VAFA forum

Scribe2 said:
Pope is kidding himself and would be no great loss

One of the wisest things you have ever said Mr H.

Pope is an outright tool and as far as I know, he is even hated by his own team mates. As for his ability, he's a ******* and really should be a VAFA 2's player, not VFL.

But never knock a man with (silly) ambition.

Benny MOF said:
One of the wisest things you have ever said Mr H.

Pope is an outright tool and as far as I know, he is even hated by his own team mates. As for his ability, he's a ******* and really should be a VAFA 2's player, not VFL.

But never knock a man with (silly) ambition.

Was Kanye West talking about Popey when he wrote Gold Digger...

"He got that ambition baby look in his eyes... this week he moppin floors next week it's the frieds"

I think young Popey would be better suited to Macca's than the VFL.

jogger said:
Haha, your kidding yourself scribe 2.
Know for a fact that Pope is training at Sandringham with the intention of getting on their list, if he doesn't, he will not be playing at SKOB.
Simpson is training at Box Hill with the intention of making their list, which he should.
Chard to play in the Mornington league for $$.
Marchesani to the bendigo league for $$.
Garvey and Bowles to retire.
Also, a few other young senior players to head overseas...

Jogger or is it jerker...
Pope, well he is having a crack, can't blame him for that.
Marchesani, on the money gone for $600 CASH at Pyramid Hill...don't blame him.
Garvey, 28 years young and aiming to play another 3 yrs.
Simpson, Dad is VP at SKOB and is training up until Christmas at BH to get fit.
The Markologist...future SKOB life member and 200 game champion...will dominate the CHF for SKOB next year and beyond.
Bowles, may play on now that Uka is back.
D Sadler...back
L Williams...SKOB recruit
E Crohan...back
Steve The Beast O'Connor...back
Facts are all clubs have turnover and I'm still happy with the list that SKOB will put on the park next year. Should be competitive.

The Diva said:
Yes, Mark Graham will play for OX next year. However he will recieve NO financial reward. He will play at OX because he has a few friends there and he HOPES that he may be able to get his sons on the waiting list at the school (which is very hard to do). Schools fees at $15,000pa would obviously never be paid. Anyone who believes in this conspiracy theory has there head up their arse.

When St Kevins won the battle for McKee last year did you ever here any OX person complain or put rumours around that he was being paid!

Mr Speaking, you are just a jealous and very bitter old man.

Gee Diva, we all expected you to blog on here that Graham was in fact getting incentives. Mark left a message which has been forwarded to Bruce McTaggert, will be interesting to see if he gets a permit. I am not jealous of OX, I just simply hate them.
If you had read my earlier blog, you would have seen clearly that I said good luck to Xavs. For goodness sakes, why would we be distressed over missing out on the services of a mid thirties player? There are around 90 AFL delistings if you include rookies, plenty for all to go round.

brian speaking said:
Jogger or is it jerker...
Pope, well he is having a crack, can't blame him for that.
Marchesani, on the money gone for $600 CASH at Pyramid Hill...don't blame him.
Garvey, 28 years young and aiming to play another 3 yrs.
Simpson, Dad is VP at SKOB and is training up until Christmas at BH to get fit.
The Markologist...future SKOB life member and 200 game champion...will dominate the CHF for SKOB next year and beyond.
Bowles, may play on now that Uka is back.
D Sadler...back
L Williams...SKOB recruit
E Crohan...back
Steve The Beast O'Connor...back
Facts are all clubs have turnover and I'm still happy with the list that SKOB will put on the park next year. Should be competitive.

Marchesani is playing with his brother & ex SKOB, Bernards Ben Altis.

Don't know how well SOC & Sadler will go, a year (a few in Sadler's case) out of the game might take it's toll.

If a few of those guys go that have been mentioned, it may be the best thing for the club. 99 to 01, SKOB were the next big thing, a lot of those guys mentioned have let the club down since, in particular Garvey. Has the build to destroy, but doesn't.

