VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

Even though D1 clubs are not allowed to look toofar ahead to the finals, I think the VAFA should, in its planning of hosting the finals. Normally the VAFA usually book its finals venues around July/August, but because the VAFA started later than normal this year due to the drought, some of the venues the VAFA is looking at (with the exception of A-C sections, who already have their finals venues Sportscover Arena and Sandringham booked) in hosting the finals might be booked by other leagues for their finals series. So , here's a idea which I think the VAFA should seriously look at to cut costs and save up hundreds of hours in trying to find neutral venues. Why not allow the D1 clubs who finish in first and third place respectively the right to host the second-semi final and first-semi final at their home ground, as well as the preliminary final if the team finishes in top spot somehow lose the second-semi. All the VAFA would do is just book the Grand Final venue only.

Here's howw the D1 VAFA finals venues should look like:

First Semi-Final:
Third v Fourth at Third-placed team's ground at end of h & a season.

Second Semi-Final:
First v Second at first placed team's ground at end of h & a season.

Preliminary Final:

If team ranked 1st or 2nd on the ladder at the end of the h & a season
lose second-semi they have the right to host the preliminary final against the team that won the first-semi final.

Grand Final:

Neutral venue pre-booked by VAFA (ie Punt Rd Oval or Moorabbin)

This way, it would add an even greater incentative for teams that finishes either first or third at the end of the home & away season to play a final at their home ground in front of their own supporters. After all, the AFL and the VFL allow teams to play finals at their home grounds-why not the VAFA?

dont mind it - but I reckon that VAFA will hate it because they will miss out on the beloved $$$$ from gate receipts - as I reckon many of the local grounds dont have fences/ gates etc.

Correct weight, Derm. Most of the grounds in D1 are simply not equipped to handle the amount of people who will come to a finals game. There are heaps of grounds around Melbourne and not too many get used during finals weekends, I think the VAFA will be just fine.

Seeing that the A-D4 game against the Southern Football League isn't on this year due to the drought, if the game WAS on this year, who from D1 would be getting a Big V call-up to play against the SFL?

You ok MC? Been woried sick mate.

Bannister would play, as would Bevin and half of Prahran A grade recruits, Casboult, Tehan. Not sure about any Oakleigh blokes as I have not seen them yet. Keem and Drew from YV would be in the squad.

The Quite man always like finals at NOB,S ground with the social club on the flank always open.

Is it true that all Ex AFL players playing VAFA
always get a call up for rep games even if they only played one game?

TQM

If the game against the SFL was on this year, the players that come from D1 who would've get a Victorian call-up would be from the following:

M.Pietryk (BT)
A.Tehan (BT)
D.Tulloch (BT)
L.Fletcher (HR)
J. Zampaglione (HR)
M.Lawrence (HR)
A.Murphy (PEN)
D.Cleary (OAK)
M.Harold (OAK)
C.Mollard (O.GEEL)
M.Vicker-Wills (O.GEEL)

G'day South

Is that the Peter Cosgriff I see in the best this week?

I too pose the above question ? Which cosgriff is it?
I thought Peter's back problem packed in, about 7 years ago, when he was about 34..? That would be a huge effort if he pulled the purple,green & blue on again & got a game. Then again, perhaps their committe could slot in the forward pocket for the seniors atm.

Talking your own boys down - come on, a little too obvious there Krusher. The oaks are off to a flyer, improved list and maybe a lack of depth in the competition as you suggested. Might be a year where it's ripe for the picking for a club on the rise like yours.

Looking straight through you - I'd suggest your boys not withstanding a poor performance this week would be close to favorites in my book mate.

We will all know more at 5pm this Saturday

Officialy favourites!!!!

not sure on any of the other games today...but the bullants got up by 100 odd points out at therry today...great win by the boys!

Therry have had a shocking start to the season, yet to win a game. Can anybody fill me in with what the problems are down there.

not sure on any of the other games today...but the bullants got up by 100 odd points out at therry today...great win by the boys!

Therry have had a shocking start to the season, yet to win a game. Can anybody fill me in with what the problems are down there.

Crotty, Goodwin, Faroldi, Fenton and Skiathitis are all very good players still playing at Therry. All are capable of playing higher levels: They looked terrible in their practice match against us. Perhaps a few of the boys from Therry need to get back on this thread to create a bit of hype. They are a proud club, something is wrong.

Just another district club headed for the bottom sections. They will be in d3 in two years, following a similiar path to Ivanhoe. Was it 2001 they were in a C grade prelim? Amazing!

Retirements of greats and huge unavailabilities and the loss of key players from last years team has absolutely killed therry this year.

Denis Castaldi, Michael Elliot, Steve Boyle, Jason Halmes are 4 players of the highest quality that were lost from last years team just to name a few. The lack of juniors and the not genuine connection with the school is what is hurting therry the most because young quality players are already at district clubs nearby which makes it hard to recruit and get a quality 19s side together every year and hence breed through the ranks. Also with the amount of A Grade EDFL clubs in nearby suburbs also makes it almost impossible for therry to lure quality senior players ( and on the flipside can cause a few players to be lured away)

NOBS are in almost the exact same situation as therry (both in B grade in 2001) due to no juniors and are finding it had to stay in the higher grades. Two clubs with great history need to find something and cannot just put up with mediocrity