WA 2009 U18 Championship Squad

Nat fyfe got a good mention in the under 18 eye catchers from jason mcartney. Took his chance well on the weekend and should cement a good spot in the position. Great developing player with freakish ability to take big marks. Likened to a Brett Burton/Dale Thomas type of player.

Another big win for WA for too good for Vic Metro.

Thats two in a row losses for Vic Metro thats probaly a first.

Very top heavy side Vic metro took into that game and badly run out of legs in the second half.

WA had a very even performance accross the board.

Some grerat match ups in this game.

Chris Luff full back on Fitzpatrick at full foward.

Well Chris gave away alot of inches but absolutely dominated this contest.

Won most of the one on ones comfortably is a great spoiler and always had the better body position.
He is a very smart footballer and used this to his advantage.(ran foward late in the game and kicked a goal, was swamped by teamates a indication of how popular he is)

Josh Toy v Kane Lucas

Best match up of the day Kane played half foward again and did well took marks and kicked classy goals.

Josh was hard at it and ran of well is a beautiful long kick.

As the day wore on Lucas got on top, he spent little 5 minute patches in the middle and he was sensational.

I was sitting next to recruiters again same ones as last game at subi, and they all commented on his field kicking saying it was way above anyone else on the field.

He did this beautiful left foot kick in the second quarter coming out of defence that set up a goal.

Late in the game Vic metro threw Toy in the centre and he gave them some real drive.

Tom Scully v Neates, Hutchings and Swallow

All three where tagging Tom at various stages.

Tom worked his arse of in this game as the hard inside boy getting the ball out, didn't get alot of kicks had a heap of quality handballs.

The WA boys where good in restricting his time so he had to get rid of it quickly, Tom had his best patch early in the second quarter where he showed his second and third efforts and got to kick the ball which showed he is a good user.

When Swallow was on him he got alot of the ball the other way.

The rucks for Vic metro where ordinary apart from Jones who was good all day and went foward in the last and took a couple of good marks.

WA used Josh Donaldson, Cameron Kickett and Joel Houghton in the ruck
they all competed well for ruck knocks but where better around the ground.

Joel Houghtons field kicking is very good.

Hayden Busher runs of very well at CHB but gets caught of his first few steps at times, once going looks at lot quicker he will need to work on that.

Brandon Matera was a classy finisher and crumber again.

Gerrick Weedon was a little disappointing looked a little lost out there though had a very good pick up and dish of in the first.

Nat Fyfe is the Xman that should be his nick name just get excited when the ball gets near him as you know something will happen, kicked about 4
goals.

Mitch Duncan was probaly best on ground worked so hard and is very physical at the contest his kicking is very good as well.

Bradley Sheppard was terrific down back ran hard all day and another who uses it well.

Travis Colyer took the game on for WA when Vic metro had there good patch grabbed the ball and ran with it.

Mark hutchings was good inside has a great handball, struggled to find space though.

Davis Swallow started HBF and provided good drive then tagged Scully to give neates a rest, then back to HBF.

Nicholas Winmar butched some kicks but was always around the contest his speed was important.

Anthony Collica had a purple patch in the last and third quarters may have finished with 4 goals.

Jack Darling had Daniel Talia on him Talia did alright early but Jack got better as the game wore on, Jack tends to do too much at times instead of just moving the ball on.

Beswick (carrot top) was very average payed mostly from the bench.

Jamie Cripps was outstanding early on in the game always turns in board and takes the harder option on his kicking.

Came of late in the second with a sore leg still came on in the second half but wasn't as good apart from one passage in the third quarter where he set up play from defence with a great kick inside the corridor.

Anthony Morabito had noone on him all day and was terrible in the first half hardly touched it.

I think he was playing on Jordan Gysberts who was very good in first half, they played very wide of each other.

His second half by Morabito was very good he took the game on and ran and carried the footy; should of kicked better at goal and not passed of so much.

There is alot to like about his game just needs to settle on goal better.

Blayne Wilson had a very good game his best for the championships so far,
took some very good marks in the defensive 50.

Thats about it for now will had some more thoughts later of to the WAFL.

Cheers RE

Went down to the game for the hell of it, with a real lack of knowledge of all the players that were playing but you can really tell which players are just miles ahead of the others. Moro, Lucas and Swallow for example just stand out straight away. I thought Darling a pretty good, not too sure if he was playing as the CHF or just as a flanker but could be a late pick up.

