Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

Yep and in 2024 - Port travel 23k km.

less than

Richmond with 25k km
Geelong also with 25k km
North with 27k km
Melbourne with 28k km

And none come near WC and Freo who are both 70k km.

Yet, Port fans group themselves with WA teams and pretend they have a travel disadvantage, despite travelling less than almost half the VIC teams.
How many KMs have Collingwood travelled? LoL

Yes both SA clubs had 13 home state games and 10 away games. But each away game they travelled.

Port traveled to Perth and NSW at least once.

Yes both SA clubs had 13 home state games and 10 away games. But each away game they travelled.

Port traveled to Perth and NSW at least once.

Yep, it is also about how many times a team needs to get on a plane as well as the distance. It is about how many times a team needs to spend in hotels compared to other teams.

Does Port have a recruiting advantage over Victorian teams? lol.
AFL 2023 listed players

440 were from Vic
127 were from SA
124 were from WA

Considering there are just 2 SA teams, means 63 SA players available per team.

It should be obvious to see which teams benefit from go home the most.

AFL 2023 listed players

440 were from Vic
127 were from SA
124 were from WA

Considering there are just 2 SA teams, means 63 SA players available per team.

It should be obvious to see which teams benefit from go home the most.

Haha hilarious ad-hoc "evidence". Also no answer to my post 2 above. Give up, you fraud. Not wasting any more time here.

Yep, it is also about how many times a team needs to get on a plane as well as the distance. It is about how many times a team needs to spend in hotels compared to other teams.
North and Hawthorn do 10 trips, the same as Port.

Why do you continue to pretend Port are disadvantaged compared to teams like North, Hawthorn or Melbourne who actually travel further than Port?

Collingwood notch up 19k km

You dont have any Collingwood fans pretending we have the same travel impost as WC or Freo, who do 70k km....leave that to Port and Sydney fans.

Port fans who only travel low 20k kms, pretend they are like the WA teams, despite travelling less than many Melbourne based clubs.

But yes, let the good faith "discussion" about VICBias continue.

Since this was a Port comparison vs Collingwood. Port travelled 4 more times - one more return flight every 6 weeks...

And they had 6 more games at home against a travelling team.

Although strangely you guys seem to think it's a massive disadvantage when you travel, but dont see an advantage when teams travel to you... It's very odd.

No! These Collingwood fans will never give up.

They need helicopter rides from the MCG to Docklands lol
Collingwood fans don't want to play at Docklands and would happily trade all those games for interstate games. Playing teams like west coast, both Adelaide teams ECT at Docklands is not a home ground advantage for us it actually helps the opposition I'd rather go and play west coast in Perth. There are many indricises in the fixture that people with lower footy IQ don't even consider. Like a proper home ground advantage vs extra travel. Instead the argument is we are the victims so we want reperations or something ridiculous along those lines. Everyone is quick to complain about their clubs issues they don't like with fixturing but so quick and ignorantly responding to others concerns and rebuttals. What is any of it achieving? Nothing at all and I don't see people being constructive trying to come up with something better other than the occasional reactionary response. There's a reason why everyone jumps on the look at how great Collingwood have it but don't question how it's possible Collingwood has played Sydney 6 times out of 26 games at home. Buddy Franklin played us once at the MCG since 2011 and it was in his last season I believe. Look head to head vs any interstate club and you will find we play any of you interstaters less in Melbourne, on average I believe for every 5 games the opponent has 10. But yeah that's Vic biased😂. Hell we finish bottom 6 and end up in the top 4 for the hardest draws which has always happened because we are a big club. You don't hear these facts because you can't argue against stupid haters and pies fans actually enjoy all of this it comes with the territory of being a magpie. We will play you any time anywhere and we know 9 times out of 10 we will be up for the fight which can't be said for a lot of other clubs which probably dervives from a culture of victimhood. Hell I've never heard a Collingwood fan even complain about us having to play Bulldogs, Saint Kilda ECT at their own home ground as our home game. If we were anything like the Vic biased crew you'd know every Collingwood fixture indricises and more but you don't hear it because we don't care to moan and groan and play victim every chance we get. Maybe it's just an interstate thing to make themselves more relevant in the AFL world because they can't attract the clicks.

