Roast Vent Thread

Yeah sorry my articles painted a worse picture than your 14%. But, enjoy your $2 milk and $1 bread, because as we are about to learn through the power industry, it isn't gonna last.
Keep your head in the sand pal, it kind of suits you right now.

*sigh* foreign ownership has nothing to do with that

Most foreign buyers invest here for one key reason, to source a reliable supplier of product for export markets

For example, Chinese are buying dairies to guarantee milk supply. Japanese and us firms bought beef farms for export beef supply.

This doesnt impact upon domestic pricing however, as for most buys they are existing farms already supplying mostly (if not exclusively) for export

so why is the sale happening in the first place?

1) economies of scale. The era of a dairy herd being viable with just 70 cowsdead and a herringbone shed is long dead. You have to have a larger herd size (and therefore pasture size) to produce milk that competes with local suppliers.

Lion (for instance) have a handful of mega suppliers in victoria. These guys get better pricing that most sellers, but they sell volume (herds of 2000-3000 head), and they guarantee 365 day supply (which means not drying off a big number of cattle over winter)

The rest supply the exporters (mg and fonterra) and this means getting the world export price converted into aussie full stop. World export prices can plummet when production is high and demand falls, and this drives smaller less efficient farmers to the wall as they mostly fail to maintain cash reserves sufficient for downturns

2) idiocy. Farmers get pay outs like the dairy assistance scheme, or they have a ripper harvest during high prices. Do they reinvest in the farm or pay down debt? Far too many buy a new statesman/hot ute/jet ski, and when prices drop they lack rhe investment to be efficient enough to survive. So their property goes on the block and the evil capitalists get blamed.

3) gen y. Gen x left the farms in droves, but gen y are making them look like amos. Kids dont want to farm, which is why those mgc meetings looked like rsl get togethers. You cannot force a younger gen to farm, so when hitting retirement age the farm gets sold.

Now this creates a problem, lots of people wanting to sell, but whos buying? For all the reasons above, it aint small family farmers. Its corporate farmers, estate developers, or foreign buyers. Ban foreign ownership and the price of sales will fall, hurting local farmers who are trying to sell their properties.

As for $1 milk:

1) it doesnt make the price of farmgate milk cheaper. Most farmers supply the export manufacturers, and their price is dictated by world commodity markets

2) the milk isnt sold at a lost, but at cost. Farmers milk price is unchanged, its the dairy who take the hit. The reason they do this is because in return for the $1 milk supply, they get much larger and better slots in the dairy case. When lion had the ww contract, its no coincidence yoplait, pura, and farmers union dominated the dairy case. Dairies do the math, and the profit they forgo on drinking milk sales is more than made up for by much larger yoghurt/cheese/cream sales.

*sigh* foreign ownership has nothing to do with that

Most foreign buyers invest here for one key reason, to source a reliable supplier of product for export markets

For example, Chinese are buying dairies to guarantee milk supply. Japanese and us firms bought beef farms for export beef supply.

This doesnt impact upon domestic pricing however, as for most buys they are existing farms already supplying mostly (if not exclusively) for export

so why is the sale happening in the first place?

1) economies of scale. The era of a dairy herd being viable with just 70 cowsdead and a herringbone shed is long dead. You have to have a larger herd size (and therefore pasture size) to produce milk that competes with local suppliers.

Lion (for instance) have a handful of mega suppliers in victoria. These guys get better pricing that most sellers, but they sell volume (herds of 2000-3000 head), and they guarantee 365 day supply (which means not drying off a big number of cattle over winter)

The rest supply the exporters (mg and fonterra) and this means getting the world export price converted into aussie full stop. World export prices can plummet when production is high and demand falls, and this drives smaller less efficient farmers to the wall as they mostly fail to maintain cash reserves sufficient for downturns

2) idiocy. Farmers get pay outs like the dairy assistance scheme, or they have a ripper harvest during high prices. Do they reinvest in the farm or pay down debt? Far too many buy a new statesman/hot ute/jet ski, and when prices drop they lack rhe investment to be efficient enough to survive. So their property goes on the block and the evil capitalists get blamed.

