Vic Country 2008

cheers mate - yeah you gotta be registered - haven't struck that before - most other papers allow you to read stories...

yeh i think they reckon its a big enough paper they can make some money of it, sucks for someone like me who's overseas.. but they do have a great spread of local footy in during the week, monday and fridays usually have 10 pages devoted to footy..

whats everybodys thoughts on Sam Wright from Murray Bushrangers???
will he make the vic country team? is he a chance to be drafted?
he's a very strong mark for a mid sized forward, great balance and kicking ability!!

Watch out for big Chris Prockter! CHF for the pioneers, big strong lad with great dukes and massive tank! can run all day!

The bushies actually still have 12 in the top 40 atm..
started with 14 if you include luke lowden..
so could have 17 out of there starting 22 out at a time if those guys all get through and NSW make it into div one!

Give us some news on Jamie Sheahan?? the kid is a freak controlled the GV league as a 15yr old what is considered as to be one of the best country footy leagues...early but top 10? dominating AGSV...better than Trengrove etc...he deserves more credit then he is getting he should be captaining the VIC country with his leadership at ACK..

Good little player but top 10 picks need to be able to kick more than 40m.

He did go to Sth Africa with the AIS.

If anything i would think that would be the best possible way to prepare yourself for an U18 competition.

Getting match practice playing with the 'best' kids in the Aussie team, whilst working your way into form playing 'average' sout african players. Should be match fitter and more prepared coming into the opening of the year. You'd be expect him to be fading out toward the end of the season with fatigue.

Still, very good player, excited about watching him progress through the system this year.

B: Hall (Pios) Birthisel (Bushies) Daniels (Bushies)

HB: Jones (Geel) Milne (Bushies) Suban (Rebels)

C: Sheahan (Bushies) Ziebell (Bushies) Healey (Pios)

HF: Gaylor (Pios) Butcher (Gippy) Sidebottom (Bushies)

F: Rockliff (Bushies) Heyne (Gippy) Cordy (Geel)

R: Brown (Bushies) Martinello (Bushies) MacKenzie (Rebels)

I: Blair (Gippy), Wright (Bushies), Roughead (Rebels), Barolli (Bushies)

E: Hooper (Rebels), Christensen (Geel), Linke (Rebels), Golby (Gippy)

just thought id throw a team together, havent put much thought into it but if ppl want to have a chat about changes or who they think should/shouldnt be in the team go for it..
Hooper would be stright in but at this stage is still injured only a week off playing

I'll have a crack mate but I've just done this quickly and probably have too many bottom agers in there. I don't mind the look of your team.

B: Jones (Geelong) Birthisel (Murray) Stevens (Gippsland)
HB: Rounds (Geelong) Thompson (Geelong) Ziebell (Murray)
C: Sidebottom (Murray) Golby (Gippsland) Heyne (Gippsland)
HF: Peters (Nth Ballarat) Butcher (Gippsland) Cunnington (Geelong)
F: Rockliff (Murray) Cordy (Geelong) Gaylor (Bendigo)
R: Browne (Murray) Suban (Nth Ballarat) Sheahan (Murray)
I/C: Christensen (Geelong) Healey (Bendigo) Milne (Murray) Blair (Gippsland)
Emerg: Linke (Nth Ballarat) Hall (Bendigo) Carr (Gippsland) Tiller (Murray) Young (Nth Ballarat)

Here's how I think Country will line up. Haven't seen a lot of the VC boys this year though, so I may have missed a couple.

B: Hooper Ellis Stevens
HB: Suban Milne Ziebell
C: Tiller Sheahan Rounds
HF: Heyne Butcher Peters
F: Rockliff Gaylor Christiensen

Ruck: Cordy Sidebottom Blair

Int: Browne, Barolli, Martinello, Wright

Emg: Healy, Hall, Jones

wondering what ur thoughts are on tom simpkin, seen the falcons play a few games this year, and he looks good out of the bakline, im pretty sure he is in the vic country squad.. correct me if im wrong

Heres my choices

Vic Metro - 25

Scully Trengrove Gaertner
Strauss Hurley Hannebery
Zaharakis Shuey Blease
Melksham Lisle Martin
Lynch Watts Joyce

McKernan McGarry Banner

Fitzpatrick, Mathew Clarke, Kilpin, McDonald

Emrg – Walker, Gysberts, Power,

Vic Country - 25

Christenson Birthisel Hall
Cunnington Jones Simpkin
Stevens Suban Golby
Bucovaz Boyd Young
Butcher Ziebell Gaylor

Browne Heyne Sidebottom

Cordy, Tiller, Sheahan, Healey

Emrg - Roughead, Prockter, Rockcliffe

If Cordy is out injured then Roughead comes in and add Rounds to the Squad as Emrg..

Heres my choices

Vic Metro - 25

Scully Trengrove Gaertner
Strauss Hurley Hannebery
Zaharakis Shuey Blease
Melksham Lisle Martin
Lynch Watts Joyce

McKernan McGarry Banner

Fitzpatrick, Mathew Clarke, Kilpin, McDonald

Emrg – Walker, Gysberts, Power,

No Vickery?

Vic Country - 25

Christenson Birthisel Hall
Cunnington Jones Simpkin
Stevens Suban Golby
Bucovaz Boyd Young
Butcher Ziebell Gaylor

Browne Heyne Sidebottom

Cordy, Tiller, Sheahan, Healey

Emrg - Roughead, Prockter, Rockcliffe

If Cordy is out injured then Roughead comes in and add Rounds to the Squad as Emrg..

I'll post a squad later but I probably have Wright in before Tiller, only because they are very similar height and weight and types of players, but Wright's a year older, I'd also have Hooper in.

I went with Tiller because I think he is abit more versatile i.e. HBF, Wing, HFF. I left Hooper out due to his injury.

Vic Country 2008