Competitions WCE Board Mock Draft 2023

Draft Order and Selections

ROUND 1 :

1. West Coast - Harley Reid
2. Gold Coast - Jed Walter (Matched bid)
3. North Melbourne - Colby McKercher
4. North Melbourne - Zane Duursma
5. Hawthorn - Connor O’Sullivan
6. Western Bulldogs - Ryley Sanders
7. Melbourne - Daniel Curtin
8. Gold Coast - Ethan Read (Matched bid)
9. GWS - Nick Watson
10. Western Bulldogs - Jordan Croft (Matched bid)
11. Gold Coast - Jake Rogers (Matched bid)
12. Geelong - Nate Caddy
13. Essendon - Ollie Murphy
14. Adelaide - Darcy Wilson
15. Melbourne - James Leake
16. Hawthorn- Will McCabe (Matched bid)
17. Sydney - Archer Reid
18. St Kilda - Caleb Windsor
19. Adelaide - Arie Schoenmaker
20. North Melbourne - Will Green
21. GWS - Harry DeMattia
22. North Melbourne - Lance Collard
23. North Melbourne - Riley Hardeman
24. Collingwood - Charlie Edwards
25. Adelaide - Taylor Goad
26. St Kilda - Ashton Moir
27. Carlton - Koltyn Tholstrup

ROUND 2 :

28. West Coast - Zane Zakostelsky
24. Gold Coast Matched bid
29. Geelong - Archie Roberts
26. Gold Coast Matched bid
27. Gold Coast Matched bid
30. Carlton - Tew Jiath
31. Richmond - Will Patton
32. Brisbane - Caidyn Cleary (Bid not matched)
33. Essendon - Mitch Edwards
30. Gold Coast Matched bid
35. Gold Coast - Will Graham (Matched bid)
35. Collingwood - Angus Hastie
36. Fremantle - Phoenix Gothard
37. Essendon - Jack Delean
34. Gold Coast Matched bid
38. West Coast - Cooper Simpson
36. Gold Coast Matched bid
39. Brisbane - Joel Freijah
40. St Kilda - Luke Lloyd
39. Gold Coast (surplus from Read bid) Matched bid
41. Richmond - Charlie McCormack (Bid not matched)
41. Gold Coast (traded from Melbourne) Matched bid
42. Western Bulldogs - Luamon Lual (Matched bid)
43. GWS - Billy Wilson

ROUND 3 :

41. Hawthorn Matched bid
44. Sydney - Koen Sanchez
45. Fremantle - Logan Morris
44. Hawthorn Matched bid
45. Western Bulldogs Matched bid
45. Hawthorn Matched bid
47. Western Bulldogs Matched bid
46. Brisbane - Riley Weatherill
49. Western Bulldogs Matched bid
50. Western Bulldogs Matched bid
47. Sydney - Wil Dawson
47. Western Bulldogs Matched bid
48. North Melbourne - Liam Fawcett
49. West Coast - Lachie Charleson
50. Fremantle - Nathan Philactides

ROUND 4 :

51. Carlton - Joe Fonti
52. Port Adelaide - Kane McAuliffe
53. Hawthorn (surplus from McCabe bid) - Clay Hall
54. Geelong - Kade De La Rue

ROUND 5 :

55. West Coast - Shaun Mannagh
56. Geelong Harvey Johnstone
57. St Kilda - George Stevens
58. Geelong - Pass

ROUND 6 :

59. St Kilda - Will Lorenz
60. Port Adelaide - Bodie Ryan
61. Western Bulldogs
62. Melbourne (traded from Gold Coast)
62. Gold Coast Matched bid
63. Western Bulldogs - Pass
64. Western Bulldogs - Pass
65. Gold Coast Matched bid
66. Gold Coast Matched bid
65. Hawthorn - Pass
66. Gold Coast - Pass
67. Gold Coast - Pass

NB: I have removed picks that clubs aren’t going to use based on Cal Twomey’s analysis of how many selections each club is expected to make

Wicked name that

sounds like a stripper though

Best name in the draft

Parents clearly have a sense of humour- surname is Gothard then name your son something synonymous with rising

Any deficit gets deducted from the points value of their first pick next year. At worst their R1 pick would get moved back one spot but at just 52 points it likely doesn’t make a difference. So it just gets washed away

But I could have that wrong
Deficit comes off the future pick in the same round the bid was made.