3) gen y. Gen x left the farms in droves, but gen y are making them look like amos. Kids dont want to farm, which is why those mgc meetings looked like rsl get togethers. You cannot force a younger gen to farm, so when hitting retirement age the farm gets sold.

Now this creates a problem, lots of people wanting to sell, but whos buying? For all the reasons above, it aint small family farmers. Its corporate farmers, estate developers, or foreign buyers. Ban foreign ownership and the price of sales will fall, hurting local farmers who are trying to sell their properties.

As for $1 milk:

1) it doesnt make the price of farmgate milk cheaper. Most farmers supply the export manufacturers, and their price is dictated by world commodity markets

2) the milk isnt sold at a lost, but at cost. Farmers milk price is unchanged, its the dairy who take the hit. The reason they do this is because in return for the $1 milk supply, they get much larger and better slots in the dairy case. When lion had the ww contract, its no coincidence yoplait, pura, and farmers union dominated the dairy case. Dairies do the math, and the profit they forgo on drinking milk sales is more than made up for by much larger yoghurt/cheese/cream sales.

*sad face with sigh* please read and understand below, because there is one point in here that supports my view which overrides yours. Hence my points about long term views.

Foreign ownership of Aussie land: the peril of selling the farm
Foreign government-backed companies have begun buying up farmland around the world, with Australia’s vast tracts of top quality primary production land a prime target.

Tom Cowie

The Weekly Timesreported Hassad were poised to snap up a further 8500 hectares of land in Victoria’s western district in a deal worth $35 million — about 20% above market price.

Meanwhile, China state-owned conglomerate Bright Foods has also been hungrily looking to acquire local agribusinesses because of the favourable local environment for overseas investors. The Shanghai-controlled company have reported to be interested in Foster’s wine division, while last year they made a failed $1.7 billion tilt for sugar producer CSR. The company has also signed a memorandum of understanding with the NSW government to explore local wine, diary and sugar investment opportunities.

In the south-east of Australia, Brazilian beef giant JBS has been busy buying up abattoirs and meatworks, while Singapore-based Olam International now control almost 45% of Australian almonds — thanks to its purchase of Timbercorp and its 8096-hectare plantation.

Crikey has begun mapping the recent purchases of prime Australian farmland by overseas interests (click the image to view the map)

Ausbuy CEO Lynne Wilkinson says the issue of food security is paramount to the rest of the world and should also be to Australia.

She says there have been many recent instances, including the sale of over 100,000 hectares of farmland in Western Australia to the Arab States, which show the Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) and the ACCC are not looking after Australia’s long term security interests.

“When countries buy our land it raises issues of sovereign risk, and in our grab for cash we lose the intellectual property of generations of Australian farmers,” she told Crikey. “We cannot guarantee the food grown on this land will stay in Australia or that the profits from exports will be here.”

Entrepreneur Dick Smith says he has “no doubt” there has been an increase in foreign-controlled companies buying up local agricultural properties. Smith has recently been advocated a push to a more sustainable level of economic growth.

“What people don’t realise is that if someone buys prime agricultural land, we can’t force them to sell us the food from that land,” he told Crikey. “They can ship the food form the land directly to their country and I think that should be looked at.”

Hassad chairman Nasser Mohamed Al Hajri has previously tried to allay fears that his company is setting oil-rich Qatar up for any future food shortages. But that hasn’t stopped the United Nations expressing concerns over foreign multinationals buying up swathes of farmland.

Independent SA senator Nick Xenophon is worried that corporations who aren’t state-owned but are “effectively arms of foreign governments” are going under under the radar in purchasing farmland. Under FIRB rules, state-owned companies must get approval for any local investment.

“If these foreign governments are planning how they are going to feed their people in the future, surely the Australian government should also been considering this issue more seriously,” he told Crikey. “We should be selling the food, not the farm.”

Because the sale of agricultural land in Australia is exempt under Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) regulations, there is rarely much attention given to the overseas purchases of farmland unless the purchase of assets exceeds the $231 million threshold.

