WA Watch - Who you'll see come draft day

I wouldn't mind Naitanui and Rich. The tank is on.:thumbsu:

Poor form mate :thumbsdown:

And its news to me Yarran would be going so low. I have heard many sources have him pretty high up the order.
I'd also say Tom Swift will be a player who many people have reserved judgment on due to injury but will certainly feature early on in the draft if his under 16 form continues through to the 18s this year.

And its news to me Yarran would be going so low. I have heard many sources have him pretty high up the order.
I'd also say Tom Swift will be a player who many people have reserved judgment on due to injury but will certainly feature early on in the draft if his under 16 form continues through to the 18s this year.

I'm praying that we win four games this year. Winning between 5-10 would be a bad result.

General concensus is that he'll go high. But for some reason i see him slipping (well ok slipping alot). I guess its the midget disease :D

I'd expect him to dominate at this years championships. Will also be keen to see how DeBoer goes this year as well.
Well he is proforming very well so far, boarder-line dominant even. Some even consider him as a smokey for the Sandover.

You would think that if he went close to winning the Sandover, then he'll walk away with the Larke without a sweat.

General concensus is that he'll go high. But for some reason i see him slipping (well ok slipping alot). I guess its the midget disease :D

Well he is proforming very well so far, boarder-line dominant even. Some even consider him as a smokey for the Sandover.
You would think that if he went close to winning the Sandover, then he'll walk away with the Larke without a sweat.

Great to see him in some early form then. Just one thing on Rich though, and you'll have to excuse my ignorance on this if it is a stupid question, but does he win his own ball. Most of the time I have seen him, he has been on the end of a handball receive, mainly from Masten.

Prob one of the most successful players ever.
Multiple times premiers with Sorrento Duncraig (Juniors)
State Champs
WAFL Champs

Who ever drafts him with probaly become instant premiers. lol. Nah he hasnt/hasnt shown regularly that he can win his own ball because he hasnt had to. You would think that if he needs to, he will find his own ball because he can find space and read the play that much better than anyone else.

Have you seen him this year j_L? I'll look closely on Saturday, but I don't reckon he's only 179 any more. Was talking to an East Freo colts player who must've played against him pre-season because he reckoned he had gotten a lot bigger. Didn't clarify the comment because he sure has gotten broader, so that may be what he meant. Hopefully he kicks another 5+ for us this week end!:thumbsu:

Surely does. As j_L says, he reads the ball better than most. Last Fri night was watching Subi v Clmt and the ball was kicked to the HFF and he just sliced through the pack and banged it through from 50, but he went through the middle of the pack.

I've seen most of the ones mentioned through junior footy over an extended period, though not the Swans' young'uns. Good judge who is WA rep for an ES AFL side, says Naitanui will be a cult player in his first year, not just for the way he plays footy. Someone else did tell me his disposal is below the standard he otherwise sets.
I've said for a couple of years that Matt de Boer is the best I've seen in the relevant age group (ie 1990 born, turning 18YO in 2008). Good size (6'3"ish?), quick, smart, knows how to get it and what to do with it.
Haven't seen as much of Tom Swift as he missed 2007 with the knee reco. Saw a bit in 2006 when he looked tired and wasn't overimpressive to me, but good judges who've seen both, rate Swift highly. Noticed Swift put the year off to good use and finished top 10 or so in the TEE so he may have plenty of non-footy options also.
Rich has a lot going for him (long, deadly accurate kick off a step), but has a few minuses (left sidedness - which the kicking covers to an extent) and perhaps just lacks a bit of size and body strength (although seems quite strong in hips and legs). But when he's been manned up in junior footy (and I'm talking about one-on-one by a very good player, no crapola) there's a little bit of temperament on display occasionally.
Stephen Hill is a good call by one poster, comes out of Quinns juniors but been in WP colts for a couple of years now. Suffered a bit early I think from being in weak teams with lack of coaching (only game plan: kick it to Stephen) but whereas the above poster called him skinny, I would have said wiry strength and this kid has a big motor. Left footed from memory but capable on the right (cf Rich). If I had to pick an existing AFL player he most resembles, I'd probably say Jared Brennan. Big call, I know, but ...
A player I've always considered right up there from early juniors is Rob Scantlebury from the same junior club as Rich. Foot and hand skills on both sides and moves with radar in heavy traffic (a little bit Dean Kempish). Reads it, gets it and damages with his use of it. Good judges say he's a little bit slow foot speed-wise, but I think that matters less when you've got it a lot. Still, foot speed is important at the higher levels when the other lot have the footy.
Adam Cockie is a young gun who's been a bit overlooked somehow. What that's done is allowed him to show the work ethic that's keeping him improving all the time.
A player I've not seen for a couple of years but at say 15/16 was a player who looked to have the lot was Matthew McCagh (that might not be quite right) who left Kingsley for I think I heard Ballajura way. I also recall that he was a state rep in union and at the age I last saw him, heard he was playing union on Sats as well as footy on Suns. He'd run the Sun game out too. Might have been lost to the other game perhaps.
Another good 18YO who I saw a fair bit of in PSA footy was Warren Benjamin, whose very quick 2 years older brother spent his first year at Carlton in 2007 - haven't heard much since. I think Warren might be in Claremont's colts system at the moment, and he would be one to keep a close watch on. Not out of place in any of the above company.