Seeing as the bid was made in the second round, the deficit will come off Gold Coast’s future second round pick.

If Gold Coast don’t hold a future second round pick, the deficit will come off their next pick, future round 3 or future round 4.

Deficits are deducted and adjusted picks and draft order announced two days before the future trade period begins.

Essendon selects Jack Delean. Delean is a natural footballer who knows how to put the ball in the back of the net. Essendon fans may prefer a midfielder like Freijah or Hall here but they are Essendon fans so screw em.

STRENGTHS:

• Aerial ability
  • Clean hands
  • Forward craft
  • Goal sense
  • X-factor

IMPROVEMENTS:

• Accumulation
  • Endurance
  • Speed

Delean presents a challenging match up because he has such a variety of ways that he can beat his opponent. He possesses a great understanding of where the space is inside 50 and times his leads well to create separation from his defender. He's not afraid to leap at the football and his sticky hands allow him to complete marks, even when under strong defensive pressure.

The formidable combination of clean hands and strong aerial ability have led to a number of highlights across his junior career and have helped Delean become one of the better contested marks for his size.

A capable set shot goal kicker, Delean generally makes the most of his opportunities when they present themselves. He doesn't need to see much of the ball to have an impact on the game and has a habit of making something happen when the ball is in his vicinity.

Despite his aerial exploits, Delean is equally capable when the ball hits the deck. He's clean below his knees, gets the ball to his foot quickly and just knows exactly where the goals are at all times.

A genuine goalscoring threat anywhere inside 50, Delean seemingly converts a goal with a high degree of difficulty almost every game. He saved some of his best for the Under 18 National Championships, including a cracker against Vic Country at IKON Park.

Delean could elevate himself in the eyes of recruiters if he can demonstrate an improved speed and endurance base. Typically a low-possession player, Delean would benefit from developing his versatility and the capacity to push further up the ground to involve himself in the contest when he's getting limited looks inside forward 50.

Carbine Chaos

Essendon selects Jack Delean. Delean is a natural footballer who knows how to put the ball in the back of the net. Essendon fans may prefer a midfielder like Freijah or Hall here but they are Essendon fans so screw em.

STRENGTHS:

• Aerial ability
  • Clean hands
  • Forward craft
  • Goal sense
  • X-factor

IMPROVEMENTS:

• Accumulation
  • Endurance
  • Speed

Delean presents a challenging match up because he has such a variety of ways that he can beat his opponent. He possesses a great understanding of where the space is inside 50 and times his leads well to create separation from his defender. He's not afraid to leap at the football and his sticky hands allow him to complete marks, even when under strong defensive pressure.

The formidable combination of clean hands and strong aerial ability have led to a number of highlights across his junior career and have helped Delean become one of the better contested marks for his size.

A capable set shot goal kicker, Delean generally makes the most of his opportunities when they present themselves. He doesn't need to see much of the ball to have an impact on the game and has a habit of making something happen when the ball is in his vicinity.

Despite his aerial exploits, Delean is equally capable when the ball hits the deck. He's clean below his knees, gets the ball to his foot quickly and just knows exactly where the goals are at all times.

A genuine goalscoring threat anywhere inside 50, Delean seemingly converts a goal with a high degree of difficulty almost every game. He saved some of his best for the Under 18 National Championships, including a cracker against Vic Country at IKON Park.

Delean could elevate himself in the eyes of recruiters if he can demonstrate an improved speed and endurance base. Typically a low-possession player, Delean would benefit from developing his versatility and the capacity to push further up the ground to involve himself in the contest when he's getting limited looks inside forward 50.

Carbine Chaos
Absolute slider here. I can't believe you nuffies are all asleep at the wheel

Tossing up between two players here, neither of which I think will be on the board come my next selection.