This means that there is no central source of data on just who owns what farmland — and what country they represent.

That’s something Shadow Minister for Agriculture and Food Security John Cobb hopes will change with the passing of a motion in parliament earlier this year, which will see the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) collate a list of direct foreign ownership of agricultural land, water rights and businesses for the first time.

“This motion gives parliament the information needed for sensible safeguards. It will ensure the future of Australia’s food security and economic interests as they relate to foreign ownership,” said Cobb at the time.

Nationals leader Senator Barnaby Joyce believes the motion is a good step towards understanding the level of overseas investment in Australian agribusiness: “I think you should always take the temperature before you make the prescription,” he told Crikey.

But Joyce also thinks more needs to be done to protect local food security. He says if overseas investment continues unabated a situation could arise where food prices become more expensive.

“These countries are treasuring something that perhaps we don’t, because they know what it’s like to be hungry,” he said. “To be honest, we can build another Sydney Opera House but we can’t build more primary agricultural land once it’s gone.”

Dick Smith agrees, but doesn’t think any political party will do anything about because of the economic advantages of foreign investment: “I think we should just say any land that produces food should not be sold to overseas interests,” he said. “To end up with large amounts of foreign ownership of farm land when there will undoubtedly be food shortages is unsustainable.”

*Additional research by Crikey intern Iona Salter

Foreign ownership - good stuff. I feel like some milk and cookies.

Dairy farmers warn of struggle under farm gate price cuts
May 13, 2016 12:00am
ROGER HANSON and KAROLIN MACGREGOR
9e7203d63a5074b5c4e563747507db03

Grandfather Lindsay Wilson still works hard milking the cows on the family dairy farm near Tamworth. Picture by Peter Lorimer.

DAIRY farmers grappling with details of last week’s huge price reductions fear it will force some producers out of Tasmania’s valuable $440 million industry.

Fonterra announced it would cut its overall milk price from $5.60 per kilogram of milk solids back to $5kg retrospectively. About 250 farms supply Fonterra.

In what many producers consider a cruel blow, this means farmers who have already been paid at the higher amount over the majority of the season will be left owing the company money.

MORE: MILK PRICE SHOCK CUTS TO HIT HARD

The news comes after Australia’s largest milk processor, Murray Goulburn, also cut its farmgate price, from $5.60/kg to between $4.75/kg and $5/kg.

Both companies held meetings with suppliers this week and a review of the price cuts looms.

Lion Dairy and Drinks also announced a price cut adjusting its price for June down by 4.65 cents per litre. This will affect a small number of Tasmanian suppliers who are operating under variable pricing contracts for the 2015-2016 season.

MORE: CHEAP MILK SHAKES FARMS

Northern producer and Fonterra winter milk supplier Kelvin Howe, from Caveside, said it was one of the worst times he had seen in his 40 years in the industry.

Mr Howe said after a difficult season because of the record dry conditions, they had planned carefully for their winter milking period, putting in extra fodder crops and buying in silage.

“It was only a few weeks ago they were telling us everything was OK and they would hold the $5.60 price, so that’s what we planned around … now they’ve gone and done this,” he said.

“We just have to sit and wait at the moment.

“They’re saying the opening price will be somewhere between $4 and $5, but probably closer to $4, and if it is that’s below the cost of production.”

EDITORIAL: CHALLENGING DAYS DOWN AT THE DAIRY

Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association president Wayne Johnston said the milk price cuts would hit Tasmania’s rural communities and businesses hard.

“When in the business of farming such announcements at the end of the season can be devastating,” Mr Johnston said.

“It is clear that it is time for a broader discussion between producers and milk processors to look at a way to ensure that producers can have confidence in the prices set at the beginning of the season.”

http://www.ruralbusinesstasmania.org.au or call 1300 883 276, Rural Alive and Well on 1300 4357 6283 or dairytas.com.au.

*sad face with sigh* please read and understand below, because there is one point in here that supports my view which overrides yours. Hence my points about long term views.

