree on the coaching situation up there Blues but how do you sack the clubs favorite son? It will be a tough call for a committee to sack a local as coach but desperate times require desperate measures. With no new recruits and no changes in coaching staff and once perenial battlers Tumba, Cudgy and Walwa going from strength to strength it could be another long year for Corryong.if they had the right coach a few key recruits and the rest of the group got off their ass and worked hard we would all be surprised about Corryong,,
Things have gone decidely sour at the Demon's for the last 12 months. Players and coaches walking out, players fighting amongst themselves and going winless last year the once mighty Dees look in serious trouble. Can't help but agree on the coaching situation up there Blues but how do you sack the clubs favorite son? It will be a tough call for a committee to sack a local as coach but desperate times require desperate measures. With no new recruits and no changes in coaching staff and once perenial battlers Tumba, Cudgy and Walwa going from strength to strength it could be another long year for Corryong.
So just to get this right, there is still over ten weeks until the season starts, pre season has just started, and the clearances literally just opening up 2 days ago, and you guys are already into Corryong and one of the coaches, how about you take your prejudices against Evan and the club and save them for after round 1.
Someone only last week named Daniel McInnes and Ben Parker as recruits, the last three posts bag us out about having no recruits and no hope, an oxymoron if i ever heard one. If you keyboard warriors actually turned up to training session in either Albury or Corryong you will also notice other recruits running around, just because we dont love to talk ourselves up in the papers and other media doesnt mean we arent working hard.
Judge us on our 2012 on field results and dont speculate on how we are so far out from the season.
HomeBake dont take what i have written the wrong way buddy, I think Corryong with the right coach a few recruits and everyone work harder things will Turn around,, i will leave the bagging out until round 1..!!!
I do believe from what i have seen over the years is a club down and out should recruit a coach from out of the club as it brings players and fresh ideas and atmosphere to the club.
If Evan is the fav son he should understand what's best for the club too.
Blue2012 back on page 10 you have credited chopper69 as posting something about T.Hickey rooting someone .Show me in any of my posts where i have said that.Iknow when i was coaching some of my mates did use chopper69 but they have been told not to anymore .Iwill put my name to every-thing i post and ease up on Corryong every club goes through periods like that just look at the time i spent at Tumba an now look at them .Will be a top 3 side this season max
I'm sure any club in the district would happily welcome a player of Tom Hickey's ability if he turned up on their door step and whatever he does off the ground is between him and his club. Well done to Maxy for defending the bloke as he turned him down to play for Bullioh instead so if anyone should be bagging him it out would be Max. As for Corryong, their old assistant left only after getting them their current co-coach to replace him and not leaving them in the lurch, the players that left did so of their own accord and they went their seperate ways, simple as that.Blue2012 back on page 10 you have credited chopper69 as posting something about T.Hickey rooting someone .Show me in any of my posts where i have said that.Iknow when i was coaching some of my mates did use chopper69 but they have been told not to anymore .Iwill put my name to every-thing i post and ease up on Corryong every club goes through periods like that just look at the time i spent at Tumba an now look at them .Will be a top 3 side this season max
I'm sure any club in the district would happily welcome a player of Tom Hickey's ability if he turned up on their door step and whatever he does off the ground is between him and his club. Well done to Maxy for defending the bloke as he turned him down to play for Bullioh instead so if anyone should be bagging him it out would be Max. As for Corryong, their old assistant left only after getting them their current co-coach to replace him and not leaving them in the lurch, the players that left did so of their own accord and they went their seperate ways, simple as that.
Whats Hickey done? Must be pretty bad not to be welcome back????
Root the Presidents wife or something??
Normally theft or playing around with someone's wife/daughter or girlfriend is why people are not allowed back at clubs that's all I was asking what has he done wrong out Holbrook?
As for picking on Corryong I stated what I think needs to be done and said that that they will surprise alot of us this year, I don't even know Evan and was not having a crack at anyone, but i did say i reckon they stack their 2s a little the other week? Gee wizz anyone want to have a sook all take things the wrong way than thats their bloody problem dont get on here?
I caught up with a mate on the weekend who is heavily involved in Holbrook FC, mostly recruiting and so on and has been for a long time. So I asked him about this Hickey RUBBISH. He said absolutely incorrect. They have even been in contact over the last 2 months to try and get him back to Holbrook for this year, but he told them if he plays it will be at Bullioh. The only issue may have been from last year when he trained with Holbrook late in pre-season but decided to stay at Bullioh and their coach was disappointed as he felt he would have helped them to win a a flag as they had a young forward line. That same coach has also rang to get him over the line this year. So that to me would mean it is RUBBISH to me.