But I'd rather prioritise midfield depth than other areas of the ground (one of which I hope I can cover with my next selection if my backup option for that position slides). I'm assuming the player I've overlooked here will go in the next 2 picks, and will be a good player.

With that in mind, West Coast take COOPER SIMPSON. Bit underrated due to an injury-affected overage season IMO. Reminds me a lot of Shuey, Zorko.

Will do a full write up after work.

I think it's AsterixTheGaul

Tossing up between two players here, neither of which I think will be on the board come my next selection.

But I'd rather prioritise midfield depth than other areas of the ground (one of which I hope I can cover with my next selection if my second option slides). I'm assuming the player I've overlooked here will go in the next 2 picks, and will be a good player.

With that in mind, West Coast take COOPER SIMPSON. Bit underrated due to an injury-affective overage season IMO. Reminds me a lot of Shuey, Zorko.

Great pick mate.

But I'd rather prioritise midfield depth than other areas of the ground (one of which I hope I can cover with my next selection if my second option slides). I'm assuming the player I've overlooked here will go in the next 2 picks, and will be a good player.

With that in mind, West Coast take COOPER SIMPSON. Bit underrated due to an injury-affected overage season IMO. Reminds me a lot of Shuey, Zorko.

Simpson, eh?

Not taking Cleary could be another Dunkley moment for Swans, but he's a type the Swans have plenty of already so felt if he lasted to 35 I'd match.

I'm needs shopping for Swans.
I think the Swans will match a bid for him even though he’s not a need but too good to refuse. Gives them trade options for a midfielder to leave in the future.

With pick 39, Lions go for some outside run and carry with Joel Freijah

1699231681787.png

Rationale - Lions need speed and this Vic Country lad delivers on this front. With enough on the inside to win the contested ball, I see Joel as being a great pick and one that would complement an already high end midfield and this just adds to it.

Mop - over to you

STRENGTHS:

• Footy IQ
  • Forward craft
  • Leading patterns
  • Marking
  • Scoreboard impact

IMPROVEMENTS:

• Ground balls
  • Speed

One of the most appealing factors when looking at Lloyd's footballing profile is his ability to impact heavily as both a link up half-forward, or as a target when playing closer to goal. In either role, the way he utilises his skill set so damagingly but differently is impressive.

As a link up option further afield, Lloyd’s consistent movement forward of the ball makes him difficult for an individual opponent to track and shut down, able to get free in space purely through work rate and footy IQ to be an option for his teammates coming out of the defensive half.

When kicked to, he holds his marks well even when an opponent makes heavy contact. Lloyd’s ball use heading forward from further up the field is pretty handy as well, particularly effective with his weighting of disposals to ensure teammates don’t have to break stride to meet the ball in the air.

When positioned closer to goal, Lloyd is still generally moving around to be in best position to lead for the ball, using his forward craft and footy IQ to lead to the right spots at the right time, compensating for his lack of acceleration off the mark.

Lloyd has been a regular scorer throughout the season, and generally converts well in front of goal, registering at least two scoring shots in all 11 of his Talent League appearances in 2023. He went goalless in only two games, in comparison to his four perfect games in front of the sticks - accuracy wise.

Lloyd’s size for the role he plays currently may be a query for clubs heading into November, with 193cm not quite true key position height at the next level. This will mean he’ll be looking to improve some areas of his game that aren’t always a priority for key position players, like his ground level game, particularly under pressure or in the contest.

Wedgetailed Westerner you up

Miguel Sanchez Richmond bid on Charlie McCormack.

Was not expecting this and have a player i’m very keen on taking with the next pick who I’d otherwise miss out on. So I’m going to decline to match, as much as it pains me to lose that glorious hair to Punt Road.

Shiite are you GWS? I reckon I 100% know who you are taking and the player I've been eyeing off for ages. Damn it...

So Richmond get Charlie McCormack and the pick is now over to Miguel Sanchez

Await your write up Wedgetailed Westerner

Competitions WCE Board Mock Draft 2023