Review vs Bulldogs (5th best comeback by margin for any club, and equal best for StK)

Someone needs to quietly get in Lonie's ear about over-playing for a free, because once he starts he won't be able to stop.

Agree totally. Looked very bad live and only marginally better on the replay. Except for a rare few very good overacters, once you get a reputation for overplaying it the legitimate frees will drop off.

Great stuff. There IS NO BIT THAT IS NOT GOOD! I watched it again today and the beauty of the firstchalf is hearing the commentators fall over themselves to praise (correctly) the dogs when you know full well what is about to unfold!
true...true... I did watch the second. The First Q was amazing in that we resisted so well.

The other thing I noticed is that poor old Sandy Roberts (about my age I think!) just couldn't get the names right. Called Newnes Reiwoldt at one stage. Saints man as well!

Agree totally. Looked very bad live and only marginally better on the replay. Except for a rare few very good overacters, once you get a reputation for overplaying it the legitimate frees will drop off.
Re Lonie. He sledged a few Bombers last week, and I saw him get in Murphy's ear after Hickey nailed him. A bit young and new to be doing that probably. Leave it to the leaders at the club to sort I suppose.

Love Lonie though...don't get me wrong!

I was at Waverley in '99 when we were 63 up v the Hawks and lost. Finally, that's made up for it. Inspiring saints, inspiring. Seeing that today makes me realize how much I love this club. My son was born and signed up this week, got his membership card yesterday. You ****** ripper!!!!

God, I remember that game. Was listening on the radio. A horror show - the beginning of the end of Tim Watson.

Have now watched the game after I had got back home. Was in Germany on Saturday morning and have now added to the strange places i have followed or found out Saints scores. I woke up in the hotel room at about 6 and checked the score. Pretty even at about quarter time. The hotel wi-fi was very iffy and eventually I found the only place it worked properly was in the bathroom.

So I sat in there watching the scores and stats with mounting disappointment. We had to pack and get to the airport, but I kept seeing another Saints goal on my phone when I checked. Down at breakfast we had to be sociable with some other people, but the Wi-Fi worked out better down there, so I slipped away into a corner and got into the Live game site. I watched the last 5 min live in a slight state of shock.

My English non-AFL loving wife was calling me to the taxi which was all loaded up out the front. But we got to the final siren and we had it.

Wife calling me again. 'Just have to watch the song and I'll be there'. Her face was a picture. Only a Saints fan would understand!

Anyway, great days for all us Sainters, and I'm going to watch the good bits again later!

Great story. Mine is not quite as exotic, but I was at a non-Foxtel pub with friends - lots of women and kids. Brought out the phone for the last five minutes and the guys gathered round the tiny screen. My wife was horrified, but she understands that she'll never understand. I did turn it off before the song, though.

Re Lonie. He sledged a few Bombers last week, and I saw him get in Murphy's ear after Hickey nailed him. A bit young and new to be doing that probably. Leave it to the leaders at the club to sort I suppose.

Nah, sledge early and sledge often. You never stop an ebullient youngster from getting on opposition players' nerves.

You're probably right. The leaders will know if he's getting ahead of himself. If an opposition youngster did that to our Captain we'd be up in arms.

Oh yes, Stringer..... That bit him on the lemonade and sarse!

playing for frees and mouthing off- give him number 44!

I would prefer not to absorb in future. 55 points down is never a place you want to be ever!

I see the reference though

Unlike Ali, we didn't go rope-a-dope.

But I wonder if they came out deliberately to nullify our quick starts?

I also got the impression at half time that they thought the game was won.

Momentum is a funny thing.

just posted on the dogs board. while many are good honest football supporter, quite a few sure have a real victim mentality.

reall still blaming riewoldt for lakes idiocies. and the excuses for yesterday are incredible.

taking no responsibility, saints are more experienced, we have no injuries, they were tired, they went trough shit in the off season. they do not hold there team to account for a monumental and inexcusable choke of mammoth proportions.

really blaming the loss on lack of experience. wasnt billings bog by a country mile.

quite sad reading their excuses and them being victims. thank god my bulldog supporting family dont fall into that category.

if it aint broke dont fix it.
The umpires will quickly catch on and the legitimate frees will dry up. I'm not saying it's a huge issue right now, just get in his ear and tell him to play the ball and forget about the whistle. Nip this in the bud right now.

