WA 2009 U18 Championship Squad

Would of thought Joel Houghton would be a lock at CHF at 195+. Had a slow start this season but word is this kid has got all the attributes.

I was just looking back through the squad and Busher from Perth you would think would hold down CHB. Very good player

Been watching WP and colts footy a bit this year and i know alot of the names being mentioned. Anyway a good player not in the state 18's who i think could get a late call up or be in contention is John Suckling #1 from West Perth.

He got BOG on the weekend against East Freo and racked up 23 quality disposals along with a superb goal. Got tagged heavily in the last half but he had already damaged the sharks in the first 3 quarters. Has been in the best players each week he has played so far. Got 3rd best the week against Subiaco and was chopping East Perth apart with 12 posses and a goal in the first half before being injured.

Also know alot about the kid. Yes hes small but hes super quick and very smart footballer.

His testing results were also very good. Ran 8.12 for agility, 77cm vertical standing leap, 92cm running leap and also ran a 14 beep test. Also represented WA in the Pacific School Games for the 100m and by looking on the WA athletics site, he has ran 11.3 for the 100m, 22.7 for 200m and also a 51 for the 400m.

Hes had a great start to the season but i reckon hes only not in the state 18's program due to height and size. Stands at 174cm.

Interesting to see some of the 1992 players picked im unsure if many are upto the level required. Dobson, Bormolini, Bairstow, Skinner seem interesting picks. They seem to lack talls. I dont rate Donaldson, Skinner, Polkington too highly at all.

They should be a strong side but wont be anywhere near as good as the year before but time will tell.

Has anyone else seen this number 1 from WP play lately against East freo or Subi?
What are their thoughts about him being a potential draftee?

Anthony Delborello from West Perth has been added to the squad in the last week or two, also had a very good start along with Suckling.
Thoughts on him AAFL having watched some of the games?

The bloke i am backing in Joel Houghton from the demons seems to of had a day out on the w/end.

GOALS: 6.2
MARKS: 10
KICKS: 16
H/BALLS: 2
HITOUTS: 11
IN 50: 5

Not to shabby for a big bloke.

Brad Sheppard - Attadale JFC - 23 May 1991
Really like this kid.

Redmond Dobson - Trinity - 31 January 1992

Brandon Matera - Bullcreek/Leeming JFC - 11 March 1992
Is that a Dobson that is any relation to the Dobsons that played for easts late 80s early 90s, I think?

And good to see Brandon named. Had to coach his team when were made to as a part of a club thing about 10 years ago. Was already playing up a few grades then and was pretty hyperactive and hard to tackle and get the ball off even then.

Anthony Delborello from West Perth has been added to the squad in the last week or two, also had a very good start along with Suckling.
Thoughts on him AAFL having watched some of the games?

I assume your talking about Delborello here, he is an interesting prospect with flair as a sneaky medium forward. I have heard that North Melbourne are interested. Not entirely sue though.

Just trying to make a team, not sure about all players but will try and bring it down to a 22

Travis Colyer
Ryan Neates
Kane Lucas
Brad Sheppard
Swallow
Fasolo
Duncan
Hutchings
Beswick
Brown
Luff
Morabito
Mason
Elari
Houghton
Kickett
Collica
Matera
Macdonald
Garlett
Lance Daly
J.Darling

Intersting that the state has no good CHB's or Ruckmen. I havnt really probably picked enough tall backs or rucks simply due to that i think their not upto it. Unsure about Busher, Cripps, Wilson, Weedon, L.Adams, Baristow. A few a tall backs but unsre if their upto it.

Its a solid 22, anyone want to add or subtract any players, you may have a better understanding about some of them than me.

Also interesting to see how Houghton, Darling, Daly, Foster, M.Brown and C.Luff are used up forward or down back?

AAFL since you're located in Broome would be interested to here a bit more from you about Claremont's Broome products ... Gerrick Weedon, Sonny Dann, Joel Coyne and Damien Crispin ... all have impressed on the occassions I've seen them this season.

Been watching WP and colts footy a bit this year and i know alot of the names being mentioned. Anyway a good player not in the state 18's who i think could get a late call up or be in contention is John Suckling #1 from West Perth.

He got BOG on the weekend against East Freo and racked up 23 quality disposals along with a superb goal. Got tagged heavily in the last half but he had already damaged the sharks in the first 3 quarters. Has been in the best players each week he has played so far. Got 3rd best the week against Subiaco and was chopping East Perth apart with 12 posses and a goal in the first half before being injured.