Prob one of the most successful players ever.
Multiple times premiers with Sorrento Duncraig (Juniors)
State Champs
WAFL Champs

Who ever drafts him with probaly become instant premiers. lol. Nah he hasnt/hasnt shown regularly that he can win his own ball because he hasnt had to. You would think that if he needs to, he will find his own ball because he can find space and read the play that much better than anyone else.

Surely does. As j_L says, he reads the ball better than most. Last Fri night was watching Subi v Clmt and the ball was kicked to the HFF and he just sliced through the pack and banged it through from 50, but he went through the middle of the pack.

Thanks guys. Living in Melbourne makes it hard to see these guys on a regular basis. Very much looking forward to the champs this year.

Damon Starkey from Swans was evidently playing league (SWFL) in Bunbury at 15 years of age. They reckon he's good enough. I've yet to see him play so when I do I'll let you know.

Haha, this guy is an ab____e joker. Training ethic seems somewhat dead but games wise he seems okay but not a talent that would be appearing in teh draft anytime soon.
Very hard at the ball done a few good things but in no means is he talented enough to be drafted.

Few AIS guys from WA that may feautre in this years draft very late becuase there still quite young but the likes of Michael Walters and Kieren King.. they should feature in there...

yer i seen him in the colts game vs Swans
He done pretty good, he was playing on the half backline
Couldn't really elaborate much on his performance as the weather was an absolute joke so it was pretty scrapy from most.

Haha, this guy is an ab____e joker. Training ethic seems somewhat dead but games wise he seems okay but not a talent that would be appearing in teh draft anytime soon.
Very hard at the ball done a few good things but in no means is he talented enough to be drafted.

Few AIS guys from WA that may feautre in this years draft very late becuase there still quite young but the likes of Michael Walters and Kieren King.. they should feature in there...

Yep, see what you mean. Is hard at it but seems the old fashioned keep the ball in front, bullock style player, not that there's anything wrong with that!

Thought Michael Walters was really good last year in the colts.

Neville Jetta was alright on Saturday in that weather Robbo. Wasn't overly impressed with Swift, was looking for him, but he seemed to be walking around away from the contest most of the time. You are right, the weather was a joke so I shouldn't judge him on that game.

Yarran form Swan Districts is pressing his claim for a top 5 spot at the moment.

Two BOG's from as many games, a standout in the wet and has all the tools. Silky ball use and a strong body.

Did anyone head along to the game before the Eagles match this week, I saw the second half only and Cane Lucas was a standout, too young for this years draft but a very likely type for 09's draft.

Yarran form Swan Districts is pressing his claim for a top 5 spot at the moment.

Two BOG's from as many games, a standout in the wet and has all the tools. Silky ball use and a strong body.

Did anyone head along to the game before the Eagles match this week, I saw the second half only and Cane Lucas was a standout, too young for this years draft but a very likely type for 09's draft.

Shhhh, keep it quiet. But, in all seriousness, his body is strong this year, someone obviously had him on a weights programme over summer.

Yep, see what you mean. Is hard at it but seems the old fashioned keep the ball in front, bullock style player, not that there's anything wrong with that!

Thought Michael Walters was really good last year in the colts.

Neville Jetta was alright on Saturday in that weather Robbo. Wasn't overly impressed with Swift, was looking for him, but he seemed to be walking around away from the contest most of the time. You are right, the weather was a joke so I shouldn't judge him on that game.

Yer neville Jetta he is staring this season, doesn't train with the colts boys but comes down for the games from bunbury, i mean first game of the year he got BOG, in the wet rnd 3 he looked good, was hot early on but then started to get tagged that slowed him down a little, i was talking to him and aparantly hes never been tagged before but i suppose over time he will learn to play with a tagger and just get better

he is one we should look at, wont be very high but he should get drafted looks the part, very physical hard at the ball, very strong for his size and yer crazy really.

Has any one heard of Stephen Hill or John Gooch ? They played for my bro's junior team and now play for west perth colts. Hopefully they get a senior call-up( if it's possible) and possibly could get picked up in the draft or rookie-draft !

Keep away from him as he wants to be a Swan and we could certainly use him :D

He already is a Swan, just the black and white variety here in Perth!

WA Watch - Who you'll see come draft day