US Holiday

Sorry if this has been discussed earlier but has anyone booked an apartment through Airbnb in NYC ?

Have been to NY a few times and always stayed with family or in hotels , but this time would like to experience living in a neighbourhood .

Apparently the laws have changed in NY regarding sub letting of apartments . Will this impact on the renting of short term (1 - 2 weeks) .

Thanks

If you ask locals, there are very few vacation rentals in NYC, aside from hotels.

Originally, the rule change seemed to be that you couldn't sublease an apartment from the original leasee. Now according to them you can't sublease an apartment from almost anybody. I would have thought a genuine owner could sublease their apartment but it seems they might have to own the whole building as subletting to tourists affects the other residents and as such has to be approved.

Some of these sites like airbnb and newyorkstay get decent reviews from mainstream media so it is hard to know what is true or what isn't. No doubt there is some truth to what the locals are saying, but some of them just seem to want people not to come. You may find a neighbour complaining and you being out of the street if the law finds out.

Maybe they are just trying to protect the city tax on hotel stays?

Edit: This explains it better.
http://www.frommers.com/articles/6912.html

More to stop building owners from turning buildings into hotels without having to adhere to the same legal standards. Unfortunately your casual single apartment owner/leasee gets caught up in it too.

Rent for more than 30 days seems to be the way to go. Not sure if that entails having to pay some sort of security deposit and a formal short term lease however.

Going there from Australia, we suffer the worst possible jetlag, flying westwards to the UK is not that bad, I actually got out and wandered all around London on a fine late autumn day over there on the first day I was there

HOWEVER: when you go to the states, nobody really knows what day of the week it is when we get there initially (ie landing in Los Angeles) it is a VERY long way away

Not sure what jetlag medication we can use to resolve this?!?!? They do sell the stuff at airports, but just absolutely no escape from getting it

Going there from Australia, we suffer the worst possible jetlag, flying westwards to the UK is not that bad, I actually got out and wandered all around London on a fine late autumn day over there on the first day I was there

HOWEVER: when you go to the states, nobody really knows what day of the week it is when we get there initially (ie landing in Los Angeles) it is a VERY long way away

Not sure what jetlag medication we can use to resolve this?!?!? They do sell the stuff at airports, but just absolutely no escape from getting it

I gone to the US a few times now and never had jet lag.

Never needed or even heard of any medications? (i think it's called melatonin) Take your word on it but.

All I've ever done was adjust my sleeping patterns to meet the time zone your going into. so set your watch to the time zone as soon as you get on the plain and as soon as it reaches a reasonable time (say 11:00pm in the new time zone) for you to go to sleep, go to sleep. If you can, stay awake the night before and then sleep on the plan with some sleeping tables (ambein) or Diazepam and you will avoid any jet lag with plenty of Vitamin D or being outdoors.

And then apply the normal sleeping patterns for that time zone. Don't sleep during the day or it will take you longer to adjust.

There are also some smaller companies that offer mini bus tours across the USA in mainly cabins or camping. I did one with Trek America from NY-LA via the southern USA and had an excellent time, saw heaps of beautiful natural sights and made a heap of good friends on a small bus. There were a few night of partying in Vegas, Austin, New Orleans too. We also stayed at a ranch, in a hogan in Monument Valley (see pic below) and an old 'French appartment' in New Orleans.

It's a good alternative to either renting a car or buying one and trying to find people that want to do roughly the same trip as you if budget is a major constraint. Those that may be a little nervous about driving may also wish to consider it.

1.1258140627.indian-hogan.jpg

Greyhound busses it is often joked are a one way ticket home for released prisoners and Amtrak stations may be a fair way from the centre of town in many cases.

Each experience though has it's own pros and cons for you to consider.

Never needed or even heard of any medications? (i think it's called melatonin) Take your word on it but.