Foreign ownership of Aussie land: the peril of selling the farm
Foreign government-backed companies have begun buying up farmland around the world, with Australia’s vast tracts of top quality primary production land a prime target.

Tom Cowie

The Weekly Timesreported Hassad were poised to snap up a further 8500 hectares of land in Victoria’s western district in a deal worth $35 million — about 20% above market price.

Meanwhile, China state-owned conglomerate Bright Foods has also been hungrily looking to acquire local agribusinesses because of the favourable local environment for overseas investors. The Shanghai-controlled company have reported to be interested in Foster’s wine division, while last year they made a failed $1.7 billion tilt for sugar producer CSR. The company has also signed a memorandum of understanding with the NSW government to explore local wine, diary and sugar investment opportunities.

In the south-east of Australia, Brazilian beef giant JBS has been busy buying up abattoirs and meatworks, while Singapore-based Olam International now control almost 45% of Australian almonds — thanks to its purchase of Timbercorp and its 8096-hectare plantation.

Crikey has begun mapping the recent purchases of prime Australian farmland by overseas interests (click the image to view the map)

Ausbuy CEO Lynne Wilkinson says the issue of food security is paramount to the rest of the world and should also be to Australia.

She says there have been many recent instances, including the sale of over 100,000 hectares of farmland in Western Australia to the Arab States, which show the Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) and the ACCC are not looking after Australia’s long term security interests.

“When countries buy our land it raises issues of sovereign risk, and in our grab for cash we lose the intellectual property of generations of Australian farmers,” she told Crikey. “We cannot guarantee the food grown on this land will stay in Australia or that the profits from exports will be here.”

Entrepreneur Dick Smith says he has “no doubt” there has been an increase in foreign-controlled companies buying up local agricultural properties. Smith has recently been advocated a push to a more sustainable level of economic growth.

“What people don’t realise is that if someone buys prime agricultural land, we can’t force them to sell us the food from that land,” he told Crikey. “They can ship the food form the land directly to their country and I think that should be looked at.”

Hassad chairman Nasser Mohamed Al Hajri has previously tried to allay fears that his company is setting oil-rich Qatar up for any future food shortages. But that hasn’t stopped the United Nations expressing concerns over foreign multinationals buying up swathes of farmland.

Independent SA senator Nick Xenophon is worried that corporations who aren’t state-owned but are “effectively arms of foreign governments” are going under under the radar in purchasing farmland. Under FIRB rules, state-owned companies must get approval for any local investment.

“If these foreign governments are planning how they are going to feed their people in the future, surely the Australian government should also been considering this issue more seriously,” he told Crikey. “We should be selling the food, not the farm.”

Because the sale of agricultural land in Australia is exempt under Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) regulations, there is rarely much attention given to the overseas purchases of farmland unless the purchase of assets exceeds the $231 million threshold.

This means that there is no central source of data on just who owns what farmland — and what country they represent.

That’s something Shadow Minister for Agriculture and Food Security John Cobb hopes will change with the passing of a motion in parliament earlier this year, which will see the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) collate a list of direct foreign ownership of agricultural land, water rights and businesses for the first time.

“This motion gives parliament the information needed for sensible safeguards. It will ensure the future of Australia’s food security and economic interests as they relate to foreign ownership,” said Cobb at the time.

Nationals leader Senator Barnaby Joyce believes the motion is a good step towards understanding the level of overseas investment in Australian agribusiness: “I think you should always take the temperature before you make the prescription,” he told Crikey.

But Joyce also thinks more needs to be done to protect local food security. He says if overseas investment continues unabated a situation could arise where food prices become more expensive.

“These countries are treasuring something that perhaps we don’t, because they know what it’s like to be hungry,” he said. “To be honest, we can build another Sydney Opera House but we can’t build more primary agricultural land once it’s gone.”

Dick Smith agrees, but doesn’t think any political party will do anything about because of the economic advantages of foreign investment: “I think we should just say any land that produces food should not be sold to overseas interests,” he said. “To end up with large amounts of foreign ownership of farm land when there will undoubtedly be food shortages is unsustainable.”