The biggest loss will be that of Patrick "The Wizard" Mount who has jumped ship to Bernards, anyone in the 96/97 golden era at SKC will tell you this guy was the most talented to pull on the boots (kicked 10 against Carey once, kicked a goal after the siren to beat Xavier on their own patch). He has left to display his wares in A Section so he can sit on another markologist face, Dirk "The Professor" Heinz at University Blues, part of footballing royalty, in the ones.

The Wizard said:
Marchesani is playing with his brother & ex SKOB, Bernards Ben Altis.

Don't know how well SOC & Sadler will go, a year (a few in Sadler's case) out of the game might take it's toll.

If a few of those guys go that have been mentioned, it may be the best thing for the club. 99 to 01, SKOB were the next big thing, a lot of those guys mentioned have let the club down since, in particular Garvey. Has the build to destroy, but doesn't.

The biggest loss will be that of Patrick "The Wizard" Mount who has jumped ship to Bernards, anyone in the 96/97 golden era at SKC will tell you this guy was the most talented to pull on the boots (kicked 10 against Carey once, kicked a goal after the siren to beat Xavier on their own patch). He has left to display his wares in A Section so he can sit on another markologist face, Dirk "The Professor" Heinz at University Blues, part of footballing royalty, in the ones.

P##s off Wizard, who are you to put down Ben Garveys career? Did you ever play for St Kilda or Essendon as Garv has? Have you played in 5 State matches like he has? Have you ever been leading goalkicker at the club in A Section whilst playing on the wing? Who are you? Dion Ciavola? You speak ill of SKOB yet claim to be a SKEV...shame on you.
Mounty will be at SKOB next year, pushing up into the seniors if his body holds together.

brian speaking said:
P##s off Wizard, who are you to put down Ben Garveys career? Did you ever play for St Kilda or Essendon as Garv has? Have you played in 5 State matches like he has? Have you ever been leading goalkicker at the club in A Section whilst playing on the wing? Who are you? Dion Ciavola? You speak ill of SKOB yet claim to be a SKEV...shame on you.
Mounty will be at SKOB next year, pushing up into the seniors if his body holds together.

Did Garvey ever play for St. Kilda or Essendon?
He's also got the Anthony Rocca syndrome, he's been 28 for 3 years. Finished 93', that's at least 12 years after Yr 12 for him.
10 years @ SKEVs allows me to say what I want to, young Dion would only speak ill of the club given the amount of bad blokes who have been down at the club in the last 3 years.
Garvey has been a disapointment, he's like the Matty Richardson of A/B Section football. The way he plays you would think he's playing for University Blues, not SKOB.
As for the Wizard, he's jumped ship to fill the void left by Hollywood Harvey, who by the way has been making headlines in the Herald Sun for supplying the machine that is helping Nathan Brown get over his injury...

Mr Speaking

You seem like quite an angry man tonight. And with good reason. Could it be that Steve Mckee, in whom the club invested plenty, has done an about face and will line up for his 1200 per game next year in the Goulburn Valley? What a tosser he has proved to be. I think that's worthy of a Hinch like tirade on the South FM footy show at 4am on the third Sunday of April. You're a shock jock Brian and the world shall know it.

Anyway, don't take crap from any of these muppets Brian. Garvey has been a very good, serviceable player for some years. SKOB will be fine, it's time to start talking about some of their rivals...

If what I am hearing is true, could Haileybury have 15 players with AFL experience on their list next year?
What is Old Scotch's mantra this year? I always love them. "5% better in 2004" was a ripper and the "building sustainable success" had a touch of CSL about it...
Can anyone name the club who offered Scribe2's Girlfriend's brother, currently on 1200 per game in the EFL, a more than competitive offer which will see him return to amateur football.

Does the Old Melburnians footy club actually exist?

I haven't follow Garvey's career as close as others on this chain, but all i do know is that he absolutely made me look stupid one day at the dump of a ground they call 'home'.

