Vickery is a star!

okay just a question for everyone.

do people think he should have kicked 3 4 or 5 goals against brissie.
when i look at their structure and who he was up against he really should have kicked his 4. now i know you can only play and beat who the opposition put on you but really vickery only did what he should have.
can i ask a question out of concern not having a go at him. he gets the ball on the lead hes good for his size off the ground hes deceptively quick but where do people think hes at atm in the air.

i dont see a lot of contested marks or over head marks for that. i dont see him doing well at bouncedowns or throw ins. for a 200cm player he has a lot of work to do still on his aerial work.

and i think people are wrong if they dont want to see size on him. some used tippett at adelaide as an excuse well tippett is just 2cm taller but 12 kg heavier hes also a strong over head mark. ithink to round his game off vickery needs the size he needs it to improve probably the most important aspect of tall a forwards armorery and thats over head marking.

Actually santa, he should have kicked six, missed two or three he'd normally get.

Has taken several overhead contested marks this season, even against guys his own size :eek:

His contested marking was always the area of concern for people on here, and so far he has shown 1000% more than he showed last year in that area. Agreed, we want to see him keep improving, but the fact he has shown that his development is well and truly on (ahead of?) schedule is what pleases us.

His ability to beat even smaller opponents at ground level, and his decision-making with ball in hand, is something that we've always noticed, but even in that area he has improved.

Won't bother judging his ruck work too seriously until he does put on some more size, since even the club has admitted they threw him in to the deep end in that regard way too early last season.

I'm here.... l'm taking the credit for his new found ability. Seems l stung him into action.

Serious. Should be placed on payroll as a motivator to ensure footballers understnad their given talents.

;)

Wow wally after that post it would seem i and other Big Footy Posters
personally need to 'revise' our opinions of your forcefull take on young Tyrone...

It would appear that 'revisionism' is currently popular and trendy on the Big Footy Forum at the moment...

Your posted thread on young Ty Vickery titled 'Ty-ragic Tyrone' ...26 pages long and closed twice...and showcased with such gems as...

Dud...
Dont rate him...
Shits me to tears...
No talent...
A bad joke...

And the classic....useless as a **** full of cold water...

Followed up by...never meet the potential of a first round draft pick...

And...not softening my stance on him(TV)...

Was according to you now...after young Ty has shown growing promise, and not before...simply a motivational ruse...:eek:...

WOW how could we not all see that?!?!?...:confused:...

Your just too clever by half for all of us wally and deserve everything you get for being such a smart motivator...kudos to you man...:thumbsu:...

okay just a question for everyone.

do people think he should have kicked 3 4 or 5 goals against brissie.
when i look at their structure and who he was up against he really should have kicked his 4. now i know you can only play and beat who the opposition put on you but really vickery only did what he should have.
can i ask a question out of concern not having a go at him. he gets the ball on the lead hes good for his size off the ground hes deceptively quick but where do people think hes at atm in the air.

i dont see a lot of contested marks or over head marks for that. i dont see him doing well at bouncedowns or throw ins. for a 200cm player he has a lot of work to do still on his aerial work.

and i think people are wrong if they dont want to see size on him. some used tippett at adelaide as an excuse well tippett is just 2cm taller but 12 kg heavier hes also a strong over head mark. ithink to round his game off vickery needs the size he needs it to improve probably the most important aspect of tall a forwards armorery and thats over head marking.

The most important piece of information you so conveniently forgot to mention is 21 yo.

Most 21 yo 200cm KPF/Ruck players do have things they need to work on.

Tyrone Vickery is on track to kick 45 goals this year in a team that includes Jack who should also get to 70 odd goals with martin possibly kicking 40 aswell.

What more can you ask from the 'KID'

The most important piece of information you so conveniently forgot to mention is 21 yo.

Most 21 yo 200cm KPF/Ruck players do have things they need to work on.

Tyrone Vickery is on track to kick 45 goals this year in a team that includes Jack who should also get to 70 odd goals with martin possibly kicking 40 aswell.

What more can you ask from the 'KID'

put on some more size improve his aerial work toughen up get a bit of mongrel into him and become a better more rounded more valuable player because of it.

why do people think im having a go at him. if i thought he was no good id ask for his head but im not.

if people dont think he has aspects of his game to work on i can understand some angst.
if they think he does have work to do why the angst.

is vickery a star not yet and not by a long shot. he may become one if he improves. now this is what people are really angry about some one dares not rate a player as high as they would like.

has he improved on last yr well only a fool would argue he hasnt. i dont believe ive said different all ive said is hes a lot of work to do and i named the areas i think he needs to work on. if people dont like that well in the words of the immortal ma shiela tough t***ies.

put on some more size improve his aerial work toughen up get a bit of mongrel into him and become a better more rounded more valuable player because of it.

why do people think im having a go at him. if i thought he was no good id ask for his head but im not.

if people dont think he has aspects of his game to work on i can understand some angst.
if they think he does have work to do why the angst.

is vickery a star not yet and not by a long shot. he may become one if he improves. now this is what people are really angry about some one dares not rate a player as high as they would like.

