Vic Country 2008

Great work FM!

At the national U16 champs last year Vic Country were noticably smaller than WA, SA and VM

In the first game against SA, VC only won in the last 5 min with some magic from Sidebottom, after SA led in the last quarter by about 3-4 goals, then got smashed by WA who were huge across the ground, and were very competitive against a bigger VM who ran away in the last quarter.

It'll interesting to to see the mix the selectors come up with. I reckon they may go for a bit bigger bodies types this time.

Hooper? Hard to pick on size alone, but when you see him in action, bloody hard to leave out!

FM, Sportz1 your thoughts?

Re: weekend trial games
Looked like Country won both games - only noticed a scoreboard in the 2nd game then it was too small to read anyway from where I was
Definitely appeared to be more country goals scored....please correct me if I am wrong

Bendigo Pioneers:
Rhys Ellis, Josh Gaylor, Jake Hall, Rhys Healey, Scott Oakley, Chris Prockter, Shane Page

Geelong Falcons:
Lucas Boyd, Sam Hughes, Ayce Cordy, Tim Hunt, Jordan Jones, Zach Ledin, Callum Bartlett, Allen Christensen, Ben Cunnington, Tom Simpkin, Luke Thompson, Dane Tutton, Luke Rounds

Gippsland Power:
Darren White, Dean Woodhead, Nicholas Hayne, Koby Stevens, Nathan Vardy, John Butcher, Jared Risol, Jarryd Blair, Jack Weston, Edward Carr, Campbell Heath, Mitchell Golby

Murray Bushrangers:
Luke Lowden, Steele Sidebottom, Caleb Tiller, Jack Zeibell, Matt Pianto, Will Martinello, Tom Rockliff, Sam Wright, Andrew Browne, Dash Baroli, Jamason Daniels, Jamie Sheahan, Ben Birthisel

North Ballarat:
Nick Suban, Jason Linke, Ryan MacKenzie, Jordan Roughead, Andrew Hooper, Ben Peters, Will Young, Chris Curran

These guys didnt play today Hooper and Bartlett injured, Ziebell pulled up sore yesterday and Tutton appendix. Lowden still a week or two away recovering from back stress fractures

Re: weekend trial games
Looked like Country won both games - only noticed a scoreboard in the 2nd game then it was too small to read anyway from where I was
Definitely appeared to be more country goals scored....please correct me if I am wrong

Bendigo Pioneers:
Rhys Ellis, Josh Gaylor, Jake Hall, Rhys Healey, Scott Oakley, Chris Prockter, Shane Page

Geelong Falcons:
Lucas Boyd, Sam Hughes, Ayce Cordy, Tim Hunt, Jordan Jones, Zach Ledin, Callum Bartlett, Allen Christensen, Ben Cunnington, Tom Simpkin, Luke Thompson, Dane Tutton, Luke Rounds

Gippsland Power:
Darren White, Dean Woodhead, Nicholas Hayne, Koby Stevens, Nathan Vardy, John Butcher, Jared Risol, Jarryd Blair, Jack Weston, Edward Carr, Campbell Heath, Mitchell Golby

Murray Bushrangers:
Luke Lowden, Steele Sidebottom, Caleb Tiller, Jack Zeibell, Matt Pianto, Will Martinello, Tom Rockliff, Sam Wright, Andrew Browne, Dash Baroli, Jamason Daniels, Jamie Sheahan, Ben Birthisel

North Ballarat:
Nick Suban, Jason Linke, Ryan MacKenzie, Jordan Roughead, Andrew Hooper, Ben Peters, Will Young, Chris Curran

These guys didnt play today Hooper and Bartlett injured, Ziebell pulled up sore yesterday and Tutton appendix. Lowden still a week or two away recovering from back stress fractures
No Riley Milne????Thought he was trying out aswell??Good tall Defender that can read the play and kick on both feet beautifully

I'm told VC expect to cut 12 from the no who tried out on the weekend. Guessing they will pick top agers first and top up with U/17s draftables -Ziebel, Sidebottom, Thommo, Roundsy and Lowden plus the balance of a quad of 40 with non draftables Christensen and a few other u/17s as development type squad. But thats strictly a guess. Would expent Bundy to get a gurnsey in the VC team even tho not draftable.

Boys have to wait for a phone call. They ring you're out. So expect a few phones to be turned off for the next week or so :D:D:D

I'm told VC expect to cut 12 from the no who tried out on the weekend. Guessing they will pick top agers first and top up with U/17s draftables -Ziebel, Sidebottom, Thommo, Roundsy and Lowden plus the balance of a quad of 40 with non draftables Christensen and a few other u/17s as development type squad. But thats strictly a guess. Would expent Bundy to get a gurnsey in the VC team even tho not draftable.