It was easily the best performance by a forward that i played on in 7 years of senior VAFA footy.

brian speaking said:
Gee Diva, we all expected you to blog on here that Graham was in fact getting incentives. Mark left a message which has been forwarded to Bruce McTaggert, will be interesting to see if he gets a permit. I am not jealous of OX, I just simply hate them.
If you had read my earlier blog, you would have seen clearly that I said good luck to Xavs. For goodness sakes, why would we be distressed over missing out on the services of a mid thirties player? There are around 90 AFL delistings if you include rookies, plenty for all to go round.
You do hate OX and you are immensley jealous of them...which shows. Do your players a favour and stop talking them up all the time.

Anyway, OX only need Graham for one year until a few of the younger players come on a bit. I'm sure they will be better for the experience of playing with him. This will show in 2007 when Xavs win the flag again (and you know it).

St Kevins will find it hard enough to hold onto their current list, let alone gain recruits from the AFL. After all, who wants to play B grade after being at an AFL club! Good luck!

Destination A Grade said:
I haven't follow Garvey's career as close as others on this chain, but all i do know is that he absolutely made me look stupid one day at the dump of a ground they call 'home'.

It was easily the best performance by a forward that i played on in 7 years of senior VAFA footy.

Destination

While he can make even the best bowl cut defender look silly on his day, the simple fact is, he is a 6'6", 100kg wingman. Instead of busting packs and putting his body on the line, he likes to run around on his own out on the wings and flanks getting the cheap kicks a smaller player can get, while SKOBs over paid, under performed recruits go about playing crap.

Wizard rightly has questioned Garvey's worth, as he a one of the softest footballers to ever pull on a boot. Built like Tarzan, plays like Jane.

Slay Master G said:
Destination

While he can make even the best bowl cut defender look silly on his day, the simple fact is, he is a 6'6", 100kg wingman. Instead of busting packs and putting his body on the line, he likes to run around on his own out on the wings and flanks getting the cheap kicks a smaller player can get, while SKOBs over paid, under performed recruits go about playing crap.

Wizard rightly has questioned Garvey's worth, as he a one of the softest footballers to ever pull on a boot. Built like Tarzan, plays like Jane.

As i say, i haven't seen much of him, but in the two games i can remember he chopped me up as a forward and got chopped up by a 18 year old, 5'11'' Stuart Low on the wing.

Are you fanning Stuart Low rear? If his 5'11" then his brother is 6'2"

To quickly summarise the past 24 hours of VAFA banter.....

1. All SKOBs who jumped ship when they got promoted because they didn't want to run around getting beaten, but would happily play bully in B Grade are returning. NB - Garvs and I played 3 years of junior footy together and I just turned 31, so he's got to be at least 30, and has done pretty well for a soft 6'6" wingman.

2. SKOB's best returning player is Crohan, an absolute a freak.
Kicked all 8 SKOB goals in a McGoos game when returning from injury, had 4 goals before I moved onto him, and then slammed through 4 more in the space of 45 minutes (two from the boundary against the wind).

3. Donati (Scribe2's borther-in-law) must surely have been offered the 'more than competitive offer' from either Xavs, Scotch or the Bloods. I can't think of another club which would consider, or be able to arrange this.

4. Graham may be 33 years' old, but I doubt many other ex-AFL listed players coming back would've played 20 senior games in the season prior to coming to the VAFA.

5. Pat Mount is a minor loss to SKOB (and consequentially la minor gain to Bernies) and I don't care whether his body's right or not, he's a average plodder, just like me, 'cept I've got a better haircut.

5. Stuart Low is 5'9" - i.e. we eyeball each other - but may be 5'11" when wearing screw-ins and standing on concrete outside Pine Lodge. Gee - that reminds me, I better get those extra long stops put into my Nike Zooms., might get to 6 foot if I'm lucky.

6. McKee to the GVFL is no surprise - pi$$weak effort though.

7. If the Papal tour is taking a detour via Beach Oval this summer, I have little doubt it'll be moving back up north by roughly Feb/March.

8. This relentless discussion of SKOB is hurting my brain - where are the OEG and NOBS lads this week? Oops, sorry and Heritage (in his many guises)?