Love his endeavour and aggression, just let the frees come naturally. He's a small lad so he'll get a few from tackles slipping high etc. anyway.

Instead of Roo kicking the snags and screwing the dogs in prelims it'll now be Billings. :cool::D
The tone has been set, every time Billings sees he's playing the Dogs, he'll think "oh this mob, I outscored them in a half of football once". I didn't believe in past performances affecting current teams, until I watched South Africa play cricket. Memories come back to haunt.

Can't stop watching the highlights of the game... anyone else in the same boat as me? Bloody hell, what a win. Can't wait to see what we will turn out to be in 2-3 years. Screw the 2020 plan, let's try and make it 2017-2018! Couldn't be prouder of our sainters!

Someone needs to quietly get in Lonie's ear about over-playing for a free, because once he starts he won't be able to stop.

I agree. It's about the only thing I do not like about his style of playing. For the rest, he's been great: hard running, huge forward pressure, clean hands, good kick, nose for goaling, good teammate and 1%'s... And he's just in his first season!
But he needs to see that his overplaying of frees will soon be spotted. And once the reputation is tarnished, nothing can be done about it anymore.

The tone has been set, every time Billings sees he's playing the Dogs, he'll think "oh this mob, I outscored them in a half of football once". I didn't believe in past performances affecting current teams, until I watched South Africa play cricket. Memories come back to haunt.

On that - I'll be fascinated to see how the Dogs respond. The Saints never recovered from that loss to the Hawks, though we were at a different stage back then. The doggies fans are very comfortable with the idea that this won't haunt them and, given their youthfulness, perhaps it won't, but there's got to be some chance of lasting psychological damage. I hope it doesn't generally affect them, but if it gives them the jitters every time they play us, then I'll be more than happy.

Correct. The biggest thing it does is makes the opposition always feel they are in it. They never die off and lose easily. It will certainly cost the dogs more than just tonight as they will not be able to coast when 30 points up. I am not rebelling in this, as it terrorized me when it happened to us. But just as Freo lose energy by the last quarter, as did we under Ross, some things repeat; and the dogs will be considered by anybody they play for a long time to be able to be run down from any position.

Hey guys, congrats on the win. Always felt that with the pressure that you guys have been bringing of late that we were going to be suspect at stages being that young. I honestly didn't realize Armitage was that good and Billings really was awesome. We had no answers for them and they destroyed us.

No excuses, though, you guys were just far too good.

On a slightly sour note, you had a flog member wearing an Arsenal top abusing Doggies little kid supporters over on the wing (city side, level 1) after the game. I understand every club has there degenerates and this toothless scumbag has been reported (I was trying to go further with this low life but thankfully my other half was there to calm me down). That made me far more upset than the loss.

Never the less, all the best for the rest of the year.

Hey guys, congrats on the win. Always felt that with the pressure that you guys have been bringing of late that we were going to be suspect at stages being that young. I honestly didn't realize Armitage was that good and Billings really was awesome. We had no answers for them and they destroyed us.

On a slightly sour note, you had a flog member wearing an Arsenal top abusing Doggies little kid supporters over on the wing (city side, level 1) after the game. I understand every club has there degenerates and this toothless scumbag has been reported (I was trying to go further with this low life but thankfully my other half was there to calm me down). That made me far more upset than the loss.

Always best to report them to security. Get them kicked out and hopefully, their membership revoked. Sad to see flogs like that ruin the atmosphere for everyone else.

Don't like to hear that. Hopefully that guy will be dealt with if he can be identified. Afraid all clubs have their flog supporters. Security should have been better.

Like with Selwood or Pendles or Shuey?

If Lonie can get away with it once a week it's basically a free kick for goal. I wouldnt encourage him but I wpuldnt tell him to take it out of his kit bag just yet.

Always best to report them to security. Get them kicked out and hopefully, their membership revoked. Sad to see flogs like that ruin the atmosphere for everyone else.
Yeah, I think the security reluctantly launched him out right at the end. My mrs got all the details and I'd imagine that he'll be told where to go. I doubt you guys will miss this idiot anyway.

Don't like to hear that. Hopefully that guy will be dealt with if he can be identified. Afraid all clubs have their flog supporters. Security should have been better.
This is pretty much it. They had 4-5 security members just standing around practically oblivious to it all. It could've got real ugly.

Review vs Bulldogs (5th best comeback by margin for any club, and equal best for StK)