All I've ever done was adjust my sleeping patterns to meet the time zone your going into. so set your watch to the time zone as soon as you get on the plain and as soon as it reaches a reasonable time (say 11:00pm in the new time zone) for you to go to sleep, go to sleep. If you can, stay awake the night before and then sleep on the plan with some sleeping tables (ambein) or Diazepam and you will avoid any jet lag with plenty of Vitamin D or being outdoors.

And then apply the normal sleeping patterns for that time zone. Don't sleep during the day or it will take you longer to adjust.

Most Aussies that go there have Jetlag!

It was the second day I was there at Malibu/ Zuma beach, I decided to have a "nap" in the middle of the day, and I dozed off into a deep sleep

I can tell the difference between a Nap and Deep Sleep, I felt bothered/ interrupted when I decided to wake up from my "nap"

I had no jet lag when I went to the US. Did not sleep the night before due to excitement. Barely slept on the plane. Still arrived, went down and spent to the late hours in Hollywood and was up first thing next morning for a private tour.

Coming back home though, I had a delayed reaction and felt totally wrecked for about 4 days, starting the day after we got back.

There are also some smaller companies that offer mini bus tours across the USA in mainly cabins or camping. I did one with Trek America from NY-LA via the southern USA and had an excellent time, saw heaps of beautiful natural sights and made a heap of good friends on a small bus. There were a few night of partying in Vegas, Austin, New Orleans too. We also stayed at a ranch, in a hogan in Monument Valley (see pic below) and an old 'French appartment' in New Orleans.

It's a good alternative to either renting a car or buying one and trying to find people that want to do roughly the same trip as you if budget is a major constraint. Those that may be a little nervous about driving may also wish to consider it.

1.1258140627.indian-hogan.jpg

Greyhound busses it is often joked are a one way ticket home for released prisoners and Amtrak stations may be a fair way from the centre of town in many cases.

Each experience though has it's own pros and cons for you to consider.

Sounds like a good idea tbh. I was thinking of driving across, but this sort of thing would be a bit easier and cost effective. What was the group that you had like? Professionalism, age groups, activities etc.?

Yeah I do that too, is a great idea- cept I change it on the plane. :p

And i dont get jet lag flying to the US- always hits me like a tonne of bricks when I get home, like for a week.

Sounds like a good idea tbh. I was thinking of driving across, but this sort of thing would be a bit easier and cost effective. What was the group that you had like? Professionalism, age groups, activities etc.?

Trek America I did the Southern Sun tour, it's aimed mainly at 18-35's so if you are in that age group I'm sure you will love it. Leader was very professional but fun. As you stay at campgrounds a fair bit you get to meet some holidaying Americans, get invited to their open fire drinks etc. Just a lot of fun, but also some excellent cultural aspects you wouldn't be able to do yourself-ie the hogan night etc. Heaps of optional activities (added expense). Have a look at their website and google cross country America tours and I'm sure other similar companies will also pop up. Excellent experience though!

I think I looked at that tour for next year! Dates tho didnt suit at all- wanted to have some free time after the trek too, to meet up with mates before I go to London. Im doing Coast to Coast North- looking forward to it, the only place on the whole itinerary I've been before is Chicago and I cannot wait to get back there. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Anyone know of any cheap but not nasty accomodations in New York City? Don't mind paying a bit but nothing over $100 a night. Ability to get to MSG easily is an advantage.

This place fits the bill - rates are $99.

It is in the meat packing district right next to Chelsae and the west village - the best residential area in NYC.

That is just a few stops on the subway from MSG. I have been to the place for a drink and it is a classic old style hotel - the surviviors of the titanic stayed there !!!

Its right next to the start of the highline and chelsea market .

http://www.thejanenyc.com/#

Sorry if this has been discussed earlier but has anyone booked an apartment through Airbnb in NYC ?

Have been to NY a few times and always stayed with family or in hotels , but this time would like to experience living in a neighbourhood .

Apparently the laws have changed in NY regarding sub letting of apartments . Will this impact on the renting of short term (1 - 2 weeks) .