Brandon Matera is a pure seagull but does it pretty well. In the end a dominating win for WA. Also who was 33 for Vic Metros, honestly the bloke spent 3/4 of the game on the bench and pretty much seemed like the 1 tall to many for them

Went down to the game for the hell of it, with a real lack of knowledge of all the players that were playing but you can really tell which players are just miles ahead of the others. Moro, Lucas and Swallow for example just stand out straight away. I thought Darling a pretty good, not too sure if he was playing as the CHF or just as a flanker but could be a late pick up.

Brandon Matera is a pure seagull but does it pretty well. In the end a dominating win for WA. Also who was 33 for Vic Metros, honestly the bloke spent 3/4 of the game on the bench and pretty much seemed like the 1 tall to many for them

Darling is not draftable this year - will go to the Gold Coast almost certainly next year.

Any news on Matera being in a car accident last week?
Or is that just a rumour, apparently he is luck to be alive, let alone playing.

Nat fyfe got a good mention in the under 18 eye catchers from jason mcartney. Took his chance well on the weekend and should cement a good spot in the position. Great developing player with freakish ability to take big marks. Likened to a Brett Burton/Dale Thomas type of player.

Yer probably a good comparison with Burton and Thomas...

little bit taller than Thomas but.....

interested to here what others have to say on the kid

Also went to the game and i thought that B.Wilson was BOG he stood out a fiar bit and was playing down at CHB. He took a ripper one hander and i rekcon his disposal wouldve been close to 100% efficient. Very good for a tall fella.

I also thought Lucas was great today along with his buddy Duncan. They both showed their class against a quality side today and stood out. I saw that left foot kick by Lucas he definitly has very good foot and hand skills which may make him the number 3 pick.

Morabito was again very good, he stands out heaps. He doesnt need to get 30 posses to stand out. He gains about 80 metres every time he gets the pill. Runs 30m and kicks 50m. Hes a very good kick although can miss kick them a bit. I would think hes got the most upside of any player in this years draft. Scully included.

The 2 players that stood out for VIC M were Scully and Toy and also the blond kid i think he was number 34. Had an okay game.

Their wernt many of them for VIC M, not many others stood out. Scully was just dynamic around stoppagers. He reminds me of S.Black except with Judd like toe. Hes not super quick i here but he looks quicker on the field.

Toy is full of class and next year he will look at a top 3 pick with Darling and Swallow (both very good again). Toy never got beaten and just looked easy for him at their. He was pivotal in the guts, his wide hips and strong frame make him hard to beat in any situation. As Mcartney said he could play AFL next week and do well.

Darling was awesome today, he ran down so many players i couldnt count. For a 191cm CHF type player thats one fine effort. Its hard to know if he is the CHF of the sid. He is playing as a power forward. With Lucas and Duncan on the flanks they have quite some height across HF. All these 3 boys are used when wa move the footy forward.

Matera had a car accident on Wednesday and came out and kicked 4 goals. He was dominant and jack gifted him 3 goals that he couldve easily of kicked himself. Hes very unslefish (Jack) and that would also catch the scouts eyes. Matera didnt stand otu but he is all class and to play was an achievment for him after the accident let alone kick 4.

Collica kicked 3 but i dont rate him. Is having an avg year and seems to be not making many improvments.

Fyfe, im pretty sure his name is NAT FYFE. They are yet to get this right on the AFL site. Hes kicked 7 in 2 games i dont think that wouldve been done by many in the championships yet. He plays in the goals square deep and doesnt move out of the 25m much. Houghton is the lead up forward while Fyfe site goal square. He also got 20 posses and 3 goals against NT the week before. He was playing 3rds in year 11 at Aquinas shows how much improvment he has made. Struggled to play consistantly in the 2nds. Year 12 was when he got to play 1st and he wasnt anything special but he is improving quicker than anyone else.

Besides those players mentioned their wernt many other that were standouts. Sheppard and Swallow were good contributors without being awesome. Swallow is quality and is a certainty for HBF in AA side. The HBF side could be all WA (Sheppard, Wilson, Swallow) would think Toy would also be a certainty so Sheppard may miss out. Toy may get the BP spot though.

