Happy to accept fwiwFWIW new vafa president creating a big footy account and the Herald Sun doing a write up on Div1-Div4 recruits, what other nuggets does 2024 have in store? Bedford as the new mod?
never say never. But i am not convinced moving comps would solve too many problems. Selling an extra 4 or 5 more boxes of beer a week wont put a great team on the park. Its really sad what has happened to the Old Mentone, I suspect there will be more to come. As for my old club, rolling out with 4 competitive teams in 2023 - senior & ressies plus an under 19s and women's team is a bloody huge effort and something to be proud of.cant see Chicken Wings ole boys Bulleen Temp leaving the ammos chumpy champ!
you are correct in that Parade not leaving the ammos either!
So are we going to go through the season again asking if Ivanhoe are off to northern parts in 2024?
Parkside getting stronger each year with some Xavier kids apparantly. But would they venture north??? Quite possibly since now you mention it!
I wouldve thought maybe Preston Bullants in vafa might take the leap as they lose many talented players to EDFL and NFL for the lucrative experience!
Will be an interesting year and may well need to take stock at seasons end to reassess clubs!
Everything you have said makes sense. Well done for your Seniors and U19s; U19s is the indication that the club is on an upward trajectory with a solid committee and willing helpers and volunteers. The girl's team gives you an extra dimension; has been great for our club. They put in, especially with their organisational expertise behind the scenes big time.never say never. But i am not convinced moving comps would solve too many problems. Selling an extra 4 or 5 more boxes of beer a week wont put a great team on the park. Its really sad what has happened to the Old Mentone, I suspect there will be more to come. As for my old club, rolling out with 4 competitive teams in 2023 - senior & ressies plus an under 19s and women's team is a bloody huge effort and something to be proud of.
There will be some great footy played this year across the divisions. Arguably the real heart and soul of the VAFA...
Great news Ugly and looks like the Ants are well positioned for growth after years of hard work from the committee, coaches and members. Fantastic news!never say never. But i am not convinced moving comps would solve too many problems. Selling an extra 4 or 5 more boxes of beer a week wont put a great team on the park. Its really sad what has happened to the Old Mentone, I suspect there will be more to come. As for my old club, rolling out with 4 competitive teams in 2023 - senior & ressies plus an under 19s and women's team is a bloody huge effort and something to be proud of.
There will be some great footy played this year across the divisions. Arguably the real heart and soul of the VAFA...
Only issue ive ever had at your ground was the coaches boxes being on the wrong side lolGreat news Ugly and looks like the Ants are well positioned for growth after years of hard work from the committee, coaches and members. Fantastic news!
As for other clubs, I think it's got to be about particular circumstances for each club that determines the direction they head in. I have said this before on here that OUR circumstances are very different to 20-30 years ago and they impact us differently to clubs such as BT and even Parkside. We talk about this a lot among our long standing members, current players, committee, etc. As such we need to make sure we have a chance moving forward to get players into our club, grow sponsorship, members, engage with the community, etc etc in a sustainable way.
So it's less about a few boxes of beer and more about how our club can survive over the next 5-10 years in a VAFA competition that has changed significantly in the past 20 years.
Chump
Interesting and valid point SeaSide re who votes for these important decisions. Our club is life members, committee, Black & Whites members and current players, so you could see an imbalance as you suggested in favour of the players intentions.Everything you have said makes sense. Well done for your Seniors and U19s; U19s is the indication that the club is on an upward trajectory with a solid committee and willing helpers and volunteers. The girl's team gives you an extra dimension; has been great for our club. They put in, especially with their organisational expertise behind the scenes big time.
As Big Footy scribes have recently alluded that there are clubs considering defecting, I hope that those clubs realise that players are generally aligned to their clubs for 5 or 6 years (or thereabouts). Perhaps 40% return on various past players' days with very few staying on as committee or club volunteers.
It's not fair for clubs to have an important vote on such a decision that will impact members, club funds and players for years. Current players have a majority voting input, however not too many will be around for the (very) long term.
Perhaps constitutions could be amended so that such important discussions. Should such decisions and vote be confined to the current committee and life members?
We have them on both sides now Bedders ..... but if we play you again I'll make sure you are back at the old onesOnly issue ive ever had at your ground was the coaches boxes being on the wrong side lol
used to be on clubhouse side. Moved in or around the late 90s I reckon. Cant remember the main reason but agree, was better the old wayOnly issue ive ever had at your ground was the coaches boxes being on the wrong side lol
You get plenty of advice over there on the hillused to be on clubhouse side. Moved in or around the late 90s I reckon. Cant remember the main reason but agree, was better the old way
used to be on clubhouse side. Moved in or around the late 90s I reckon. Cant remember the main reason but agree, was better the old way
You get plenty of advice over there on the hill
Old Ivanhoe is the same long hall for staff to get water etc over there , especially when having to use the soccer pavilion
Let's hope it will happen again mate.Almost as much advice from behind the goals when playing you lot bedders!!
Chump
And I’ve enlightened you that there are 4 of them now, 2 on each side of the ground.Only issue ive ever had at your ground was the coaches boxes being on the wrong side lol
Great stuffAnd I’ve enlightened you that there are 4 of them now, 2 on each side of the ground.
I’ll deem us as perfect now in advance of your appreciation Bedders, especially the free advice from the hill.
Do you believe the HS or the Harvey NormanThe Herald Sun reports that the VAFA is looking at having the 2023 VAFA William Buck Premier Grand Final played on the Friday before the AFL Grand Final, like what happened with the Premier C Grand Final last season, when it was held on the Grand Final Eve public holiday.
That's a good way to showcase the grand final, but it'd likely involve a side coming in from a preliminary final on the Sunday to play a game on the Friday, which really favours the side who wins straight through to the grand final rather than the winner of the preliminary final if that's the case.The Herald Sun reports that the VAFA is looking at having the 2023 VAFA William Buck Premier Grand Final played on the Friday before the AFL Grand Final, like what happened with the Premier C Grand Final last season, when it was held on the Grand Final Eve public holiday.
I believe they are proposing a week off before the GF.That's a good way to showcase the grand final, but it'd likely involve a side coming in from a preliminary final on the Sunday to play a game on the Friday, which really favours the side who wins straight through to the grand final rather than the winner of the preliminary final if that's the case.
Are you in the coaching panel? Or just on the clubroom side sneaking a few germaine greers?Only issue ive ever had at your ground was the coaches boxes being on the wrong side lol
Champ, some of the commentary towards the field umpire from behind clubroom end goals has been rather "colorful" but raised a wry smile! Should be more of it!Almost as much advice from behind the goals when playing you lot bedders!!
Chump
Been known to do both old mateAre you in the coaching panel? Or just on the clubroom side sneaking a few germaine greers?
The Herald Sun reports that the VAFA is looking at having the 2023 VAFA William Buck Premier Grand Final played on the Friday before the AFL Grand Final, like what happened with the Premier C Grand Final last season, when it was held on the Grand Final Eve public holiday.
If you remember, the VAFA played last year's Premier C Grand Final between Monash Blues and Old Geelong on the Friday before the AFL Grand Final.The question will ultimately be where. But interesting nonetheless