*Additional research by Crikey intern Iona Salter

Did you actually read that, it was high on emotion and light on facts

We do not have a food security issue. We export mist od our food, and we have two failsafes that will ensure we never lose out:

1) we make too much for our needs. Over 80% of dairy product is exported, so only if 80%+ of farms are foreign owned And their milk is sold exclusively for export purposes do we have a problem

2) dairy, beef, and grain exports all require export permits. If we have a short supply, we will just cut the number of permits issued

3) profit. These buyers want to make money first and foremost. When we had a drought in tassie which decimated the salmon crop, all exports to japan stopped, including by the japanese owned org. It was because thanks ti the shortage, aussie prices were insanely high and the companies took advantage of it.

Can you name one commodity that has suffered shortages in australia thanks to foreign ownership of farms????

Foreign ownership - good stuff. I feel like some milk and cookies.

Dairy farmers warn of struggle under farm gate price cuts
May 13, 2016 12:00am
ROGER HANSON and KAROLIN MACGREGOR
9e7203d63a5074b5c4e563747507db03

Grandfather Lindsay Wilson still works hard milking the cows on the family dairy farm near Tamworth. Picture by Peter Lorimer.

DAIRY farmers grappling with details of last week’s huge price reductions fear it will force some producers out of Tasmania’s valuable $440 million industry.

Fonterra announced it would cut its overall milk price from $5.60 per kilogram of milk solids back to $5kg retrospectively. About 250 farms supply Fonterra.

In what many producers consider a cruel blow, this means farmers who have already been paid at the higher amount over the majority of the season will be left owing the company money.

MORE: MILK PRICE SHOCK CUTS TO HIT HARD

The news comes after Australia’s largest milk processor, Murray Goulburn, also cut its farmgate price, from $5.60/kg to between $4.75/kg and $5/kg.

Both companies held meetings with suppliers this week and a review of the price cuts looms.

Lion Dairy and Drinks also announced a price cut adjusting its price for June down by 4.65 cents per litre. This will affect a small number of Tasmanian suppliers who are operating under variable pricing contracts for the 2015-2016 season.

MORE: CHEAP MILK SHAKES FARMS

Northern producer and Fonterra winter milk supplier Kelvin Howe, from Caveside, said it was one of the worst times he had seen in his 40 years in the industry.

Mr Howe said after a difficult season because of the record dry conditions, they had planned carefully for their winter milking period, putting in extra fodder crops and buying in silage.

“It was only a few weeks ago they were telling us everything was OK and they would hold the $5.60 price, so that’s what we planned around … now they’ve gone and done this,” he said.

“We just have to sit and wait at the moment.

“They’re saying the opening price will be somewhere between $4 and $5, but probably closer to $4, and if it is that’s below the cost of production.”

EDITORIAL: CHALLENGING DAYS DOWN AT THE DAIRY

Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association president Wayne Johnston said the milk price cuts would hit Tasmania’s rural communities and businesses hard.

“When in the business of farming such announcements at the end of the season can be devastating,” Mr Johnston said.

“It is clear that it is time for a broader discussion between producers and milk processors to look at a way to ensure that producers can have confidence in the prices set at the beginning of the season.”

http://www.ruralbusinesstasmania.org.au or call 1300 883 276, Rural Alive and Well on 1300 4357 6283 or dairytas.com.au.

Thats about world export prices. Australia is not a price maker in dairy, and no amount of foreign ownership here will change that.

Prices plummetted because china has stopped buying as much product as expected, and northern hemisphere manufacturers have been producing a lot of stop (meaning the world market was over supplied)

Did you actually read that, it was high on emotion and light on facts

We do not have a food security issue. We export mist od our food, and we have two failsafes that will ensure we never lose out:

1) we make too much for our needs. Over 80% of dairy product is exported, so only if 80%+ of farms are foreign owned And their milk is sold exclusively for export purposes do we have a problem

2) dairy, beef, and grain exports all require export permits. If we have a short supply, we will just cut the number of permits issued

3) profit. These buyers want to make money first and foremost. When we had a drought in tassie which decimated the salmon crop, all exports to japan stopped, including by the japanese owned org. It was because thanks ti the shortage, aussie prices were insanely high and the companies took advantage of it.

