VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

Dear Big Footy posters,

As you are all aware OP bashing is a favourite pastime of many on this forum and while for most of the year I have vehemently defended my beloved footy club I seem to be continually falling on deaf ears and am seemingly going no where. I have sat back in frustration the past couple of days as more and more comments come through, some fair enough and other’s complete unfounded crap.

Anything we ever say will probably never be reasoned with but I've gotta try.

So in an effort to be fair and balanced in the defence of my club I offer the following true/false reasoning in where OPs currently stand:

True:
The seniors haven’t had great form and Saturday’s game against YV was very poor in standard and something we weren’t happy with.

Yes we have lost a lot of players, probably 10-12 from last year including our top 3 B&F winners and other very good players. Some left because they didn’t want to play D1 (even though they contributed to us getting there) and others simply aren’t playing at all. None that I know of have left bitter.

We have a lacklustre relationship with the College, even though they often produce good footballers. We have tried to mend this relationship but it comes down to a principal who has no sporting interest, gives nothing at all to the club, won’t even let us use the ground that we built ourselves and wouldn’t care less if it ceases to exist.

We currently have an average playing age of less than 21 in the seniors. Average games played would be not even 30, that’s with a 360 gamer in the side. We’re busting our gut to earn back some respect and play good footy but with a new list it’s often difficult.

The feeling and resolve around the club is the best it has been for years and will hopefully ensure the sustainability of our current list for the next 3-5 years.

We enjoy a very good relationship with St Damiens and have their colts train with us often as well hosting social events for them.

False
The club is in no way struggling financially to the point of extinction. Take from someone pretty close to the subject that things are healthy and pointing upwards.

I-footy, when you mentioned why we didn’t appoint M.S and, given you meant Mark Spinoso, I think you will find he IS our hard working coach who has retained and recruited a lot of good young kids.

St Mary’s are not affiliated with any club, including ours. We keep contact with them and offer a good club for their young kids to come to.

No letter was ever sent to the under 19s telling them they will not play senior footy for the next two years. That is the biggest load of crap I have ever heard and even double checked with all the guys to make sure. We have played number of unders already this year and will continue to do so.

We have never (this year) proclaimed to be world beaters and had never said we would waltz in to finals and therefore offer no excuses for losses. We are the definition of a club re-building and with young guys getting some more confidence and our injury plague becoming stabilised we will hopefully only get better.

Boundy, while a great player, didn’t win us the game on Saturday In fact he probably wasn’t in our best players (despite what the VAFA website says b4 u all jump in!).

I could go on forever but the fact is we all can see OPs are at their lowest point. However there is sufficient support, given it is a club that has been around for 80 years, to see it moving forward again in years to come. It will take time, it will take patience and it will take persistence and it won’t happen tomorrow.
But I am confident, with the determination and character of the young fellas, that it will happen!

Urple, Over the line, Blind Turn, i-footy, u-18 insider etc I would expect nothing less than for you guys to come back with another cheap shot but so as long as you know that that is where we officially stand and I will back the reputation my club every time! I hope you guys aren’t so shallow as to want a proud club to fall to its demise. Bag it as much as you like but just know these are good people giving hours and hours of their time to rectify the situation.

Hopefully my mini-essay will now allow other topics will now return to this forum.

Let's move on.

Cheers, V&C.

Your lowest point will be playing Section D2 next year.

Great effort on 250.

As for other AFL players, Jon Stevens (Old Ivanhoe)?

I reckon John would be less than 200 - he had a good 4 years with Sydney, and probably another 3-4 spread between Geel, Fitzroy and Collingwood before he got drafted. A pretty fair effort from a guy with a dogdy ticker (literally).

The Quite Man's tips

Old geelong 18 Points home ground advantage
Old Mentone 25 Points should be to good
Peninsula 95 points Will be to Good
Bulleen Temp 35 Points only if ugly keeps his brain in football mode
Oakleigh 10 points but will be tested

TQM

Congrats ugly on your 250th, the bullants will smash them i'm sure! And i'm also sure I will play another game or 2 with you again in the future:thumbsu:
Well done again!

Kenyan
well done on the 250 mate.
also good to see your boys having a few wins.
looking forward to our visit to Ted's later in the season.
I do believe you owe me a beer.;)

i can now see why OP's have been recently labelled a rabble as i witnessed their pathetic display of football yesterday down at ted ajani reserve...

not only were they no good but there were cheap shots being thrown at every chance...they had a guy reported for a late elbow on mark pietryk of bulleen temp and were starting pathetic spot fires all over the ground...never before have we come up against a side as blatantly dirty and pathetic as old parade were yesterday!