Also know alot about the kid. Yes hes small but hes super quick and very smart footballer.

His testing results were also very good. Ran 8.12 for agility, 77cm vertical standing leap, 92cm running leap and also ran a 14 beep test. Also represented WA in the Pacific School Games for the 100m and by looking on the WA athletics site, he has ran 11.3 for the 100m, 22.7 for 200m and also a 51 for the 400m.

Hes had a great start to the season but i reckon hes only not in the state 18's program due to height and size. Stands at 174cm.

Interesting to see some of the 1992 players picked im unsure if many are upto the level required. Dobson, Bormolini, Bairstow, Skinner seem interesting picks. They seem to lack talls. I dont rate Donaldson, Skinner, Polkington too highly at all.

They should be a strong side but wont be anywhere near as good as the year before but time will tell.

Has anyone else seen this number 1 from WP play lately against East freo or Subi?
What are their thoughts about him being a potential draftee?

I have watched him quite a bit this season has alot of talent.

Unfortunate his size will count against him, is tiny.

I think his best chance of being drafted is as a rookie.

John has a great attitude and works really hard, knows where he needs to improve.

He is also very familar too alot of us on bigfooty, as he is also known as DunnWellDone and posts regularly on this forum.

So John will probaly read this, so good luck with the season and I hope your good form continues.

And i hope essendon draft you mate.

Haha, now that you mention it, RE, I think AAFL = DWD (DT posts gave it away) ... a bit of shameless self promotion from him :D

Anyway, good luck this year, John ... I hope you get yourself a gig on an AFL list. I might head down to watch the Perth / West Perth colts game if I can get up in time ...

Someone Im really impressed with is Busher dont know if he is under age and can be drafted though.

Very very impressed by him and Elari from perth are there stand outs.

Busher I think will be drafted reasonally high good CHB material.

Does anyone have his age ?

PERTH DEMONS
Hayden Busher - Victoria Park JFC - 21 August 1991
Aaron Elari - Swanleigh - 24 April 1991
Joel Houghton - Huntingdale JFC - 26 November 1991
Cameron Kickett - Railways, Northam - 21 June 1991

Hope that asnwers it for it. He should be drafted this season. Surprised more people haven't been selecting him to play the CHB position in the state team. Quite funny seeing Haydn's name misspelt all the time as well.

Someone Im really impressed with is Busher dont know if he is under age and can be drafted though.

Very very impressed by him and Elari from perth are there stand outs.

Busher I think will be drafted reasonally high good CHB material.

Does anyone have his age ?

I was very tired when i made that comment, could have looked at my original thread myself lol.

Ill try make a team in positions.....could be quite hard as i don't know all the players.

FB: Wilson Luff Daly

CHB: Duncan Busher Sheppherd

C: Colyer Lucas Morabito

CHF: Mason Foster Garlett

FF: Matera Darling Brown

R: Kickett Swallow Hutchings

INT: Neates Houghton Collica Elari Winmarr

This is what I would have it at this stage, feel free to make suggestions for corrections!

Ill try make a team in positions.....could be quite hard as i don't know all the players.

FB: Wilson Luff Daly

CHB: Duncan Busher Sheppherd

C: Colyer Lucas Morabito

CHF: Mason Foster Garlett

FF: Matera Darling Brown

R: Kickett Swallow Hutchings

INT: Neates Houghton Collica Elari Winmarr

This is what I would have it at this stage, feel free to make suggestions for corrections!

brunos mate daly aint a back pocket he is 191-192 and was the leading goal kicker for the colts comp last year as a bottom year player and he missed a few games because of 18s as well where he played like 4 out of the 5 games for wa and was the teams leading goal kicker for the carnival dont know how marsh got the nod ova him for the last game in the carnival against metro

Have since found that out.......if you read my post it said dont know all players , so the last few players it came down to guessing.

Brunos23 has no idea haha

In fairness to Brunos23, Daly is playing midfield this year and seemed to spend time at half-back on the weekend.

Not sure another tallish back-pocket would be needed if Wilson takes one spot, but Daly as a mobile back pocket taking the 3rd talls isn't such a stupid idea.

I suspect that no one is planned for the back pocket spot yet. The selectors are still probably looking at the back pockets available and looking at the country kids. Remember it is still a preliminary side.

From what I've seen at last year's 16s Lloyd Skinner would have to get a gig. Outstanding tap ruckman. Has a bit of work to do around the ground but is not afraid to scrap around.
Also, big fan of Reece Conca, not flashy or anything but gets the footy and gets the job done.

WA 2009 U18 Championship Squad