Review vs Bulldogs (5th best comeback by margin for any club, and equal best for StK)

This is pretty much it. They had 4-5 security members just standing around practically oblivious to it all. It could've got real ugly.

Glad to see supporters of either team take action against a flog like that, that kind of behaviour has no place in the stands no matter WHOM that idiot supports...

Amazing game of two halves on Saturday afternoon, that Hickey tackle on Bob Murphy was surely the start of the comeback for me, and our composure to go again in the last quarter after the bullies kicked the first two goals to bring it back out to 24 points was something I've never seen before, going to be one hell of a game when we play them again in Round 13!

Agree with this - that round 13 game will be a war. I will definitely be going for the rematch after missing this one.

At some stage in the second quarter one Doggie player had the ball across half-back, and Roo and Joey were after him, and they pointed at each other, and the Doggie player ran off, and I thought if you two want to do that you can nick off to Sandy.

How did that comeback happen? Seriously?

The first quarter was almost as important as the comeback, because their pressure was just as good, but we resisted and got two late goals.

That Dan McKenzie does some nice things.

Anybody still thinking we should have played Members and Blake? Still think we should have dropped Schneider?

Personally, I think any benefit those two kids would have gained from playing in a probable loss, the kids who did play gained more from the win. If that makes sense.

Anybody still thinking we should have played Members and Blake? Still think we should have dropped Schneider?

Personally, I think any benefit those two kids would have gained from playing in a probable loss, the kids who did play gained more from the win. If that makes sense.

Another 22 touches and a goal from Schneider. I struggle to see how people can't realise that he's actually having quite a god season (despite that bad miss last week).

And you are correct, we would have learnt so much more with a win like that then then we would have by playing kids just for the sake of playing kids.

Obviously we need to get as many games into the young blokes as possible but we also need to find the right mix.

Tend to agree with Rahul, worst thing we can do now is get ahead of ourselves. I love all the players we've picked up the last couple of drafts but we can't just assume most of the work is done.

Stick to the plan:

First pick is off limits unless it's for a gun and a pick back.

Aim for three picks inside the top 25 again.

FA's in 2016 which won't cost us any draft picks.

Follow that and we're a very good chance of sustained success for the next 8+ years. I'm all for a surge back up the ladder next year but I just this draft is too important to start taking shortcuts.

Tend to agree with Rahul, worst thing we can do now is get ahead of ourselves. I love all the players we've picked up the last couple of drafts but we can't just assume most of the work is done.

Stick to the plan:

First pick is off limits unless it's for a gun and a pick back.

Aim for three picks inside the top 25 again.

FA's in 2016 which won't cost us any draft picks.

Follow that and we're a very good chance of sustained success for the next 8+ years. I'm all for a surge back up the ladder next year but I just this draft is too important to start taking shortcuts.

no no...

I wasn't advocating that we somehow stop recruiting. I was referring to development of players. What we now have is a bunch of talented kids which means that players have to command selection from Sandy.

Fisher is likely to retire and Dempster is an unkown factor. So you have Goddard and Lee learning their craft. That leaves Roo and Joey for another few years to help the transition.

Like I said, keep drafting well... but it won't surprise if the club steps up the trades this year instead of next as was originally planned for. Some people have argued that there was no point to hit free agents or guns now because it is still too early.

I beg to differ.

The key as I see it is that some of our lesser recruits have surprised... such as Lonie, Sinclair and weller to name a few.

Also add Bruce to the mix - a revelation of sorts - and suddenly things are progressing better than expected.

This list rebuild isn't complete by a long shot, but I can see us improving quicker than first anticipated.

EDIT: re FA players..

Whilst you can see who will be available, there are no guarantees that they will leave, or that they will come to us.

So if you get a chance to grab a Sloane this year, you go for it now. Successful clubs are pro-active and not reactive.

The speed of our resurgence up the premiership ladder will be a natural consequence of the quality of performance that our youngsters put out from week to week. We should not be limiting that in any way or form by saying things like 'let's not get ahead of our selves'! If the current crop is good enough to finish top eight (not quite there IMO) then we adapt the recruiting strategy to reflect our standing in the national draft. But I am totally against the attitude we must finish bottom four for the rebuild to work!

This is me reading through the Gameday & Review threads on the Bulldogs board...

michael-jackson-eating-popcorn_6414_1.jpg

:D

Just finished watching the game yesterday night and bloody hell it was impressive, jackkkkkkky (just pick a jack because let's be honest they all killed it) is going be great!

Inspired coaching and leadership by the group.

Let's be honest we don't win that game if bontempelli wasn't injured and wasn't a late out

Don't summon the demon. Especially saying he was out when he played. Unless you were serious and meant Boyd. Also Jong has been a big addition this year and Clay Smith went down. Footy is a war of attrition.

The speed of our resurgence up the premiership ladder will be a natural consequence on from the quality of performance that our youngsters put out from week to week. We should not be limiting that in any way or form by saying things like 'let's not get ahead of our selves'! If the current crop is good enough to finish top eight (not quite there IMO) then we adapt the recruiting strategy to reflect our standing in the national draft. But I am totally against the attitude we must finish bottom four for the rebuild to work!

Especially when you can lure players like carlton has apparently approached Aish. We should be looking to get guys to the club and we need solid performance to make us an attractive destination. Carlton look set for another rebuild, we should talk Aish out of that rabble.

The speed of our resurgence up the premiership ladder will be a natural consequence on from the quality of performance that our youngsters put out from week to week. We should not be limiting that in any way or form by saying things like 'let's not get ahead of our selves'! If the current crop is good enough to finish top eight (not quite there IMO) then we adapt the recruiting strategy to reflect our standing in the national draft. But I am totally against the attitude we must finish bottom four for the rebuild to work!

So much this. well said.

So much this.

If you stay down for too long, you adapt to it. Look at Melbourne, Carlton, Richmond. They have been stuck in no mans land on the ladder for 10 years. We need to somehow leap-frog this 'land of the lost' & go from being a team that wins 5-8 games to 11+ games as quickly as possible. I would hate to become a team that consistently finishes 10th-12th with 8-10 wins. This area of the ladder as we make our way back up MUST be avoided IMO

bonts was injured wasnt he? didnt play
After reading the Bulldogs thread, I'm pretty sure that their whole team got injured 10 minutes into the 3rd quarter & all went off the ground with strained-heart muscles ;)

They cant seriously be blaming the game against Sydney. They had an extra days rest. And its not like our game against Essendon was an easy affair either

And regardless of the above, they were leading by 55 points after 4 minutes into the 3rd quarter!? How can you make excuses, other than becoming complacent & dropping your workrate, for losing a game in that way?!?!!?!

After reading the Bulldogs thread, I'm pretty sure that their whole team got injured 10 minutes into the 3rd quarter & all went off the ground with strained-heart muscles ;)

They cant seriously be blaming the game against Sydney. They had an extra days rest. And its not like our game against Essendon was an easy affair either

And regardless of the above, they were leading by 55 points after 4 minutes into the 3rd quarter!? How can you make excuses, other than becoming complacent & dropping your workrate, for losing a game in that way?!?!!?!
Mate, when you have been f**ked by the saints plenty of times especially in prelims you've gotta find excuses.

Dogs biggest mistake was their push and shove at half time led by Stringer.

Already banked the 4 points IMHO

Review vs Bulldogs (5th best comeback by margin for any club, and equal best for StK)