Fyfe, im pretty sure his name is NAT FYFE. They are yet to get this right on the AFL site. Hes kicked 7 in 2 games i dont think that wouldve been done by many in the championships yet. He plays in the goals square deep and doesnt move out of the 25m much. Houghton is the lead up forward while Fyfe site goal square. He also got 20 posses and 3 goals against NT the week before. He was playing 3rds in year 11 at Aquinas shows how much improvment he has made. Struggled to play consistantly in the 2nds. Year 12 was when he got to play 1st and he wasnt anything special but he is improving quicker than anyone else.

He was easily Aquinas's best player last year......dont know who you were watching

Team squad from WA U18s heading to Melbourne.

Aaron Elari
Anthony Collica
Anthony Morabito
Blayne Wilson
Bradley Sheppard
Brandon Matera
Chris Luff
Clinton Garlett
Damian Hayward
David Swallow
Dean Beswick
Haydn Busher
Jack Darling
Jamie Cripps
Joel Houghton
Josh Donaldson
Kane Lucas
Lloyd Skinner
Mark Hutchings
Mitch Duncan
Nat Fyfe
Nicholas Winmar
Rhett Mason
Ryan Neates
Travis Colyer

Any surprises in here?

Aaron Elari
Anthony Collica
Anthony Morabito
Blayne Wilson
Bradley Sheppard
Brandon Matera
Chris Luff
Clinton Garlett
Damian Hayward
David Swallow
Dean Beswick
Haydn Busher
Jack Darling
Jamie Cripps
Joel Houghton
Josh Donaldson
Kane Lucas
Lloyd Skinner
Mark Hutchings
Mitch Duncan
Nat Fyfe
Nicholas Winmar
Rhett Mason
Ryan Neates
Travis Colyer

Bolded are the ones i would very well consider for Westcoast in this years draft.

Kane Lucas is by far the best player eligible for this year in this squad

I tend to agree, would be higher than Morabito on peoples lists if he was playing through the middle allot more. Ultimately that would be at the expense of someone else getting drafted from Western Australia.

Aaron Elari
Anthony Collica
Anthony Morabito
Blayne Wilson
Bradley Sheppard
Brandon Matera
Chris Luff
Clinton Garlett
Damian Hayward
David Swallow
Dean Beswick
Haydn Busher
Jack Darling
Jamie Cripps
Joel Houghton
Josh Donaldson
Kane Lucas
Lloyd Skinner
Mark Hutchings
Mitch Duncan
Nat Fyfe
Nicholas Winmar
Rhett Mason
Ryan Neates
Travis Colyer

Any surprises in here?

Cameron Kickett missing out, though I dont think he's gotten over that thigh injury that resctricted him last game against metro.

Aaron Elari suprised he's traveling with the team.

Bolded are the ones i would very well consider for Westcoast in this years draft.

Like that list EH would only add Nicholas Winmar think he could be a late 4th round above pick up.

As for Cameron Kickett think he will definately be around for a rookie choice especialy since we will have pick 2 in the rookie draft.

So how many WA boys will get picked up in the draft this year?

10+, 15+?

How many live picks do people think there will be?

I tend to agree, would be higher than Morabito on peoples lists if he was playing through the middle allot more. Ultimately that would be at the expense of someone else getting drafted from Western Australia.[/QUOTE]

Yes, hes been playing at half forward to give others like colyer, duncan, neates and hutchings a go through the midfield which could work in his favour showing recruiters his overhead marking and goal kicking.

So how many WA boys will get picked up in the draft this year?

10+, 15+?

How many live picks do people think there will be?

I've just finished going through the WA tapes, and for a side that's dominated, I'm not sure there are going to be a heap of draftees in November.

Basically, I think they're getting great service from the underagers in Swallow, Draling, Matera, Wilson and Cripps and the the draft age kids are fairly developed relative to their opponents. So I think that limits the draftable talent somewhat.

Lucas, Duncan and Morabito all look like clear first rounders to me. Lucas is probably the best kick in the draft and with kicking at such a premium, I can't see him slipping out of the top 5 at the moment. I think Anthony Morabito's going to hold a lot of appeal to West Coast and Freo; he's born to play at Subiaco. If Mitch Duncan's class doesn't put him in the top 10, it won't put him far out of it.