has he improved on last yr well only a fool would argue he hasnt. i dont believe ive said different all ive said is hes a lot of work to do and i named the areas i think he needs to work on. if people dont like that well in the words of the immortal ma shiela tough t***ies.
Not often I agree with you, but I do on this one.
He basically played as a loose man in our forward line last week. Trust me. I was there and he was allowed to do as he pleased.
But I will say this. I was wrong on a lot of aspects of his game. He has a very, very good footy brain which will stand him in good stead as the years go by.
Has he improved? God yes!
At the moment he is a very handy 2nd forward.
What he will become? I am not sure. I expect him to improve and be a very good player for us.
But at the moment, it's difficult to tell what he will become.
Am I happy he is playing for us? Yes, absolutely.
Given he has just turned 21 in the past week, we won't see the best of him for a while yet.
The scope for improvement is vast. I do disagree with your assessment that he could become more like Tippett, who I rate as a very, very disappointing footballer given the amount of talent he has.
Vickery is good at ground level and has a great footballer's brain.
At the moment though, people should not confuse handy with excellent. He is handy at the moment.

Not often I agree with you, but I do on this one.
He basically played as a loose man in our forward line last week. Trust me. I was there and he was allowed to do as he pleased.
But I will say this. I was wrong on a lot of aspects of his game. He has a very, very good footy brain which will stand him in good stead as the years go by.
Has he improved? God yes!
At the moment he is a very handy 2nd forward.
What he will become? I am not sure. I expect him to improve and be a very good player for us.
But at the moment, it's difficult to tell what he will become.
Am I happy he is playing for us? Yes, absolutely.
Given he has just turned 21 in the past week, we won't see the best of him for a while yet.
The scope for improvement is vast. I do disagree with your assessment that he could become more like Tippett, who I rate as a very, very disappointing footballer given the amount of talent he has.
Vickery is good at ground level and has a great footballer's brain.
At the moment though, people should not confuse handy with excellent. He is handy at the moment.

didnt compare him to tippett tugs. someone said they didnt want him to get any bigger and used tippett as an example. all said was tippett is 2cm taller and 12 kg heavier and he needs that bulk. as does vickery.

as for the rest good to see we agree.

didnt compare him to tippett tugs. someone said they didnt want him to get any bigger and used tippett as an example. all said was tippett is 2cm taller and 12 kg heavier and he needs that bulk. as does vickery.

as for the rest good to see we agree.
Yeah, looking back at the posts, and it wasn't you at all. Sorry.
Tippett is actually carrying too much weight. It basically hinders him playing anything than a key forward.
I'd like to see Vicks put on weight, but not too much more. His agility and his ability at ground level is what makes him potentially special.

Yeah, looking back at the posts, and it wasn't you at all. Sorry.
Tippett is actually carrying too much weight. It basically hinders him playing anything than a key forward.
I'd like to see Vicks put on weight, but not too much more. His agility and his ability at ground level is what makes him potentially special.

this wont go down to well with some i suppose, but as a player atm i would compare vickery to josh fraser in a lot of ways.

I said that two years ago. Not on here, but to people I know.
Fraser has played 200 games and is aspud now, but was pretty decent for a while.
Naturally I hope Vickery can produce more than Fraser, but the comparison does not irk me as much as it will some.

That's a pretty bad comparison, Fraser has always had shit mobility and speed. I see more of a potential Paul Salmon.[/quote]

Fair call...:thumbsu:...

If TV turns out half as good as Salmon he is going to terrorize opposition back lines for years to come!...

Collingwood used up JFraser and tossed him out as it suited them...

I still reckon that was a bastard act on their part letting him ruck while he was a twig against grown men...

That's a pretty bad comparison, Fraser has always had shit mobility and speed. I see more of a potential Paul Salmon.

Couldn't disagree more! Fraser had excellent mobility and speed for a ruckman. What Fraser lacked as a ruckman was the want of the physical clash...just dislikes body contact.

As for Tyrone, congrats to the young man on showing significant improvement. He is showing all the signs of being an excellent 10+ years Richmond footballer. Typically on BF, all those haters who declared him a spud after 1 year (1 year FFS and he's also a big bloke) will be lining up to piss in his pocket over the coming years.

Keep improving big man and well done to date!! :thumbsu:

Strangely i see alot of similarities to a young Brad Ottens when he was at Richmond.

Jeez i hope your right...cant see it myself...

Otto had a nice turn of speed for such a big boy...

Saw him chase down byron pickett from behind one day at the 'G'...we won...:thumbsu:...

Jeez i hope your right...cant see it myself...

Otto had a nice turn of speed for such a big boy...

Saw him chase down byron pickett from behind one day at the 'G'...we won...:thumbsu:...
Vicks is very quick & agile as the poster above mentioned

The only noticeable diffrence between the 2 players i see is that Brad ottens was a Ruckman that can play foward but Vickery is a foward that can play ruck.

I personally dont think Tyrone will ever be a number 1 ruckman & to be honest i would rather see him as a monster foward that can relieve in the ruck for 20-30% of the game

Vickery is a star!