Notice you deliberately picked the two Victorian clubs that have deals to play 4 games in Tasmania.
No shit, as the point is that the vic clubs aint the same.

Just like the non-vic clubs aint the same.

Again, why do you continue to pretend Port are disadvantaged compared to teams like North, Hawthorn or Melbourne who actually travel further than Port?

How many games did they play as the away team at their home ground?
Do you mean neutral games with no significant advantage to each team?

Actually usually a slight advantage to the Pies due to crowd Which in terms of Vic vs non-vic means a lot of Vic teams have a small disadvantage at some of their home games.

The ladder of advantage looks something like this. Although you could shuffle those at the top as you can't really weigh the respective advantages. The only thing tats certain is whose at the bottom. Luckily though, the AFL has some excellent equalisation measures in place - asking the comp really even.

Collingwood/Geelong
Sydney/Brisbane
WCE/Ess/Carl/Rich

North/Saints/Dogs

The Pies advantages are the product of 130 years of hard work and growth in the comp. Sydney's have been gifted as the AFL wants to grow the game.

Stop right there. Even if we don't wanna debate all the other advantages (which are many), that right there is a MASSIVE advantage.

If you tried to come up with some kind of BIGGER advantage to award some teams over others, could you possibly think of one??
There is only one goal in the AFL and that’s a premiership. If you ain’t first, you’re last. Nothing can trump this gigantic leg-up Victorian teams get.

It is an old image, at least 5 years old now but it gives a great view of the average advantage of playing at home

View attachment 2098018

View attachment 2098020
It doesn't actually give a very good indication for Geelong though.

The reason for that is that it doesn't take into account that Geelong don't get to play the top Victorian teams at home.

Geelongs home games are usually scheduled against interstate teams and struggling Victorian teams. So of course the % would be skewed.

The graph is also showing its age as last year Brisbane went 13-0 at the Gabba and went 6-7 everywhere else. Yet this would indicate they have practically no home ground advantage.

Over the last 5 years Brisbane has gone
50-10 at home (83.3% win) vs 29.5-26.5 (52.6% win rate)

That is a 31% home field advantage over a 5 year stretch.

Things like this fluctuate year to year, your charts are actually useless for anything regarding whats happening right now in the AFL.

Yes, very good. Just one question: WHAT THE ACTUAL F*CK ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??

8 non-Vic teams
10 Vic teams

Vic teams, for their games against other Melb clubs, have to drive across town, or at worst to Geelong, which some clubs like Collingwood have done twice in 20 years.

ALL non-Vic teams have to travel a MINIMUM of 700km to play a Vic team away (dist. from Adel. to Melb.). For the odd club that chooses to play games somewhere like in Tassie (Hawks/North?) - that's their choice - that's on them.

Your bullshit numbers above are made up.

Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy? Galileo!
That's not bias though

This thread needs closing mate. Clearly not going to be
much agreement
Even then the 'vicbias' sentiment isn't going to go away, has always been and always will be.

Even if we go to a state conference model, the sentiment will still be there, like it was before the vfl expansion that we have today.

Is there vicbias? Of course there is, but that 'bias' is organic, driven by market forces.

It's not like before the game was derived from Marngrook, victorians had a conspiracy plan to make sure there was vicbias just coz we don't like other states.

^However this is the impression that is given, 'CONSPIRACY!!!!' < it's not that at all.

As many have stated here, this competition is the most even professional competition on the planet, even given the opposing forces to that i:e geography, population differences etc.

So I will suggest again, for the eleventy billionth time, to all those who scream 'CONSPIRACY!!!', vote with your feet and remotes or just stfu or don't and continue to wallow in your misery.

You have choice, vics don't have choice, our clubs are in this expanded league not by our wish, it is what it is. Don't hear many if any North, Saints or Dogs supporters on a perpetual whinge like the wa and sa posters on here.

The graph is also showing its age as last year Brisbane went 13-0 at the Gabba and went 6-7 everywhere else. Yet this would indicate they have practically no home ground advantage.

Yes the graph is old but I don't think a newer one exists. It is more about the general theme of the graph though rather than exact up to date data. The general theme shows playing at home is a fairly significant advantage and if a more modern graph was created I suspect it would generally speaking show the same thing.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2