Brad Sheppard's probably in the next class in that he's not quite as noticable, but he's strong athketically, has good skills and has discipline. I'd be looking at him somewhere in the top 25.

Behind those four, I think Mark Hutchings and Travis Colyer are very likely selections, I'm just not really sure where yet. Hutchings is still proving he's got more than a developed body that he can be effective with and Colyer's still proving that his ability makes up for his height. I think both will go, but how high is very hard to say just yet.

I think Joel Houghton is a very likely selection, but so far he's drifted in and out and that needs to be worked on. He's a good size, has a good frame, his positioning is good and skills are up to it, and that alone will probably be good enough, but he's a guy that should be having more of an impact than he is. A good turn out at Casey and at the Dome could see his stocks rise massively.

After them, I'm not sure there's a sure thing, or a pretty sure thing. Winmar's got talent, and he can really run the ball, his height's good as well, but there are times when you notice just how raw a talent he is. Nat Fyfe's very damaging when he gets it, and he's one of those guys that just naturally kicks goals, but he needs to start getting it a bit more. Chris Luff's been outstanding at Full Back, and is a reasonable size, but I'm not sure of his athleticism, I'll be waiting and seeing with him. Cameron Kickett's another that could be around the mark, but I haven't seen in the games so far what he's said to be able to do. He's certainly not a ruckman, so I'm not sure about the logic of using him there. Anthony Collica probably rounds off the group. He's quick and skillful, but he's short and I don't think he's got the ability of a guy like Travis Colyer.

Guys like Donaldson, Busher, Elari and Mason don't look likely types at all to me, but I won't throw their names out just yet.

Right now I'd be saying at least 7 but, from this squad, probably no more than 12.

As for the amount of live picks, I think we're looking at somewhere around the 60 mark, possibly less. I can't see many teams using more than 4 picks, and I think a fair few will use just the 3. It's not a strong draft whatsoever.

Remember playing against Nat Fyfe.
Has he put much muscle on, or is he still thin?

I really like him as a player, had one of the best pair of hands in the PSA last year.
Would he be available as a rookie pick?

Nat Fyfe's very damaging when he gets it, and he's one of those guys that just naturally kicks goals, but he needs to start getting it a bit more. Chris Luff's been outstanding at Full Back, and is a reasonable size, but I'm not sure of his athleticism, I'll be waiting and seeing with him.

Fyfe had 23 against NT and kicked 3 goals......to me that is quite abit as a permanent foward!

Luff is very tall and has great athleticism and I would be very surprised if he is not picked up.

I believe Rhett Mason will go as a rookie......he is a player that just seeems to stand out with his freakish skills....not un alike Fyfe in many ways. Very good one on one

Nat Fyfe's very damaging when he gets it, and he's one of those guys that just naturally kicks goals, but he needs to start getting it a bit more. Chris Luff's been outstanding at Full Back, and is a reasonable size, but I'm not sure of his athleticism, I'll be waiting and seeing with him.

Fyfe had 23 against NT and kicked 3 goals......to me that is quite abit as a permanent foward!

Luff is very tall and has great athleticism and I would be very surprised if he is not picked up.

I believe Rhett Mason will go as a rookie......he is a player that just seeems to stand out with his freakish skills....not un alike Fyfe in many ways. Very good one on one

Agree strongly with you there Brunos23.

Luff is just a very smart footballer, the way he cuts the angles, zones back and his timing on spoils and positioning.

I think he reads the play better than most and that gives him that extra half a second he needs to get to the right spots.

Rhett Mason is another good kid played some great colts footy, was injuried in the trial game at medibank and has struggled to get back in the side.

Mitch Brown is another Peel KP who has talent just missed out on the main squad.

He would be a great rookie pick up for Freo who need more kp stocks.

I have alot of time for him.

Nat Fyfe been pushing him for a little while now I want WCE to draft him, just oozes Xfactor.
He gets the footy and something good always happens, and is a good finisher.

He would play alot of good footy at Subi, be a great later pick up for WCE or Freo.

I also highly rate Travis Colyer, his speed and his consistency at claremont is a major plus for him. think he would be a good pick up from picks 30-50

Does anyone think anyone from outside the WA 18s squad can get drafted from WA?

WA 2009 U18 Championship Squad