Toast WC & The Booing

Jul 10, 2012
Manchester City, Lakers
What are your thoughts on it? Do you like it? Little embarrassed by it? Proud of it?

Personally, I think it's great that we have managed to create a collective energy that influences umpires and can turn momentum in games. It has angered me in the past that opposition supporters continue to call us dimwits, bogans, flogs because of it, but I think its time we just embrace it and be proud that we bring the energy to the game.

Thoughts?

Im all for it.

Ive said it before - we don't want opposition players to feel comfortable here. They're deep behind enemy lines, and they should feel like it. Our booing should create a wall of sound that erodes their mental barricades, making them more likely to miss a set shot, drop a mark or hear footsteps when in possession.

Similarly, if the booing drowns out opposition cheer squads then the opposing side doesn't get that mental benefit and lift when they're on top. Opposition sides don't get to "cruise" when they're in Perth - they should feel like every point is crucial, ever possession is under perceived pressure and every mistake they make is game-defining.

If everyone else bleats about our hostile atmosphere then I say let them - that means its working. When one of the Scott brothers had a cry on TV a few years ago about "never taking his family to Subiaco" he basically admitted that the crowd was inside his head that night. If our booing can mentally tax even head coaches, then why wouldn't we do it?

To be honest, every side does it. I go to quite a few freo games as my family have loads of memberships o_O, they are worse than us.
I think it's because we pretty much fill our seats most games and it sounds louder because of it..
Exactly! Also in any event it's all part of the theatre - I love it:)- in most cases anyway it's at the umpires decisions or lack thereof and of course this is open to interpretation.

If we were any other club it wouldn’t be remotely talked about. Every club does it, the boo that you get at the MCG when a Victorian team isn’t getting their way is extraordinarily loud.

It’s another thing for Victorians to try and negatively label us for and we’ve now taken it as a badge of honour. They’re scared of how well we play and how engaged our crowd has become.

All supporters Boo, I heard plenty of it on the telecast for Richmond v Hawks. I'm all for it.

I've noticed that Simmo and the players acknowledged the crowd atmosphere a few times in interviews following the game. You never know if it's a genuine help to them or if it's just a way to encourage attendance, but I plan to keep turning up and letting the umps know what I think about inconsistent calls!

If the opposition supports are bitching about it , then it means it’s annoying them...... all the more reason to boo louder and with more passion.

At every game one side boos while the other cheers. Its part of the game and I for one absolutely love it.

Anyone who hates it needs to put the dummy back in their mouth.

The more they whinge about it the more the crowd will do it. Most probably boo now because they know how much it annoys the opposition fans, media and VFL. It's become our "thing". Let's embrace it. :)

B87A6F3C-06D0-42A4-8ED6-5F7405157DED.jpeg

Used to follow this idiot because he had some decent tweets while back but he’s been dribbling on about our crowd and club in general for a while. I hope the spud hasn’t seen the news about the pies fans fighting and spitting at Eagles fans.

i love love love it.... concur with most of what has been said above.

my brother in law is born and bred in Perth, but supports Hawthorn, him and his other Hawthorn mate reckon West Coast supporters are the only supporters that boo opposition players when they shoot for goals. These people are fricken hilarious, absolute snowflakes that cant deal with the fact that their pissant team is unable to ever draw a crowd with the ability to make any nose audible on tv.

They are also happy to tell you that West Coast supporters know nothing about football, but because they have a Hawthorn hawk tattooed on their leg they have a superior knowledge on all things football

They'll make up anything to talk about as long as they don't have to talk about the Eagles winning games of footy. White noise.

Toast WC & The Booing