Cheers

Scribe

Scribe said:
To quickly summarise the past 24 hours of VAFA banter.....

1. All SKOBs who jumped ship when they got promoted because they didn't want to run around getting beaten, but would happily play bully in B Grade are returning. NB - Garvs and I played 3 years of junior footy together and I just turned 31, so he's got to be at least 30, and has done pretty well for a soft 6'6" wingman.

2. SKOB's best returning player is Crohan, an absolute a freak.
Kicked all 8 SKOB goals in a McGoos game when returning from injury, had 4 goals before I moved onto him, and then slammed through 4 more in the space of 45 minutes (two from the boundary against the wind).

3. Donati (Scribe2's borther-in-law) must surely have been offered the 'more than competitive offer' from either Xavs, Scotch or the Bloods. I can't think of another club which would consider, or be able to arrange this.

4. Graham may be 33 years' old, but I doubt many other ex-AFL listed players coming back would've played 20 senior games in the season prior to coming to the VAFA.

5. Pat Mount is a minor loss to SKOB (and consequentially la minor gain to Bernies) and I don't care whether his body's right or not, he's a average plodder, just like me, 'cept I've got a better haircut.

5. Stuart Low is 5'9" - i.e. we eyeball each other - but may be 5'11" when wearing screw-ins and standing on concrete outside Pine Lodge. Gee - that reminds me, I better get those extra long stops put into my Nike Zooms., might get to 6 foot if I'm lucky.

6. McKee to the GVFL is no surprise - pi$$weak effort though.

7. If the Papal tour is taking a detour via Beach Oval this summer, I have little doubt it'll be moving back up north by roughly Feb/March.

8. This relentless discussion of SKOB is hurting my brain - where are the OEG and NOBS lads this week? Oops, sorry and Heritage (in his many guises)?

Cheers

Scribe

Beautifully put Scribe, couldn't have said any better myself. McKee leaving is a real kick in the guts, it hopefully will make all ammo clubs think twice about recruiting these so called AFL stars. As far as I'm concerned, the experiment is over at SKOB. We have been lucky to have Damien Ryan, as he is a great person. Apart from ex Skevs AFL players, we don't weant these types anymore.
GUTTED!

Re: Last Word on Steve McKee

STEVE McKee is coming home to the club which helped launch his AFL career a decade ago.
Myrtleford yesterday announced it had beaten Ovens and Murray rival Yarrawonga in the race for the former Collingwood and Richmond big man in one the biggest recruiting coups in recent times.
McKee, 27, said it had been a "line ball" decision to choose between clubs with strong forces pulling him in each direction.
"Myrtleford is obviously a place I grew up and I have a lot of mates there," McKee said yesterday after agreeing to a two-year contact.
"I also had a strong family connection with Yarra and have cousins (Craig Ednie and Daine Runnalls) playing their but once a couple of mates told me they were going to Myrtleford it swayed me in that directions.
Collingwood's ruckman in its 2002 grand final loss to Brisbane, McKee will travel from Melbourne with close friend Sam Cartwright in next season.
The signing is set to send shockwaves throughout the O and M as the Saints hunt for their second premiership in the club's history after they were beaten by a kick after the siren against Lavington this year.
"I played a little bit of footy with St Kevin's in the A grade amateurs last year and I probably would have played their again if I hadn't committed to travel."
"The travelling was my major concern, but once the other guys committed it made my decision easier.
"It's been 10 years since I played a Myrtleford, and its going to be good to see all the guys again and my family more often."
McKee started his senior career with the Saints as a 16-year-old and won the club's best and fairest the following year.
He chose not to go through the TAC Cup system due to a logistical nightmare in terms of travelling from Porepunkah to Wangaratta for Murray Bushrangers training, but his talent could not be ignored and plucked by Richmond as its 55th pick in the 1996 draft.
He went on to play 84 league games (20 at Richmond and 64 with Collingwood) before he was delisted at the end of 2004.
The 199cm ruckman is sure to give the Saints a major boost in their quest for an elusive flag and after winning a wooden spoon in 2004, who would be thrilled to win his nod ahead of a rival club.
"It was a fairly competitive proposition between two clubs and the fact he has decided to come home just reflects the position the club is in at the moment," Saints president Bill O'Donohue said.
"For one of our own to go away and achieve what Steven has achieved and then come back and finish his career at Myrtleford is just tremendous for the club, the town and the whole Alpine Shire.
"People want to come and play for Myrtleford at the moment."
"They want to come and watch us because of our 2005 year and the recruitment of Steve brings the profile to attract the extra crowds, to ensure that our revenue continues to grow in line with our club.
"There was definitely some pressure from Yarrawonga given the family connections he has up there and the historical roles that the McKee's have played and all his cousins.
"But he has chosen to come back to his home club where it all started for him and I think in the end it was the difference and why we were successful."

