Vic Country 2008

he got off...

(glad to see the tribunal got that $1000 bucks i sent in the mail:p)

joke...

but yea.. delighted he got off
Haha, only a grand?

I didn't see it but its probably something they should look at for the future - suspensions should exclude carnival games. It's a massive personal price for someone to pay if they get rubbed out and miss some of the championships and really its actually not in AFL Victoria's best interests to see any of their players rubbed out because they want VM and VC to be competitive and have as many AA's and draftees as they can get.

Anyway a bit off topic but that'll keep you happy. God help anyone listening to the commentary you're doing...remember there are 44 players in the match.

yea don't worry it's all a bit of fun and games with heyney i'll be as impartial as i can.. tune in if you can, i'd love a bit of feedback.

on board with a few aspiring journalists. commentary being headed by Dan Hill who is a regular VFL commentator, very exciting stuff

How'd you get involved in a gig like that Bourky?

pure luck really. I currently write for a paper down in Geelong covering local footy and was lucky enough to be involved in a program at the Advertiser which allowed me to make contacts with people such as Dan Hill and even Dylan Howard from Channel 7...

are you also interested in a sports journalism career?

lovely:thumbsu: Tasmania is a fantastic place for budding young journo's i've heard as there is plenty of work but not enough to do it.. i may even spend some time down there in the future to build up my folio etc.

good luck in your aspirations:thumbsu: hopefully down the track we might work together:)

Thanks mate.

Just a quick question, how'd you land the spot at the paper in Geelong? submit a piece, or a folio, or just apply?

Would be good, wouldn't it. Then we could cover the potential draftees together ;) My reviews would be slightly less biased though.

Vic Country mids were mostly quiet, the game was the Hamish Hartlett show for much of the proceedings. Country got a late run on and should have kept the momentum going, but were wasteful in front of goal with some easy shots and SA picked up a couple of late steadiers. Cahill for SA was also impressive.

Thought that the country mids got shown up for pace. They seemd to lack a bit of run and the fact that a number of them are not overly quick hurt them.
SA had Shannon , Hall , Hartlett , Okeefe plus a few running from half back most of the day.

Both Sam Wright and Dash Barolli are in the VC squad, have either had a run, or are they injured, or just haven't been selected?

Would have thought with 5 games, everyone would get at least 1 run especially the top agers?

Gippsland will love him all the way through next year. As they will about 10 other bottom agers who look very promising as well.

They're doing something right down there.

Kicked 5 against tassie on wednesday at the nab championships

did you see it footyman?

Kicked 5 against tassie on wednesday at the nab championships

did you see it footyman?
I did see it, 5 goals and a poster I think from him on Wednesday, he finished off the carnival on a really good note.

I think I'd seen his two worst games of the year too - Country vs Metro and the TAC game against QLD so I was happy to see him back in full flight and playing well.

Overheard 2 scouts sitting in front of me talking about Blair on wednesday... Said he played real well and is a very good player but then they said he's only 172cm.. the conversation ended after his height was mentioned...

I'd be shocked/mortified if Butcher and Koby Stevens hadn't recieved letters:p

for a start..

Butcher
Stevens
Christensen

continue to add folks..

Vic Country 2008