Boys have to wait for a phone call. They ring you're out. So expect a few phones to be turned off for the next week or so :D:D:D

no need for 3 guys over 200cm..
lowden would be lucky to make the final squad i think this year.. next year he should be in for sure

no need for 3 guys over 200cm..
lowden would be lucky to make the final squad i think this year.. next year he should be in for sure

why wouldnt you have 3 guys over 200cm??.. one of them is going to be Ayce Cordey. i think the selectors would be
loving the prospect, who are the other blokes?

can anyone tell me how rockcliff, martinello and sheahan went? all three have had featured in the best, on the website, played footy and cricket with these boys a few years back, in the uk atm so dont get to chat to anyone who has been watching them

why wouldnt you have 3 guys over 200cm??.. one of them is going to be Ayce Cordey. i think the selectors would be
loving the prospect, who are the other blokes?

No problems with 3 over 200cm, but they all have to be fit and ready, I reckon WA and SA, will have that many.

Browne who is a top ager and in great form, will be right. Lowden is the other, who is a bottom ager but hasn't laced up a boot for TAC or APS yet this season and is well underdone.

I agree with "whitewater", next year for Lowden.

can anyone tell me how rockcliff, martinello and sheahan went? all three have had featured in the best, on the website, played footy and cricket with these boys a few years back, in the uk atm so dont get to chat to anyone who has been watching them
Two out of three ain't bad with the third a maybe. A possible Vic Country lineup.

Backs: Linke, Birthisel, Simpkin
Half backs: Hooper, Milne, Hall
Centerline: Daniels, Sheahan, Ziebell
Half forwards: Sidebottom, Butcher, Heyne
Forwards: Gaylor, Cordy, Rockliff
Rucks: Browne, Suban, MacKenzie
Inter from: Healey, Roughead, Blair, Cunnington, Baroli, Risol, Matiniello, Stevens , Hunt, Tiller.

All the players in bold will get a run on the ball at some stage. The Sandgropers hit the other teams with an AFL style game plan and Country at least will be going the same route with plenty of rotations and the typical Calder style run and carry quick ball movement. It looks like a stronger group than 07 with plenty of forward fire power which they didn't have last year. Country had no problem last year getting it inside 50 but they couldn't score, won't be a problem this year.

Just wondering if anyone can give me any thoughts on Jaime Sheahan. I go to school with him and would really like to know:
- if he will get drafted?
- if so where abouts?
- and your thoughts on him.

cheers :thumbsu:

Anyone got any news on the first cut and who got omitted?
from the bushrangers they had in todays local paper that matt pianto and luke lowden were cut.
all others making it through to the top 40

Anyone got any news on the first cut and who got omitted?
from the bushrangers they had in todays local paper that matt pianto and luke lowden were cut.
all others making it through to the top 40

what's the name of the local Shepp paper pls if other than Advisor - can read on web? Haven't head anyone from Falcons in or out yet. Didn't mention any other clubs did it?

Have to respect Murray don't ya with 10 players still in contention for a Vic Country spot and 5 representing NSW/ACT. Should be a good test of their depth if a large number of those guys survive the final Vic Country cut.

Haven't heard of any other cuts to this point.

They've got some talent in their squad, I think they've got a good mix of onballers and forwards in there, I suppose their defence might be the one area that is a bit iffy. I reckon anyone still there who plays in defence has a better chance of survival than wingman, mids or forwards after the cuts. But what would I know!

Have to respect Murray don't ya with 10 players still in contention for a Vic Country spot and 5 representing NSW/ACT. Should be a good test of their depth if a large number of those guys survive the final Vic Country cut.

Haven't heard of any other cuts to this point.

They've got some talent in their squad, I think they've got a good mix of onballers and forwards in there, I suppose their defence might be the one area that is a bit iffy. I reckon anyone still there who plays in defence has a better chance of survival than wingman, mids or forwards after the cuts. But what would I know!

The bushies actually still have 12 in the top 40 atm..
started with 14 if you include luke lowden..
so could have 17 out of there starting 22 out at a time if those guys all get through and NSW make it into div one!

what's the name of the local Shepp paper pls if other than Advisor - can read on web? Haven't head anyone from Falcons in or out yet. Didn't mention any other clubs did it?

its called the Shepp News mate, not sure if u need to pay for it over the net, there is a bloke who usually puts up the footy related articles on the gvfl and kdfl sites "doona2" he might be the bloke to ask if you wanted something off the website

The bushies actually still have 12 in the top 40 atm..
started with 14 if you include luke lowden..
so could have 17 out of there starting 22 out at a time if those guys all get through and NSW make it into div one!
you're right i miscounted!

So their side in round 4 with the players in the Vic and NSW squads in bold:

B - Ryan Birthisel Boshevski
HB - Sidebottom Milne McNeil
C - Mahoney Bryce Daniels
HF - Holman Tiller Priest
F - Browne Rockliff Wright
R - A'vard Barolli Martiniello
Int - Doyle Hamilton Jacka Giovannini B. Hicks Sheahan

There's nothing left! The whole spine is gone, most of the forward line and defence is gone. And Ziebell, Duryea and Klemke didnt play but would cleary be part of their best side too.

its called the Shepp News mate, not sure if u need to pay for it over the net, there is a bloke who usually puts up the footy related articles on the gvfl and kdfl sites "doona2" he might be the bloke to ask if you wanted something off the website

cheers mate - yeah you gotta be registered - haven't struck that before - most other papers allow you to read stories...

Vic Country 2008