Disco Bickie said:
Now I ain't sayin' he a gold digger...

I hope they don't pay him any money up front. Ordinary bloke, took a $45K job with KPMG and played a total of 8 games for SKOB. f###in pr##k.
Tip he will play 6 games.

brian speaking said:
I hope they don't pay him any money up front. Ordinary bloke, took a $45K job with KPMG and played a total of 8 games for SKOB. f###in pr##k.
Tip he will play 6 games.

How about you build a bridge Brian.

Give the rest of us a break. All you do is b!tch and moan about SKOB's. Nobody cares about the terrible blokes that have or do play there.

Donati is Scribe's brother in law? Didn't know he was married, or you must be married to his sister? She was quite a piece in Primary School, can remember swinging in the tree with her.

Is McKee such a big loss?
Crohan has the same freakish ability as Matty Lucas.

The Wizard said:
Donati is Scribe's brother in law? Didn't know he was married, or you must be married to his sister? She was quite a piece in Primary School, can remember swinging in the tree with her.

Is McKee such a big loss?
Crohan has the same freakish ability as Matty Lucas.

Just watch yourself there young man. No one is swinging in trees. No one is married. Scribe2 is married only to the dart, the punt and the amateur game.

False rumour with Donati. I was reliably informed he was headed to the Junction Oval but this is not the case. Will captain Noble Park again

I can't see Mckee having an impact at Mytleford. It is VERY strong comp up there and if he is physically buffeted by the likes of Beardsley from Trinity, how will he cope with some nutcase farmer from the snow country?

Out of interest, Scribe2 sat next to the coach of a club who has has bagged mercilessly for the last two years whilst having a haircut. The hairdressers, the domain of the backdoor conquistador, is no place to resume hostilities, so we said our hellos and parted.

How about you build a bridge Brian.

Give the rest of us a break. All you do is b!tch and moan about SKOB's. Nobody cares about the terrible blokes that have or do play there.

Well said DAG, those long boozy nights at MoMo's haven't damaged your brain.

I think SKOB should stop being so public about their recruiting. If they speak to a player, they file a public media report that he will be lining up there. I think their recruiting man should keep his cards closer to his chest. Hey Brian.......

Slay Master G said:
Well said DAG, those long boozy nights at MoMo's haven't damaged your brain.

I think SKOB should stop being so public about their recruiting. If they speak to a player, they file a public media report that he will be lining up there. I think their recruiting man should keep his cards closer to his chest. Hey Brian.......

Is that becuase you have a vested interest SMG? :confused:

Oh by the way, how is your job at KPMG going?

Disco Bickie said:
Is that becuase you have a vested interest SMG? :confused:

Oh by the way, how is your job at KPMG going?

My interest ended a long time ago DB, I was more talking about how every player to leave the AFL (Malloy, McKee etc) or big name VAFA players (Gertsman), and it seems that most of them end up at Xavs, who clearly tap Brian Speaking's phone in there at VAFA HQ.
Couldn't give a rats clacker about what SKOB think. As DAG said, build a bridge, get over it. Don't think anybody could have saved them from relegation this year.

Job is fine, how is yours???