Whats Hickey done? Must be pretty bad not to be welcome back????
Root the Presidents wife or something??
Normally theft or playing around with someone's wife/daughter or girlfriend is why people are not allowed back at clubs that's all I was asking what has he done wrong out Holbrook?
As for picking on Corryong I stated what I think needs to be done and said that that they will surprise alot of us this year, I don't even know Evan and was not having a crack at anyone, but i did say i reckon they stack their 2s a little the other week? Gee wizz anyone want to have a sook all take things the wrong way than thats their bloody problem dont get on here?
I caught up with a mate on the weekend who is heavily involved in Holbrook FC, mostly recruiting and so on and has been for a long time. So I asked him about this Hickey RUBBISH. He said absolutely incorrect. They have even been in contact over the last 2 months to try and get him back to Holbrook for this year, but he told them if he plays it will be at Bullioh. The only issue may have been from last year when he trained with Holbrook late in pre-season but decided to stay at Bullioh and their coach was disappointed as he felt he would have helped them to win a a flag as they had a young forward line. That same coach has also rang to get him over the line this year. So that to me would mean it is RUBBISH to me.
Forward Pocket, good work mate I've seen alot of RUBBISH thrown around on here and generally that's all it is..I just found myself in the middle of this one..Have played on Hickey before and Yep he is good, I guess there is not much else to talk about at this time of the year..
Blues2012
My second tip, Bullioh will still have the shittiest amenities in the league and they will increase the amount of pies they eat after training!
I saw in todays paper that bullioh are getting an under 16 side together, to me this will only make them stronger and give the rest of us nothing to bag them for.
I know tallangatta are looking like not having a 2's side and are struggling to fill there juniors maybe they should trade leagues
Sorry to rain on your parade Blueboy but the chances of Tallangatta changing leagues is almost non existent and they only won a flag in the TDFL 3 years ago. Sadly for them the town now supports 2 sides (them and Bullioh) so it's always gunna be a struggle in the years they don't have any $$$ to spend.
S Dog how good would the UMFL be if Tallangatta and Bethanga Saints joined in this league to make it a 8 team comp, Every club needs junior football.
Sorry to rain on your parade Blueboy but the chances of Tallangatta changing leagues is almost non existent and they only won a flag in the TDFL 3 years ago. Sadly for them the town now supports 2 sides (them and Bullioh) so it's always gunna be a struggle in the years they don't have any $$$ to spend.
In the Saints case sadly I can't this happening either. Since they moved into town they seem to have forgotten their roots, they've only played 1 game out at Bethanga since relocating and most Bethanga people have left the club. The Wodonga Saints are hell bent on either making it a success in the Tallangatta league or folding. If the Upper Murray league had been in the shape it is today back 15 years ago I'm sure Bethanga would've given it strong consideration but it was only a 5 team competition with no 2's or a netball comp for that matter. So far the locals out Bethanga way have no interest in reforming their club so it looks like a 6 team comp for the long term.
Bullioh advertises every year for an Under 16 side but I don't they've ever got a side on the park, hopefully this season it becomes the case. As sad as it sounds credit is largely due to Bullioh coming into the comp that has resulted in the league surviving for the last decade because no one wants to run around in a mediocre 5 team comp with either 15 or 40 year old's making up the numbers.
Johny G, Thanks for the history lesson mate, and its good to hear that the UMFL has gone ahead in recent times and hopefully will continue too in more years to come.
8 team comp would be fantastic and both these clubs could do quite well in UMFL as to the likes of Beechworth, Chiltern and Rutherglen did when they rolled over to the TDFL from O&K.
BLUES2012
If UMFL was to become an 8 team comp, I would expect that the teams wouldnt come from Wodonga way, especially Tallangatta. Wodonga Saints are also too stubborn to move and as menioned earlier will either fold or succeed in the TDFL. Ok onto a couple of rumours I have heard around the traps, Bullioh have been into a couple of Cudgy senior players trying to poach them, I dont know who but if anyone else does, tell them dont go, stay at cudgy where the beer is cold, the showers are hot and theres still meat pies before the game. I can also confirm those Saints boys wont be going to Walwa without a fight, and anyone know whats happening with so many recruits to Tumba and everywhere else getting denied? Also big one up to Cudgy for keeping another Jindera premiership player quiet until the clearances, should be another great addition, expecting more seconds and seniors I hope? Anyone got praccy matches lined up yet?
Blue boy just wondering has cudgies gun recruit Voight resigned with the club or is he heading back to Beechworth?[will be a big loss if he does].
Not many clearances been lodged from bullioh only one at the moment.They are still the team to beat.max