Can you name one commodity that has suffered shortages in australia thanks to foreign ownership of farms????

Okay, must be "FAKE NEWS". You have all the answers champ. Nothing to see here........

Thats about world export prices. Australia is not a price maker in dairy, and no amount of foreign ownership here will change that.

Prices plummetted because china has stopped buying as much product as expected, and northern hemisphere manufacturers have been producing a lot of stop (meaning the world market was over supplied)

Well that makes it ok then. Let's not worry about them.

Okay, must be "FAKE NEWS". You have all the answers champ. Nothing to see here........

Its not a non issue, but a wrong issue

The face of farming is changing is australia. Both because of technology (rotary sheds, automated harvesters, gps technology, etc), lack of local capital, and lack of interest in family farming as a career.

The discussion should be about what face we want for farming in 2050, and how do we support it. If we want local Ownership, we need to accept it will be large lot corporate ownership, and find ways of making this a better investment option

If it is accepting foreign ownership, its about how those buyers will exist locally. Jfyi japanese multinationals have owned a huge chunk of the qld cattle heard for generations now. They are seen as a vital part of the local export industry, and a benefit to local workers.

A ban on foreign ownership without a replacement source of buyers will just see farms abandoned to lie fallow

Well that makes it ok then. Let's not worry about them.

Its the way of commodities. Any dairy farmer selling to mgc, fonterra, wcbf, or tatura should know this, as it has been the way of this market since 71

Its not a non issue, but a wrong issue

The face of farming is changing is australia. Both because of technology (rotary sheds, automated harvesters, gps technology, etc), lack of local capital, and lack of interest in family farming as a career.

The discussion should be about what face we want for farming in 2050, and how do we support it. If we want local Ownership, we need to accept it will be large lot corporate ownership, and find ways of making this a better investment option

If it is accepting foreign ownership, its about how those buyers will exist locally. Jfyi japanese multinationals have owned a huge chunk of the qld cattle heard for generations now. They are seen as a vital part of the local export industry, and a benefit to local workers.

A ban on foreign ownership without a replacement source of buyers will just see farms abandoned to lie fallow

I think the Kiwis have the right model on foreign ownership. I wish we could of stolen their prime minister for a term.

Essendon should permanently relocate there. Shit stain of a club.

Back off Warchild, seriously......
Call me cynical, but it's probably Sheedy just doing it to improve their profile due their poor past few years . Apart from Channel 7 ,afl lords and their own nobody gives a damn about them.

Absolutely. Sheedy knows the size of the market as Richmond tried to tap into that country when he was back at the club.

Sheeds is tilting at windmills

We already tried the indian tigers thing and failed (one other club too, forget which)

Hes also pushing that dumb arse "country" game he tried and failed with at gws. Waiting for him to ressurect the eureka game with norf

Sheeds is tilting at windmills

We already tried the indian tigers thing and failed (one other club too, forget which)

Hes also pushing that dumb arse "country" game he tried and failed with at gws. Waiting for him to ressurect the eureka game with norf
Apparently they wanted free memberships from us.

Whats a DV?

Domestic violence

Why is it all the feel good stories are about the cheats?

And why has the DV issue about the Essen don starlet been hushed up?

Case is in feb, so if he or the girl aint talking, not much to report. Just imo, id rather the media leave the woman alone anyway. Shes no celeb, and if the charge is true shes dealing with enough already without getting named in the media.

* just to clarify, yes i know your talking about the bloke, but its inevitable that the partner gets outed in these cases

Domestic violence

Case is in feb, so if he or the girl aint talking, not much to report. Just imo, id rather the media leave the woman alone anyway. Shes no celeb, and if the charge is true shes dealing with enough already without getting named in the media.

* just to clarify, yes i know your talking about the bloke, but its inevitable that the partner gets outed in these cases

Mate if he was from any other club , the media would be all over it, just saying