Thanks

I have used them before ( including my 3 month stay there this year ) and they are fantastic - airbnb i used.

I am going back in may next year for 6 weeks and will use them again.

You can use them with utmost confidence.

I have used them before ( including my 3 month stay there this year ) and they are fantastic - airbnb i used.

I am going back in may next year for 6 weeks and will use them again.

You can use them with utmost confidence.

Yes me too and a few others have in this thread as well as friends. Airbnb is great, i suggest you get a profile soon and start looking as it's getting more popular. If you have any problems you can go on the standby list whereby hosts will contact you.

It's a great site.

Do you guys and girls that used airbnb, rent an apartment by yourselves or is it hosted?

I keep finding New Yorkers chiming in to various sites saying that holiday rentals are illegal in NYC, and the nearest I can see when reading the Illegal Hotel legislation is that you can get around it if you are hosted, stay more than 30 days or do a house swap (whereby no money changes hands). Not popular with New Yorkers who go away and have to pay rent while away but can't get short term leasees in.

Apparently neighbours can complain and tourists can find themselves out on the street quick smart.

The few legal apartments rentals in NYC cost an arm and a leg.

TODN, I wouldn't pay much attention to that. I have experienced both - rented apartment and been hosted and both were fine.
I guess the point is that many of them are illegal to rent short term, and that while most of the people you deal with are on the up and up, you still run the risk of getting turfed IF someone dobs you in.

I want to stay in an apartment with my family next time but also don't want to get busted doing it.

I urge people to use sites that you pay the money to directly, and they only pay the host upon you arriving and getting the apartment you paid for.

A lot of cases of people paying money directly before arrival and finding out there is no such apartment. One person paid to stay at an address that ended up being Penn Station.

I guess the point is that many of them are illegal to rent short term, and that while most of the people you deal with are on the up and up, you still run the risk of getting turfed IF someone dobs you in.

I want to stay in an apartment with my family next time but also don't want to get busted doing it.

I urge people to use sites that you pay the money to directly, and they only pay the host upon you arriving and getting the apartment you paid for.

A lot of cases of people paying money directly before arrival and finding out there is no such apartment. One person paid to stay at an address that ended up being Penn Station.

You just pay through airbnb, they even hold on to your deposit which will be returned to you once you leave.

I understand your trepidation as I was similarly cautious but can assure you that it's all good. It may well be illegal but the police are not going to turn up and turf you out - I reckon you'd have to be acting like an absolute hoon for that to happen and even then there'd be a process to follow.

NYC is far from a police state - I can not imagine that happening (ie. someone getting kicked out of an apartment because they rented short term.)

There's a tour there for 42 days for $4000, that seems a bit expensive, considering it's camping and lodging accommodation. Did you have to add a food fund on top of that price for the one you did?

This place fits the bill - rates are $99.

It is in the meat packing district right next to Chelsae and the west village - the best residential area in NYC.

That is just a few stops on the subway from MSG. I have been to the place for a drink and it is a classic old style hotel - the surviviors of the titanic stayed there !!!

Its right next to the start of the highline and chelsea market .

http://www.thejanenyc.com/#

The best rate I can get is $125. But it does look nice and I might be able to swing it. Thanks for the heads up.

There's a tour there for 42 days for $4000, that seems a bit expensive, considering it's camping and lodging accommodation. Did you have to add a food fund on top of that price for the one you did?

Everyone does the trek america tour as a taster

You miss out on places like Yellowstone park though, the US's most visited national park

But the advantage is its short, so you wont be getting on the nerves of your fellow tour mates

There is a lot of driving though :(

Yeh food fund was about $10 a day. Add on any optionals aswell (which you will probably end up doing anyway).

For me the pros outweighed the negatives. Would have loved to have done it solo and hung about in NYC looking for a cheap car, a few other people to split costs but I just didn't have the time. The USA won't be cheap whatever way you do it if you want to see more than just a few cities. Remember that geographical distances are quite massive.