Well Played Ugly did not have to much to beat. Also how did robbo get a game? he should have retired a few years ago.

A question for some one from OP how can you get reported & black carded in the third quarter for the rest of the game & still get in your best players? (Dintinosante)

TQM

Congratulations on your 250th game Ugly Derm. A tremendous effort. It was good to have a chat and a beer after the game. It was also fantastic to see the respect you paid Old Paradians in the last quarter when we were 100 plus points behind. Instead of rubbing it in our faces you gave our boys some support when you had a chat to your boys behind the goals. Unfortunately for us you kicked ten and belted us. A true champion of your club and the VAFA. I wish there were more blokes like you in the VAFA and on this site.

Well Played Ugly did not have to much to beat. Also how did robbo get a game? he should have retired a few years ago.

A question for some one from OP how can you get reported & black carded in the third quarter for the rest of the game & still get in your best players? (Dintinosante)

TQM

robbo played because with tulloch missing through injury they wanted to have a close mate of kenyan's in the side so he could share his achievement with someone that he had been playin footy with for 10+ years....and also on your point of dintinosante getting in the best....that is clearly how pathetic OP's were

TQM

think it shows how 'good' the other players were.. lol

there were quite a few cheap shots, but to BT's credit all the players had their head over the ball and was able to cop one for the team and not get sucked into the parade tactics..

btw dean matthews ur a star!! 10 goals in a dominant best on ground performance..shows how good you are mate, and the tribute after the game was even better!!

p.s. if anyone didn't know, kenyan kicked 2 goals on all-australian andrew mckay! haha ;) thought id sneek that one in mate

TQM
Very surprised that Dintin would get reported. What did he get reported for?

Im sure OPs will come with some sort of excuse on why they got flogged yet again.

Im sure OPs will come with some sort of excuse on why they got flogged yet again.[/QUOTE]

The reason they got flogged mate is pretty simple. Too many blokes, like you, decided to jump off when things got hard. Not wanting to go and play footy in a grade like D grade is an extraordinary thing to do when you where one of the guys playing in the team that took them there.

Time for you to pull up stumps again and go play ball with all your pee hearted mates who are way to good for the rest of us.

Im sure OPs will come with some sort of excuse on why they got flogged yet again.

The reason they got flogged mate is pretty simple. Too many blokes, like you, decided to jump off when things got hard. Not wanting to go and play footy in a grade like D grade is an extraordinary thing to do when you where one of the guys playing in the team that took them there.

Time for you to pull up stumps again and go play ball with all your pee hearted mates who are way to good for the rest of us.[/quote]
Uglyderm, you may have played 250 games, but obviously your reading and understanding skills arent to flash hot. If you read back through all the posts on this thread, you will soon start to realise that I have never ever played football for Old Paradians and never will. Before you start bagging me, do some research first.

Time for you to pull up stumps again and go play ball with all your pee hearted mates who are way to good for the rest of us.[/quote]

Let'sne frank here, the wrong coach was appointed the other person who applied, should have got it and would have got it if when the final decision was made all the selction panel was in attendence. Did not the coach when he was coaching OP's have the Senior side run 1 km before the start of the game,?

you cannot genuinely think that the wrong coach was appointed for 2007. the decision that was made meant that the path forward was for OP's was through youth. i'm pretty sure he was the unders coach from 06, and from all reports they're blooding plenty of kids this year.

Time for you to pull up stumps again and go play ball with all your pee hearted mates who are way to good for the rest of us.

Let'sne frank here, the wrong coach was appointed the other person who applied, should have got it and would have got it if when the final decision was made all the selction panel was in attendence. Did not the coach when he was coaching OP's have the Senior side run 1 km before the start of the game,?[/quote]

Please be frank. Who are you talking about who applied?

Whats this with the 1 km run?

Let'sne frank here, the wrong coach was appointed the other person who applied, should have got it and would have got it if when the final decision was made all the selction panel was in attendence. Did not the coach when he was coaching OP's have the Senior side run 1 km before the start of the game,?

Please be frank. Who are you talking about who applied?

Whats this with the 1 km run?[/quote]

The other applicant was Mark Sturgess who had coached St Mary's colts previous few years. After missing out on OP job he was offered Heidelberg job (after Hyde resigned), but declined & took on the assistants role.

1 km run ????????????????????????